DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The current claims correspond word-for-word to the claims in the parent application No. 17/056,093 dated 11/17/2020. The 35 USC 102 / 103 rejections below correspond to the Nonfinal rejection in Application No. 17/056,093 dated 06/27/2023.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 8 and 25-26 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 9-10 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,117,714. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application U.S. Patent No. 12,117,714
8. A shoulder strap system for carrying an object, comprising: a shoulder strap having first and second strap ends configured to connect to the object; a shoulder pad having one or more loops through which the shoulder strap is threaded; and a locking mechanism that, when engaged, increases friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to prevent sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad, and when disengaged, decreases the friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to facilitate sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad in response to movement of the object; each said first and second strap ends including a cord loop connector and a length of cord for connection to an attached object; said cord loop connector having a folded section forming an opening to receive a corresponding length of said cord therethrough, and said cord loop connector having a snap connector for selectively fastening and unfastening an end of said cord loop connector; and each said first and second strap ends further including a grommet to receive a corresponding length of said cord therethrough.
25. A shoulder strap assembly comprising: a main strap having first and second ends; a shoulder pad secured to said main strap by a plurality of strap keepers integral with said shoulder pad; a cam buckle for selectively releasing or locking said main strap, said cam buckle having a buckle base and a rotatable latch secured to said buckle base, wherein one end of said main strap is routed through said cam buckle; at least one of said first and second ends having a grommet secured thereto and an opening extending through said grommet; a cord loop connector mounted to said main strap adjacent said grommet, said cord loop connector having a folded section and said cord loop connector being movable being snapped and unsnapped; a cord having a looped end routed through said folded section and through said opening of said grommet; and wherein said opening of said grommet has a selected size so that said looped end of said cord can pass through but not both said looped end of said cord and an unfastened end of said loop connector.
26. The shoulder strap assembly of claim 25, further including: a slide adjuster secured to said main strap to adjust a length of said main strap.
1. A shoulder strap system for carrying an object, comprising: a shoulder strap having first and second strap ends configured to connect to the object; a shoulder pad having one or more loops through which the shoulder strap is threaded; and a locking mechanism that, when engaged, increases friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to prevent sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad, and when disengaged, decreases the friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to facilitate sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad in response to movement of the object; each said first and second strap ends including a cord loop connector and a length of cord for connection to an attached object; said cord loop connector having a folded section forming an opening to receive a corresponding length of said cord therethrough, and said cord loop connector having a snap connector for selectively fastening and unfastening an end of said cord loop connector; and each said first and second strap ends further including a grommet to receive a corresponding length of said cord therethrough.
9. A shoulder strap assembly comprising: a main strap having first and second ends; a shoulder pad secured to said main strap by a plurality of strap keepers integral with said shoulder pad; a cam buckle for selectively releasing or locking said main strap, said cam buckle having a buckle base and a rotatable latch secured to said buckle base, wherein one end of said main strap is routed through said cam buckle; at least one of said first and second ends having a grommet secured thereto and an opening extending through said grommet; a cord loop connector mounted to said main strap adjacent said grommet, said cord loop connector having a folded section and said cord loop connector being movable being snapped and unsnapped; a cord having a looped end routed through said folded section and through said opening of said grommet; and wherein said opening of said grommet has a selected size so that said looped end of said cord can pass through but not both said looped end of said cord and an unfastened end of said loop connector.
10. The shoulder strap assembly of claim 9, further including: a slide adjuster secured to said main strap to adjust a length of said main strap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14, 16-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hale, et al. (US 2014/0093230).
Regarding claim 1, Hale discloses “a base attachment (Fig. 4, ref.# 101) configured to be affixed to a bottom face of a camera (Fig. 3, ref.# 112), the base attachment including spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121; paragraph 0027); and wherein a shoulder strap (Fig. 6, ref.# 130) having first and second strap ends (Fig. 4, ref.# 124, 125), when connected to the first and second bottom eyelets, creates first and second tether points that define a rotation axis lying substantially parallel to the bottom face of the camera (Fig. 4: axis of rotation defined by holes 120, 121, through which cords pass), substantially parallel to a rear face of the camera (Fig. 4), and beneath a center-of-mass of the camera (Fig. 2: attachment and rotation below the center of mass of camera in the height dimension of the camera).”
Regarding claim 4, Hale discloses “wherein: the base attachment includes a through-hole configured such that a screw passing through the through-hole is threaded into a tripod socket of the camera to fixedly secure the base attachment to the camera.” (Fig. 5, ref.# 122; paragraph 0028)
Regarding claim 5, Hale discloses “wherein: the first and second bottom eyelets are affixed to a rear surface of the base attachment.” (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121)
Regarding claim 7, Hale discloses “wherein the first and second bottom eyelets are affixed to a bottom surface of the base attachment.” (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121)
Regarding claim 9, Hale discloses “a base attachment (Fig. 4, ref.# 1) configured to be affixed to a bottom face of a camera (Fig. 3, ref.# 112) , the base attachment including a base plate (Fig. 4, ref.# 101) and a base plate insert (Fig. 5, ref.# 127) connected to the base plate; spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121) secured to the base attachment; a screw chamber formed on an exposed side of said base plate insert and configured to receive a camera locking screw therein (Fig. 5, ref.# 122 screw and associated through hole in base); and wherein a shoulder strap having first and second strap ends (Fig. 4, ref.# 124, 125), when connected to the first and second bottom eyelets, creates first and second tether points that define a rotation axis lying substantially parallel to the bottom face of the camera Fig. 4: axis of rotation defined by holes 120, 121, through which cords pass, substantially parallel to a rear face of the camera (Fig. 4), and beneath a center-of-mass of the camera (Fig. 2: attachment and rotation below the center of mass of camera in the height dimension of the camera).”
Regarding claim 10, Hale discloses “a tripod adapter selectively engaged with said base attachment.” (Paragraph 0028; Fig. 5, ref.# 122z)
Regarding claim 14, Hale discloses “wherein: said base attachment further includes a screw hole to receive said camera locking screw therein[.] (Fig. 5, ref.# 122 and associated through hole in base)
Regarding claim 16, Hale discloses “a base attachment including a base plate (Fig., 4, ref.# 101) and a base plate insert (Fig. 5, ref.# 127) connected to the base plate; spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121) secured to the base attachment; a screw chamber formed on an exposed side of said base plate insert and configured to receive a camera locking screw therein (Fig. 5, ref.# 122: screw and associated through hole in base); and wherein the base attachment is configured to be secured to a bottom face of a camera (Fig. 3, ref.# 112) by said camera locking screw (Fig. 5, ref.# 122) being engaged with a tripod socket formed into a bottom face of the camera (paragraph 0028).”
Regarding claim 17, Hale discloses “wherein: said camera locking screw is configured such that it does not extend outwardly beyond an adjacent surface of said base plate insert.” (Fig. 4, back side of screw 122 does not extend beyond upper surface)
Regarding claim 18, Hale discloses “a base attachment including a base plate (Fig. 4, ref.# 101) and a base plate insert (Fig. 5, ref.# 127) connected to the base plate; a central slot (Figs. 4, 5: through hole for screw 122) formed in said base plate; spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 1212) secured to the base attachment; a screw chamber (Figs. 4: indented area of ref.# 101) formed on an exposed side of said base plate insert and configured to receive a camera locking screw (Fig. 5, ref.# 122) therein; a tripod adapter selectively engaged with said central slot of said base plate; and wherein the base attachment is secured to a bottom face of a camera by said camera locking screw being engaged with a tripod socket formed into a bottom face of the camera (paragraph 0028).”
Regarding claim 21, Hale discloses “providing a camera carrying system, comprising: a base (Fig. 4, ref.# 101) attachment configured to be affixed to a bottom face of the camera (Fig. 3, ref.# 112), the base attachment including spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Fig. 4, ref.# 120, 121); providing a shoulder strap (Fig. 6, ref.# 130); connecting first and second strap ends (Fig. 4, ref.# 124, 125) of said shoulder strap to the first and second bottom eyelets, respectively; and wherein the connecting step creates first and second tether points that define a rotation axis lying substantially parallel to the bottom face of the camera (Fig. 4: axis of rotation defined by holes 120, 121, through which cords pass), substantially parallel to a rear face of the camera (Fig. 4), and beneath a center-of-mass of the camera (Fig. 2: attachment and rotation below the center of mass of camera in the height dimension of the camera).”
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finnemore (US 4,313,664).
Regarding claim 1, Finnemore discloses “a base (Fig. 1, ref.# 48) attachment configured to be affixed to a bottom face of a camera (Fig. 1, ref.# 11), the base attachment including spatially-separated first and second bottom eyelets (Figs 1, 5, 7: ref.# 62); and wherein a shoulder strap having first and second strap ends (Fig. 1, ref.# 10), when connected to the first and second bottom eyelets, creates first and second tether points that define a rotation axis lying substantially parallel to the bottom face of the camera (Fig. 1: axis of rotation defined by longitudinal axis of base), substantially parallel to a rear face of the camera, and beneath a center-of-mass of the camera (Fig. 1: attachment and rotation below the center of mass of camera in the height dimension of the camera).
Regarding claim 6, Finnemore discloses “wherein: the first and second bottom eyelets are affixed to first and second side surfaces of the base attachment.” (Figs 1, 6: ref.# 62 (loop / eyelets) affixed to side surfaces with anchors 60)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale, et al. (US 2014/0093230) in view of Geller (WO 2018/127546).
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Hale discloses all the structure set forth in the claim except (Claim 2) “a shoulder pad having one or more loops through which the shoulder strap is threaded; and a locking mechanism that, when engaged, increases friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to prevent sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad, and when disengaged, decreases the friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to facilitate sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad in response to movement of the camera” and (Claim 22) “providing a shoulder pad having one or more loops through which the shoulder strap is threaded; and providing a locking mechanism; engaging the locking mechanism against the shoulder strap that increases friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to prevent sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad, and selectively disengaging the locking mechanism to decrease the friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to facilitate sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad in response to movement of the camera.”
However, the use of a should pad with one or more loops though which the shoulder strap is threaded and a locking mechanism to increase or decrease friction to of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad to prevent or allow sliding of the strap was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Geller (See Figures 6, 8 and paragraph 0044). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the strap of Hale to include “a shoulder pad having one or more loops through which the shoulder strap is threaded; and a locking mechanism that, when engaged, increases friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to prevent sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad, and when disengaged, decreases the friction between the shoulder strap and the shoulder pad to facilitate sliding of the shoulder strap along the shoulder pad in response to movement of the camera” in order to increase the comfort of the user while using the camera is in different locations and thus changing the relationship of the strap to the user.
Regarding claim 3, Hale discloses all the structure set forth in the claims except “wherein: an outward-facing side of the shoulder pad is constructed from a first material; the shoulder strap is constructed from a second material; and wherein the first and second materials are chosen based on a selected coefficient of dynamic friction between the first and second materials.”
However, a should strap that includes an outward-facing side of the shoulder pad is constructed from a first material; the shoulder strap is constructed from a second material; and wherein the first and second materials are chosen based on a selected coefficient of dynamic friction between the first and second materials was well known in the art prior to the effective fling date of the claimed invention as taught by Geller (See Fig. 6; paragraph 0040). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hale “wherein: an outward-facing side of the shoulder pad is constructed from a first material; the shoulder strap is constructed from a second material; and wherein the first and second materials are chosen based on a selected coefficient of dynamic friction between the first and second materials” in order to allow the materials to slide against one another when desired and then also be locked in a non-sliding manner.
Regarding claim 23, Hale disclose “providing a tripod adapter secured to the camera and selectively engaged with said base attachment; and selectively engaging and disengaging said tripod with said base attachment wherein when disengaged, said tripod adapter and camera are separated from said base attachment, and when engaged, said tripod adapter and camera are connected to said base attachment.” (paragraph 0023, 0028: tripod adapter attachable to camera with screw 122)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 15, 19, 20 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
July 29, 2026