Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Carr does not teach “determining, based on the request for the content resource, a third computing device to provide access to the content resource and a tuner reservation identifier associated with the third computing device” and “sending, to the second computing device, the tuner reservation identifier”. To this matter the examiner respectfully disagrees. Carr discloses that the demodulator (110-figure 3 part of the home controller, second computer device) receives tuner information and that is tuned to a specific channel (meeting the second limitation argued figure 3, col. 5, lines 49-53). This tuner information is associated with the personal computer (third computing device) since the PC receives all the information that is addressed to the PC (meeting the first limitation argued col. 5, lines 53-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carr et al., US 5,608,446.
Regarding claim 1, Carr discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a first computing device (48 figure 1) from a second computing device (70 figure 1), a request for a content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13);
determining, based on the request for the content resource, a third computing device (74 figure 1) to provide access to the content resource and a tuner reservation identifier associated with the third computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
sending, to the second computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 2, Carr discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request for the content resource indicates a capability of the second computing device and wherein determining the third computing device is further based on the capability of the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 3, Carr discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the request for the content resource further comprises an identifier of the second computing device and wherein determining the third computing device comprises authenticating the identifier of the second computing device (col. 3, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 4, Carr discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the third computing device comprises determining an availability of the third computing device to provide a tuning service associated with the request for the content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 5, Carr discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the third computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 6, Carr discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the second computing device, an identifier of the third computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 7, Carr discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing processor-executable instructions (figure 1) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a first computing device (70 figure 1), a request for a content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13);
determine, based on the request for the content resource, a second computing device (74 figure 1) to provide access to the content resource and a tuner reservation identifier associated with the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
send, to the first computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 8, Carr discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the request for the content resource indicates a capability of the first computing device and wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to determine the second computing device, further cause the apparatus to determine the second computing device based on the capability of the first computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 9, Carr discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the request for the content resource further comprises an identifier of the second computing device and wherein the processor- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to determine the second computing device, cause the apparatus to authenticate the identifier of the second computing device (col. 3, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 10, Carr discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to determine the second computing device, cause the apparatus to determine an availability of the second computing device to provide a tuning service associated with the request for the content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 11, Carr discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to send, to the second computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 12, Carr discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to send, to the first computing device, an identifier of the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 13, Carr discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that (figure 1), when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from a first computing device (70 figure 1), a request for a content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13);
determine, based on the request for the content resource, a second computing device (74 figure 1) to provide access to the content resource and a tuner reservation identifier associated with the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
send, to the first computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 14, Carr discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the request for the content resource indicates a capability of the first computing device and wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine the second computing device, further cause the at least one processor to determine the second computing device based on the capability of the first computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 15, Carr discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the request for the content resource further comprises an identifier of the second computing device and wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine the second computing device, cause the at least one processor to authenticate the identifier of the second computing device (col. 3, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 16, Carr discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine the second computing device, cause the at least one processor to determine an availability of the second computing device to provide a tuning service associated with the request for the content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 17, Carr discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to send, to the second computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 18, Carr discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to send, to the first computing device, an identifier of the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 19, Carr discloses a system comprising:
a first computing device (48 figure 1) configured to:
receive, from a second computing device (70 figure 1), a request for a content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13);
determine, based on the request for the content resource, a third computing device (74 figure 1) to provide access to the content resource and a tuner reservation identifier associated with the third computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
send, to the first computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
the second computing device configured to:
send the request for the content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13); and
receive the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 20, Carr discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the request for the content resource indicates a capability of the second computing device and wherein to determine the third computing device is further based on the capability of the second computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 21, Carr discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the request for the content resource further comprises an identifier of the second computing device and wherein to determine the third computing device, the first computing device is configured to authenticate the identifier of the second computing device (col. 3, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 22, Carr discloses the system of claim 19, wherein to determine the third computing device, the first computing device is configured to determine an availability of the third computing device to provide a tuning service associated with the request for the content resource (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 23, Carr discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the first computing device is further configured to send, to the third computing device, the tuner reservation identifier (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Regarding claim 24, Carr discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the first computing device is further configured to send, to the second computing device, an identifier of the third computing device (col. 2, line 60 to col. 5 line 13).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421