DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 24, it appears that “a movable seat component” refers back to “at least one movable seat component” in lines 3-4. It should be amended to --the movable seat component--.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 25, it appears that “a movable seat component” refers back to “at least one movable seat component” in line 3. It should be amended to --the movable seat component--.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 12, it appears that “a movable seat component” refers back to “at least one movable seat component” in lines 2-3. It should be amended to --the movable seat component--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the occupancy state" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuranami et al. (JPH06255592A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1: Kuranami discloses a system for monitoring seating in an aircraft, comprising:
a plurality of local seat controllers, each local seat controller associated with a seat and communicatively coupled to at least one actuator mechanically coupled to at least one movable seat component (reclining angle adjustment, angle adjustment of the seat back side support, lumbar, inclination angle, leg rest, headrest …; paragraphs [0007], [0018]); and
a cabin controller (7, 100) communicatively coupled to the plurality of local seat controllers, the cabin controller including an interactive digital display (100a, 100b), a memory (part of CPU) and a processor (CPU), wherein:
a table (paragraph, [0019], items 1-14) is stored in the memory of the cabin controller and includes information pertaining to compliant seat component positions corresponding to phases of flight (takeoff and landing) (paragraph [0007], [0019]); and
the processor (CPU) includes processing circuitry configured to execute machine-readable instructions stored to a non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to: receive, from each of the plurality of local seat controllers, positional information from the at least one actuator determinative of positional information of the at least one movable seat component; receive, from a flight phase selector, a current phase of flight; determine for each seat, from the received positional information from the at least one actuator and the received current phase of flight, movable seat position compliance or non-compliance; cause the interactive digital display to display for each seat the determined movable seat component compliance or non-compliance; and for each seat having a movable seat component determined to be non- compliant, instruct, through the interactive digital display (100a), the respective local seal controller to operate the at least one actuator to move the at least one movable seat component to achieve a compliant seat component position (paragraphs [0001, 0004-0008, 0015, 0018-0026]).
Regarding claim 2: Kuranami et al. discloses each seat includes at least one sensor configured to sense an occupancy state of the respective seat; the local seat controller is communicatively coupled to the at least one sensor and is configured to determine the occupancy state of the seat and report the determined occupancy state to the cabin controller; and the processing circuitry of the cabin controller is further configured to allow the local seat controller to operate the at least one actuator to move the at least one movable seat component to achieve a compliant seat component position when the occupancy state of the respective seat is determined to be unoccupied (paragraphs [0006-0008, 0015, 0019]).
Regarding claim 4: Kuranami et al. discloses the phases of flight include at least two of pre-flight, taxi, take-off, climb, cruise, descent, approach, landing, taxi, and post-flight (paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 5: Kuranami et al. discloses the at least one movable seat component includes at least one of a backrest and a leg rest (para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 6: Kuranami discloses each seat is an individual passenger seat or a divan (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7: Kuranami et al. discloses the processing circuitry of the cabin controller is further configured to issue an alert, broadcast by the interactive digital display, when the at least one movable seat component is determined to be non-compliant (para. [0023-0024].
Regarding claim 8: Kuranami et al. discloses the processing circuitry of the cabin controller is further configured to instruct all of the plurality of local seat controllers to operate their respective at least one actuator to move their respective at least one
movable seat component to a predefined default position assigned to a predefined phase of the phases of flight (para. [0018-0019, 0022-0025].
Regarding claim 9: Kuranami et al. discloses the predefined default position for each seat is customizable (para. [0018-0019]).
Regarding claim 10: Kuranami et al. discloses at least one of the seats is an individual passenger seat and at least one of the seats is a divan (Fig. 3; para. [0003-0006], all seats, specific seat from the crew side or seat in a crew room inherently includes a divan).
Regarding claims 11 and 17: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 14: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 15: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 16: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranami et al. (JPH06255592A) in view of Large (US 5,555,458).
Regarding claim 3: Kuranami et al. discloses the control panel (7) in the crew room and each situation is display on a safety system display apparatus (100a) so that the crew can take an appropriate action (para. [0018]; Fig. 3). Kuranami et al. is silent about the display layout of the seats. Large discloses the interactive digital display (10) is configured to: display a layout of the seats (seat map, col. 8, line14) in the aircraft; display the at least one movable seat component for each seat; and differentiate graphically between compliant and non-compliant movable seat component positions (col. 6, lines 1-25, 61-67; col. 7, lines 1-42; Figs. 1-4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a display layout of the seats as taught by Large in a system as disclosed by Kuranami et al. to provide a clear layout of the seat map so that the crew may easily visualize the exact seat that is in violation of the flight phase.
Regarding claim 13: The claim is interpreted and rejected as claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Perez (US 10,745,146) discloses systems and methods for determination of seating system status.
-Cordina et al. (US 2006/0163430) discloses an attendant cabin display system includes sensors which can detect when a passenger is seated in the seat, the tray table is properly stowed, and if the passenger has his seat belt fastened.
-Darr (US 6,888,475) discloses a control system for aircraft seat belt arrangement.
-Skelly (US 2004/0195875) discloses a reclining passenger seat having a visual seat position indicator.
-Goyal et al. (US 12,344,393) discloses an intelligent cabin management system for automated check of basic safety norms and in-flight safety procedures.
-Fagan et al. (US 11,021,269) discloses a system and method for representing a location of a fault in an aircraft cabin.
/TOAN N PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 2/5/26