DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0021] the word “hall” should be capitalized.
In paragraph [0072] the word “hall” should be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 2 the phrase “drive unit comprising” should instead be “a drive unit comprising.”
In claim 19 line 2 the word “hall” should be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0053171 to Gombor et al. (hereinafter Gombor; cited by Applicant on 1/5/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Gombor teaches a vehicle (Paragraph [0004]) comprising:
a drive unit (Paragraph [0004]):
a printed circuit board (PCB) (FIG. 1, 110) comprising a coil assembly (FIG. 1, 112);
a rotor assembly (Paragraph [0069]) connected to a shaft (FIG. 1), the shaft having a target (FIG. 1, 120); and
circuitry electrically coupled to the coil assembly (Paragraph [0063]), the circuitry transmitting an electromagnetic field from the coil assembly to the target on the shaft, receiving a reflected electromagnetic field at the coil assembly from the target on the shaft, and determining a position of the shaft based at least in part on the reflected electromagnetic field (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the coil assembly comprises a transmitting coil and receiving coils (FIG. 1, 112; Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the receiving coils comprise a receiving sine coil and a receiving cosine coil (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the transmitting coil and the receiving coils are disposed on a first layer of the PCB (FIG. 5, 511) and a second layer of the PCB (FIG. 5, 512; Paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the circuitry comprises an application-specific integrated circuit (FIG. 1, 111; Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is disposed on the PCB (FIG. 1; Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Gombor teaches a drive unit for a vehicle (Paragraph [0004]), the drive unit comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (FIG. 1, 110) comprising a position sensor (FIG. 1, 100);
a rotor assembly (Paragraph [0069]) connected to a shaft (FIG. 1), the shaft having a target (FIG. 1, 120); and
circuitry electrically coupled to the position sensor (Paragraph [0063]), the circuitry determining a position of the shaft using the target (Paragraph [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of German Patent No. 10 2022 124 999 to Bader et al. (hereinafter Bader).
Regarding claim 5, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 2.
Gombor does not teach the coil assembly comprising a first transmitting coil with a first set of receiving coils and a second transmitting coil associated with a second set of receiving coils.
However, Bader teaches a coil assembly comprising a first transmitting coil with a first set of receiving coils and a second transmitting coil associated with a second set of receiving coils (Paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Gombor with the teachings of Bader to place multiple coils to provide a cost-effective multi-channel high performance system for position sensing (Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Gombor in view of Bader teaches the vehicle of claim 5, wherein Bader further teaches the first transmitting coil and the first set of receiving coils are disposed on a first layer of the PCB and a second layer of the PCB, and wherein the second transmitting coil and the second set of receiving coils are disposed on a third layer of the PCB and a fourth layer of the PCB (Paragraph [0024]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of German Patent No. 10 2018 213 413 to Utermoehlen.
Regarding claim 9, Gombor teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is disposed on a second PCB (Paragraph [0022]), the second PCB being substantially circular (FIG. 7, 710) and defining an interior portion, wherein the target is positioned within the interior portion (Paragraph [0064]).
Gombor does not teach the second PCB being a flexible PCB.
However, Utermoehlen teaches a PCB holding a position sensor (FIG. 2, 132) being made of a flexible material (Paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Gombor with the teachings of Utermoehlen to provide a flexible PCB for easier installation and replacement of the component.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0080797 to Roos and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0115932 to Schmitt et al. (hereinafter Schmitt).
Regarding claim 11, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the target comprising a disk affixed to an end of the shaft, wherein the disk comprises a first side affixed to the end of the shaft, a second side, and an edge between a first circumference of the first side and a second circumference of the second side, wherein the edge comprises a channel having a varying width based at least in part on a number of poles of the drive unit.
However, Roos teaches a disk (FIG. 2, 4) affixed to an end of the shaft (FIG. 2, 3), wherein the disk comprises a first side affixed to the end of the shaft (FIG. 2, 4, left side), a second side (FIG. 2, 4, right side), and an edge between a first circumference of the first side and a second circumference of the second side.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the teachings of Roos to place the target on the end of the shaft so the position sensor receives less electromagnetic interference from the motor.
Gombor in view of Roos does not teach the edge comprising a channel having a varying width based at least in part on a number of poles of the drive unit.
However, Schmitt teaches a position sensor target (FIG. 1; 3, 4) having a channel with a varying width based at least in part on a number of poles of the drive unit (Paragraph [0039]; [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor in view of Roos with the teachings of Schmitt to have the position sensor measure a channel on the side of the target to reduce the axial footprint of the drive unit.
Regarding claim 12, Gombor in view of Roos and Schmitt teaches the drive unit of claim 11, wherein Schmitt further teaches the circuitry determining the position of the shaft based at least in part on the channel (Paragraph [0039]-[0043]).
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of Roos.
Regarding claim 13, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the target comprising a magnet having a north pole and a south pole.
However, Roos teaches a position sensor target (FIG. 2, 4) comprising a magnet having a north pole and a south pole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the teachings of Roos to provide a magnet as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Regarding claim 14, Gombor in view of Roos teaches the drive unit of claim 13, wherein Roos further teaches the position of the shaft based at least in part on the north pole and the south pole (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the position sensor being a magnetoresistive sensor.
However, Roos teaches a position sensor being a magnetoresistive sensor (Paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the magnetoresistive sensor of Roos as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Regarding claim 16, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the position sensor being an anisotropic magnetoresistive sensor.
However, Roos teaches a position sensor being an anisotropic magnetoresistive sensor (Paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the anisotropic magnetoresistive sensor of Roos as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Regarding claim 17, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the position sensor being a giant magnetoresistance effect sensor.
However, Roos teaches a position sensor being a giant magnetoresistance effect sensor (Paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the giant magnetoresistance effect sensor of Roos as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Regarding claim 18, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the position sensor being a tunnel magnetoresistance effect sensor.
However, Roos teaches a position sensor being a tunnel magnetoresistance effect sensor (Paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the tunnel magnetoresistance effect sensor of Roos as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0209629 to Bach et al. (hereinafter Bach).
Regarding claim 19, Gombor teaches the drive unit of claim 10.
Gombor does not teach the position sensor being a circular vertical Hall effect sensor.
However, Bach teaches a position sensor (FIG. 6, 48) being a circular vertical Hall effect sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive unit of Gombor with the circular vertical Hall effect sensor of Roos as a magnetoresistance sensing system is more resistant to electromagnetic interference and may take up less space than an inductive sensing system.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gombor in view of Bader and Schmitt.
Regarding claim 20, Gombor teaches a printed circuit board FIG. 1, 110) associated with a drive unit of a vehicle (Paragraph [0004]) and being oriented substantially perpendicular to an axial direction of a shaft of the drive unit (FIG. 1), the printed circuit board comprising:
a first application-specific integrated circuit (FIG. 5, 521);
a second application-specific integrated circuit (FIG. 5, 522); and
a plurality of layers (Paragraph [0077]),
wherein a first layer of the plurality of layers and a second layer of plurality of layers comprise a first transmitting coil and a first set of receiving coils (FIG. 5; 511, 512; Paragraph [0079]),
wherein the first application-specific integrated circuit transmits a first electromagnetic field from the first transmitting coil to a target (FIG. 1, 120) on the shaft (Paragraph [0064]).
Gombor does not teach a microcontroller; a third layer of the plurality of layers and a fourth layer of the plurality of layers comprise a second transmitting coil and a second set of receiving coils,
wherein the second application-specific integrated circuit transmits a second electromagnetic field from the second transmitting coil to the target on the shaft, receives a second reflected electromagnetic field at the second set of receiving coils from the target on the shaft, and determines a second position of the shaft based at least in part on the second reflected electromagnetic field, and wherein the microcontroller determines a third position of the shaft based at least in part on the first position and the second position.
Bader teaches a third layer of the plurality of layers and a fourth layer of the plurality of layers comprising a second transmitting coil and a second set of receiving coils (Paragraph [0024]), wherein the second application-specific integrated circuit transmits a second electromagnetic field from the second transmitting coil to the target on the shaft, receives a second reflected electromagnetic field at the second set of receiving coils from the target on the shaft, and determines a second position of the shaft based at least in part on the second reflected electromagnetic field (in view of Gombor Paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Gombor with the teachings of Bader to place multiple coils to provide a cost-effective multi-channel high performance system for position sensing (Paragraph [0007]).
Gombor in view of Bader does not teach a microcontroller; wherein the microcontroller determines a third position of the shaft based at least in part on the first position and the second position.
However, Schmitt teaches a system with two position sensors (FIG. 1; 5, 6) connected to a microcontroller (FIG. 1, 10), wherein the microcontroller determines a third position of the shaft based at least in part on the first position and the second position (Paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printed circuit board of Gombor in view of Bader with the teachings of Schmitt to provide a microcontroller to process the position sensor data to provide further position information for operating the drive unit.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834