CTNF 18/915,865 CTNF 79663 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 8 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as b eing ant icipated by U .S. P atent Publication No. 2023/0170545 issued to Karlsson et al. Reg arding Claim 1 , Karlsson teaches in Figures 1-10 and respective portions of the specification of a cooling beam (elements 21, 22, 23, 48, 49 or 54) having a first end (driver’s side end) and a second end (passenger’s side end) spaced from the first end, comprising: a center plate (41, 42) extending between the first end and the second end, and a first surface (41) and a second surface (42) opposite the first surface; one or more cooling channels (arranged between element 68 as shown in Figure 10; see also paragraph [0079]) extending between the first end and the second end and coupled to the first surface (41) and the second surface (42); and a coolant pathway (the channels 60, 61, 62) arranged between the center plate (41, 42) and the one or more cooling channels (60, 61, 62), the coolant pathway configured to carry a fluid (coolant—see paragraphs [0075-0076]) between one or more inlets (31) and one or more outlets (36). Regarding Claim 3 , Karlsson teaches the cooling channels include an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface—the inner surface is the surface that abuts element (68) in Figure 3 and the outer surface is the surface that abuts surfaces (41 or 42). Regarding Claim 7 , Karlsson teaches the center plate includes a first half (portion 41) and a second half (portion 42) coupled (see Figure 10) to the first half—alternatively the first half could be considered the portion of (element 41 or 42) that extends from the first end to the midpoint of the vehicle and the second half could be considered the second end to the midpoint of the vehicle. Regarding Claim 8, Karlsson teaches the cooling beam (elements 21, 22, 23, 48, 49 or 54) further includes a first region (taken to be the portion of the beam that connects with the fluid distribution duct 30 shown in Figure 9 that connects on the driver’s side of the vehicle) near the first end and a second region (taken to be the portion of the beam that connects with the fluid distribution return duct 30’ shown in Figure 3 that connects on the passenger’s side of the vehicle) near the second end Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsson, as disclosed above, in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0145838 issued to Bockman et al . Regarding Claim 2 , Karlsson does not show center plate includes one or more projections/dimples coupled to and extending away from the first surface and the second surface toward the one or more cooling channels. Bockman et al. teaches that it is known to provide projections/dimples (428) within a cooling channel (see Figures 1 and 3) to induce a turbulent flow (see at least paragraph [0039 and 0041]) which increasing the efficiency of heat transfer from the cooling plate (420) to the coolant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a projection, as taught by Bockman et al. for the coolant channel taught by Karlsson to provide the advantage of increasing the heat transfer from the cooling plate to the coolant. Regarding Claim 4 , the projections (428) taught by Bockman, for the modified invention of Karlsson, are taken to be dimples . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 11-20 allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-6 and 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the primary reason for the allowance of the claims in this case is the inclusion of: a battery pack that includes a prismatic can that includes first, second, third and fourth ends, where one or more cooling beams are provided that include a center plate having a first surface and a second surface that each extend between the first end and the second end of the cooling beams, the center plate having a first flange at the first end of the one or more cooling beams that extends away from the first surface and the second surface and a second flange at the second end of the one or more cooling beams that extends away from the first surface and the second surface, and one or more cooling channels coupled to the first surface and the second surface of the center plate, in combination with the other elements recited, not found in the prior art of record . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” The prior art of record made in the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited patents show the general state of art but do not teach or suggest the totality of the instant invention including teaching of the inner surface including one or more concave portions that correspond with one or more convex portions; nor the inlet and out lets arranged between the first and second end regions; nor first and second flanges as claimed in the instant invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN L SWENSON whose telephone number is (571)270-5572. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9-5). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen Shriver can be reached at (303) 297-4337. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. BRIAN SWENSON Primary Examiner Art Unit 3618 /BRIAN L SWENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/915,865 Page 2 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/915,865 Page 3 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/915,865 Page 4 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/915,865 Page 5 Art Unit: 3613 Application/Control Number: 18/915,865 Page 6 Art Unit: 3613