DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 10/15/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 2021/0288768) in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0273083).
Regarding claim 1, YANG discloses a method for supporting usage, by a device, of a communication network using orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128-131; a method to allocate tones to a user (or STA) can be mapped to a second set of tones that are distributed across an 80 MHz frequency band], the method comprising:
allocating, to the device and for concurrent use in transmission [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128; allocating, to the device and for concurrent use in transmission (during a resource allocation stage, each STA may select or obtain a single RU or multi-RU for UL transmissions), also see Fig. 5A, ¶ 93]:
a first 106 usable tones of a plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-131; the third tone plan 503 includes two RUs each spanning 106 tones, also Fig. 5A, ¶ 95]; and
a second 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-131; the third tone plan 503 includes two RUs each spanning 106 tones, also Fig. 5A, ¶ 95];
wherein the first 106 usable tones are allocated to a first resource unit (RU) or a first distributed resource unit (dRU), and the second 106 usable tones are allocated to a second RU or a second dRU [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128; tones included in a respective RU may be distributed across a 20 MHz frequency segment when the respective RU is one of the RU26, RU52, or RU106 resource units of the tone plan].
YANG does not explicitly disclose a second 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones.
However, Chen discloses a second 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [¶¶ 163, 195, 197; data tones of the packet 1060 can be assigned to individual destination devices, wherein the packet 1060 can include distinct sets of tones allocated to each individual destination device 1020, 1030, and 1040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a second 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones” as taught by Chen in the system of YANG, so that it would to advantageously facilitate user mobility and rapid field deployment when compared to fixed wired networks [see Chen; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the first RU or the first dRU is the first RU, and wherein the second RU or the second dRU is the second RU [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-130; wherein the first RU or the first dRU is the first RU, and wherein the second RU or the second dRU is the second RU].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 2.
wherein the first RU spans a first portion of an overall bandwidth (BW) and the second RU spans a second portion of the overall BW, the second portion being different from the first portion [see ¶¶ 136; the first duplicate format may be associated with a first multiple of a frequency bandwidth, and the second duplicate format may be associated with a second multiple of the frequency bandwidth, where the second multiple is at least twice the first multiple].
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 3.
YANG further discloses wherein the first portion is adjacent in frequency to the second portion [see Fig. 9B, ¶¶ 121, 127; STA 1004 may map the set of contiguous tones to the set of non-contiguous tones by determining a spacing between adjacent tones of the set of non-contiguous tones, and distributing the tones of the set of non-contiguous tones across the second frequency bandwidth based on the determined spacing].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the first RU or the first dRU is the first dRU, and wherein the second RU or the second dRU is the second dRU, and wherein the first dRU and the second dRU span a same bandwidth (BW) [see ¶¶ 143-144; wherein the first RU or the first dRU is the first dRU, and wherein the second RU or the second dRU is the second dRU, and wherein the first dRU and the second dRU span a same bandwidth (BW)].
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 5.
YANG further discloses wherein at least two neighbouring usable tones of the first 106 usable tones are separated by one or more usable tones of the second 106 usable tones [see ¶ 95; each 106-tone RU may include 102 data subcarriers and 4 pilot subcarriers].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 5.
YANG further discloses wherein the first 106 usable tones are partially or fully interleaved with the second 106 usable tones [see ¶ 95; wherein the first 106 usable tones are partially interleaved with the second 106 usable tones].
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses allocating usage, by a second device of the communication network using OFDMA [see ¶ 127; the set of contiguous tones of the allocated RU may include 26 tones spanning a 2 MHz frequency subband, and the set of non-contiguous tones may include 20 tones spanning a 20 MHz frequency subband], the usage being concurrent with the usage by the device and the allocating usage comprising:
allocating, to the second device and for concurrent use in transmission:
a third 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 130; the existing tones in the third 20 MHz frequency subband are mapped to the third tone, the seventh tone, the eleventh tone, and so on, of the distributed sets of tones spanning the 80 MHz frequency ban]; and
a fourth 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones and the third 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 127; the existing tones in the fourth 20 MHz frequency subband are mapped to the fourth tone, the eighth tone, the twelfth tone, and so on, of the distributed sets of tones spanning the 80 MHz frequency band];
wherein the third 106 usable tones are allocated to a third RU or a third dRU, and the fourth 106 usable tones are allocated to a fourth RU or a fourth dRU [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 130; wherein the third 106 usable tones are allocated to a third RU or a third dRU, and the fourth 106 usable tones are allocated to a fourth RU or a fourth dRU].
YANG discloses all allocated usage of different of the plurality of usable tones; but does not explicitly disclose these different of the plurality of usable tones are distinct.
However, Chen discloses data tones of the packet 1060 can be assigned to individual destination devices, wherein the packet 1060 can include distinct sets of tones allocated to each individual destination device 1020, 1030, and 1040 (see ¶¶ 163, 195, 197)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “different of the plurality of usable tones are distinct” as taught by Chen in the system of YANG, so that it would to advantageously facilitate user mobility and rapid field deployment when compared to fixed wired networks [see Chen; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 8.
YANG further discloses wherein the third RU or the third dRU is the third RU, and wherein the fourth RU or the fourth dRU is the fourth RU [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-130; wherein the third RU or the third dRU is the third RU, and wherein the fourth RU or the fourth dRU is the fourth RU].
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 8.
YANG further discloses wherein method is performed by a scheduler, and wherein the allocating the first RU or the first dRU, the second RU or the second dRU to the device, and the allocating the third RU or the third dRU and the fourth RU or the fourth dRU to the second device, comprises scheduling of RUs or dRUs [see ¶¶ 77, 81; user-specific fields are assigned to particular STAs 104 and may be used to schedule specific RUs and to indicate the scheduling to other WLAN device].
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 8.
YANG further discloses wherein the method is performed by the device and the second device in combination, the method further comprising: transmitting one or more of: the first RU or the first dRU; the second RU or the second dRU; the third RU or the third dRU; and the fourth RU or the fourth dRU [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 128; the user may use the contiguous tones of the allocated RU to transmit UL data, or may spread the contiguous tones of the RU across a 20 MHz frequency subband and transmit UL data using the spread tones].
Regarding claim 14, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the communication network conforms to the IEEE 802.11be standard or an IEEE 802.11 standard subsequent to the IEEE 802.11be standard [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128, 198; the tones included in a respective RU of the selected RUs (which may be referred to herein as the “existing tones”) may be contiguous tones associated with one of the RU26, RU52, RU106, RU242, RU484, or RU996 resource units of a tone plan adopted by one or more of the IEEE 802.11 family of wireless communication protocol standards (such as the IEEE 802.11ax or the IEEE 802.11be standards)].
Regarding claim 15, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the method is performed by a scheduler, and wherein the allocating the first RU or the first dRU, the second RU or the second dRU to the device, comprises scheduling of the first RU or the first dRU and scheduling of the second RU or the second dRU [see ¶¶ 77, 81; user-specific fields are assigned to particular STAs 104 and may be used to schedule specific RUs and to indicate the scheduling to other WLAN device].
Regarding claim 16, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the method is performed by the device, the method further comprising: transmitting one or both of: the first RU or the first dRU; and the second RU or the second dRU [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 128; the user may use the contiguous tones of the allocated RU to transmit UL data, or may spread the contiguous tones of the RU across a 20 MHz frequency subband and transmit UL data using the spread tones].
Regarding claim 17, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the method of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein one or more unusable tones, different from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones are defined, and wherein the first RU, the first dRU, the second RU and the second dRU are selected from a plurality of potential tone plans, and each of the plurality of potential tone plans exclude the one or more unusable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 193; wherein one or more unusable tones, different from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones are defined, and wherein the first RU, the first dRU, the second RU and the second dRU are selected from a plurality of potential tone plans, and each of the plurality of potential tone plans exclude the one or more unusable tones].
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites an apparatus for supporting usage, by a device, of a communication network using orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), the apparatus comprising processing electronics and a wireless transmitter [see Fig. 6, ¶ 99; a device 600 comprises processing elements 606 and one or more radios 604] and configured to perform the method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 18 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the combined system of YANG and Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
YANG further discloses wherein the apparatus is a scheduler or the device [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 77, 81; wherein the apparatus is the device].
Regarding claim 20, YANG discloses an apparatus for scheduling usage, by a first device and a second device, of a communication network using orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128-131; a user (or STA) can be mapped to a second set of tones that are distributed across an 80 MHz frequency band], the apparatus comprising processing electronics and a wireless transmitter and configured to:
schedule, to the first device, for concurrent use in transmission [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128; allocating, to the device and for concurrent use in transmission (during a resource allocation stage, each STA may select or obtain a single RU or multi-RU for UL transmissions), also see Fig. 5A, ¶ 93]:
a first 106 usable tones of a plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-131; the third tone plan 503 includes two RUs each spanning 106 tones, also Fig. 5A, ¶ 95]; and
a second 106 usable tones of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 129-131; the third tone plan 503 includes two RUs each spanning 106 tones, also Fig. 5A, ¶ 95]; and
scheduling usage, by the second device, of the communication network using OFDMA [see ¶ 127; the set of contiguous tones of the allocated RU may include 26 tones spanning a 2 MHz frequency subband, and the set of non-contiguous tones may include 20 tones spanning a 20 MHz frequency subband], the usage being concurrent with the usage by the device and the scheduling usage comprising:
scheduling, to the second device, for concurrent use in transmission:
a third 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 130; the existing tones in the third 20 MHz frequency subband are mapped to the third tone, the seventh tone, the eleventh tone, and so on, of the distributed sets of tones spanning the 80 MHz frequency ban]; and
a fourth 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones and the third 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones [see Fig. 10B, ¶ 127; the existing tones in the fourth 20 MHz frequency subband are mapped to the fourth tone, the eighth tone, the twelfth tone, and so on, of the distributed sets of tones spanning the 80 MHz frequency band];
wherein the first 106 usable tones are allocated to a first resource unit (RU) or a first distributed resource unit (dRU), the second 106 usable tones are allocated to a second RU or a second dRU, the third 106 usable tones are allocated to a third RU or a third dRU, and the fourth 106 usable tones are a fourth RU or a fourth dRU [see Fig. 10B, ¶¶ 128; tones included in a respective RU may be distributed across a 20 MHz frequency segment when the respective RU is one of the RU26, RU52, or RU106 resource units of the tone plan].
However, Chen discloses a second 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones; a third 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones; a fourth 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones and the second 106 usable tones and the third 106 usable tones [¶¶ 163, 195, 197; data tones of the packet 1060 can be assigned to individual destination devices, wherein the packet 1060 can include distinct sets of tones allocated to each individual destination device 1020, 1030, and 1040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “a second 106 usable tones, distinct from the first 106 usable tones, of the plurality of usable tones” as taught by Chen in the system of YANG, so that it would to advantageously facilitate user mobility and rapid field deployment when compared to fixed wired networks [see Chen; ¶ 4].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, LEE et al. (US 2016/0286551) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 18, and 20 (Fig. 9, 11, ¶¶ 131, 144).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469