DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendments and Remarks received 07/06/2026 in which claim 4 is cancelled, claim 1 is amended, and no claims are added as new claims.
Response to Arguments
On page 7 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the amendment clarifies the issue with respect to the orientation of the vent holes, which is the subject of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Examiner carefully reviewed the Remarks but finds the lack of clarity is still present. Because the claim starts with language explaining the display panel is “disposed on a dashboard,” the skilled artisan would be led to consider the display in an up-right orientation with the display panel facing the user. However, because the claim then recites that the air vents are vertical along the layers of the panel, the claim is confusing, especially when interpreted in light of Applicant’s Figs. 7 and 9. Examiner agrees that, in the art, the “verticality” is conventionally meant to refer to the stack of layers making up a planar display screen wherein the layers are vertical from the perspective of laying the display panel down, e.g. on a table. In other words, the term, “vertical,” is being interpreted according to a conventional usage to mean traversing along the depth dimension of the panel so as to describe layers on top of (in front of) or underneath (behind) other layers. See Fig. 7, y-coordinate. Unfortunately, Applicant’s other figures (e.g. Figs. 9–11) do not maintain an x, y, z legend like Applicant’s Figs. 7 and 8 so that one interpreting this application cannot be reasonably certain which way the vent holes (air vents) are oriented. Examiner suggests amending Figs. 9–11 to clarify the hole and vent directions. But also, Examiner recommends that the claim language itself differentiate orientations between a dashboard orientation and the panel orientation (or maintain consistency in the claim by using the same orientation) using clarifying language in order to add reasonable certainty in the minds of the public regarding how the air vents are oriented. In other words, the claim seems to need to reconcile orientations, for clarity, since the first limitation describes the display panel disposed in a dashboard, a pretty specific configuration within a vehicle in the minds of the public, and the perhaps different orientation of the air vents, such as fore-aft, with respect to the vehicle, or otherwise explain (i.e. in the claim) the x-, y-, z- directions more definitively since it appears Applicant desires the claim to change between two reference orientations midway through the claim. Examiner encourages Applicant reach out to Examiner with any questions.
On pages 7–10 of the Remarks, Applicant contends the prior art fails to teach or suggest the features added by way of amendment. Examiner finds the arguments moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Specifically, while the teachings of Min and Cha suggest air vents to dissipate heat, the teachings of Lin are further relied upon to teach the orientation of the vent holes in both horizontal and vertical directions in the same manner as depicted in Applicant’s Figs. 9–11. While the nature of a foam layer is to be porous, as taught by Min and Cha, Lin more concretely explains the vent holes go all the way through and connect the layers in a vertical direction to facilitate heat dissipation. Therefore, in view of the further teachings of Lin, the prior art combination evidences the recited features would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
For purposes of allowability, Examiner suggests perhaps the prior art does not specifically describe the material being molded or cut to create larger, discrete, plumb (strictly vertical) venting ducts through the material layers, but rather relies on the randomness of the porous material. Perhaps additional claim language distinguishing between prior art porousness of the material causing the air vents and specified distribution of the air vents according to a specified size and spacing could be a non-obvious feature where the prior art thus far been insufficient in describing particular vent configuration dimensions.
Other claims are not argued separately. Remarks, 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1–3 and 5–15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the orientation of the claimed air vents extending vertically is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art because the orientation of the display panel layers is unknown/undefined. Sometimes a cross-sectional diagram of a display illustrates the layers as a stack. However, typically displays are oriented upright such that their layers are oriented fore/aft (e.g. in a vehicle display, TV, or computer monitor). Therefore, the skilled artisan cannot be reasonably certain of what it means to have air vents extending “vertically” as recited in the claims. Accordingly, the claims are unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Examiner notes a similar issue was presented in original claim 4 and a rejection was made that was later withdrawn due to cancellation of said subject matter. It appears the feature is back now and its corresponding rejection for lack of clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 5, 6 and 8–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2023/0209890 A1), Nam (US 2022/0182743 A1), Min (US 2021/0405706 A1), and Lin (US 2007/0054109 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests a vehicle display device, comprising: a display panel disposed on a dashboard of a vehicle, wherein the display panel includes a display area in which a plurality of sub-pixels are arranged, and a non-display area surrounding the display area (Nam, ¶ 0330 and Fig. 34: teaches a display panel can be placed in a dashboard wherein there are display area and non-display areas (bezel area); Min, ¶ 0073 and Fig. 2: teaches active and non-active regions of a display; Nam, ¶¶ 0083–0086: teaches a pixel array layer, which the skilled artisan knows includes sub-pixels for each of the color components); and a plate disposed under the display panel so as to support the display panel (Nam, ¶ 0099 and Fig. 30: teaches the back support plate may include heat dissipation functionality achieved through conductive metals such as copper), wherein the plate includes a first metal layer (Cha, ¶ 0063: teaches additional heat dissipation support layers can be added for additional rigidity and heat dissipation efficiency), a foam layer on the first metal layer and a second metal layer on the foam layer (Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a cushioning layer between metal heat dissipation layers and adhesive layers therebetween; Cha, ¶ 0058: teaches a cushioning layer (foam layer) having a heat dissipation function and an impact absorption function; Cha, ¶ 0065: teaches additional adhesive layers having cushioning function and heat dissipation function), wherein the first metal layer, the foam layer, and the second metal layer are arranged in order along a vertical direction, wherein the vertical direction is from the first metal layer toward the second metal layer through the foam layer (Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a cushioning layer between metal heat dissipation layers and adhesive layers therebetween), wherein the foam layer has a plurality of air vents formed therethrough (Min, ¶¶ 0102–0104: teaches a foam layer disposed under a heat dissipation layer with holes therethrough for heat dissipation; see supra regarding multiple metal layers for heat dissipation and rigidity) wherein each of the plurality of air vents extends through an entire thickness of the foam layer in the vertical direction from a first outer surface of the foam layer facing the first metal layer to a second outer surface of the foam layer facing the second metal layer, and wherein the plurality of air vents are spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction crossing the vertical direction (Examiner notes the mere use of the term, foam, means holes in all directions, as foam connotes to the skilled artisan a porous structure having voids; Examiner further notes the prevalence in this art for using metal foams, which have desirable heat dissipation properties; Min, ¶¶ 0102–0104: teaches a foam layer disposed under a heat dissipation layer with holes for heat dissipation wherein defined voids can be engineered into the matrix and the material can be porous (i.e. vents and holes); see supra regarding multiple metal layers for heat dissipation and rigidity; Cha, ¶ 0059: teaches a porous metal foam layer; While Min and Cha teach the use of venting holes, the teachings of Lin better illustrate the material and hole layout structure of foam sandwiched between metal layers in a way that most closely resembles Applicant’s Figs. 9–11; Lin, Figs. 6–9 and ¶¶ 0030–0031: teaches a foam layer having air vents that extend through the surface vertically and are spaced apart horizontally).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Cha, with those of Nam, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice putting display technology in the dash of a vehicle would be led to their relevant teachings about the layers of the display to achieve support, rigidity, and heat dissipation characteristics. Thus, the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Cha and Nam used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Cha and Nam, with those of Min, because all three references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice putting display technology in the dash of a vehicle would be led to their relevant teachings about the layers of the display to achieve support, rigidity, and heat dissipation characteristics. Thus, the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Cha, Nam, and Min used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Cha, Nam, and Min, with those of Lin, because all four references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice putting display technology in the dash of a vehicle would be led to their relevant teachings about the layers of the display to achieve support, rigidity, and heat dissipation characteristics, especially as it relates to vent holes and metal doped foam layers to facilitate heat dissipation. Thus, the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 1, wherein the plate includes: a first thermally-conductive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (Examiner notes the layers of a display are connected with adhesive layers; Nam, ¶ 0080: teaches pressure sensitive adhesive used between layers; Cha, Abstract: teaches a first adhesive layer on a rear surface of the display panel); the first metal layer disposed on the first thermally-conductive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a metal heat dissipation layer on an adhesive layer; Cha, ¶ 0063: teaches additional heat dissipation support layers can be added for additional rigidity and heat dissipation efficiency); a second thermally-conductive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer disposed on the foam layer (Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a cushioning layer between metal heat dissipation layers and adhesive layers therebetween; Cha, ¶ 0058: teaches a cushioning layer (foam layer) having a heat dissipation function and an impact absorption function; Cha, ¶ 0065: teaches additional adhesive layers having cushioning function and heat dissipation function); the second metal layer disposed on the second thermally-conductive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (Nam, ¶ 0080: teaches pressure sensitive adhesive used between layers; Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a metal heat dissipation layer on an adhesive layer; Cha, ¶ 0063: teaches additional heat dissipation support layers can be added for additional rigidity and heat dissipation efficiency); and a black coating layer disposed on the second metal layer (Examiner notes black coatings in display layers is known for the benefits of light absorption), wherein the foam layer is disposed on the first metal layer (Cha, ¶ 0014: teaches a cushioning layer between metal heat dissipation layers and adhesive layers therebetween).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 2, wherein the black coating layer is made of a plastic material including at least one of polycarbonate, polyimide, polyethylene naphthalate, and polyethylene terephthalate (Min, ¶ 0097 and 0153: teaches a base member can have a synthetic film such as polyimide or PET).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 4, wherein the foam layer includes a plurality of holes in addition to the plurality of air vents (Min, ¶¶ 0102–0104: teaches a foam layer disposed under a heat dissipation layer with holes for heat dissipation wherein defined voids can be engineered into the matrix and the material can be porous (i.e. vents and holes); Cha, ¶ 0059: teaches a porous metal foam layer).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first metal layer and the second metal layer includes copper (Cu) (Nam, ¶ 0099 and Fig. 30: teaches the back support plate may include heat dissipation functionality achieved through conductive metals such as copper).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 2, wherein a guide holder is disposed under the first thermally-conductive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, wherein a rear cover is disposed under the guide holder, wherein the guide holder is fixed to the rear cover in a screw fastening manner (Nam, ¶ 0171 and Fig. 5: teaches screws for holding the display to a guide holder).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 8, wherein the guide holder receives therein a source printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the source PCB is electrically connected to the display panel through a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) (Cha, ¶¶ 0005 and 0046: teaches a flexible circuit board; Nam, e.g. Abstract: teaches flexible circuit film; Min, ¶ 0084: teaches flexible circuit board).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 8, wherein a polarizing layer is disposed on the display panel (Nam, ¶ 0092: teaches the display panel can include a polarizing layer), wherein a first optical adhesive layer is disposed on the polarizing layer (Nam, ¶ 0080: teaches the layers of a display include optically transparent adhesive for the layers that need the light to pass through, such would be the case for the polarizing layer; Nam, ¶ 0093: teaches the optical film can be disposed on another layer by transparent adhesive), wherein a light control film is disposed on the first optical adhesive layer (Examiner notes light control film is also known in the art as collimating film or optical film; Nam, ¶ 0092: teaches optical film; Min, ¶ 0092: teaches one of the layers can be a film having an optical function such as an optical axis control film), wherein a second optical adhesive layer is disposed on the light control film (Nam, ¶ 0080: teaches the layers of a display include optically transparent adhesive for the layers that need the light to pass through, such would be the case for the polarizing layer; Nam, ¶ 0093: teaches the optical film can be disposed on another layer by transparent adhesive), wherein a cover glass is disposed on the second optical adhesive layer (Nam, ¶ 0077: teaches an outer glass layer).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 10, wherein the rear cover has a flat bottom in the display area and the non-display area, and has a height sized such that a top of the rear cover contacts the cover glass in an end of the non-display area, and wherein the rear cover is bonded to the cover glass through a connecting member (Min, ¶ 0090: teaches the outer case may be combined with the window; Nam, ¶ 0127 and Fig. 3: teach a rear cover that encapsulates the display layers and is bonded to the cover glass).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 11, wherein the connecting member includes a foam tape or a foam pad, or includes a tape made of an elastic material or a conductive double-sided tape (Nam, ¶ 0119: teaches a connecting member may be double-sided tape or foam pad or ductile adhesive material).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 10, wherein the cover glass is made of one of polymethyl methacrylate, polycarbonate, cycloolefin polymer, polyethylene terephthalate, polyimide, and polyaramid (Nam, ¶ 0077: teaches the front glass can be a plastic such as PET or the like).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 1, wherein the foam layer has a thickness of 120 micrometers or smaller but greater than zero micrometers (Cha, ¶ 0065: teaches a cushioning adhesive layer (adhesive foam layer) having a thickness of 60 micrometers).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Hu (US 2025/0098482 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Hu teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 1, wherein the foam layer contains carbon powders (Lin, e.g. ¶¶ 0010 and 0024: teaches doping display layers with metal powders for heat dissipation; Hu, ¶¶ 0024 and 0064: teaches carbon powders as a doping agent is effective for transferring more heat and can be used in the buffer (foam) layer).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin, with those of Hu, because all five references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice putting display technology in the dash of a vehicle would be led to their relevant teachings about the layers of the display to achieve support, rigidity, and heat dissipation characteristics. Thus, the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Hu used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Kim (US 2022/0377949 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Kim teaches or suggests the vehicle display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first metal layer and the second metal layer has a thickness of 70 micrometers or smaller but greater than zero micrometers (Kim, ¶ 0118: teaches copper metal plates in a display having a thickness 70 μm or less).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Cha, Nam, Min, and Lin, with those of Kim, because all five references are drawn to the same field of endeavor such that one wishing to practice putting display technology in the dash of a vehicle would be led to their relevant teachings about the layers of the display to achieve support, rigidity, and heat dissipation characteristics. Thus, the combination is a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of Cha, Nam, Min, Lin, and Kim used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 2023/0393622 A1) teaches two support layers and the thickness of the support layers being 30-40 micrometers (¶ 0058), teaches a foam layer (105) providing heat dissipation channels that is twice as thick as the support layer 1061 (¶ 0055 and Fig. 6).
Wang (US 2020/0371570 A1) teaches horizontal heat dissipation for heat dissipating film and perpendicular heat conduction of heat dissipation film (¶ 0025).
Won (US 2020/0252707 A1) teaches heat dissipation film and an adhesive layer of double-sided tape including a foam layer (¶ 0073).
Chen (US 2024/0389284 A1) teaches vent holes in the back layers of a display for improving the dissipation of heat (¶¶ 0082–0083) and teaches multiple metal heat dissipation layers on the back side of a display for dissipating heat made from copper or similar heat conductive metals (Abstract and ¶ 0015).
Qing (US 2024/0276687 A1) teaches a foam layer with many small holes for rapid heat dissipation in contact with a conductive copper layer (¶¶ 0047–0049).
Lee (US 2024/0217203 A1) teaches a support plate with a thickness between 70 and 90 micrometers (¶ 0087).
(CN 117062471 A1) teaches foam and metal layers for a display panel wherein the foam layer comprises carbon powder particles (Abstract, Novelty).
Toyota (US 2023/0234334 A1) teaches the various layers behind a display including adhesive layers have a total thickness of 70 micrometers (¶¶ 0153 and 0155).
Park (US 2023/0189563 A1) teaches a heat dissipation layer utilizing metal powders (¶ 0140).
Won (US 2020/0389734 A1) teaches flexible PCBs (e.g. ¶ 0083), copper thermal conductivity layers (¶ 0100), and pressure sensitive and double-sided adhesive with foam (e.g. ¶¶ 0110 and 0120).
Lin (US 2007/0054109 A1) teaches adhesive layers having a plurality of vents in spatial communication with the air passages in the heat-dissipating pad (¶ 0008), teaches a silicon heat-dissipating layer doped with metal powders (¶ 0006), and teaches more and more layers can be added in terms of additional metal and foam layers (¶ 0029 and Figs. 5–7).
Teragawa (US 2009/0279313 A1) teaches plate-shaped display backing having random holes allowing air flow between a first main surface and a second main surface (e.g. ¶ 0018 and Figs. 2–5).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J HESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2481