DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0083769 (Tanaka) in view of US 7,548,698 (Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a visible light communication system configured to perform visible light communication between a terminal apparatus and a base station apparatus, the visible light communication system comprising:
the terminal apparatus comprising
multiple visible light communicators comprising a first visible light communicator and a second visible light communicator (FIG. 10: multiple light communicators 130, 230), and
a controller configured to control the multiple visible light communicators (FIG. 6: beam control section 126, optical communication section 125, and monitoring control section 116),
wherein the multiple visible light communicators each have a directivity in a different direction (FIG. 10: light communicators 130, 230 pointed in different directions), and
the controller is configured to perform switching control of switching from a state in which the first visible light communicator performs visible light communication with a first base station apparatus to a state in which the second visible light communicator performs visible light communication with a second base station apparatus.
FIG. 10 illustrates that the optical antennas are pointed in different directions.
See also:
[0081] FIG. 10 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a configuration example of the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 in the optical communication section 125 of the HAPS in the embodiment. In FIG. 10, in the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230, a plurality of optical antennas 131 are arranged at equal intervals on an outer peripheral surface of a hemispherical dome-like base member 132. By providing the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 in combination in the opposite direction to the left and right side end portions of the HAPS 10 and the upper and lower end portions of the HAPS 20 as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, a three-dimensional optical antenna apparatus capable of aligning optical axes in omnidirection. The plurality of optical antennas 131 may be disposed so that the directional beams of the optical antennas adjacent to each other partially overlap.
See also:
[0076] FIG. 9 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a configuration example of the optical communication section 125 and the beam control section 126 of the HAPSs 10 and 20 in the embodiment. In FIG. 9, the optical communication section 125 includes optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 for transmitting and receiving a beam-formed light such as laser light, and an optical transmission/reception signal processing section 135 for processing an optical signal that is transmitted and received via the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230. The optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 have a plurality of optical antennas with outward directivities different from each other. Each optical antenna can be configured, for example, using light emitting elements such as high-power type semiconductor lasers, high-sensitivity type light receiving elements, and optical elements such as lenses.
This teaches that the optical antennas are pointed in different directions. Tanaka also teaches that there is a controller to select between the multiple optical antennas. See:
[0082] In the case of the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 in FIG. 10, the beam control section 126 performs a control so that an optical antenna used for optical communication with the optical communication destination is selected from the plurality of optical antennas 131 based on the optical beam control information.
[0083] Here, the following control may be performed to maintain a continuous optical communication at a time of handover for switching the optical antenna 131. For example, the beam control section 126 may perform a control to predict and sequentially select an optical antennas used for optical communication with the optical communication destination based on a time change of the optical beam control information such as the reception sensitivity of the foregoing optical antenna in communication and the optical antenna in the vicinity thereof. When switching of the optical antenna 131, the optical communication section 125 may perform an optical communication with the optical communication destination so as to synchronize and overlap the optical communication via each of the plurality of optical antennas with each other for a predetermined time before and after the switching. The optical communication section 125 may control to stop or reduce a power supply to the optical antenna that is not used for the optical communication with the optical communication destination among the plurality of optical antennas 131, in order to reduce a power consumption. The optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 may be configured to be capable of adjusting at least one of a direction and a divergence angle of the directional beam of the optical antenna 131 in order to accurately align the optical axis with the optical communication destination.
FIG. 6 illustrates the control and signal processing portions of the HAPS 10.
In particular, there are several controllers that monitor and control the operation to implement the functionality of the device. See:
[0061] The monitoring control section 116 is configured with, for example, a CPU and a memory, etc., and monitors the operation processing status of each section and controls each section in the HAPSs 10 and 20, by executing the preinstalled program. The power source section 117 supplies an electric power outputted from the batteries 106 and 204 to each section in the HAPSs 10 and 20. The power source section 117 may have a function of storing an electric power generated by the solar-power generation panel, etc. and an electric power supplied from outside in the batteries 106 and 204.
[0062] The optical communication section 125 communicates with neighboring other HAPSs 10 and 20 and an artificial satellite via an optical communication medium such as a laser light. This communication enables dynamic routing that dynamically relays a radio communication between the mobile communication network 80 and a terminal apparatus such as the drone 60, and can enhance a robustness of the mobile communication system by backing up and relaying wirelessly the other HAPSs when one of the HAPSs fails.
[0063] The beam control section 126 controls direction and intensity of a beam such as a laser light used for an inter-HAPS communication and a communication with an artificial satellite, and performs control so as to switch another HAPS (radio relay station) for performing communication by an optical beam such as the laser light in accordance with a change in a relative position to neighboring another HAPS (radio relay station). This control may be performed based on, for example, a position and posture of the HAPS itself, a position of the neighboring HAPS, and the like. Information on the position and posture of the HAPS itself may be acquired based on an output of a GPS receiver, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, etc. incorporated in the HAPS, and information on the position of the neighboring HAPS may be acquired from the remote control apparatus 85 or another HAPS management server provided in the mobile communication network 80.
In other words, Tanaka teaches controllers to switch between different optical antenna as needed. Furthermore, FIG. 5 illustrates the use of plural ground/base stations 70 which are in optical communication with the HAPS 10, 20.
See also:
[0042] Each of the radio relay stations of the HAPSs 10 and 20 is connected to a core network of a mobile communication network 80 via a feeder station (gateway) 70 that is a relay station installed on the ground or on the sea. A communication between the HAPSs 10 and 20 and the feeder station 70 may be performed by a radio communication using radio waves such as microwaves, or may be performed by an optical communication using a laser beam or the like.
This teaches that there can be communication with the base stations. To the extent it was not explicit, it would have been obvious to switch between different base stations, such as when communication with a different base station is desired, or when the location changes and a different base station is more convenient.
Furthermore, it was known that free space communication can be in the visible spectrum. See, for example, Yamamoto, at
(4) Communication means are well known wherein infrared light or visible light is used and space serves as the signal transmission medium (see JP (Kokai) [Unexamined Japanese Patent Publication] 1[1989]-264,420). Such communication means have an advantage in that cables, fibers, and other types of wiring are not needed and this means can respond flexibly to changes in configuration, and the like. Communications in one or both directions is possible with a system whereby light emitted from a light-emitting side is received at a light-receiving side. A laser, a light-emitting diode, or another type of semiconductor device can be used as the light source.
It would have been obvious that the communication system of Tanaka can be implemented in a known manner, such as with visible light as taught in Yamamoto. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., optical communications) and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches the visible light communication system according to claim 1, wherein
each of the multiple visible light communicators comprises
at least one light emitting element (FIG. 9: optical antenna 130, 230),
at least one light receiving element (FIG. 9: optical antenna 130, 230), and
a transceiver configured to perform transmission and reception processing on a
visible light signal by using the light emitting element and the light receiving element (FIG. 9: optical transmission/reception signal processing section 135).
As discussed in claim 1, Tanaka teaches plural optical transmitters/receivers and it would have been obvious that each optical transmitter includes a light emitting element and each optical receiver includes a light receiving element. Furthermore, because optical signals are transmitted and received, it would have been obvious that there is a transceiver to process the transmitted and received signals. See the discussion of Tanaka in claim 1.
Furthermore, FIG. 9 of Tanaka teaches the use of optical antenna 130, 230 and an optical transmission/reception signal processing section 135.
See also:
[0076] FIG. 9 is a schematic configuration diagram showing a configuration example of the optical communication section 125 and the beam control section 126 of the HAPSs 10 and 20 in the embodiment. In FIG. 9, the optical communication section 125 includes optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 for transmitting and receiving a beam-formed light such as laser light, and an optical transmission/reception signal processing section 135 for processing an optical signal that is transmitted and received via the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230. The optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 have a plurality of optical antennas with outward directivities different from each other. Each optical antenna can be configured, for example, using light emitting elements such as high-power type semiconductor lasers, high-sensitivity type light receiving elements, and optical elements such as lenses.
[0077] The optical transmission/reception signal processing section 135 processes an optical signal, which is received by the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230 and converted into an electrical signal, to generate a reception data, and processes a transmission data to generate an optical signal to be sent to the optical antenna apparatuses 130 and 230.
See also the transmission/reception section 114 in FIG. 6 (reproduced and discussed in claim 1).
As a result, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that each optical communicator has an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, and a transceiver to control/process the transmitted and received data.
Regarding claim 20, Tanaka teaches a terminal apparatus configured to perform visible light communication with a base station apparatus, the terminal apparatus comprising:
multiple visible light communicators comprising a first visible light communicator and a second visible light communicator (FIG. 10: multiple light communicators 130, 230); and
a controller configured to control the multiple visible light communicators (FIG. 6: control section 126),
wherein the multiple visible light communicators each have a directivity in a different direction (FIG. 10: light communicators 130, 230 pointed in different directions), and
the controller is configured to perform switching control of switching from a state in which the first visible light communicator performs visible light communication with a first base station apparatus to a state in which the second visible light communicator performs visible light communication with a second base station apparatus.
This is the terminal apparatus from claim 1 and is rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. US 2018/0332507 (Fujishiro) teaches a wireless radio communication system that uses a pilot signal, also called a known signal. See:
[0231] As illustrated in FIGS. 16A and 16B, the source eNB 200-1 (source cell) uses a first subcarrier of a specific symbol (hereinafter, referred to as “first resource region”) to transmit the first known signal. The first known signal may be referred to as “pilot signal (PS)”. The target eNB 200-2 (target cell) uses a second subcarrier of a specific symbol (hereinafter, referred to as “second resource region”) to transmit the second known signal. In the example illustrated in FIGS. 16A and 16B, a frequency (subcarrier) at which the known signal is transmitted is consistent with a frequency at which the synchronization signal (PSS, SSS) is transmitted.
[0232] The source eNB 200-1 may stop the transmission of the station of the source eNB 200-1 in the second resource region. The target eNB 200-2 may stop the transmission of the station of the target eNB 200-2 in the first resource region. The resource region where the transmission of the station of the target eNB 200-2 is stopped may be referred to as “neighbor pilot signal monitoring (NCPS-M)”. The source eNB 200-1 may implicitly notify the UE 100 of the NCPS-M. The source eNB 200-1 may set a measurement gap in a timing for transmitting the first and second synchronization signals, to UE 100.
In other words, it was known for wireless communication system to transmit and receive pilot signals. See also the processing of received signals taught in Tanaka as discussed in claims 1 and 2.
However, the art of record does not appear to teach the particular use of pilot signals with the multiple visible light communicators in combination with the first visible light communicator performing VLC with the first base station. In particular, the prior art of record does not appear to teach, in combination with other limitations, to perform measurement processing on pilot visible light signals that the multiple visible light communicators receive from each of base station apparatuses while the first visible light communicator is performing visible light communication with the first base station apparatus.
US 2007/0031151 (Cunningham) at FIG. 1 illustrates a free space optical transceiver.
This device can be used on a moving platform and/or used to communicate with a moving terminal. FIG. 3 illustrates the system with two terminals communicating with each other.
Cunningham also teaches that the communication terminals are designed to work with moving platforms, and that the APT module 118 tracks the other terminal and controls the gimbal system 102 and fast steering mirror 128 to keep the transmitters and receivers pointed at each other. See:
[0018] Laser communication terminal 100 is designed to operate in a laser communication system with moving platforms, where the relative positions of terminals change over time. The system can include, for example, terminals mounted on airborne platforms, satellites, ships, watercraft, or ground vehicles, as well as stationary terminals that communicate with terminals mounted on moving platforms (e.g., combinations of air-to-air and air-to-ground links). The system can include any number of terminals in communication with each other in a networked manner. Since the system communicates using directional laser beams, the optical components required to transmit and receive signals are mounted on a gimbal system 102 that permits rotation in azimuth and elevation so that beams can be pointed over a wide range of directions.
[0020] Referring again to FIG. 1, a telescope 104 is mounted on gimbal 102 for transmitting data laser beams toward a far-end terminal and receiving data laser beams from the far-end terminal to effect two-way communication. By way of a non-limiting example, telescope 102 can be a compact 10.times. a focal telescope having a four inch aperture, with a coated aluminum surface, and 1 to 0.7 width to diameter to length aspect ratio. Preferably, data laser beams are transmitted at one wavelength and received at another wavelength such that telescope 104 can simultaneously transmit and receive data laser beams and operate in a full-duplex mode. Additionally, telescope 104 is responsible for receiving a beacon laser beam used to determine the angular direction (position) of the far-end transceiver, which can be used to control the pointing direction of the transmit and receive laser beams. The beacon laser beam is preferably transmitted from the far-end transceiver terminal via a separate beacon aperture with a wider beamwidth than the data laser beams and at a different wavelength than the data laser beams.
[0023] Coarse pointing of telescope 104 is accomplished by acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 controlling the azimuth and elevation of gimbal 102. A gimbal position sensor 124 reports the gimbal position to acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118, which provides positioning control signals to a gimbal controller 126 to drive the gimbal to a desired angle based on feedback from beacon receiver 116.
[0024] Acquisition, pointing, and tracking module 118 also controls a fast-steering mirror 128 via a fast-steering mirror controller 130 (e.g., a piezoelectric drive mechanism) to effect fine pointing and tracking of laser beams. Specifically, fast steering mirror 128 is disposed along the common optical axis between telescope 104 and beamsplitter 112 and deflects incoming and outgoing laser beams at a selected angle to control the angle at which laser beams are transmitted and received by telescope 104. Feedback from a fast-steering mirror position sensor 132 and the beacon laser beam detected by position sensor detector 114 is used to control the rotation angle of fast steering mirror 128 to achieve a deflection angle corresponding to the detected angle of the far-end transceiver, as described in detail below.
It includes a data laser transmitter 106, an optical receiver (DATA) 108, a beacon laser transmitter 136, a beacon receiver 116, and an RF transceiver 134. There outputs are mounted on a gimbal 102 which also includes a fast steering mirror 128 for keeping the transmitters and receivers pointed at a corresponding terminal.
US 6,243,182 (Wang) at FIG. 1 illustrates a free space optical communication transceiver including an optical transmitter 20 and a beam forming lens 40.
See also
(4) As illustrated in FIG. 1, each transceiver 10 and 12 is provided with a transmitter, indicated generally at 20. The transmitter 20 is a laser-type GaAlAs having a laser wavelength of 780-940 nanometers. The beam divergence is 0.5 to five mrad with an average power of five to forty milliwatts. The optical aperture is twenty-five millimeters. The electronic components of the transmitter 20 are mounted upon a printed circuit board 22. The transmitter 20 includes a waveform shaping modulator 24, an optical source which is preferably a laser diode LD1, and laser diode driver circuitry indicated generally at 28 in FIG. 3. The beam forming optics of the transmitter 20 include a convex, one-inch diameter beam forming transmitting lens 40. The collimating lens 40 is focused on the laser diode LD1 and produces a collimated optical beam indicated generally at 42 in FIGS. 2 and 3.
FIG. 2 illustrates the free space optical communication system in which the transmitter produces an optical beam 42.
See also the top of col. 6:
(9) In FIG. 2 the transceiver 12 is illustrated as being operated in the transmitting mode to produce the collimated optical beam 42, and the transceiver 10 is illustrated as being operated in the receiving mode. As shown in that drawing figure, the single transmitting lens 40 of the transceiver 12 emits a collimated beam 42 that has an elliptical cross section with a vertically oriented major axis indicated at 44.
In other words, it was known for optical transmitters in free space optical communications..
Conclusion
/DARREN E WOLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634