DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Initially, the terms “relatively high” and “relatively low” in claim 7 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “relatively high” and “relatively low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear how high or how low an index in the art would have to be in order to be considered “relatively high” or “relatively low”.
The claim is also rejected for being unclear because it is unclear how the dielectric multi-layer can comprise the light absorbing film (as a high refractive index film) as required by claim 7 when claim 6, from which claim 7 depends, requires the dielectric multilayer to be provided “on” the light absorbing film. How can the light absorbing film be forming the dielectric multi-layer as required by claim 7 and yet be a separate film under the dielectric multi-layer as required by claim 6 at the same time? Is there an additional light-absorbing film?
Based on the clarity of the claim, prior art cannot yet be applied as the scope and structure of the films in the claim are uncertain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Miyauchi et al. (US PN 5,942,331).
Regarding claim 1: Miyauchi et al. teach a film covered transparent base plate comprising a transparent base plate and a light-absorbing film on a principal surface of the plate (see abstract, Col. 1, lines 4-8 and Examples). The film includes a metal oxide phase and a metallic phase (see abstract, Examples).
Miyauchi’s metal oxide phase can be Fe2O3 and the metallic phase can be Au, Ag, etc. (see abstract and Examples) with Miyauchi even providing an Example of Fe2O3 with Au (See Example 26 for instance). Given that these are the same metal oxides and metallics disclosed by Applicants’ (see for instance Applicants’ par. 0032-0033), one having ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the same standard Gibbs energy relationship between the metal elements to be present (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, it is additionally noted that Applicants appear to suggest that a combination of Fe2O3 with Ag is a preferred combination in obtaining a standard Gibb’s energy relationship as claimed (see Applicants’ par 0045-0047), and as Miyauchi allows for such a combination as shown above, again one having ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the same relationship to be present, or at the very least, for such a combination to be obvious.
Regarding claims 2-5: As mentioned, Miyauchi’s metal oxide can be Fe2O3 and Miyauchi’s metallic phase can be Au, Ag, etc. (see abstract and Examples).
Given that the above materials are the same as that disclosed by Applicants’ (see for instance Applicants’ par. 0032-0033 disclosing suitable oxides and metallics), one having ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the same resulting properties to be present (MPEP 2112).
Additionally, note that Applicants film is disclosed as having a metallic content of preferably 5-80mol% (see Applicants’ par 0054) and a ratio of metal/metal+oxide preferably being 0.3 to 0.8 (0049, 0054). Miyauchi teaches their metal oxide of Fe2O3 being at a content of 5-95wt% with their Au, Ag, etc. metallic content being 5-30wt% which allows for amounts and ratios overlapping with that disclosed by Applicants’ (see for instance abstract and Examples).
For instance, but not limited to, see Miyauchi’s Examples demonstrating contents allowed for by Miyauchi’s disclosed ranges such as that showing a Fe2O3 metal oxide phase being at 84.9wt% with a metallic Au phase being at 16.1wt% (see Example 26 in Table 1 for instance) which converts to (approx.) 87mol% oxide and 13mol% metallic (see calculation below).
84.9g Fe2O3 (1mol/159.69g FW of Fe2O3) =0.53 mol
16.1g Au (1mol/ 196.97g FW of Au) = 0.08mol
0.53mol Fe2O3 + 0.08mol Au = 0.61 total mol
0.53mol Fe2O3/ 0.61 total mol = 0.87 x 100 = 87mol%
0.08mol Au / 0.61 total mol = 0.13 x 100 = 13mol%
Given that Miyauch’s oxide and metallic materials are the same as disclosed by Applicants’ and Miyauchi’s amounts allow for overlap and can even fall within that disclosed by Applicants, one having ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the same properties to result (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Miyauchi et al. (US PN 5,942,331) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Nakamura (USPN6686049) in further view of any one of US20070292659, US7833629 or US6924037
As discussed above, Miyauchi teaches the invention of claim 1. While Miyauchi may not disclose a dielectric multi-layer provided on their light absorbing film as required by claim 6 or a dielectric multilayer on the plate as required by claim 8, they do not exclude this either. Instead, Miyauchi only generally teaches a colored light absorbing film with a high refractive index on glass.
As Nakamura, who similarly teaches a colored light absorbing film with a high refractive index on glass, discloses the desire to provide a low index dielectric thereon for antireflection purposes (see entire disclosure), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Miyauchi to include a low index dielectric on their high index film for antireflection purposes.
While the above may only be providing a dielectric single layer instead of a dielectric multi-layer on the colored absorbing film as required by claim 8 and may only be providing for a multilayer having one low index layer on a high index absorbing film and not necessarily alternating as required by claim 7, a recitation of a multi-layer and alternation is considered nothing more than a result of duplication of parts, and more specifically of duplicating/repeating the high index/low index sequence within Miyauchi, and it has been held by the courts that duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04).
In the instant case, the previous modification provides for a high index color absorbing dielectric layer/ low index dielectric sequence for antireflection and it is well known and conventional in the art of antireflection technology to repeat alternating high and low index layers for antireflection as desired (for instance see ‘ par 0002 in ‘659; see ‘037, and see ‘629 as a few examples of the general knowledge of repeating HI/LI sequences in the AR art). As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Miyauchi to duplicate/repeat their HI/LI sequence as desired for antireflection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and upon filing an eTD to get over the Double Patenting below.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the closest prior art of Miyauchi teaches a film-covered transparent base plate having a transparent base plate and light-absorbing film meeting claim 1, the art fails to teach or render obvious a top plate for a cooking device comprising the film-covered transparent base plate wherein the film is on the underside surface. In contrast, Miyauchi’s film-covered transparent base plate is that of architectural and vehicle windows.
Additionally note that although Miyauchi’s film-covered transparent base plate is a colored film on glass and one may attempt to argue that given that there is prior art (see notice of references cited) directed to top plates for a cooking device comprising a colored film on an underside surface then such an application would have been obvious, this would be unreasonable.
Initially as mentioned above, Miyauchi’s film-covered transparent base plate is that of architectural and vehicle windows and gives no indication of using their film on top plates for cooking devices. Additionally, while the Examiner acknowledges that there may be prior art (see notice of references cited) directed to top plates for a cooking device comprising a colored film on an underside surface, it is initially noted that the films used in those references not only do not meet the requirements of claim 1 but the films taught therein are disclosed as requiring not just color but additional insulation properties, heat resistance, etc. required for cook top applications. As there is nothing in Miyauchi to indicate that their color film will have the properties required in cooking top plate applications nor any indication at all that their film would even be capable of the heat known to be generated by cooking devices, it would be unreasonable to assert it would have been obvious to take Miyauchi’s film used for architectural and vehicle glass and place it on the underside of a cooking top which is a completely different application, exposed to completely different conditions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-18 of copending Application No. 18/721258 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784