DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacKarvich (US Pub. App. 2021/0238924).
Re Claim 1, MacKarvich discloses an energy absorber assembly (270) for use with a ladder safety system (80) operatively connected to a ladder (70) (Figs. 5-6), comprising: a cable connector (170, 272, and 280) configured and arranged to be operatively connected to a portion of a cable (140); an energy absorber (410) operatively connected to the cable connector and configured and arranged to move from an expanded position (the position shown in Figs. 5-6) toward a compressed position (Claim 12; [0049]); and a bottom (610c as part of 260 with 675) fixed relative to the ladder configured and arranged to support the energy absorber.
Re Claim 2, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein the cable connector includes a flange (280) and a retainer (275, 277), a first portion (annotated Fig. 5 below) of the energy absorber being captured between the flange and the retainer.
Re Claim 4, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein the energy absorber is made of metal ([0091].).
Re Claim 5, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein the energy absorber (shown in a hidden state/configuration) includes a top portion (annotated Fig. 6 below), a bottom portion (annotated Fig. 6 below), and at least one intermediate portion (annotated Fig. 6 below) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion.
Re Claim 6, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 5, wherein the top portion is configured and arranged to contact the at least one intermediate portion and the at least one intermediate portion is configured and arranged to contact the bottom portion when the energy absorber is in the compressed position (It can be understood, through the views shown in the figures, that said absorber compresses and the respective portions contact each other, as each ‘portion’ is always contacting its neighboring portion where they transition from each portion to the next.)
Re Claim 7, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 5, wherein the top, at least one intermediate, and bottom portions include apertures (“a bore therethrough”, paragraph [0049], Line 3 of the righthand column of Pg. 4) through which the cable connector extends (Part of said connector extends partially through some of the disclosed apertures, as shown clearly in the exposed configuration of Fig. 5.).
Re Claim 10, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein an intermediate connector portion (annotated Fig. 5 below) of the cable connector is positioned within the energy absorber when the energy absorber is in the expanded position.
Re Claim 11, in an alternative interpretation, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein an intermediate connector portion (675 and 676 as part of 272) of the cable connector extends downward from the energy absorber when the energy absorber is in the compressed position (The relative downwards position of the intermediate connector portion when the absorber is compressed can be understood by Fig. 5.).
Re Claim 12, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein during use when a downward force (F, [0049]) is exerted on the cable the energy absorber moves from the expanded position toward the compressed position (Claim 12; [0049]) and an intermediate connector portion (annotated Fig. 5 directly above) of the cable connector moves from being positioned within the energy absorber to extending downward from the energy absorber (It can be understood by the figures that if absorber 410 is sufficiently compressed against the top edges/lips of 610c, the intermediate connector portion disclosed would extend 62 at least partially downwards from it.).
Re Claim 13, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1, wherein the bottom includes a bottom slot (268) configured and arranged to selectively receive portions of the cable connector.
Re Claim 14, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 1 (Fig. 6), wherein the energy absorber is contained within a housing (260/268) to which the bottom is operatively connected, the housing being operatively connected to a bracket (90).
Re Claim 15, MacKarvich discloses an energy absorber assembly (270) for use with a ladder safety system (80) operatively connected to a ladder (70) (Figs. 5-6), comprising: a cable connector (170, 272, and 280) configured and arranged to be operatively connected to a portion of a cable (140); an energy absorber (410) operatively connected to the cable connector and configured and arranged to move from an expanded position (the position shown in Figs. 5-6) toward a compressed position (Claim 12; [0049]), the energy absorber includes a top portion (annotated Fig. 6 immediately above), a bottom portion (annotated Fig. 6 immediately above), and at least one intermediate portion (annotated Fig. 6 immediately above) interconnecting the top portion and the bottom portion.; and a bottom (610c as part of 260 with 675) fixed relative to the ladder configured and arranged to support the energy absorber and wherein during use when a downward force (F, [0049]) is exerted on the cable the energy absorber moves from the expanded position toward the compressed position (Claim 12; [0049]) and an intermediate connector portion (annotated Fig. 5 directly above) of the cable connector moves from being positioned within the energy absorber to extending downward from the energy absorber (It can be understood by the figures that if absorber 410 is sufficiently compressed against the top edges/lips of 610c, the intermediate connector portion disclosed would extend 62at least partially downwards from it.), and wherein the top portion is configured and arranged to contact the at least one intermediate portion and the at least one intermediate portion is configured and arranged to contact the bottom portion when the energy absorber is in the compressed position (It can be understood, through the views shown in the figures, that said absorber compresses and the respective portions contact each other, as each ‘portion’ is always contacting its neighboring portion where they transition from each portion to the next.)
Re Claim 17, Mackarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 15, wherein the top, at least one intermediate, and bottom portions include apertures (“a bore therethrough”, paragraph [0049], Line 3 of the righthand column of Pg. 4) through which the cable connector extends (Part of said connector extends partially through some of the disclosed apertures, as shown clearly in the exposed configuration of Fig. 5.).
Re Claim 20, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 15 (Fig. 5), wherein the energy absorber is contained within a housing (260 and 268) to which the bottom is operatively connected, the housing being operatively connected to a bracket (90).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKarvich, as applied above.
MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claims 1 and 15, respectively, wherein the cable connector includes a bore (please refer to the cable clamp 170 in annotated Fig. 5 above.) configured and arranged to receive the portion of the cable. MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assembly of claim 15, wherein the cable connector includes a bore (Please refer to the cable clamp 170 in annotated Fig. 5 below.) configured and arranged to receive the portion of the cable, and wherein the cable connector includes a flange (280) and a retainer (275, 277), a first portion (annotated Fig. 5 below) of the energy absorber being captured between the flange and the retainer.
MacKarvich does not clearly teach the cable connector being swaged onto the cable.
The examiner takes Official Notice in that it was old and well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to swage a cable to a connector. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MacKarvich’s cable connector, as disclosed in their respective claims, to be swaged onto the cable in order to securely fasten the two elements (connector and cable) together. Furthermore, the method of forming an apparatus or any structure is not germane as to its patentability.
2113 Product-by-Process Claims [R-01.2024]
I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted)
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacKarvich, as applied above, in view of Olson et al. (U.S. Patent 5,458,214).
Re. Claims 8 and 18, MacKarvich discloses the energy absorber assemblies of claims 5 and 15, wherein the top portion is a first portion (annotated Fig. 6 above), the at least one intermediate portion includes a second portion (the line descending adjacent the top/first), a third portion (the line descending after the second), and a fourth portion (the line descending directly below the third and directly above the bottom/fifth), and the bottom portion is a fifth portion (annotated Fig. 6 below), wherein the first portion and the fifth portion are parallel (Fig. 6).
MacKarvich does not clearly teach wherein the second portion, third portion, and fourth portion zigzag between the first portion and the fifth portion, as the absorber is continuously helical and spiral-shaped.
Olson teaches an energy absorber (96, Fig. 1 or 216, Fig. 6) wherein the second portion, third portion, and fourth portion zigzag between the first portion and the fifth portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MacKarvich’s compression spring with stacked Belleville-type washers as it would be predictable in the art to substitute one well-known energy absorber for another in order to also absorb energy for dampening purposes.
Re Claims 9 and 19, the modified MacKarvich teaches the energy absorber assembly of claim 8 and the energy absorber assembly of claim 18.
The modified MacKarvich does appear to teach the second portion is angled 30 to 60 degrees from the first portion and approximately 90 degrees from the third portion and the fourth portion is angled approximately 90 degrees from the third portion and 30 to 60 degrees from the fifth portion as the angles shown do appear to be at least 30 degrees and within the range claimed, however, the drawings are not necessarily drawn to scale such that this limitation doesn’t appear explicitly taught.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a specific range of angles to manufacture the interconnected portions of the modified MacKarvich’s energy absorber (specifically the angles of the Belleville washers of Olson) to fall within the claimed range of 30 to 60 degrees, as the Courts have held, because it is a matter of routine optimization to tune energy absorption or spring constant of a given structure by finding the optimal angle, pitch, or orientation between adjacent segments via routine experimentation. Angles in dynamic structures are standard variables affecting mechanical resistance, unless a new and unexpected result occurs and is disclosed accordingly. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955); E.I. Dupont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Conclusion
/R.O.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634