DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the above identified patent application filed on October 15, 2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and currently being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (“wherein the first wing comprises a pouch” as recited in Claim 10, line 1 & Claim 19, line 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (“a second wing tab member (53) removably securable to the first wing tab member (53)” as recited in Claim 12, lines 6 & 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9 & 12 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006 / 0206992 A1) to Godshaw et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0210729 A1) to Pittman et al.
Regarding claim 1, Godshaw et al., discloses the belt apparatus (See Figures 7 & 8), comprising:
the transfer pad (82);
the first wing (80) removably securable (i.e. via (88, 92 & 94) in Figure 7) to the transfer pad (82), wherein the first wing (80) comprises the end (See Figures 7 & 8); and
the second wing (84) removably securable to the transfer pad (82), wherein the second wing (84) comprises the end,
wherein, when the end of the first wing (80) is connected to the end (See Figures 7 & 8) of the second wing (84) and the first and second wings (80 & 84) are secured to the transfer pad (82).
However, Godshaw et al., does not explicitly disclose the male connector end; the female connector end; and frustoconical.
Pittman et al., teaches wherein the first wing (14) comprises the male connector end (34); wherein the second wing (12) comprises the female connector end (32) (See Figure 1), wherein, when the male connector end (34) of the first wing (14) is connected to the female connector end (32) of the second wing (12); and the transfer pad (16) and the first and second wings (14 & 12) are frustoconical (i.e. Conically Shape w Smaller Diameter along the Top Surface (26) and a Larger Bottom Diameter along Lower Surface (28)) (See Paragraph 0012) (See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the male connector end; the female connector end; and the transfer pad and the first and second wings are frustoconical as taught by Pittman et al., with the belt apparatus of Godshaw et al., in order to secure the belt around the wearer and provide a comfort fit (See Paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 2, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the transfer pad (82) comprises integrated top (96), middle (i.e. Central Portion of (82) in Figure 7) and bottom members (98) (See Figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the transfer pad (82) is formed with the crease (i.e. Upper Folded Portion of (82) in Figures 7 & 8) between the top and middle members (i.e. (96) & Central Portion of (82) in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 4, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the transfer pad (82) is formed with the crease (i.e. Lower Folded Portion of (82) in Figures 7 & 8) between the middle and bottom members (i.e. (Central Portion of (82) in Figure 7) & (98)) (See Figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the first wing (80) comprises the first wing pad end (i.e. via End Portion of (80) in Figure 7) removably secured (i.e. via (88, 92 & 94) in Figure 7) to the middle member (i.e. Central Portion of (82) in Figure 7) of the transfer pad (82), and wherein the second wing (84) comprises the second wing pad end (i.e. End Portion of (84) in Figure 7) removably secured (i.e. via (88, 92 & 94) in Figure 7) to the middle member (i.e. Central Portion of (82) in Figure 7) of the transfer pad (16).
Regarding claim 6, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) comprises an inner face and an outer face, wherein the inner face (i.e. Inside Face) of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) is removably secured to the middle member (i.e. Middle Portion of (82) in Figure 7) of the transfer pad (16), and further wherein the bottom member (98) of the transfer pad (82) is secured to the outer face of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) (See Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the top member (96) of the transfer pad (82) is secured (i.e. via Hook & Loop Fasteners (100 & 102) in Figures 7 & 8) to the bottom member (98) of the transfer pad (82) (See Figures 7 & 8).
Regarding claim 8, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the first wing (80) comprises the first wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion of (80) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) comprising the first width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8), the first wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7) comprising the second width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8) and the first wing tab member (i.e. Left (110) in Figures 7 & 8) tapering from the first wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion adjacent (90) in Figure 7) to the first wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7), wherein the first width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8) is greater than the second width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8).
Regarding claim 9, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the second wing (84) comprises a second wing inner edge (i.e. Edge Portion of (84) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) comprising the third width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8), a second wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7) comprising the fourth width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8) and the second wing tab member (i.e. Right (110) in Figures 7 & 8) tapering from the second wing inner edge (i.e. Edge Portion of (84) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) to the second wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7), wherein the third width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8) is greater than the fourth width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8).
Regarding claim 12, Godshaw et al., discloses the belt apparatus (See Figures 7 & 8), comprising:
the transfer pad (82) comprising integrated top, middle and bottom members (96, Central Portion of (82) & 98) (See Figure 7);
the first wing (80) comprising the first wing pad end (i.e. via End Portion of (80) in Figure 7) removably securable (i.e. via (88 & 92) in Figure 7) to the transfer pad (82) and the first wing tab member (i.e. Left (110) in Figures 7 & 8); and
the second wing (84) comprising the second wing pad end (i.e. via End Portion of (84) in Figure 7) removably securable (i.e. via (88 & 92) in Figure 7) to the transfer pad (82) and the second wing tab member (i.e. Right (110) in Figures 7 & 8).
However, Godshaw et al., does not explicitly disclose the second wing tab member (i.e. Right (110) in Figures 7 & 8) removably securable to the first wing tab member (i.e. Left (110) in Figures 7 & 8).
Pittman et al., teaches the second wing tab member (22) removably securable (i.e. via (18, 20 & 30) in Figure 2) to the first wing tab member (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make to make a second wing tab member removably securable to the first wing tab member as taught by Pittman et al., with the belt apparatus of Godshaw et al., in order to allow the belt to rotate / hinge to adjust for wider or narrower hips sizes of the wearer (See Paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 13, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the first wing end pad (i.e. via End Portion of (80) in Figure 7) and the second wing end pad (i.e. via End Portion of (84) in Figure 7) are removably securable (i.e. via (88 & 92) in Figure 7) to the middle member (i.e. Middle Portion of (82) in Figure 2) of the transfer pad (82).
Regarding claim 14, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) comprises an inner face and an outer face, wherein the inner face of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) is removably secured to the middle member (i.e. Middle Portion of (82) in Figure 7) of the transfer pad (82), and further wherein the bottom member (98) of the transfer pad (82) is secured to the outer face of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) (See Figure 8).
Regarding claim 15, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) comprises an inner face and an outer face, wherein the inner face of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) is removably secured to the middle member (i.e. Middle Portion of (82) in Figure 7) of the transfer pad (82), and further wherein the top member (96) of the transfer pad (82) is secured to the outer face of each of the first and second tab members (i.e. Left & Right (88) in Figure 7) (See Figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the top member (96) of the transfer pad (82) is secured (i.e. via Hook & Loop Fasteners (100 & 102) in Figure 7) to the bottom member (98) of the transfer pad (82) (See Figures 7 & 8).
Regarding claim 17, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the first wing (80) comprises the first wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion of (80) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) comprising the first width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8), a first wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7) comprising the second width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8) and wherein the first wing tab member (i.e. Left (110) in Figure 7) tapers from the first wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion of (80) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) to the first wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (80) in Figure 7), wherein the first width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8) is greater than the second width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (80) in Figures 7 & 8).
Regarding claim 18, Godshaw et al., discloses wherein the second wing (84) comprises the second wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion of (84) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) comprising the third width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8), the second wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (84) in Figure 7) comprising the fourth width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8) and the second wing tab member (i.e. Right (110) in Figure 7) tapering from the second wing inner edge (i.e. Inner Edge Portion of (84) adjacent (90) in Figure 7) to the second wing outer edge (i.e. Outer Edge Portion of (84) in Figure 7), wherein the third width (i.e. Wide Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8) is greater than the fourth width (i.e. Narrow Width Portion of (84) in Figures 7 & 8).
Claim(s) 10 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006 / 0206992 A1) to Godshaw et al., and (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0210729 A1) to Pittman et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Number 9,289,051 B1) to Capps.
Regarding claim 10, Godshaw et al., as modified by above lacks and does not explicitly disclose the pouch.
Capps teaches wherein the first wing (i.e. Left Wing of (10) in Figure 1) comprises the pouch (50 or 60 or 80 or 90) (i.e. Personal Item Pouch or Stethoscope Chest Piece Holder or Pen Holder or Communication Compartment) (See Figures 1, 3A, 8A & 9A) for the purpose of storing personal items (See Column 5, lines 20 – 36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the first wing comprises the pouch as taught by Capps with the belt apparatus of Godshaw et al., in order to store personal items.
Regarding claim 19, Godshaw et al., as modified by Cobbs discloses wherein the first wing (i.e. Left Wing of (10) in Figure 1) comprises the pouch (50 or 60 or 80 or 90) (i.e. Personal Item Pouch or Stethoscope Chest Piece Holder or Pen Holder or Communication Compartment) (See Column 5, lines 20 – 36) (See Figures 1, 3A, 8A & 9A).
Claim(s) 11 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006 / 0206992 A1) to Godshaw et al., and (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0210729 A1) to Pittman et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0264993 A1) to Schulte et al.
Regarding claim 11, Godshaw et al., discloses the first wing (80) (See Figures 7 & 8).
However, Godshaw et al., as modified by above lacks and does not explicitly disclose comprising an elasticized slot.
Schulte et al., discloses comprises an elasticized slot (67 & 69) (See Figure 14) for the purpose of providing stretchable retention to store items (See Paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make an elasticized slot as taught by Schulte et al., with the belt apparatus of Godshaw in order to provide stretchable retention to hold and store items (See Paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 20, Godshaw et al., discloses the first wing (80) (See Figures 7 & 8).
Furthermore, Godshaw et al., as modified by Schulte et al., discloses wherein the first wing (14) comprises an elasticized slot (67 & 69) (See Paragraph 0047) (See Figure 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734