DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2017/0093214 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0165618 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a power transmitting apparatus comprising: a power transmitting unit configured to wirelessly transmit power to a power receiving apparatus in a Power Transfer phase [see (Fig. 1, Fig. 4; para. 0005-0007) TX 20 including transmission coil 22 and inverter 24 configured to transmit power wirelessly to RX 30 during operation], and an object detecting unit configured to perform a foreign object detection process relating to power loss [see (para. 0012-0013) foreign object detection based on power loss determined from transmission power PTX and reception power PRX], and a derivation unit configured to derive calibration data relating to the foreign object detection process [see (para. 0016-0019; Fig. 6-7) calibration sequence generating calibration data S7 based on measured PTX and PRX at multiple load states].
However, Watanabe does not expressly teach a measurement unit configured to measure a Quality Factor, nor does Watanabe teach re-deriving calibration data for power loss when a change or a difference in the Quality Factor measured by the measurement unit satisfies a predetermined criterion.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches a measurement unit configured to measure a Quality Factor [see (para. 0020; Fig. 2, step 206) measuring and storing an original quality factor (orig_QF), and measuring additional QF values during operation]; determining system conditions based on a change or difference in Quality Factor satisfying a predetermined criterion [see (para. 0026) evaluating differences between orig_QF, enter_QF, and curr_QF relative to threshold values thresh1, thresh2, and thresh3], Chen further teaches that variations in Quality Factor correspond to changes in resonant system conditions associated with foreign object presence and coupling characteristics, which affect power transfer behavior [see (para. 0005-0007)].
Watanabe performs a calibration sequence that generates calibration data for power-loss-based foreign object detection [see para. 0016-0019], but does not disclose when such calibration should be re-initiated in response to changing system conditions. Chen teaches that differences in Quality Factor values, evaluated against threshold criteria, indicate changes in resonant system conditions associated with foreign object presence [see para. 0026]. It would have been obvious to use Chen’s Quality Factor-based change detection as a trigger to re-initiate Watanabe’s calibration sequence when such changes are detected. Accordingly, the combination of Watanabe and Chen teaches or suggests re-deriving calibration data for power loss when a change or a difference in the Quality Factor satisfies a predetermined criterion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the Quality Factor–based change detection and threshold evaluation of Chen in the invention of Watanabe to trigger recalibration when resonant system conditions change, thereby maintaining alignment between calibration data and current operating conditions and improving the accuracy and reliability of foreign object detection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches a method for a power transmitting apparatus comprising: wirelessly transmitting power to a power receiving apparatus in a Power Transfer phase [see (Fig. 1; para. 0005-0007) transmission coil 22 transmitting power to reception coil 32 during operation]; and performing a foreign object detection process relating to power loss [see (para. 0012-0013) foreign object detection based on power loss determined from transmission power PTX and reception power PRX]; and deriving calibration data relating to the foreign object detection process [see (para. 0016-0019; Fig. 6-7) performing calibration and generating calibration data S7 based on measured PTX and PRX at multiple load states].
However, Watanabe does not expressly teach measuring a Quality Factor and re-deriving calibration data for power loss when a change or a difference in the measured Quality Factor satisfies a predetermined criterion.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches measuring a Quality Factor [see (para. 0020, 0023-0025; Fig. 2, steps 206, 214, 220) Chen teaches measuring and storing quality factor (QF) values associated with the transmitter, including an original QF value (orig_QF), an initial protection-state QF value (enter_QF), and a current QF value (curr_QF)]; detecting a change or difference in the measured Quality Factor that satisfies a predetermined criterion [see (para. 0026); Chen teaches by evaluating differences between QF values (e.g., orig_QF − curr_QF and orig_QF − enter_QF) relative to threshold values (thresh1, thresh2, thresh3) to determine system conditions such as foreign object presence or removal]; Chen teaches that changes in Quality Factor correspond to changes in resonant system conditions associated with foreign object presence and coupling characteristics, which affect power transfer behavior. Thus, Chen provides a mechanism for detecting when system conditions have changed based on Quality Factor variation.
Watanabe performs a calibration sequence that generates calibration data for power-loss-based foreign object detection [see para. 0016-0019], but does not disclose when such calibration should be re-initiated in response to changing system conditions. Chen teaches that differences in Quality Factor values, evaluated against threshold criteria, indicate changes in resonant system conditions associated with foreign object presence [see para. 0026]. It would have been obvious to use Chen’s Quality Factor-based change detection as a trigger to re-initiate Watanabe’s calibration sequence when such changes are detected. Accordingly, the combination teaches or suggests re-deriving calibration data for power loss when a change or difference in the measured Quality Factor satisfies a predetermined criterion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the Quality Factor–based change detection and threshold evaluation of Chen in the method of Watanabe to trigger recalibration when resonant system conditions change, thereby maintaining alignment between calibration data and current operating conditions and improving the accuracy and reliability of foreign object detection with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Watanabe and Chen teach the invention set forth above, Watanabe further teaches further comprising a state detecting unit configured to detect a power transmission and reception state [see (Fig. 4-6; para. 0005-0007, 0017-0019); Watanabe detects whether a receiver is present, distinguishes between light-load and connected load states, and determines whether the system is operating in a power transfer mode based on received control signals and measured transmission and reception power (PTX, PRX)]. These conditions correspond to detecting the power transmission and reception state. Therefore, Watanabe teaches the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Watanabe and Chen teach the invention set forth above, Watanabe further teaches wherein the state detecting unit detects a parameter that effects on electrical characteristics of a coil to be used for power transmission [see (para. 0012-0013, 0017-0019; Fig. 2, Fig. 6); In particular, Watanabe measures transmission power (PTX) and reception power (PRX) and uses these values to determine system conditions]; Because transmission power (PTX) and reception power (PRX) depend on coupling between the transmission coil and the receiver, they reflect parameters that affect the electrical characteristics of the transmission coil. Therefore, Watanabe teaches the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Watanabe and Chen teach the invention set forth above, Watanabe further teaches wherein the setting unit determines whether to perform a reset of the power information based on the detected state [see (Fig. 5, paras. 0055-0059; Fig. 6-8, paras. 0064-0073) Watanabe's sequencer 222 determines whether to perform or re-perform a calibration sequence based on detected operating states, including whether received power PRX satisfies prescribed conditions and whether calibration has completed within predetermined time periods]. When the calibration sequence is performed or re-performed, calibration data is newly generated based on measured transmission and reception power, thereby resetting the power-related calibration information used during operation. Thus, Watanabe determines, based on the detected state, whether to perform a reset of the power information. Therefore, Watanabe teaches the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836