DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240303086 A1 (hereinafter “Liu”) in view of US 20210392039 A1 (hereinafter “Atur”) and US 20240036896 A1 (hereinafter “Ramachandra”).
[Examiner’s Remarks: All underlined portions in the prior art are added by the Examiner for the purpose of emphasis]
As per claim 1, Liu discloses:
A method of operation of a baseboard management controller (BMC) ([0021], “BMC 190 operates to […]”), comprising:
transmitting, by [remote management system], the [firmware update] to a data center manager (DCM); ([0021], “BMC 190 operates to monitor and maintain system firmware, such as code stored in BIOS/EFI module 142, option ROMs for graphics adapter 130, disk controller 150, add-on resource 174, network interface 180, or other elements of information handling system 100, as needed or desired. In particular, BMC 190 includes a network interface 194 that can be connected to a remote management system to receive firmware updates, as needed or desired. Here, BMC 190 receives the firmware updates, stores the updates to a data storage device associated with the BMC, transfers the firmware updates to NV-RAM of the device or system that is the subject of the firmware update, thereby replacing the currently operating firmware associated with the device or system, and reboots information handling system, whereupon the device or system utilizes the updated firmware image.”)
receiving, from the DCM, firmware images corresponding to the [firmware update]; ([0021] “BMC 190 operates to monitor and maintain system firmware, such as code stored in BIOS/EFI module 142, option ROMs for graphics adapter 130, disk controller 150, add-on resource 174, network interface 180, or other elements of information handling system 100, as needed or desired. In particular, BMC 190 includes a network interface 194 that can be connected to a remote management system to receive firmware updates, as needed or desired. Here, BMC 190 receives the firmware updates, stores the updates to a data storage device associated with the BMC, transfers the firmware updates to NV-RAM of the device or system that is the subject of the firmware update, thereby replacing the currently operating firmware associated with the device or system, and reboots information handling system, whereupon the device or system utilizes the updated firmware image.”)
updating firmware of the BMC and a basic input/output system (BIOS) based on the received firmware images. ([0021], “BMC 190 operates to monitor and maintain system firmware, such as code stored in BIOS/EFI module 142, option ROMs for graphics adapter 130, disk controller 150, add-on resource 174, network interface 180, or other elements of information handling system 100, as needed or desired. In particular, BMC 190 includes a network interface 194 that can be connected to a remote management system to receive firmware updates, as needed or desired. Here, BMC 190 receives the firmware updates, stores the updates to a data storage device associated with the BMC, transfers the firmware updates to NV-RAM of the device or system that is the subject of the firmware update, thereby replacing the currently operating firmware associated with the device or system, and reboots information handling system, whereupon the device or system utilizes the updated firmware image.) [Examiner’s Remarks: The underlined portion discloses replacing/updating old firmware with the update that it receives so that upon rebooting the system or device utilizes the new firmware image. Liu discloses BMC receiving updates and BIOS being maintained, so this concept may be applied to updating the firmware of BMC and BIOS to cover the claim and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize it.]
Liu does not disclose:
kickstarter firmware
However, Atur discloses:
kickstarter firmware ([0091], “FIG. 14 illustrates a method 1400 for initializing a server 1302. The method 1400 may begin with installing 1402 of a kickstarter executable on the server 1302. The kickstarter may correspond to the configuration of the server 1302. The configuration of the server 1302 may be represented using a JAVASCRIPT Object Notation (JSON) file that describes the hardware, firmware, and/or software versions of the server 1302. The JSON file may further include links to a kickstarter file that corresponds to the needs of an application to be installed on the server system 1302, that corresponds to the SKU of the server system 1302, or is configured based on some other criteria [...]”) [Examiner’s Remarks: The kickstarter may be represented as a JSON, which can describe the firmware, hence kickstarter firmware.]
Atur is directed to installing a kernel and upgrading firmware. Thus, Atur is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Atur into the teaching of Liu to include “kickstarter firmware.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the boot order to fit their needs (Atur, paragraph [0099]).
The combination of Liu and Atur discloses “kickstarter firmware” but the combination of Liu and Atur does not explicitly disclose:
reading, by a kickstarter firmware of the BMC, a hardware identifier from a host processor module (HPM).
However, Ramachandra discloses:
reading, by […] the BMC, a hardware identifier from a host processor module (HPM). ([0031], “At step 203, the BMC 109 can provide the DPU inventory to the orchestrator 128. The DPU inventory can include a list or other data structure that specifies the hardware requirements or a list of hardware identifiers that identifies the various DPU's 106 installed in the host machine 103.”)
Ramachandra is directed to provisioning a data processing unit in a host machine. Thus, Ramachandra is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ramachandra into the teaching of Liu and Atur to include “reading, by a kickstarter firmware of the BMC, a hardware identifier from a host processor module (HPM).” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have a list of identifies to know what is installed in the host machine (Ramachandra, paragraph [0031]).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and Liu further discloses:
triggering a system reset after updating the firmware of the BMC and the BIOS. ([0021], “BMC 190 operates to monitor and maintain system firmware, such as code stored in BIOS/EFI module 142, option ROMs for graphics adapter 130, disk controller 150, add-on resource 174, network interface 180, or other elements of information handling system 100, as needed or desired. In particular, BMC 190 includes a network interface 194 that can be connected to a remote management system to receive firmware updates, as needed or desired. Here, BMC 190 receives the firmware updates, stores the updates to a data storage device associated with the BMC, transfers the firmware updates to NV-RAM of the device or system that is the subject of the firmware update, thereby replacing the currently operating firmware associated with the device or system, and reboots information handling system, whereupon the device or system utilizes the updated firmware image.”)
Claims 11 and 14 are baseboard management controller (BMC) claims corresponding to the method claims hereinabove (Claims 1 and 4, respectively). Therefore, Claims 11 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1 and 4, respectively.
Claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 1). Therefore, Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20250355793 A1 (hereinafter “Kartheek”).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware identifier is received from an l2C/l3C slave device on the HPM.
However, Kartheek discloses:
wherein the hardware identifier is received from an l2C/l3C slave device on the HPM. ([0089], “In examples, hardware identifier 429 may identify (e.g., on one or more motherboard buses with various protocols, such as SPI, I2C, UART) hardware components, addresses for the components to read and write signals, and signals themselves, such as a volume control signal, a power button signal, various reset signals, among other signals to emulate in order to control the controllable device. […]”)
Kartheek is directed to remotely operating on a device with operations including modifying firmware. Thus, Kartheek is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kartheek into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “wherein the hardware identifier is received from an l2C/l3C slave device on the HPM.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have a protocol on a slave device to change out the protocol as per needs (Kartheek, paragraph [0080]).
Claim 12 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 2). Therefore, Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20240322927 A1 (hereinafter “Rajai”).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
wherein transmitting the hardware identifier to the DCM is performed using a Reduced Gigabit Media Independent Interface (RGMII).
However, Rajai discloses:
wherein transmitting the hardware identifier to the DCM is performed using a Reduced Gigabit Media Independent Interface (RGMII). ([0044], “The example Ethernet PHY 400 also includes a media independent interface 420 (e.g., a reduced gigabit media independent interface) to communicatively couple the Ethernet PHY 400 to a computing device (e.g., via an interface). The media independent interface 420 is also connected to the example transmit PCS 402 (for transmission of communications from the transmit PCS 402 to a network) and the example receive PCS 410 (for receipt of communications from the network by the receive PCS 402). The media independent interface 420 is further connected to a set of media independent registers 422 for storing various control settings, parameters, and management values.”)
Rajai is directed to timestamping of an Ethernet frame. Thus, Rajai is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rajai into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “wherein transmitting the hardware identifier to the DCM is performed using a Reduced Gigabit Media Independent Interface (RGMII).” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a well known hardware standard to connect and transfer data.
Claim 13 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 3). Therefore, Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20200285461 A1 (hereinafter “Kumar”) and US 20250355793 A1 (hereinafter “Kartheek”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and Liu discloses “network capabilities”([0017], “Network interface 180 represents a network communication device disposed within information handling system 100 […]”) but the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the kickstarter firmware includes network capabilities, flash write capabilities for both BMC and BIOS flash devices, and read capabilities for l2C/l3C buses.
However, Kumar discloses:
wherein the kickstarter firmware includes […] flash write capabilities for both BMC and BIOS flash devices […]. ([0042], “During platform boot time, the BIOS firmware discovers uCode FVs region layout and sends a corresponding layout manifest file to the BMC firmware through an out-of-band channel or interface such as IPMI (Intelligent Platform Management Interface). When the cloud service provider accesses the BMC to request uCode FV region update with targeted uCode patch, the BMC firmware parses the uCode FV region address from the layout manifest file and flashes (writes) the uCode patch into the corresponding address through a runtime flash access channel, such as through use of an Enhanced Serial Peripheral Interface Bus (eSPI) using the eSPI protocol.”)
Kumar is directed to applying patches to a firmware storage device. Thus, Kumar is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kumar into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “wherein the kickstarter firmware includes network capabilities, flash write capabilities for both BMC and BIOS flash devices.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to flash parsed updates to their respective flash devices (Kumar, paragraph [0042]).
The combination of Liu, Atur, Ramachandra, and Kumar does not explicitly disclose:
read capabilities for I2C/I3C buses.
However, Kartheek discloses:
read capabilities for I2C/I3C buses. ([0089], “In examples, hardware identifier 429 may identify (e.g., on one or more motherboard buses with various protocols, such as SPI, I2C, UART) hardware components, addresses for the components to read and write signals, and signals themselves […]”)
Kartheek is directed to remotely operating on a device with operations including modifying firmware. Thus, Kartheek is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kartheek into the teaching of Liu, Atur, Ramachandra, and Kumar to include “read capabilities for I2C/I3C buses.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to read signals (Kartheek, paragraph [0089]).
Claim 15 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 5). Therefore, Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 5.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20220229909 A1 (hereinafter “Shachar”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and Liu discloses “BIOS and BMC” but the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the firmware images include a BMC firmware image specific to a BMC chip type and a BIOS image specific to a processor type of the HPM.
However, Shachar discloses:
wherein the firmware images include a […] firmware image specific to a […]chip type and a […] image specific to a processor type of the HPM. ([0013], “[...] The term “firmware image” as used herein is intended to be broadly construed so as to encompass, for example, any copy or image of the firmware of a device, such as an image of BIOS firmware or cryptographic firmware, as well as various combinations or portions of such entities. In some embodiments, the firmware image and/or a firmware image portion may be flashed or burned (e.g., stored) on one or more associated chips, as discussed further below.”) [Examiner’s Remark: A processor is a chip.]
Shachar is directed to techniques for firmware protection. Thus, Shachar is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Shachar into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “wherein the firmware images include a BMC firmware image specific to a BMC chip type and a BIOS image specific to a processor type of the HPM.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have firmware stored to specific chips to increase security and making it harder for attackers to reconstruct the full firmware image (Schachar, paragraph[0013]).
Claim 16 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 6). Therefore, Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20200082090 A1 (hereinafter “Samuel”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and Liu discloses “BMC” but the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
writing the received firmware images to a BIOS flash device and a BMC flash device within the BMC.
However, Samuel discloses:
writing the received firmware images to a BIOS flash device and a […] flash device within the [information handling system]. ([0003], “A method may include receiving a firmware update package at an information handling system. The update package includes a payload containing a transition basic input-output system (BIOS) and another payload containing a new BIOS. The new BIOS is stored at an Extensible Firmware Interface system partition (ESP). A firmware image at a BIOS flash device at the information handling system is updated using the new BIOS retrieved from the ESP.”)
Samuel is directed to receiving a firmware update package. Thus, Samuel is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Samuel into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “writing the received firmware images to a BIOS flash device and a BMC flash device within the BMC.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the newly received firmware image (Samuel, paragraph [0003]).
Claim 17 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 7). Therefore, Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 7.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20110113179 A1 (hereinafter “Cartes”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra discloses “hardware identifier” but the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
probing, by the kickstarter firmware, multiple l2C/l3C buses to locate the hardware identifier on the HPM.
However, Cartes discloses:
probing, by the kickstarter firmware, multiple l2C/l3C buses to locate the [target device] on the HPM. ([0019], “Exemplary embodiments provide a method and system to organize and optimize multiple segmented buses. For example, exemplary methods and apparatus include one or more of the following: assigning an enumerated segment number to each segment in the system that is used to locate a target device; assigning devices to the segments; using primitives as descriptions of zero or more switching operations needed to switch to a segment that describes the nature of the switching (which can include, but is not limited to, use of general-purpose control bits (GPO bits), inline I2C multiplexers, I2C expander control bits, and CPLD controls); using potential optimizations that determine if switching operations can be avoided in order to address a segment; and using optimization work-arounds wherein different segment aliases are used to prevent optimizations.”)
Cartes is directed to bus topology. Thus, Cartes is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Cartes into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “probing, by the kickstarter firmware, multiple l2C/l3C buses to locate the hardware identifier on the HPM.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would use multiple buses to increase access (Cartes, paragraph [0017]).
Claim 18 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 8). Therefore, Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 8.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur and Ramachandra as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of US 20230146526 A1 (hereinafter “Suryanarayana”).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; and the combination of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the DCM maintains a firmware repository containing multiple versions of BIOS and BMC firmware images, each associated with specific hardware identifiers.
However, Suryanarayana discloses:
wherein the DCM maintains a firmware repository containing multiple versions of BIOS and BMC firmware images, each associated with specific hardware identifiers. ([0010], “[...] For example, the information handling system may store multiple firmware setting sets for a container in a container-specific firmware memory map namespace of the information handling system, and one or more of the firmware setting sets may be associated with different firmware versions of an information handling system, such as different versions of a BIOS of the information handling system. For example, firmware setting sets for a container may be stored for one or more old versions of a BIOS of the information handling system. Thus, when a version of a BIOS, or other firmware element, is rolled back to a prior version, the firmware setting set for the prior version may be accessed and implemented for the container. Some containers, however, may not require adjustment of firmware setting sets based on a change in a firmware version, and thus may continue to use the same set of firmware settings even when a firmware version is changed.”)
Suryanarayana is directed to an information handling system. Thus, Suryanarayana is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suryanarayana into the teaching of Liu, Atur, and Ramachandra to include “wherein the DCM maintains a firmware repository containing multiple versions of BIOS and BMC firmware images, each associated with specific hardware identifiers.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to easily restore old firmware settings during a rollback to a prior version (Suryanarayana, paragraph [0010]).
Claim 19 is a baseboard management controller (BMC) claim corresponding to the method claim hereinabove (Claim 9). Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atur, Ramachandra, and Suryanarayana as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of US 20200104112 A1 (hereinafter “Hu”).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated; and the combination of Liu, Atur, Ramachandra, and Suryanarayana does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the DCM updates the firmware repository with new firmware images upon receiving notifications from vendor image repositories.
However, Hu discloses:
wherein the DCM updates the firmware repository with new firmware images upon receiving notifications from vendor image repositories. ([0007], “In one embodiment, an automatic firmware update system for an embedded system includes a storage unit, an application layer and a middleware. The application layer establishes wireless communication with a remote server, detects a version of firmware stored in the remote server corresponding to the embedded system while the wireless communication is established, downloads the firmware in a new version and an update policy when the firmware in the new version is available, stores the downloaded firmware in the new version and the downloaded update policy in a storage unit, and issues an update notification according to an update object of the firmware in the new version. The middleware receives the update notification from the application layer, reads the update policy upon receipt of the update notification, and performs an update procedure for updating the firmware to the new version according to the update policy.”)
Hu is directed to automatic firmware updates. Thus, Hu is analogous art to the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hu into the teaching of Liu, Atur, Ramachandra, and Suryanarayana to include “wherein the DCM updates the firmware repository with new firmware images upon receiving notifications from vendor image repositories.” This modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to not have to initiatively download new firmware versions (Hu, paragraph [0004]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They are as follows:
US 20040049669 A1 (hereinafter “Schelling”) discloses splitting firmware modules to support safe updates.
US 20210226846 A1 (hereinafter “Ballard”) discloses an information handling system.
US 20180095740 A1 (hereinafter “Kotary”) discloses an embedded controller and security controller that can detect requests for firmware.
US 20240126538 A1 (hereinafter “Koval”) discloses devices, systems, and methods for tracking and upgrading firmware.
US 20230031911 A1 (hereinafter “Salus”) discloses integrated circuits.
Conclusion
/KEVIN LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2191
/WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191