DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. This office action is response to the submission on 10/15/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference number 202 is used to designate MID controls in paragraphs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Holveck et al. (US20240154403A1).
Claim 1:
Holveck teaches “A load center configured for use with an energy management system, comprising: a main panel board configured to connect to a meter that measures energy consumed by a microgrid;” (Holveck teaches a main panel 102 that distributes electricity from a main feed from a meter 104 in Holveck [0010] "FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a power system. In this example, the main panel (102) distributes electricity from a main feed (e.g., from the meter 104) to all of the different circuits of a location such as a home. In this example, grid power comes from the meter. The main panel may include a main circuit breaker 106 (also referred to herein as a “main breaker”) that disconnects the utility feed from the loads in the house in the event of a thermal fault, high current due to short circuit, etc."), and
“and a microgrid interconnect device (MID) disposed on the main panel board and configured to connect or disconnect the microgrid to/from a grid.” (Holveck teaches that the intelligent main breaker includes microgrid interconnect functionality i.e. it is configured to connect/disconnect the microgrid to/from a grid in Holveck [0026] "The following are embodiments of an intelligent main breaker that also provides integrated microgrid interconnect functionality. As will be described in further detail below, the intelligent main breaker provides safety functionality (via the main breaker and overcurrent and thermal triggers), as well as microgrid interconnect functionality (e.g., by intelligent and controllable triggering of the opening and closing of the main breaker)."; Holveck teaches that an existing main breaker e.g. the main breaker 106 may be replaced with the controllable main breaker described in Holveck [0024] "For example, in some embodiments, an existing main breaker is replaced with the controllable main breaker described herein that not only serves the safety purpose of a breaker, but is also controllable so that the circuit can be opened when desired (and not just when there is a fault). The controllable grid interface breaker mechanisms described herein provide various benefits, including simplified installation, as well as simplified manufacturing and certification."; Holveck Fig. 1 teaches the main breaker 106 being part of the main panel 102.).
Claim 2:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 1, wherein the microgrid interconnect device (MID) is configured to connect or disconnect the microgrid to/from the grid without having to collocate the microgrid interconnect device (MID) at the meter.” (Holveck teaches replacing an existing main breaker by swapping out the existing main breaker i.e. it does not have to be located at the meter in Holveck [0159] "Using such a modular controllable main breaker design, a controllable main breaker instance may be created to replace an existing main breaker by simply swapping out the existing main breaker with the new one that has been created to be of the same form. In this way, a controllable main breaker (that can also be used as a grid interconnect relay) can be installed without requiring installation of a new panel (which would involve moving loads over, inserting relays, etc.).").
Claim 3:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 1, wherein the microgrid interconnect device (MID) comprises controls” (Holveck teaches the smart main breaker includes a microprocessor 214 i.e. a controls in Holveck [0048-0049] "As described above, the smart main breaker includes a controllable actuator for opening or closing the main breaker to provide grid interconnect functionality. The inclusion of an additional controllable actuator (e.g., controllable actuators for opening and closing the main breaker) allows the safety function of the main breaker to be maintained, while also providing the ability to control connection to/disconnection from the grid. In some embodiments, the smart main breaker includes a microprocessor 214. In some embodiments, the microcontroller is a programmable microcontroller on which intelligence and algorithms can be deployed on (e.g., by programming firmware of the programmable microcontroller). Further details regarding such functionality are described below. In some embodiments, the microprocessor or microcontroller provides onboard intelligence. The onboard intelligence is used to, for example, allow the device to autonomously determine when to turn on or off the connection to the grid (e.g., by sending instructions or commands to the controllable actuators 212 to open or close the main breaker), as well as other functionality."), and
“and is mounted within the main panel board.” (Holveck teaches that the intelligent main breaker includes microgrid interconnect functionality i.e. it is configured to connect/disconnect the microgrid to/from a grid in Holveck [0026] "The following are embodiments of an intelligent main breaker that also provides integrated microgrid interconnect functionality. As will be described in further detail below, the intelligent main breaker provides safety functionality (via the main breaker and overcurrent and thermal triggers), as well as microgrid interconnect functionality (e.g., by intelligent and controllable triggering of the opening and closing of the main breaker)."; Holveck teaches that an existing main breaker e.g. the main breaker 106 may be replaced with the controllable main breaker described in Holveck [0024] "For example, in some embodiments, an existing main breaker is replaced with the controllable main breaker described herein that not only serves the safety purpose of a breaker, but is also controllable so that the circuit can be opened when desired (and not just when there is a fault). The controllable grid interface breaker mechanisms described herein provide various benefits, including simplified installation, as well as simplified manufacturing and certification."; Holveck Fig. 1 teaches the main breaker 106 being part of the main panel 102.).
Claim 4:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to monitor at least one of a voltage and a frequency of the grid or current flow to the grid.” (Holveck teaches monitoring the grid voltage amplitude and frequency in Holveck [0103] "In order for the onsite power system and the grid to be reconnected, they are required to be synchronized, where the frequency, phase, and amplitude of their voltage must be within a certain tolerance of each other (that may be defined by a standard). At the point of reconnection, they may not be, and it would be unsafe to reconnect the onsite power system and the grid before resynchronization, as it would force onsite power production to stop. In some embodiments, as part of the reconnection process, before the main breaker of the smart main breaker is closed, the smart main breaker is programmed to transmit a signal or message to the inverter or ESS to start changing its power output to match the electrical characteristics of the grid. As one example, the smart main breaker uses its sensors to measure the electrical characteristics of the grid, and provides that sensor data to the ESS. The ESS then uses that information to adjust its output waveform and bring it closer to the grid waveform until they are in sync. Once the grid and ESS waveforms are determined to be in sync, then the action of closing the main breaker to reconnect the grid to the onsite power system is performed.").
Claim 5:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to monitor at least one of a voltage and a frequency of a facility or current flow to the facility.” (Holveck teaches the smart main breaker includes sensors 216 for sensing voltage and frequency on the grid and load side in Holveck [0053] "In this example, the smart main breaker includes sensors 216 for sensing electrical characteristics such as voltage, current, phase, amplitude, frequency, etc. In some embodiments, the sensors are used to measure both grid side and load side (e.g., home side) electrical characteristics.").
Claim 6:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to autonomously isolate a facility from the grid when a grid voltage and frequency deviates from predetermined values.” (Holveck teaches disconnecting the site from the grid if the voltage grid sags and the smart breaker determines the grid is going down in Holveck [0082] "As one example, suppose that the home is currently connected to the grid. However, the smart main breaker determines, based on its sensors, that the voltage on the grid is beginning to sag. This is an indication to the smart main breaker that the grid may be going down. In this case, the smart main breaker prepares to disconnect from the grid." and Holveck [0085] "As shown in the above examples, prior to taking the action of opening the main breaker and disconnecting the home from the grid, the smart main breaker determines whether the onsite power system is in a condition or state to form a microgrid (e.g., is operational, is able to provide sufficient power for the loads of the home, etc.). If so, then the smart main breaker opens the interconnect grid switch, disconnecting the site from the grid.").
Claim 7:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to autonomously isolate a facility from the grid based on at least one of external signals from (Holveck teaches a message from an energy management system may cause the grid interconnect device to open the switch i.e. customer preference in Holveck [0063-0065] "The decision making on how to control opening and closing of the grid interconnect switch is based on a variety of inputs including, without limitation:Sensor measurements (e.g., from sensors 216): such as measurements that indicate that the grid is going downMessages: This includes messages communicated from partner devices. For example, an energy management system for the home battery system may send a message indicating that it would like to form a microgrid, and make a request to the integrated breaker and grid interconnect device to open the grid interconnect switch.").
Claim 9:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls comprise a self-checking mechanism to detect when a facility is isolated from the grid to prevent a backup power system from operating in an off-gid mode unless the facility is isolated from the grid.” (Holveck teaches the inverter not being permitted to enter grid-forming mode until the interconnect switch is open in Holveck [0074] "When the main breaker is open and the onsite power system is disconnected from the grid, then the onsite power system should be in a state where it is capable of forming a microgrid and providing power to the loads of the home. As one example, the inverter is programmed to enter grid-forming mode on the condition that the home is disconnected from the grid. Thus, before switching to grid-forming mode, the inverter checks for the status of the interconnect switch to determine if it is opened or closed. If the smart main breaker/grid interconnect switch is closed, then the inverter is not permitted to enter grid-forming mode.").
Claim 11:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to synchronize a voltage and a frequency of a backup power system to that of the grid and reconnect a facility to the grid with no interruption in power to the facility.” (Holveck teaches communicating the grid voltage and frequency to an inverter so it can match the characteristics of the grid before reconnection in Holveck [0103] "In order for the onsite power system and the grid to be reconnected, they are required to be synchronized, where the frequency, phase, and amplitude of their voltage must be within a certain tolerance of each other (that may be defined by a standard). At the point of reconnection, they may not be, and it would be unsafe to reconnect the onsite power system and the grid before resynchronization, as it would force onsite power production to stop. In some embodiments, as part of the reconnection process, before the main breaker of the smart main breaker is closed, the smart main breaker is programmed to transmit a signal or message to the inverter or ESS to start changing its power output to match the electrical characteristics of the grid. As one example, the smart main breaker uses its sensors to measure the electrical characteristics of the grid, and provides that sensor data to the ESS. The ESS then uses that information to adjust its output waveform and bring it closer to the grid waveform until they are in sync. Once the grid and ESS waveforms are determined to be in sync, then the action of closing the main breaker to reconnect the grid to the onsite power system is performed.").
Claim 13:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3, wherein the controls are configured to derive control power from at least one of the grid, a power distribution system within a facility, or from separate low voltage control power distribution wiring.” (Holveck teaches the smart main breaker microcontroller may be powered via the grid, a battery i.e. low voltage control power wiring, and voltage applied to the load side of the breaker i.e. a power distribution system within a facility in Holveck [0114-0118] "The smart main breaker microcontroller (e.g., microprocessor described above) may be powered in some or all of the following ways:1. Powered via a battery that is packaged within the smart main breaker2. Derive power from the AC voltage applied at the grid side of the smart main breaker (that is being used as an intelligent, controllable grid relay)3. Derive power from the AC voltage applied to the load side of the smart main breaker4. Powered via a hardwire from the ESS (which in some embodiments is accompanied by a hardwired comms link, such as CAN or ethernet).").
Claim 14:
Holveck teaches “A microgrid, comprising: a distributed energy resource (DER) connected to at least one of a load or an energy storage device, the distributed energy resource (DER) comprises at least one renewable energy source (RES);” (Holveck teaches an energy storage system (ESS) 108 i.e. distributed energy resource which is a battery storage that is part of an on site solar battery power system in Holveck [0011] "In this example, the power system includes an energy storage system (ESS) 108. As one example, the energy storage system is a battery storage that is part of an on-site solar-battery power system. In this example, the ESS connects through one of the branch circuits of the main panel in the house. For example, suppose there are 24 circuits in the house, where one goes to a dryer, one goes to a hot water heater, one goes to the living room, one goes to an upstairs bedroom, etc. In this example, one of the circuits goes to the ESS. As one example, the ESS is a part of an onsite power system, such as an onsite solar battery system, that includes a photovoltaic (PV) array that generates solar power, as well as an onsite battery storage system that is coupled to the PV array. In some embodiments, the onsite power system includes an inverter. The inverter converts DC power from the PV array and/or batteries to AC power that can be used to power the loads of the home, such as in conjunction with the grid, or when the home is isolated from the grid (e.g., due to a utility grid blackout)."),
“a DER controller operably coupled to the distributed energy resource for control thereof;” (Holveck teaches a message from an energy management system may cause the grid interconnect device to open the switch i.e. the energy home battery system has a controller in Holveck [0063-0065] "The decision making on how to control opening and closing of the grid interconnect switch is based on a variety of inputs including, without limitation:Sensor measurements (e.g., from sensors 216): such as measurements that indicate that the grid is going downMessages: This includes messages communicated from partner devices. For example, an energy management system for the home battery system may send a message indicating that it would like to form a microgrid, and make a request to the integrated breaker and grid interconnect device to open the grid interconnect switch."),
“and a load center connected to the DER, the at least one of the load or the energy storage device, and the DER controller and comprising: a main panel board configured to connect to a meter of the microgrid that measures energy consumed by the microgrid;” (Holveck teaches a main panel 102 that distributes electricity from a main feed from a meter 104 in Holveck [0010] "FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment of a power system. In this example, the main panel (102) distributes electricity from a main feed (e.g., from the meter 104) to all of the different circuits of a location such as a home. In this example, grid power comes from the meter. The main panel may include a main circuit breaker 106 (also referred to herein as a “main breaker”) that disconnects the utility feed from the loads in the house in the event of a thermal fault, high current due to short circuit, etc."; Holveck Fig. 1 teaches the ESS being connected to the load center), and
“and a microgrid interconnect device disposed on the main panel board and configured to connect or disconnect the microgrid to/from a grid.” (Holveck teaches that the intelligent main breaker includes microgrid interconnect functionality i.e. it is configured to connect/disconnect the microgrid to/from a grid in Holveck [0026] "The following are embodiments of an intelligent main breaker that also provides integrated microgrid interconnect functionality. As will be described in further detail below, the intelligent main breaker provides safety functionality (via the main breaker and overcurrent and thermal triggers), as well as microgrid interconnect functionality (e.g., by intelligent and controllable triggering of the opening and closing of the main breaker)."; Holveck teaches that an existing main breaker e.g. the main breaker 106 may be replaced with the controllable main breaker described in Holveck [0024] "For example, in some embodiments, an existing main breaker is replaced with the controllable main breaker described herein that not only serves the safety purpose of a breaker, but is also controllable so that the circuit can be opened when desired (and not just when there is a fault). The controllable grid interface breaker mechanisms described herein provide various benefits, including simplified installation, as well as simplified manufacturing and certification."; Holveck Fig. 1 teaches the main breaker 106 being part of the main panel 102.).
Claims 15-20:
The limitations of claims 15-20 are substantially the same as claims 2-7 respectively and they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holveck et al. (US20240154403A1) in view of Schroeder et al. (US20210276442A1).
Claim 8:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 3,” as described above. Holveck does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the controls are configured to continuously monitor current flowing between the grid and a facility.” However, Schroeder does teach this claim limitation (Schroder teaches current sensors that provide input to logic for operation of an islanding relay in Schroder [0083] "In addition to controlling the relay, monitoring and control circuit 910 measures current sensors 900 and voltage sensors 930 to provide input into the control logic for operation of islanding relay 920 and information for auxiliary functions such as, but not limited to, controlling the power output of the EV backup source 155.").
Holveck and Schroeder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of isolating a microgrid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Holveck and Schroeder before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Smart grid interface relay and breaker of Holveck to include the current monitoring of Schroeder because adding the Electric vehicle charger with automated grid-management and vehicle-to-home isolation/backup of Schroeder would allow for safe application of power as described in Schroeder [0087] “FIG. 11 shows an operation flow, in accordance with at least one example embodiment described and recited herein. The flow pertains to the resiliency logic used to operate the relays in the IMSA 115 and electric vehicle charger interface 150. This logic enables the safe application of electric vehicle grid forming power in the event of a utility power failure. It also prevents the power interface (Optional) 340 from being energized while the islanding adaptor interface 300 is unmated. This reduces the possibility of electric shock or spark while removing or mating the adaptor interface 335.”
Claim 10:
Holveck in view of Schroeder teaches “The load center of claim 9, wherein the self-checking mechanism is a sensor configured to monitor a current flowing between the grid and the facility.” (Schroder teaches current sensors that provide input to logic for controlling power output of a backup power source in Schroder [0083] "In addition to controlling the relay, monitoring and control circuit 910 measures current sensors 900 and voltage sensors 930 to provide input into the control logic for operation of islanding relay 920 and information for auxiliary functions such as, but not limited to, controlling the power output of the EV backup source 155.").
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holveck et al. (US20240154403A1) in view of Ansari et al. (US20140121849A1).
Claim 12:
Holveck teaches “The load center of claim 11,” as described above. Holveck does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the controls are configured to reconnect the facility to the grid with a delayed response based on at least one of external signals from a utility However, Ansari does teach this claim limitation (Ansari teaches a smart meter that requests to reconnect to the grid i.e. it only reconnects after receiving a signal from the Utility control center (UCC) in Ansari [0074-0077] "Block 726 may be followed by block 728, “DISCONNECT FROM THE POWER GRID DURING A POWER CONGESTION CONDITION WHEN A POWER SURPLUS IS DETERMINED FOR THE HOUSEHOLD”, where the smart meter 110 of FIG. 1 may disconnect the household from the power grid through an ACBP&ACD 112 upon receiving an instruction to disconnect from the UCC. Block 728 may be followed by block 730, “EVALUATE IF AN INCREASE IN THE POWER CONSUMPTION HAS OCCURRED”, where the smart meter 110 of FIG. 1 or the EMU 222 of FIG. 2 may determine whether the power consumption of the household is higher than before such that the household may have a net power need from the grid. Block 730 may be followed by block 732, “EVALUATE IF A DECREASE IN THE POWER GENERATION HAS OCCURRED”, where the smart meter 110 of FIG. 1 or the EMU 222 of FIG. 2 may determine whether the power generation of the household has decreased such that the household may have a net power need from the grid. Block 730 and/or block 732 may be followed by block 734, “NOTIFY THE UCC WITH A REQUEST FOR RECONNECTING TO THE POWER GRID WHEN IN A DISCONNECTED STATE”, where upon determining the need for power from the power grid, the smart meter 110 of FIG. 1 or the EMU 222 of FIG. 2 may communicate with the UCC and ask to reconnect to the grid for receiving power.").
Holveck and Ansari are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of isolating a microgrid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Holveck and Ansari before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Smart grid interface relay and breaker of Holveck to include the reconnection to a grid based on receiving a signal from a utility of Ansari because adding the Alleviating solar energy congestion in the distribution grid via smart metering communications of Ansari would avoid frequent disconnection and reconnection as described in Ansari [0037] “A selection approach according to example embodiments may tend to maximize the number of connected solar power generation systems for the following reasons: 1) the connected households may be able to provide power surpluses to the utility grid, 2) frequent disconnection and reconnection due to demand and surplus fluctuations may be avoided, and 3) the number of data packets exchange for disconnection and reconnection processes may be reduced. Additionally, optimization functions may protect households which use a significant amount of power with respect to a high energy efficiency value from being disconnected.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zimmanck et al. (US20160363949A1) teaches a MID receiving instructions to disconnect or connect to a grid in Zimmanck [0025] "The local MID 122 may additionally comprise a transceiver (not shown) for communicating with one or more of the microgrid member components. In some embodiments, the local MID 122 may receive instructions from another component or system for disconnecting from/connecting to the local grid 132."
Rao et al. (US20230396069A1) teaches a power conversion device 120 which may be configured as a main service breaker and disconnect which is arranged in an electrical panel 102 in Rao [0092], the panelboard may operate in an islanded mode in Rao [0155], and the breaker may turn on or off depending on user input in Rao [0130].
/Z.A.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116