DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renger (WO 2018/134312; see English language equivalent US 11,225,184 B2).
Consider claim 1. Renger teaches a deployable supply elevator system for a transport vehicle, said elevator system comprising: an elongate upright support (24) for coupling to an upright portion of the vehicle; an actuation frame (13) movably coupled to said elongate upright support; and an actuation mechanism (hydraulic telescoping push arms; see column 7, lines 39-41) coupled to said elongate upright support and said actuation frame; wherein said actuation mechanism is configured to raise and lower said actuation frame between an elevated position and a lowered position along the upright portion of the vehicle (see figs. 3 and 4); and wherein said actuation mechanism is configured to pivotably reposition said actuation frame, about a substantially horizontal axis (19 or 21), from along the upright portion of the vehicle to above the upright portion of the vehicle (see figs. 1 and 3).
Consider claim 2. Renger teaches that said elongate upright support comprises a tube (24).
Consider claim 5. Renger teaches a deployable supply elevator system for a transport trailer, said elevator system comprising: a rotatable supply handling platform (13, see figs. 1 and 3); and a vertical raising and lowering element (24) coupled to a portion of the trailer and defining a vertical travel path alongside and parallel to an upright wall of the trailer, said vertical path extending from a lower region of the wall to an upper region of the wall; wherein said vertical raising and lowering element is coupled to said platform and configured to raise and lower said platform along said vertical travel path (see figs. 3 and 4); wherein said vertical raising and lowering element is selectively operable to raise and lower said platform along said vertical travel path (hydraulic telescoping push arms; see column 7, lines 39-41); wherein when said elevator system is in a deployed configuration said platform is positioned proximate the lower region of the wall (see fig. 4), and when said elevator system is in a stowed configuration said platform is positioned above the upper region of the wall (see fig. 1); wherein said platform is rotatable (about 19 or 21) above the upper region of the wall when said platform has reached an upper portion of said vertical travel path (see figs. 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renger (WO 2018/134312; see English language equivalent US 11,225,184 B2) in view of Warthan (US 2007/0166140 A1).
Consider claim 3. Renger does not explicitly teach that the actuation frame comprises a plurality of wheels. Warthan teaches a sliding frame (29) comprising a plurality of wheels (45) that roll along a rail (21) during movement of the sliding frame. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Renger’s actuation frame with a plurality of wheels as taught by Warthan in order to reduce friction to reduce the force needed to move the actuation frame and to improve the durability of the actuation frame.
Consider claim 4. Renger teaches that said actuation frame comprises a pivot (21) that translates along said tube during raising and lowering of said actuation frame (see figs. 3 and 4), and that remains at a substantially fixed location at said elevated position during pivotable repositioning of said actuation frame (see figs. 1 and 3). Renger does not explicitly teach that the pivot rolls along the tube. Warthan teaches that adding wheels (45) to a carriage (29) so that the carriage can roll is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pivot of Renger to roll as taught by Warthan in order to reduce friction to reduce the force needed to move the actuation frame and to improve the durability of the actuation frame.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renger (WO 2018/134312; see English language equivalent US 11,225,184 B2) in view of Niemela et al. (US 2018/0055001 A1), hereafter referred to as Niemela.
Consider claim 6. Renger teaches a deployable elevator system for a transport trailer, said elevator system comprising: a vertical raising and lowering element (24) coupled to a portion of the trailer and defining a vertical travel path alongside and parallel to an upright wall of the trailer, said vertical travel path extending from an upper region of the wall to a lower region of the wall; and a deployable supply mount (13) coupled to said vertical raising and lowering element and movable along said vertical travel path; wherein said vertical raising and lowering element is selectively operable to raise and lower said mount along said vertical travel path (see figs. 3 and 4); wherein when said elevator system is in a deployed configuration said mount is positioned proximate the lower region of the wall (see fig. 4) and when said elevator system is in a stowed configuration said mount is positioned above the upper region of the wall (see fig. 1).
Renger does not explicitly teach a deployable corral as specifically recited in the claims. Niemela teaches a deployable corral (14) having a plurality of corral panels (18) extendably coupled to a mount (see figs. 12 and 13); and wherein when said corral is in a deployed configuration said corral defines a fenced-in corral space adjacent a trailer (see fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Renger’s supply mount with a deployable corral as taught by Niemela in order to adapt the trailer for use with livestock.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 12, 15, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,089 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent claim language and the instant claims encompass the patented claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652