DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakaizawa et al. (US 5,970,279; “Sakaizawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaizawa discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1/Title) for executing an image forming operation for forming an image on a recording material P, the image forming apparatus comprising:
a rotatable image bearing member 1 (Fig. 1 Col. 5 lines 1-5);
a charging member 2 configured to electrically charge a surface of the image bearing member 1 at a charging portion (Fig. 1 Col. 5 lines 31-35);
a developing member 8 configured to form a toner image on the image bearing member 1 by supplying a developer T to a developing portion where the developing member 8 is provided in contact with the image bearing member 1 (Fig. 1 Col. 7 lines 21-42);
a transfer portion 5 configured to transfer the toner image from the image bearing member 1 onto a transfer-receiving material P (Fig. 1 Col. 7 lines 43-52); and
a controller 16 configured to control a charging voltage applied to the charging member 2 and a developing voltage applied to the developing member 8 (Fig. 1 Col. 7 lines 53-60),
wherein during execution of the image forming operation, toner remaining on the surface of the image bearing member 1 without being transferred at the transfer portion is collected by the developing member 8 (Col. 9 lines 39-59),
wherein a difference between a surface potential of the image bearing member 1 and the developing voltage in the developing portion is defined as Vbc,
wherein the controller executes a preparatory operation (between “PRE-ROT START” and “START OF IMAGE FORMATION” in Fig. 2) in which, before the image forming operation, rotation (“preparatory rotation”) of the image bearing member 1 is started and the charging voltage (“SUR. POT BY CHARGING ROLLER”) and the developing voltage (“SUR. POT. AT DEV. ZONE”) are increased stepwise (Fig. 2 Col. 8 lines 31-47, Col. 11 lines 46-61),
wherein the controller controls the charging voltage and the developing voltage in the preparatory operation so that a value of Vbc at a time when a surface region of the image bearing member 1 positioned in the developing portion at a time of a start of rotation of the image bearing member reaches the developing portion again (see Col. 10 lines 12-43: Vbc at this time is calculated as -100 V – (+350 V) = -450 V) is higher (in absolute value) than a value of Vbc in the image forming operation (see Col. 5 lines 30-35 & 57-62: Vbc in image forming operation is calculated as -700 V – (-350 V) = -350 V), and
wherein a rotational speed of the image bearing member in the preparatory operation (speed as image bearing member begins to rotate from being at rest after an image formation start signal is inputted to start the preparatory rotation of the image bearing member 1; Col. 9 lines 5-20) is slower than a rotational speed (93 mm/s; Col. 7 line 63 - Col. 8 line 2) of the image bearing member in the image forming operation. (At the start of the preparatory operation, the image bearing member starts rotating from rest and will accelerate from 0 to some nonzero speed. During the acceleration, the image bearing member will have a rotational speed that is slower than the rotational speed during the image forming operation.)
Regarding claim 8, Sakaizawa discloses the image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the controller controls the charging voltage and the developing voltage so that during a period of the preparatory operation, a surface potential (-100 V) of the image bearing member 1 in the developing portion has the same polarity as a normal charge polarity (negative) of the toner relative to the developing voltage and a potential difference between the surface potential of the image bearing member (-100 V) and the developing voltage (-350 V) is maintained within a predetermined range (100-500 V) (Col. 8 lines 3-15, Col. 9 lines 5-20 & 39-59).
Regarding claim 12, Sakaizawa discloses the image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein a value of Vbc at a first time when the surface region of the image bearing member positioned in the developing portion at the time of the start of the rotation of the image bearing member reaches the developing portion again is defined as Vk1, and a value of Vbc at a second time when the surface region of the image bearing member positioned in the developing portion at the first time reaches the developing portion again by one rotation of the developing member is defined as Vk2, and wherein the controller controls the charging voltage and the developing voltage in the preparatory operation so that Vk2 (-350 V) is less than Vk1 (-450 V) (Col. 10 lines 25-62).
Regarding claim 14, Sakaizawa discloses the image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the toner is a non-magnetic one-component developer (Col. 5 lines 41-42).
Regarding claim 15, Sakaizawa discloses the image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the transfer-receiving material is the recording material (supra, see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaizawa (US 5,970,279).
Regarding claim 9, Sakaizawa discloses the image forming apparatus according to Claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined range is a range of 130 V or more and 550 V or less.
The predetermined range of Sakaizawa is 100-500 V (Col. 9 lines 39-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the predetermined range of Sakaizawa, including that which leads to a range of 130-550 V. Sakaizawa recognizes that the difference between the surface potential of the image bearing member and the developing voltage affects the efficiency with which the residual toner particles are recovered (Col. 9 lines 39-59), and discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, and 13 stand as objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, for reasons set forth in the previous Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sakaizawa fails to disclose or suggest a rotational speed of the image bearing member in the preparatory operation slower than a rotational speed of the image bearing member in an image forming operation.
The Office respectfully disagrees, as explained in the rejection under Sakaizawa set forth above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi et al. (US 2020/0292967) is cited for teaching an image forming apparatus that performs a toner removal mode to remove the toner by setting a peripheral speed of an image bearing member to less than a peripheral speed thereof for image formation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852