Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kreiner discloses output correction for visual projection devices comprising an image projection device, comprising:
memory storing information about a reference image, (see memory location 402 comprising reference image data Para. [0037]);
an image projection unit including a projector configured to project an image or a video, (projection output 404 Para. [0037]);
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the memory, the image projection unit, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to, (processor 412) and memory 402, 410, 414 Para. [0041]:
project a first corrected image generated based on first correction information and the reference image, onto a screen, (see projected image 406 fig 7A which is keystoned, Para. [0053]);
receive, from a user device, a captured image obtained by capturing the first corrected image projected onto the screen, (note user device 408 fig 7A for capturing compensated images Para. [0037]. It is noted that the steps of Fig 7A may be continuously repeated which results in a compensated image being projected and captured);
generate second keystone correction information, (note repeatedly executing steps of Fig 7A, para. [0039] which include projecting a compensated image 406 and capturing the compensated image 408)
and project a second corrected image generated based on the second correction information and the reference image, (note repeating feedback loop of Fig 7A, Para. [0039]. A compensated image 414 Fig 7A may be projected at 406 and then captured at 408 for subsequent compensation 412 and projection 106 based on reference image data 402).
However, a communication unit comprising communication circuitry and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the communication unit and generating keystone correction information based on information about positions of at least four first markers included in the reference image, information about positions of at least four second markers included in the captured image, and the first keystone correction information are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kurota discloses a communication unit comprising communication circuitry and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the communication unit, (see communication circuitry 23 fig 1 controlled by control apparatus 21 fig 1 Para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kreiner by incorporating Kurota for the benefit of allowing data to be communicated by different devices thereby improving the functionality of image projection devices.
However, generating keystone correction information based on information about positions of at least four first markers included in the reference image, information about positions of at least four second markers included in the captured image, and the first keystone correction information are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Furui discloses generating keystone correction information based on information about positions of at least four first markers included in the reference image, information about positions of at least four second markers included in the captured image, and the first keystone correction information, page 9 1st – 3rd paragraph starting from “As explained above, the correction pattern 177 …etc” and page 10 1st paragraph starting from “When the distortion correction is continuously executed …etc”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by utilizing correction patterns as disclosed by Furui for the benefit of accurately correcting image distortion thereby allowing an image to be correctly displayed and improving a user’s experience.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination discloses claims 1 and 16. However, wherein the information about the positions of the at least four first markers include coordinate values of the at least four first markers, and wherein the information about the positions of the at least four second markers include coordinate values of the at least four second markers is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Furui discloses wherein the information about the positions of the at least four first markers include coordinate values of the at least four first markers, and wherein the information about the positions of the at least four second markers include coordinate values of the at least four second markers, (page 9 3rd-4th paragraph starting from “When the correction control unit 122 corrects the trapezoidal distortion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by utilizing correction patterns as disclosed by Furui for the benefit of accurately correcting image distortion thereby allowing an image to be correctly displayed and improving a user’s experience.
Claim(s) 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Maeda (Pub 20150296192).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the combination discloses claims 1 and 16. However,
wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: establish a communication link with the user device through the communication unit; and receive the captured image from the user device through the communication unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Maeda discloses wherein at least one processor,
individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: establish a communication link with the user device through the communication unit; and receive the captured image from the user device through the communication unit, (see slave projector 200 construed as user device where communication link is established S101 by sending identification information. Further note a captured image is received from user device S106 fig 3 and Para. [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Maeda for the benefit of allowing calibration data to be exchanged between devices thereby improving calibration efficiency.
Claim(s) 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Kurota (Pub 20190219907).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the combination discloses claims 1 and 16. However,
wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: transmit the first keystone correction information to the user device through the communication unit; and receive the second keystone correction information through the communication unit is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kurota discloses wherein at least one processor,
individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: transmit the first keystone correction information to the user device through the communication unit; and receive the second keystone correction information through the communication unit, (see communication section 193 where CPU 110 of projector determines whether or not the correction target point has been moved on the tablet 200, where movement of points is construed as receiving keystone information from user device, Para. 119-0120). Also note causing four-point keystone correction and updating a Web page on tablet, Par. [0121] construed as transmitting second keystone information to tablet 200 Para. [0121]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Maeda for the benefit of allowing calibration data to be exchanged between devices thereby improving calibration efficiency.
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Ma (Pub 20250260794).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, the combination discloses claims 1 and 16. However,
wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: identify an input for projecting the first corrected image through a user interface for keystone correction; and project the first corrected image in response to identifying the input is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ma discloses wherein at least one processor, individually
and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: identify an input for projecting the first corrected image through a user interface for keystone correction; and project the first corrected image in response to identifying the input, (Para. [0133] see based on user touch manipulation, keystone information is generated, whereby a correct image may be projected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ma so that a user is able to initialize a calibration procedure, when necessary, thereby increasing the functionality of the projection device.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the first keystone correction information includes information about a projection area of the reference image projected onto the screen is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ma discloses wherein the first keystone correction information includes information about a projection area of the reference image projected onto the screen, (see implementing guide GUI to enable a user to adjust size position based on a live-view screen of the captured image, construed as reference image, Para. [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ma for the benefit of allowing calibration by image comparison thereby enabling efficient calibration and enhanced user experience.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Chen (CN 117336451).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses claim 1. However, further comprising at
least one sensor connected to at least one processor, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: project the reference image onto the screen; and obtain the first keystone correction information from the reference image projected onto the screen using the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a distance sensor or a rotation sensor is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chen discloses further comprising at least one sensor
connected to at least one processor, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: project the reference image onto the screen; and obtain the first keystone correction information from the reference image projected onto the screen using the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a distance sensor or a rotation sensor, (see angle sensor page 5 2nd paragraph, i.e. “In an alternative embodiment, when the target plane is perpendicular to the ground, the vertical deflection angle of the projector is obtained, …etc”. Also see trapezoidal correction based on acquired deflection angle and reference images, page 12 3rd-4th paragraph i.e. “In an alternative embodiment, the vertical deflection angle of the projector 100 is obtained, including the following steps..etc”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination and include sensor data for keystone correction since it is well known and conventional so that accurate and better calibration results can be achieved.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Kurota (Pub 20220191392) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Lin (CN 107770505).
Regarding claims 8, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the second
keystone information includes information about a homography matrix of the image projection device and the user device is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein the second keystone information includes information about a homography matrix of the image projection device and the user device, (note acquisition device 110 construed as user device is used to capture a projection image to obtain a second image, page 6 5th paragraph, i.e. “Moreover, in step S135, the image acquisition device 110 to capture by the projector 120 image is output to the correction plate P…etc”. The second image is anti-distorted to generate a third image, page 6 6th paragraph i.e. “then, in step S320, based on the first correction parameter, the processor 130 executes the second image anti-distortion calculation…etc”. A second homography matrix is operated on the third image for compensating image distortion, page 6 7th paragraph – page 7 1st paragraph i.e. “In step S325, processor 130 analyzing the third image to obtain a projector 120 the second correction parameter and a second homography matrix…etc”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Lin so that image correction can be automatically performed thereby improving the displayed images and a user’s experience.
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (Pub 20150296192) in view of Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853).
Regarding claim 9, Maeda discloses an electronic device, (slave projector 200 fig 1)
comprising:
memory storing information about a reference image, (RAM 203 Fig 1 storing a
calibration image Para. [0044]);
a camera, (image capturing device 220 fig 1);
a communication unit comprising communication circuitry, (communication unit 206 fig
1);
and at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, connected to the camera,
wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to, (CPU 201 fig 1):
obtain a captured image by capturing a first image projected onto a screen by
an image projection device using the camera, (Para. [0042] see capturing images at predetermined timing);
receive first keystone correction information from the image projection device through
the communication unit, (note correction parameter generated by master projector 100 fig 1 is transmitted to slave projector 200 Para. [0027]) and
and transmit the second keystone information to the image projection device through
the communication unit, (note communication unit 206 fig 1 may send/receive various data to/from master projector 100 fig 1, Para. [0044])
However, generate second keystone correction information based on the first keystone
correction information wherein the first corrected image includes an image obtained by correcting the reference image based on the first keystone correction information is not explicitly disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kreiner discloses wherein the first corrected image
includes an image obtained by correcting the reference image based on the first keystone correction information, (see projected image 406 fig 7A which is keystoned, Para. [0053]) and generate second keystone correction information based on the first keystone correction information, (note repeatedly executing steps of Fig 7A, para. [0039] which include projecting a compensated image 406 and capturing the compensated image 408). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Kreiner for the benefit of obtaining better calibration results thereby improving a user’s experience.
However, generating keystone correction information based on information about
positions of at least four first markers included in the reference image, information about positions of at least four second markers included in the captured image, and the first keystone correction information wherein the at least four second marker is disposed at positions corresponding to the positions of the at least four first markers are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Furui discloses generating keystone
correction information based on information about positions of at least four first markers included in the reference image, information about positions of at least four second markers included in the captured image, and the first keystone correction information wherein the at least four second marker is disposed at positions corresponding to the positions of the at least four first markers, (page 9 1st – 3rd paragraph starting from “As explained above, the correction pattern 177 …etc” and page 10 1st paragraph starting from “When the distortion correction is continuously executed …etc”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by utilizing correction patterns as disclosed by Furui for the benefit of accurately correcting image distortion thereby allowing an image to be correctly displayed and improving a user’s experience. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Furui for the benefit of obtaining accurate calibration results thereby improving a user’s experience.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses claim 9. However, wherein the information about the positions of the at least four first markers include coordinate values of the at least four first markers, and wherein the information about the positions of the at least four second markers include coordinate values of the at least four second markers is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Furui discloses wherein the information about the positions of the at least four first markers include coordinate values of the at least four first markers, and wherein the information about the positions of the at least four second markers include coordinate values of the at least four second markers, (page 9 3rd-4th paragraph starting from “When the correction control unit 122 corrects the trapezoidal distortion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by utilizing correction patterns as disclosed by Furui for the benefit of accurately correcting image distortion thereby allowing an image to be correctly displayed and improving a user’s experience.
Regarding claim 11, Maeda discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: establish a communication link with the image projection device through the communication unit; and receive the first keystone correction information through the communication link; and transmit the second keystone correction information through the communication link, (see communication unit 106 and 206 of fig 2 and Para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses claim 9. However, transmitting a captured image to an image projection device through a communication unit is not disclosed
In a similar field of endeavor, Kreiner discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to transmit the captured image to the image projection device through the communication unit in response to obtaining the captured image, (note user device 408 fig 7A for capturing compensated images Para. [0037]. It is noted that the steps of Fig 7A may be continuously repeated which results in a compensated image being projected and captured). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Kreiner for enabling calibration information to be exchanged between devices thereby improving the calibration efficiency.
Claim(s) 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (Pub 20150296192) in view of Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Ma (Pub 20250260794).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses claims 9. However, wherein at least one
processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: identify an input for projecting the first corrected image through a user interface for keystone correction; and project the first corrected image in response to identifying the input is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ma discloses wherein at least one processor, individually
and/or collectively, is configured to control the image projection device to: identify an input for projecting the first corrected image through a user interface for keystone correction; and project the first corrected image in response to identifying the input, (Para. [0133] see based on user touch manipulation, keystone information is generated, whereby a correct image may be projected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ma so that a user is able to initialize a calibration procedure, when necessary, thereby increasing the functionality of the projection device.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses claim 9. However, wherein the first keystone correction information includes information about a projection area of the reference image projected onto the screen is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ma discloses wherein the first keystone correction information includes information about a projection area of the reference image projected onto the screen, (see implementing guide GUI to enable a user to adjust size position based on a live-view screen of the captured image, construed as reference image, Para. [0079]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Ma for the benefit of allowing calibration by image comparison thereby enabling efficient calibration and enhanced user experience.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (Pub 20150296192) in view of Kreiner (Pub 20090190046) in view of Furui (WO 2013132853) in view of Lin (CN 107770505).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses including a second keystone correction,
see claim 9. However, wherein the second keystone information includes information
about a homography matrix of the image projection device and the user device is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein the second keystone information includes information about a homography matrix of the image projection device and the user device, (note acquisition device 110 construed as user device is used to capture a projection image to obtain a second image, page 6 5th paragraph, “Moreover, in step S135, the image acquisition device 110 to capture by the projector 120 image is output to the correction plate P…etc”. The second image is anti-distorted to generate a third image, page 6 6th paragraph i.e. “then, in step S320, based on the first correction parameter, the processor 130 executes the second image anti-distortion calculation…etc”. A second homography matrix is operated on the third image for compensating image distortion, page 6 7th paragraph – page 7 1st paragraph i.e. “In step S325, processor 130 analyzing the third image to obtain a projector 120 the second correction parameter and a second homography matrix…etc”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination by Lin so that image correction can be automatically performed thereby improving the displayed images and a user’s experience.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422