DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 11/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments, in the Remarks filed on 03/20/2026, with regards to claim 1 and claim 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant argument (pages 9-10), Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Caballero discloses a system and method for enhancing a section of lower-quality visual data using an hierarchical algorithm in super-resolution algorithms based on learning (pre-training) neutral network models (Col 1 lines 19-22, Col 8 line 47 through Col 9 line 21 and Col 15 lines 54-60). The models can be developed for each scene (Col 15 lines 60-64), and the hierarchical model is used interchangeable with the hierarchical algorithm (Col 13 lines 39-43). Caballero clearly discloses a target video data is split into a sequence of images (frames) grouping into scenes having common features (Figures 16-17 and 25-26; Col 14 line 32 through Col 15 line 27, Col 20 line 64 through Col 21 line 10 and Col 33 lines 34-48); and each scene (a sequence of images) is mapped to a model/algorithm choosing from a library of a set of pre-trained models in order to enhance lower-quality visual data to high-quality of original visual data (Figures 16-17 and 25-26, Col 17 lines 32-41, Col 18 lines 60-67 and Col 33 line 62 through Col 34 line 15).
Therefore, Caballero’s teaching still meets the limitations of “dividing a target video into… a same scene; determining, for each group of images, a matched video enhancement algorithm… a pre-trained model” in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitations of "the predicting the quality score" in line 2, and “the global features” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitations of "the selecting the algorithm" in line 2, and “the quality score" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Other dependent claims are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caballero et al (US 10701394).
Regarding claim 1, Caballero discloses a video enhancement method, comprising:
dividing a target video into a plurality of groups of images, the images in a same group belonging to a same scene (Figures 16-17, 19-20 and 25-26; Col 14 line 32 through Col 15 line 27, Col 20 line 64 through Col 21 line 10 and Col 33 lines 34-48 for splitting a target video into a sequence of images which are grouped into scenes having common features);
determining, for each group of images, a matched video enhancement algorithm in a specified set of video enhancement algorithms using a pre-trained model (Col 1 lines 19-22, Col 8 line 47 through Col 9 line 21 and Col 15 lines 54-60 for enhancing a section of lower-quality visual data using an hierarchical algorithm in super-resolution algorithms based on learning (pre-training) neutral network models; Col 15 lines 60-64 for the models can be developed for each scene; Col 13 lines 39-43 for the hierarchical model is used interchangeable with the hierarchical algorithm; and Figures 16-17 and 25-26, Col 17 lines 32-41, Col 18 lines 60-67 and Col 33 line 62 through Col 34 line 15 for each scene (a sequence of images) is mapped to a model/algorithm choosing from a library of a set of pre-trained models in order to enhance lower-quality visual data to high-quality of original visual data);
performing video enhancement processing on the each group of images using the video enhancement algorithm (Figures 16-17, 19-20 and 25-26; Col 37 lines 8-24 for performing image enhancement on frames of scene using selected image enhancement model); and
sequentially splicing video enhancement processing results of all groups of images to obtain video enhancement data of the target video (Figures 16-17, 19-20 and 25-26; Col 37 lines 48-53 and Col 38 lines 7-15 for reconstructing all image enhancing frames of scenes to obtain video enhancement data of the target video).
Regarding claim 2, Caballero discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Caballero further discloses wherein the determining, for each group of images, the matched video enhancement algorithm comprises:
extracting, by the model, image features from a currently input group of images using a deep residual network; generating inter-frame difference information based on the image features output by the deep residual network, performing channel fusion processing on the inter-frame difference information and the image features; extracting global features based on a result of the channel fusion processing; and determining the matched video enhancement algorithm based on a quality score corresponding the global features (Figures 7-9 and 28-30 and theirs corresponding description sections).
Regarding claim 8, Caballero discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Caballero further discloses wherein the dividing a target video into a plurality of groups of images comprises: identifying scenes in the target video using a scene boundary detection algorithm; and extracting, for each of the scenes, video frames from a frame sequence corresponding to the each of the scenes using a sliding window, and taking the video frames extracted each time as a group of images, wherein k frames are extracted each time, k is a specified number of frames of a group of images, and based on a number of frames remaining to be extracted in a scene being less than k, a group of images is obtained after supplementing to k frames (Figures 7-8 and 29-31).
Regarding claim 9, Caballero discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Caballero further discloses pre-training the model using specified sample data, wherein a method for constructing the sample data comprises:
performing, for each group of sample images, video enhancement processing on the each group of sample images using each algorithm in a specified set of video enhancement algorithms respectively; and assessing a quality score of a video enhancement processing result of each of the video enhancement algorithms using a specified image quality assessment algorithm or a manual scoring mode, and setting an average value of the quality scores of the video enhancement algorithms as a quality score label of the each group of sample images in corresponding algorithms (Col 33 line 23 through Col 34 line 15, Col 37 lines 7-60, Col 38 lines 21-65).
Regarding claim 10, Caballero discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 9. Caballero further discloses wherein a number of the image quality assessment algorithms is greater than 2, and a number of people participating in the manual scoring is greater than 2 (Col 1 lines 19-22, Col 8 lines 47-49 and Col 44 lines 51-60).
Regarding claims 11-12, all limitations of claims 11-12 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caballero et al (US 10701394) in view of Heo et al (US 2019/0057270).
Regarding claim 3, Caballero discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 2. Caballero further discloses wherein the determining, for each group of images, the matched video enhancement algorithm comprises: selecting an algorithm from the specified set of video enhancement algorithms as a video enhancement algorithm matched with the currently input group of images according to a strategy of preferentially selecting a high algorithm based on the quality score (Col 31 lines 21-28, Col 32 lines 58-65, Col 38 lines 29-40 and Col 39 line 1 through Col 10 line 18).
Caballero is silent about predicting the quality score of each algorithm for performing video enhancement processing on the currently input group of images, based on the global features.
Heo discloses predicting the quality score of each algorithm in a specified set of video enhancement algorithms for performing video enhancement processing on the currently input group of images, based on the global features, and selecting an algorithm from the specified set of video enhancement algorithms as a video enhancement algorithm matched with the currently input group of images according to a strategy of preferentially selecting a high-score algorithm based on the quality score (¶ [0068]-[0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Caballero system with the teaching of Heo, so to provide an alternative way of processing data and selecting the most appropriate algorithm for enhancing video process as a matter of engineering choices.
Regarding claim 4, Caballero in view of Heo discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 3. The combined system further discloses wherein the predicting the quality score of each algorithm comprises: predicting, by a multilayer perceptron (MLP) based on the global features, the quality score of each algorithm (Heo’s Figures 5 and 8).
Regarding claims 13-14, all limitations of claims 13-14 are analyzed and rejected corresponding to claims 3-4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI L DUBASKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421