DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 13-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,496.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the US Patent (496) and is covered by the US Patent, since the US Patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims 13-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-51 of copending Application No. 18/941534 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of copending Application No. 18/952434 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-45 of copending Application No. 19/096928 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 19/379508 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer (# US 2010/0291331).
Schaefer discloses:
13. A method of creating a multiple layered print structure (see Abstract; [0241]), by:
printing at least one print layer on a removable substrate using one digital ink-jet print method wherein the at least one print layer forms a design ([0026]-[0028]; [0173]);
where, at least one print layer comprising at least one opaque layer ([0034]-[0044]; [0066]; [0241]) printed on the design using one digital ink-jet print method ([0014]-[0016]);
applying a heat-sensitive adhesive layer to the opaque layer, wherein the adhesive layer conforms to the opaque layer, whereby the at least one print layer, including the opaque layer, and the heat-sensitive adhesive layer are adapted to be separated from the removable substrate and for transfer of the design to a receptor ([0260]-[0279]).
The Examiner draws particular attention to the Applicant that " Schaefer does address Printing techniques may include offset, gravure, screen, thermal transfer, ink or laser jet, etc., it teaches a laundry list of possible Printing techniques may include offset, gravure, screen, thermal transfer, ink or laser jet, etc.. The format in which Schaefer presents its teaching does not change the fact that it teaches the claimed invention. It is not necessary for Schaefer to present its teaching in an example format citing it in a list is sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, to choose any of the printing techniques may include offset, gravure, screen, thermal transfer, ink or laser jet, etc., including those presently claimed, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention. However, "applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others." In re Courtright, 377.
14. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing comprises forming a design, where the design is formed in mirror image format (see Examples).
15. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate is formed of a material adapted to withstand high temperatures (silicone; [0247]).
16. The method of creating a multiple layered print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate is selected from at least one of a group comprising paper web, plastic film, wood pulp fiber paper, metal foil, parchment paper, lithographic printing paper, or clear film (plastic paper plate; [0272]).
17. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate further comprises a release layer underlying said at least one print layer to facilitate easy release of print structure onto a receptor element (see Examples).
18. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 17, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate further comprises a release layer underlying said at least one print layer, where the release layer is adapted to receive at least one print layer being printed using at least one digital ink-jet print method ([0014]).
19. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 17, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate further comprises one or more layers, where these layers facilitate receiving and release of at least one print layer (see Abstract).
20. The multiple layer print structure of claim 17, wherein the step of printing comprises a removable substrate, where the removable substrate further comprises a release layer underlying said at least one print layer to facilitate easy release of print structure onto a receptor element (see Abstract), wherein the release layer is adapted to receive at least one print layer being printed using at least one digital ink-jet print method; and where the at least one release layer is selected from at least one of (a) silicone ([0035]) (b) wax-based materials; such that it releasably adheres the at least one print layer to the substrate.
21. The method of creating a multiple layered print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of applying heat-sensitive adhesive comprises an adhesive, where the adhesive is selected from a group of thermoplastic polymer, including a polyamide, polyolefin, or polyester ([0034]; [0056]; [0057]).
22. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of applying heat-sensitive adhesive comprises an adhesive, where the adhesive is a powder adhesive ([0057]).
23. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing at least one print layer on a removable substrate, where the at least one print layer includes adhesive ([0066]).
24. The method of creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 13, wherein the step of printing at least one print layer on a removable substrate, where at least one print layer comprising at least one opaque layer; such that the at least one opaque print layer includes adhesive ([0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Truog (# US 2004/0161564) discloses a dry paint transfer laminate (100) comprises a dry paint film layer (110) has an upper surface and a lower surface, an adhesive layer (120) overlying the upper surface (112) of the dry paint film layer, and a release liner (130) overlying the lower surface (114) of the dry paint film layer. The dry paint film layer comprises a binder and a pigment (see Abstract).
(2) La Costa (# US 2013/0004742) discloses a method of transfer printing onto articles, particularly dark articles, is disclosed. A design, preferably in color, is printed onto a transfer sheet in sublimation dye using a commercially-available printer. White toner is then printed over at least a portion of the design using an electrostatic printing device. Heat and pressure are applied to transfer the design and the white toner to an article. In some preferred embodiments, the transfer sheet is a self-weeding transfer paper. In some preferred embodiments, the same printer is used to print both the sublimation dye design and the white toner. In some preferred embodiments, the color palette of the image is inverted prior to printing with white toner. The invention is particularly well suited to the transfer printing of dark textile articles (see Abstract).
(3) Daley et al.(# US 2016/0358519) discloses a digitally printed heat transfer label and method of manufacture is disclosed. The heat transfer label and method of manufacture provides a more efficient process with less waste, as well as prevents halos. The method comprises adding adhesive powder to a digital image printed on a substrate to produce a high stretch, multi-color photographic quality label for the apparel industry (see Abstract).
(4) McGovern et al. (# US 2019/0118575) discloses a thermal transfer and process for producing it that provides a fully-digital printed heat transfer capable of little to no process changeover between different graphics. Specifically, the method comprises printing a digital image onto a treated adhesive substrate, applying the image side to a carrier substrate, then digitally cutting and removing substrate not containing graphic elements through a combination of kiss-and-through cutting to produce a high stretch, multi-color photographic quality print transfers for the apparel and soft goods industry (see Abstract).
(5) Weedlun et al. (# US 2020/0096910) discloses the method involves digitally printing an image onto the protective coating to form a printed area and an unprinted area of the protective coating on a protective coating receptive to ink and/or toner. An attractant is digitally printed precisely onto the printed area and not onto the unprinted area. An adhesive powder is applied onto the printed area and the unprinted area. The adhesive powder is removed (208) from the unprinted area. The remaining adhesive powder is bonded to the printed area. A release layer is applied onto a substrate. The protective coating is applied onto the release layer (see Abstract).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853