DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 02/11/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-18, and 20-24 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/11/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 14-15, 17-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagoto et al. (U.S. Pat. 7247798).
Regarding claim 1, Pagoto discloses an apparatus comprising: a base portion 202 configured to attach to a support surface, the base portion 202 defining a base plane (as outlined by 210-213); at least two first retainer posts 216a-c that extend from the base portion 202 a first distance from the base plane, the first retainer posts 216a-c defining at least one passageway configured to receive a first elongated article 26 therebetween (as seen in Fig. 12); and at least one second retainer post 227c that extends from the base portion 202 a second distance from the base plane, the second retainer post 227c configured to support a second elongated article 26 (see configuration shown in Fig. 1 for holding elongated articles 26), the second retainer post 227c defines a saddle portion configured to receive a strap to bind the second elongated article 26 to the second retainer post 227c (see slot under the projection portion and the arm portion, as shown in Fig. 12 below).
Regarding claim 2, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the second retainer post 227c extends from at least one of a periphery of the base portion 202 or a face portion 214 of the base portion 202.
Regarding claim 3, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, further comprising: at least one third retainer post 217b that extends from the base portion 202, the third retainer post 217b configured to support at least one of the first elongated article 26, a second elongated article 26, or a third elongated article 26. The Examiner notes that each of the retainer posts 215a-c, 216a-c, 217a-c, and 227a-c are designed to hold at least three different elongated articles 26, based on the configuration shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the second retainer post 227c and the third retainer post 217b are configured to support at least one of the second elongated article 26 when the second elongated article 26 is wound around the second retainer post 227c and the third retainer post 217b or the third elongated article 26 when the third elongated article 26 is wound around the second retainer post 227c and the third retainer post 217b.
Regarding claim 5, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the second retainer post 227c further comprises: an arm portion (as shown in Fig. 12 below) that extends from the base portion 202, where the arm portion is configured to receive the second elongated article 26; and a projection portion (see Fig. 12 below) that extends from the arm portion, the projection portion configured to reduce an occurrence of the second elongated article 26 sliding off the arm portion.
Regarding claim 6, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the second retainer post 227c further comprises: an arm portion (as shown in Fig. 12 below) that extends from the base portion 202, where the arm portion defines a cradle portion configured to receive the second elongated article (as seen in Fig. 14); and a projection portion that extends from the arm portion (as shown in Fig. 12 below), the projection portion configured to reduce an occurrence of the second elongated article 26 moving out of the cradle portion.
Regarding claim 7, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, further comprising at least one third retainer post 217b that extends from the base portion 202, where: the second retainer post 227c further comprises: a first arm portion that extends from the base portion 202 (as seen in Fig. 12 below), where the first arm portion defines a first cradle portion configured to receive the second elongated article 26 (as seen in Fig. 14); and a first projection portion (as seen in Fig. 12 below) that extends from the first arm portion, the first projection portion configured to prevent the second elongated article 26 from moving out of the first cradle portion; and the third retainer post 217b further comprises: a second arm portion 225b that extends from the base portion 202, where the second arm portion 225b defines a second cradle portion configured to receive the second elongated article 26 (as seen in Fig. 12); and a second projection portion 226b that extends from the second arm portion 225b, the second projection portion 226b configured to prevent the second elongated article 26 from moving out of the second cradle portion, where the second retainer post 227c and the third retainer post 217b are located on opposite sides of the base portion 202 (as shown in Fig. 12), and where the first cradle portion and the second cradle portion face away from a center of the base portion 202 (as seen in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 11, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, further comprising: a cover portion 201, the cover portion 201 configured to cover at least one of the first retainer posts 216a-c or at least one of the second retainer posts 227c (as shown in Fig. 13), where the cover portion 201 is further configured to cover the first retainer post 216a and the second retainer post 227c (as seen in Fig. 13), and a cover support pillar 208a that extends from at least one of the base portion 202 or an underside of the cover portion 201 (as shown in Fig. 11), the cover support pillar 208a spacing the cover portion 201 apart from the first and second retainer posts 216a,227c, the cover support pillar 208a configured to support the underside of the cover portion 201 (as seen in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, further comprising: at least one third retainer post 217b that extends from the base portion 202, where the second retainer post 227c and the third retainer post 217b are located on opposite sides of the base portion 202 (as seen in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where at least one retainer post of the first retainer posts 216a-c includes a stem 223c that terminates in a cap 224c having a width that is greater than a width of the stem 223c (as seen in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the base portion 202 further comprises: a connector portion (see mounting hole 50 for receiving a fastener, as disclosed in col. 3, lines 43-44) configured to attach the base portion to the support surface, the connector portion 50 comprising at least one of an adhesive fastener or an aperture defined in the base portion that is configured to receive a mechanical fastener.
Regarding claim 18, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the first retainer posts 216a-c are spaced apart from the second retainer post 227c (as seen in Fig. 12); or the first retainer posts 216a-c define at least two passageways configured to receive a first elongated article 26 therebetween, where the apparatus further comprises routing indicia configured to guide a technician to utilize a minimum bend radius when routing the first elongated article 26 between the passageways (see cable guide in Figs. 1 & 6).
Regarding claim 20, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the second retainer post 227c defines a saddle portion, the saddle portion configured to receive a strap to bind the second elongated article 26 to the second retainer post 227c, the saddle portion further comprising a strap aperture configured to receive the strap, the strap aperture defined through the second retainer post 227c and shaped to guide the strap around the second elongated article 26 (see slot under the projection portion and the arm portion, as shown in Fig. 12 below).
Regarding claim 21, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the saddle portion defines a saddle comprising at least one of a channel, a chamfer, a bevel, a groove, or a notch (see notch under the projection portion and the arm portion, as shown in Fig. 12 below).
Regarding claim 22, Pagoto discloses the apparatus, where the saddle portion extends outwardly and away from the base portion 202 (the Examiner notes that the projection portion and arm extend away from the base portion 202).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagoto in view of Kalejaiye (U.S. Pub. 20150089774).
Regarding claim 16, Pagoto is discussed above, and teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Pagoto fails to teach a breakable portion in the center of the base portion 202. Kalejaiye teaches an apparatus having a center segment (at 22) that is frangibly attached to a side segment 27 at a breakable portion 22, the breakable portion 22 connecting the base portion 23 to the center segment, the breakable portion 22 configured to break at a defined snap point along which the breakable portion 22 is configured to break under a predetermined loading condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base portion 202 of Pagoto to have a breakable portion, in order to allow the user to utilize as many cable support members as desired, as taught to be desirable by Kalejaiye (see discussion in para. [0036], lines 4-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are allowed.
Claims 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or disclose the cable support apparatus disclosed in claim 1, where the second retainer post further comprises a pair of flanges that define a receiver therebetween, the receiver configured to receive a cutter tool for cutting the strap, or
where the saddle portion comprises: a block, the block configured to attach to the second elongated article via the strap, the block defining a strap aperture therethrough, the strap aperture configured to receive the strap therein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the Applicant’s argument that Pagoto fails to disclose where the second retainer post defines a saddle portion configured to receive a strap to bind the second elongated article to the second retainer post, the Examiner submits the following. Pagoto discloses the slot under the projection portion and the arm portion, as shown in Fig. 12 above, which is configured to receive a strap to bind the elongated article 26. Therefore, it is submitted that Pagoto implicitly discloses where the saddle portion is configured to receive a strap, through the slot shown in Fig. 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 1-May-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632