DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
COMBUSTOR NOZZLE HAVING MIXING TUBE POSITION CORRESPONDING TO FUEL SUPPLY PART POSITION, AND COMBUSTOR AND GAS TURBINE INCLUDING SAME
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7, 10, 14, 17, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 5, “each outlet of a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes” should be revised to: -- each outlet of [[a]] the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes--;
In claim 7, line 1, “wherein” should be added before “a fuel inlet hole”:
-- The combustor nozzle of claim 2, wherein a fuel inlet hole…--;
In claim 10, line 5, “each outlet of a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes” should be revised to: -- each outlet of [[a]] the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes--;
In claim 14, line 1, “wherein” should be added before “a fuel inlet hole”:
-- The combustor of claim 9, wherein a fuel inlet hole…--;
In claim 17, line 5, “each outlet of a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes” should be revised to: -- each outlet of [[a]] the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes--;
In claim 20, line 1, “wherein” should be added before “a fuel inlet hole”:
-- The gas turbine of claim 16, wherein a fuel inlet hole…--;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 & 15, in their last clauses, recite the limitation “wherein a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes is formed such that each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes is formed at a position corresponding to the fuel supply part”. This renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear what is supposed to be meant by “a position corresponding to the fuel supply part”. The limitation is overly vague, and the term “corresponding” does not clearly convey the intended relationship between “each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes” and the “fuel supply part” (i.e. how would a position “correspond” to the fuel supply part? What would constitute an outlet “corresponding” as opposed to not “corresponding”? What positions of each outlet are encompassed by the limitation? Would simply being near/adjacent the fuel supply part “correspond” to it? Is there some axial alignment/overlap required? In what frame of reference?). It is unclear what the claim is attempting to encompass by the claim language. Based on the instant disclosure, it appears the intent is to convey that the outlets of the portion of mixing tubes are located in a center region of a front plate of the nozzle that “corresponds” to a center region of a rear plate where the fuel supply part is inserted into the rear plate (Specification Para. 0041-46). However, none of this is apparent or implied by the claim language, and limitations from the Specification are not read into the claims.
Claim 6, lines 7-8, recite the limitations “an outer portion of the front plate” and “a center portion of the front plate”. However, claim 3 upon which claim 6 depends already recites a “center region” of the front plate, and an “outer region” of the front plate. It is unclear whether the “center portion” and “center region” of the front plate are meant to be the same limitation, or are describing different parts of the front plate. Likewise, it is unclear whether the “outer portion” and “outer region” of the front plate are also meant to be the same limitation or are wholly different and separate limitations.
Claim 13, lines 7-8, recite the limitations “an outer portion of the front plate” and “a center portion of the front plate”. However, claim 10 upon which claim 13 depends already recites a “center region” of the front plate, and an “outer region” of the front plate. It is unclear whether the “center portion” and “center region” of the front plate are meant to be the same limitation, or are describing different parts of the front plate. Likewise, it is unclear whether the “outer portion” and “outer region” of the front plate are also meant to be the same limitation or are wholly different and separate limitations.
Claim 19, lines 7-8, recite the limitations “an outer portion of the front plate” and “a center portion of the front plate”. However, claim 17 upon which claim 19 depends already recites a “center region” of the front plate, and an “outer region” of the front plate. It is unclear whether the “center portion” and “center region” of the front plate are meant to be the same limitation, or are describing different parts of the front plate. Likewise, it is unclear whether the “outer portion” and “outer region” of the front plate are also meant to be the same limitation or are wholly different and separate limitations.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16-18, 20 are rejected by virtue of dependence on claims 1, 8 & 15 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao (CN 212362096 A, see attached English translation).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shao discloses a combustor nozzle comprising:
a plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 configured to spray a mixture fluid in which air 23 and fuel 33 are mixed with each other into respective spray holes (the outlets of each tubes 51, 52 formed on the end cover 55, Fig. 2, 3, Para. 0086);
a rear plate supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each rear end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 below, the rear plate supports a baffle plate 53 that the rear end of the mixing tubes are coupled to); and
a fuel supply part 32 mounted in the rear plate (Fig. 3 the fuel supply part is in the middle of the rear plate, forming a fuel inlet plenum with the rear plate and end plate 53) and configured to supply fuel 33, wherein a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 (a “duty nozzle micro-premixed tube bundle” disposed in the center of the combustor nozzle) is formed such that each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes is formed at a position corresponding to the fuel supply part (as best understood, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0084-85, the outlet of the tube bundle 52 is aligned with, or overlapping along an axial direction of the nozzle, the fuel supply part inlet 32 as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Shao discloses the combustor nozzle of claim 1, further comprising a mixing mechanism 62, 71 provided in each of the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 and configured to mix air 23 and fuel 33 that are supplied into the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 4-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube comprises air inlets 62 of an elongated shape and fuel inlets 71 of a circular shape that are spaced an axial distance 73 from each other along the mixing tube and can be angled to promote a swirling flow within the mixing tubes; hence, the air inlets and fuel inlets are a “mixing mechanism” provided in each mixing tube; note, the claim does not explicitly describe what the “mixing mechanism” is, and consequently the limitation can be interpreted very broadly).
Regarding claim 3, Shao discloses the combustor nozzle of claim 1, further comprising a front plate 55 (end cover) supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each front end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 above), wherein the front plate comprises a center region corresponding to the fuel supply part (interpreted as aligned with at least a portion of the fuel supply part; the center region is where the outlets of the tube bundle 52 are formed, Fig. 2-3) and comprises an outer region surrounding the center region (the region where the outlets of the tube bundle 51 is formed, surrounding the tube bundle 52, Fig. 2-3), and each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 is disposed in the center region (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 above) and each remaining outlet of the plurality of mixing tubes (the outlets of tube bundle 51) is disposed in the outer region (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Shao discloses the combustor nozzle of claim 3, wherein the plurality of mixing tubes comprises:
a center nozzle group 52 having each outlet disposed in the center region (Fig. 2 & 3 above, Para. 0085-86); and
an outer nozzle group 51 having each outlet disposed in the outer region (Fig. 2 & 3 above, Para. 0085-86).
Regarding claim 7, Shao discloses the combustor nozzle of claim 2, a fuel inlet hole 71 into which fuel supplied through the fuel supply part 32 is introduced inside each of the plurality of the mixing tubes 51, 52 is formed in each of the plurality of the mixing tubes (Fig. 3-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube has a set of circular fuel inlet holes 71 as shown), and each mixing mechanism (i.e. the air inlet holes 62 formed in each mixing tube, configured to mix air with the fuel from the fuel inlet holes) is provided between each fuel inlet hole 71 and each spray hole (Fig. 4-5, the air inlet holes are provided between the fuel inlet holes 71 and the outlet/spray hole of the mixing tubes as shown).
Regarding independent claim 8, Shao discloses a combustor 10 (Fig. 1) comprising:
a burner having a plurality of nozzles 50 (“burner main body”) for spraying fuel 33 and air 23 (Fig. 1); and
a duct assembly 42 (combustion chamber liner) coupled to a first side of the burner (Fig. 1, at the combustion chamber head 11), the duct assembly having an inner portion 12 where fuel and air sprayed from the burner are combusted and being configured to transmit combustion gas to a turbine (Para. 0077-78, 0083-84),
wherein each of the plurality of nozzles (Fig. 3 above) comprises:
a plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 configured to spray a mixture fluid in which air 23 and fuel 33 are mixed with each other into respective spray holes (the outlets of each tubes 51, 52 formed on the end cover 55, Fig. 2, 3, Para. 0086);
a rear plate supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each rear end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 above, the rear plate supports a baffle plate 53 that the rear end of the mixing tubes are coupled to); and
a fuel supply part 32 mounted in the rear plate 53 (Fig. 3, the fuel supply part includes an inlet tube 32 and a rear wall forming a fuel inlet plenum with the rear plate, and is mounted therewith) and configured to supply fuel 33, wherein a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 (a “duty nozzle micro-premixed tube bundle” disposed in the center of the combustor nozzle) is formed such that each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes is formed at a position corresponding to the fuel supply part (as best understood, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0084-85, the outlet of the tube bundle 52 is aligned with, or overlapping along an axial direction of the nozzle, the fuel supply part inlet 32 as shown).
Regarding claim 9, Shao discloses the combustor of claim 8, further comprising a mixing mechanism 62, 71 provided in each of the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 and configured to mix air 23 and fuel 33 that are supplied into the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 4-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube comprises air inlets 62 of an elongated shape and fuel inlets 71 of a circular shape that are spaced an axial distance 73 from each other along the mixing tube and can be angled to promote a swirling flow within the mixing tubes; hence, the air inlets and fuel inlets are a “mixing mechanism” provided in each mixing tube; note, the claim does not explicitly describe what the “mixing mechanism” is, and consequently the limitation can be interpreted very broadly).
Regarding claim 10, Shao discloses the combustor of claim 8, further comprising a front plate 55 (end cover) supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each front end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 above), wherein the front plate comprises a center region corresponding to the fuel supply part (interpreted as aligned with at least a portion of the fuel supply part; the center region is where the outlets of the tube bundle 52 are formed, Fig. 2-3) and comprises an outer region surrounding the center region (the region where the outlets of the tube bundle 51 is formed, surrounding the tube bundle 52, Fig. 2-3), and each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 is disposed in the center region (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 above) and each remaining outlet of the plurality of mixing tubes (the outlets of tube bundle 51) is disposed in the outer region (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Shao discloses the combustor of claim 10, wherein the plurality of mixing tubes comprises:
a center nozzle group 52 having each outlet disposed in the center region (Fig. 2 & 3 above, Para. 0085-86); and
an outer nozzle group 51 having each outlet disposed in the outer region (Fig. 2 & 3 above, Para. 0085-86).
Regarding claim 14, Shao discloses the combustor of claim 9, a fuel inlet hole 71 into which fuel supplied through the fuel supply part 32 is introduced inside each of the plurality of the mixing tubes 51, 52 is formed in each of the plurality of the mixing tubes (Fig. 3-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube has a set of circular fuel inlet holes 71 as shown), and each mixing mechanism (i.e. the air inlet holes 62 formed in each mixing tube, configured to mix air with the fuel from the fuel inlet holes) is provided between each fuel inlet hole 71 and each spray hole (Fig. 4-5, the air inlet holes are provided between the fuel inlet holes 71 and the outlet/spray hole of the mixing tubes as shown).
Regarding independent claim 15, Shao discloses a gas turbine (Para. 0083) comprising:
a compressor configured to compress air introduced from outside (Para. 0084, a compressor is mentioned providing compressed air to an air inlet 21 of the combustion chamber);
a combustor (Fig. 1) configured to mix fuel 33 with air 23 compressed from the compressor and to combust a mixture thereof (Para. 0083-84); and
a turbine that comprises a plurality of turbine blades configured to be rotated by combustion gas generated from the combustor (Para. 0083-84, implicit from the system being a “natural gas turbine” having a combustor connected to a “gas turbine casing 40”), wherein the combustor comprises:
a burner having a plurality of nozzles 50 (“burner main body”) for spraying fuel 33 and air 23 (Fig. 1); and
a duct assembly 42 (combustion chamber liner) coupled to a first side of the burner (Fig. 1, at the combustion chamber head 11), the duct assembly having an inner portion 12 where fuel and air sprayed from the burner are combusted and being configured to transmit combustion gas to a turbine (Para. 0077-78, 0083-84),
wherein each of the plurality of nozzles (Fig. 3 above) comprises:
a plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 configured to spray a mixture fluid in which air 23 and fuel 33 are mixed with each other into respective spray holes (the outlets of each tubes 51, 52 formed on the end cover 55, Fig. 2, 3, Para. 0086);
a rear plate supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each rear end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 above, the rear plate supports a baffle plate 53 that the rear end of the mixing tubes are coupled to); and
a fuel supply part 32 mounted in the rear plate 53 (Fig. 3, the fuel supply part includes an inlet tube 32 and a rear wall forming a fuel inlet plenum with the rear plate, and is mounted therewith) and configured to supply fuel 33, wherein a portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 (a “duty nozzle micro-premixed tube bundle” disposed in the center of the combustor nozzle) is formed such that each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes is formed at a position corresponding to the fuel supply part (as best understood, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0084-85, the outlet of the tube bundle 52 is aligned with, or overlapping along an axial direction of the nozzle, the fuel supply part inlet 32 as shown).
Regarding claim 16, Shao discloses the gas turbine of claim 15, further comprising a mixing mechanism 62, 71 provided in each of the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 and configured to mix air 23 and fuel 33 that are supplied into the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 4-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube comprises air inlets 62 of an elongated shape and fuel inlets 71 of a circular shape that are spaced an axial distance 73 from each other along the mixing tube and can be angled to promote a swirling flow within the mixing tubes; hence, the air inlets and fuel inlets are a “mixing mechanism” provided in each mixing tube; note, the claim does not explicitly describe what the “mixing mechanism” is, and consequently the limitation can be interpreted very broadly).
Regarding claim 17, Shao discloses the combustor of claim 6, further comprising a front plate 55 (end cover) supporting the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 at each front end of the plurality of mixing tubes (Fig. 3 above), wherein the front plate comprises a center region corresponding to the fuel supply part (interpreted as aligned with at least a portion of the fuel supply part; the center region is where the outlets of the tube bundle 52 are formed, Fig. 2-3) and comprises an outer region surrounding the center region (the region where the outlets of the tube bundle 51 is formed, surrounding the tube bundle 52, Fig. 2-3), and each outlet of the portion of the plurality of mixing tubes 52 is disposed in the center region (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 above) and each remaining outlet of the plurality of mixing tubes (the outlets of tube bundle 51) is disposed in the outer region (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Shao discloses the gas turbine of claim 16, a fuel inlet hole 71 into which fuel supplied through the fuel supply part 32 is introduced inside each of the plurality of the mixing tubes 51, 52 is formed in each of the plurality of the mixing tubes (Fig. 3-5, Para. 0086, each mixing tube has a set of circular fuel inlet holes 71 as shown), and each mixing mechanism (i.e. the air inlet holes 62 formed in each mixing tube, configured to mix air with the fuel from the fuel inlet holes) is provided between each fuel inlet hole 71 and each spray hole (Fig. 4-5, the air inlet holes are provided between the fuel inlet holes 71 and the outlet/spray hole of the mixing tubes as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 18 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Uhm (US 2012/0006030 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 12 & 18, Shao discloses the combustor nozzle, combustor, and gas turbine of claims 4, 8 & 15, respectively, wherein the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 comprises: a center nozzle group 52 having each outlet disposed in the center region (Fig. 3 above, Fig. 2); and an outer nozzle group 51 having each outlet disposed in the outer region (Fig. 3 above, Fig. 2); wherein the fuel supply part 32 is formed in a center portion of the rear plate (Fig. 3 above, the fuel supply part is shown at the center of the rear plate), and a plurality of through holes through which the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 penetrates is formed outside the fuel supply part (Fig. 3 above, the through holes are formed in the baffle plate 53 that is outside of/spaced from the fuel supply part and the portion of the rear plate the fuel supply part is disposed), and a plurality of mounting holes (Fig. 2-3) in which the plurality of mixing tubes penetrating the plurality of through holes is mounted is formed in the front plate 55 (Fig. 3 above, the end cover 55 has respective holes for mounting the downstream ends of each mixing tube 51, 52 as shown).
Shao fails to disclose wherein an insertion hole into which the fuel supply part is inserted is formed in a center portion of the rear plate, and a plurality of through holes through which the plurality of mixing tubes penetrates is formed outside the insertion hole.
Uhm teaches a similar combustor nozzle (Fig. 3) having a plurality of mixing tubes 90 (“tube elements”, Para. 0024, Fig. 3), a rear plate 86 (end wall) with a center portion and a fuel supply part 120 (fuel conduit) mounted in the rear plate at the center portion, wherein an insertion hole into which the fuel supply part is inserted is formed in a center portion of the rear plate (Fig. 3, there is a central receiving port 124 in the center of the rear plate and nozzle as a whole where the fuel supply part 120 is mounted, Para. 0024), and a plurality of through holes through which the plurality of mixing tubes 24 penetrates is formed outside the insertion hole (Fig. 3, the mixing tubes 90 are arranged around the center portion of the rear plate, and consequently around the insertion hole, as shown, Para. 0025).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Shao such that the rear plate has an insertion hole in a center portion thereof for having the fuel supply part inserted therein, as taught in Uhm, in order to provide a mounting configuration for the fuel supply part in the rear plate. Shao does not discuss the mounting arrangement of the fuel supply part, and consequently one of ordinary skill would have known to explore the known mounting arrangements for a fuel supply part into a combustion nozzle, such as the arrangement shown in Uhm. It has been held that the use of a known prior art structure (in this case the use of a rear plate insertion hole to mount a fuel supply part/conduit, taught in Uhm), to obtain predictable results (in this case to couple the fuel supply part to the combustion nozzle) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Regarding claim 6, 13 & 19, Shao in view of Uhm teaches the combustor nozzle, combustor, and gas turbine of claims 5, 12 & 18 respectively, and Shao further teaches wherein the plurality of mounting holes is evenly distributed at equal intervals on an entire surface of the front plate (Shao Fig. 2, 3, the mounting holes are arranged equally in concentric circular rows about the front plate as shown), the plurality of mixing tubes 51, 52 is configured such that the center nozzle group 52 and the outer nozzle group 51 have angles different from each other (Fig. 3 above, the center group 52 has angled portions of each mixing tube as shown, whereas the outer nozzle group 51 are all straight).
Shao in view of Uhm fails to teach the plurality of mixing tubes mounted in the plurality of mounting holes formed in the front plate is configured such that each inclination angle of the plurality of mixing tubes is gradually increased from an outer portion of the front plate to a center portion of the front plate (only the portion of mixing tubes 52 have an inclined portion in the nozzle of Shao).
Uhm teaches a combustor nozzle 530 (Fig. 10) having a plurality of mixing tubes 530 mounted in a plurality of mounting holes of a front plate 524 (Fig. 10, Para. 0040), configured such that each inclination angle of the plurality of mixing tubes is gradually increased from an outer portion of the front plate to a center portion of the front plate (Para. 0041, the plurality of mixing tubes form concentric rows 540, 542, 544, 546 that gradually increase in inclination from the outermost row 546 to the center-most row 540 as shown in Fig. 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Shao in view of Uhm such that each inclination angle of the plurality of mixing tubes is gradually increased from an outer portion of the front plate to a center portion of the front plate, as taught by Uhm, in order to create a centralized flame stabilization zone in the combustion chamber, leading to a leaner flame with improved stability, more complete combustion, lower emissions, and reduced flashback occurrence (Uhm Para. 0041-42).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wadayama (US 2018/0003386 A1) teaches a combustor nozzle having a plurality of mixing passages that are inclined.
Tada (US 20210102703 A1, US 11079113 B2), Uhm (US 9506654 B2) teach combustor nozzles with mixing tube bundles, and a fuel supply part extending through a rear plate.
Johnson (US 20120055167 A1, US 8800289 B2) teaches a combustor nozzle having a plurality of mixing tubes, including a set of mixing tubes in a position “corresponding” to a fuel supply part.
Contact Information
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741