DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batson et al. (WO # 01/07370), hereinafter “Batson”.
With respect to claim 1, Batson teaches a system for removing sulfates (“negatively charged contaminants”) from aqueous feedstock (Abstract; Page 11, line 36 through Page 13, line 23; Page 25, line 19 through Page 26, line 26; Figs. 1-3, 8), the system comprising precipitation/separation reactor 50/250 in which an aqueous stream comprising seeded with calcium sulfate anhydrite (Page 16, lines 11-32, “configured to receive/providing an anhydrite quantity” and “an aqueous stream”) is circulated (“agitated/mixed”) via eductor 68 (Page 16, line 34 through Page 17, line 13), such that the calcium sulfate anhydrite interacts with/contacts the sulfate in the aqueous stream to form a precipitate of calcium + contaminant complexes comprising positively charged calcium ions from the anhydrite quantity and negatively charged sulfate ions/contaminant in the aqueous stream (Page 17, lines 13-15), wherein the precipitate of calcium + sulfate contaminant complexes grow large enough so that they are no longer entrained by the upwardly moving fluid, and settle downwardly in the conical end piece 56 of reactor 50 (Page 17, lines 13-18) (considered to be consistent with “the agitation and flocculation system also configured to cease agitating and mixing the aqueous stream such that a portion of the calcium + contaminant complexes settle under the influence of gravity, and such that a portion of calcium + contaminant complexes resist the influence of gravity and remain suspended in a partially decontaminated aqueous stream”), wherein the treated water from the separation zone of reactor 50 (“partially decontaminated water”) can be subjected to filtration to remove traces of suspended calcium sulphate anhydrite remaining in the treated water precipitated calcium sulfate anhydrite is subjected to solids liquid separation, followed by collection of the calcium sulfate + contaminant complexes (Page 7, lines 14-28), and see sand filter 320 in Fig. 8, as described on Page 26, lines 18-26, see also Page 14, lines 23-25; Page 17, lines 13-25; Fig. 1. 8).
With respect to claim 2 and 3, Batson teaches that the anhydrite quantity is a portion of the collected, thickened slurry of calcium sulfate anhydrite withdrawn from end piece 56 of reactor 50 (Page 14, lines 25-35; Page 17, lines 13-25; Fig. 1, 8), considered to be consistent with “pre-moistened” and “introduced into the aqueous stream via a liquid carrier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson et al. (WO # 01/07370) in view of Duke et al. (U.S. Patent Publication # 2006/0169641), hereinafter “Batson” and “Duke”.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Batson teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not specifically teach ion exchange or water softening as claimed.
Duke teaches a water softening vessel comprising an ion exchange vessel (Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to add the water softening/ion exchange of Duke to the system of Batson because Batson teaches that the treated aqueous stream comprises calcium and sulfate ions which have not precipitated, and Duke teaches that water contaminated with hardness ions, including calcium, can be treated with water softening/ion exchange as a polishing treatment for “decontaminated aqueous solution” following a primary water softening treatment (similar to the flocculation and agitation system of Batson) (Abstract; Paragraphs [0020, 0033, 0035]).
The foregoing modification necessarily places the water softening/ion exchange downstream of the flocculation and agitation system of Batson; whether or not it is upstream or downstream of the filter system of Batson (consistent with claim 5) is disclosed with “sufficient specificity” that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed combination. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” water softening/ion exchange after the filter system, as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,661,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 of Patent (‘360) is encompassed by the scope of instant claim 1, the scope of claim 5 of Patent (‘360) is encompassed by the scope of instant claim 11, and the scope of claim 12 of Patent (‘360) is encompassed by the scope of instant claim 6.
With respect to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Patent (‘360) teaches a system for removal of contaminants from a contaminated aqueous stream, the system comprising (a) an agitation and flocculation system that is configured to receive an aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants and an anhydrite quantity as a primary flocculant, the agitation and flocculation system comprising a means for agitating the aqueous stream and mixing the aqueous stream with the anhydrite to form precipitate of calcium and contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, the agitation and flocculation system also configured to cease agitating and mixing the aqueous stream such that a portion of calcium and contaminant complexes settle or a re-directed under the influence of gravity, and such that a portion of the calcium and contaminant complexes remain suspended as claimed; and (b) a particulate filter capture system comprising filter media and configured to receive suspended calcium and contaminant complexes.
With respect to instant claim 11, claim 5 of Patent (‘360) teaches a system comprising (a) a fixed bed cross-flow system configured hold an anhydrite quantity as a primary flocculant and configured to receive an aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants, the fixed-bed cross flow system configured to bring in contact the aqueous stream with the anhydrite quantity such that the anhydrite quantity interacts with negative contaminants to form a precipitate of calcium and contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, and (b) a particulate filter capture system comprising filter media, and configured to receive the aqueous stream and to capture, via the filter media, calcium and contaminant complexes from the aqueous stream.
With respect to instant claim 6, claim 12 of Patent (‘360) teaches a method of removing contaminants from a contaminated aqueous stream, the method comprising (a) providing an anhydrite quantity within a fixed-bed cross flow system; (b) contacting (“channeling”) the anhydrite quantity with the aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants such that the anhydrite quantity interacts with negatively charged contaminants to from a precipitate of calcium sulfate hydrate + contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, and (c) collecting the precipitate of calcium sulfate hydrate + contaminant complexes from the aqueous stream.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of instant claim 1 encompasses the scope of claim 1 of Patent (‘360), the scope of claim 5 of Patent (‘360) is encompassed by the scope of instant claim 11, and the scope of claim 12 of Patent (‘360) is encompassed by the scope of instant claim 6.
With respect to instant claim 1, claim 1 of Patent (‘360) teaches a system for removal of contaminants from a contaminated aqueous stream, the system comprising (a) an agitation and flocculation system that is configured to receive an aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants and an anhydrite quantity as a primary flocculant, the agitation and flocculation system comprising an agitating and mixing subsystem for agitating the aqueous stream and mixing the aqueous stream with the anhydrite such that the anhydrite quantity interacts with negatively charged contaminants to form a precipitate of calcium + contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, the agitation and flocculation system also configured to cease agitating and mixing the aqueous stream such that a portion of calcium + contaminant complexes settle or a re-directed under the influence of gravity, and such that a portion of the calcium + contaminant complexes remain suspended in a partially decontaminated aqueous stream; and (b) a particulate filter capture system comprising filter media and configured to receive the partially decontaminated aqueous stream and to capture, via the filter media, the calcium + contaminant complexes that resist the influence of gravity and remain suspended in the partially decontaminated aqueous stream.
With respect to instant claim 11, claim 5 of Patent (‘871) teaches a system comprising (a) a fixed bed system (having an inherent depth) configured to receive an aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants and to hold an anhydrite quantity as a primary flocculant and configured to receive an aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants, the fixed-bed system configured to bring in contact the aqueous stream with the anhydrite quantity such that the anhydrite quantity interacts with negative contaminants to form a precipitate of calcium + contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, and (b) a particulate filter capture system comprising filter media, and configured to receive the aqueous stream and to capture, via the filter media, calcium + contaminant complexes from the aqueous stream.
With respect to instant claim 6, claim 14 of Patent (‘871) teaches a method of removing contaminants from a contaminated aqueous stream, the method comprising (a) providing an anhydrite quantity; (b) contacting (“channeling”) the anhydrite quantity with the aqueous stream contaminated with contaminants such that the anhydrite quantity interacts with negatively charged contaminants to from a precipitate of calcium and contaminant complexes in the aqueous stream, and (c) collecting the precipitate of calcium and contaminant complexes from the aqueous stream.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-18 are allowed pending resolution of the Double Patenting rejections set forth above, as none of the prior art teaches the system of claim 6 or the method of claim 11 (in particular the fixed-bed system with precipitation of calcium sulfate hydrate.
Conclusion
/CLARE M. PERRIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/CLARE M PERRIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 27 October 2026