DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the communication module” in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No prior recitation of “a communication module” is provided. However, “communication circuitry” is claimed prior in claim 1 and for purposes of examination, the Office will interpret the “communication module” as “communication circuitry”.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0035513 by Kang et al. (“Kang”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0147278 by Kwahk et al. (“Kwahk”).
As to claim 1, Kang discloses an electronic device (Kang, mobile terminal 100, Figures 1 and 2) comprising:
a first housing (Kang, first frame 101, Figure 2);
a second housing (Kang, second frame 102, Figure 2) disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101, Figure 2, ¶ [0102]);
a rollable display inserted into or drawn out of the first housing based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101 to be described later, more correctly, on one of sides of the second frame 102. The display unit 151 may be withdrawn or pulled out from or inserted or pushed into the second frame 102 while being rolled in the second frame 102 along a moving direction of the second frame 102 to adjust the area of the display unit 151 on the front face of the mobile terminal 100. ¶ [0102]);
a motor driving module (Kang, motor 201, Figure 7) disposed inside the first housing or the second housing and configured to move the second housing in a first direction or a second direction (Kang, a motor 201 configured to provide rotational force as shown in FIG. 7, ¶ [0139])(Kang, The motor 201 may be fixed to the first frame 101 as shown in FIG. 7(a). The position of the motor 201 is fixed even when the second frame 102 moves in the first direction to switch the mobile terminal 100 to the second state, as shown in FIG. 7(b). Figures 7a and 7b, ¶ [0140])(Kang, Since the second frame 102 linearly moves with respect to the first frame 101 in the first direction or the second direction, rack and pinion gears configured to convert the rotational force of the motor 201 into linear motion may be used. ¶ [0141]);
communication circuitry (Kang, wireless communication unit 110, Figure 1);
at least one processor (Kang, controller 180, Figure 1); and
memory storing instructions (Kang, the memory 170 may be configured to store application programs executed in the mobile terminal 100, data or instructions for operations of the mobile terminal 100, and the like. Figure 1, ¶ [0081]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display a first screen in an exposed area of the rollable display (Kang, first application 1001, Figure 10a),
move the second housing in the second direction so that the exposed area of the rollable display is extended (Kang, The mobile terminal 100 in the first state may be extended in a first direction D1 to switch to the second state. In the second state, as shown in FIG. 2(b), the size of the mobile terminal 100 and the size of the display unit 151 positioned on the front of the mobile terminal 100 are larger than in the first state, Figure 2, ¶ [0087]),
Kang does not expressly teach
display a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen, and
transmit information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device through the communication module.
Kwahk teaches a content display device
display a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen (Kwahk, The broadcast start icon 226 is used for inputting a command to start broadcasting contents currently displayed. If a user touches the broadcast start icon 226 to start broadcasting, a host content window 230 in FIG. 3 is displayed. ¶ [0059])(Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), Kwahk teaches the specific selected content window to other display devices.
transmit information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device through the communication module (Kwahk, The communication unit 1020 is connected to an external device via cable or wireless so as to communicate with the external device. ¶ [0152]).
The combination of Kang and Kwahk teaches the specific presented content window, shared from the host device to the guest device based on the user input. The content window relates to the display in the first state, of Kang, and the addition of an application relates to the display in the second state, of Kang.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kwahk’s display device is comparable to Kang’s mobile terminal because both are directed to display devices which enable a user input and control. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device with the predictable result of providing an application sharing function in order to more effective collaborate with others utilizing their own display device.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the sharing of a content based on user input.
As to claim 2, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to display a non-shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]). As shown in figure 17 of Kwahk, the content window 510 is shared while the first application 515 is not shared. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 4, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display a first shared screen in the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), and
display a second shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, Referring back to FIG. 5, if a user touches the broadcast start icon 226, the broadcast type selection menu 310 is displayed as illustrated in FIG. 6. There are a full screen type and a window type. Figure 6, ¶ [0075]). Kwahk teaches the selectable option to share the entire screen as well as just a single window. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 5, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the electronic device wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to switch a screen displayed in the first area and a screen displayed in the second area when a set input is received (Kang, Referring to the first drawing of FIG. 13c, the mobile terminal may output a first application 1301 and a second application 1302 in the enlarged display mode. The second application 1302 may correspond to an application executed by occurrence of an event. The first application 1301 may be output in a first region 1311 which is relatively near to the second frame and the second application 1302 may be output in a second region 1312. Figure 13C, ¶ [0261])(Kang, the mobile terminal may interchange an output location of the first application 1301 and an output location of the second application 1302 with each other in order to maintain output of the first application 1301. ¶ [0263]).
As to claim 6, Kang discloses a method of controlling an electronic device (Kang, mobile terminal 100, Figures 1 and 2) including a first housing (Kang, first frame 101, Figure 2), a second housing (Kang, second frame 102, Figure 2) disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101, Figure 2, ¶ [0102]), and a rollable display inserted into or drawn out of the first housing, based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101 to be described later, more correctly, on one of sides of the second frame 102. The display unit 151 may be withdrawn or pulled out from or inserted or pushed into the second frame 102 while being rolled in the second frame 102 along a moving direction of the second frame 102 to adjust the area of the display unit 151 on the front face of the mobile terminal 100. ¶ [0102]), the method comprising:
displaying a first screen in an exposed area of the rollable display (Kang, first application 1001, Figure 10a);
moving the second housing in a second direction so that the exposed area of the rollable display is extended (Kang, The mobile terminal 100 in the first state may be extended in a first direction D1 to switch to the second state. In the second state, as shown in FIG. 2(b), the size of the mobile terminal 100 and the size of the display unit 151 positioned on the front of the mobile terminal 100 are larger than in the first state, Figure 2, ¶ [0087]);
Kang does not expressly teach
displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen; and
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device.
Kwahk teaches a content display device
displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen (Kwahk, The broadcast start icon 226 is used for inputting a command to start broadcasting contents currently displayed. If a user touches the broadcast start icon 226 to start broadcasting, a host content window 230 in FIG. 3 is displayed. ¶ [0059])(Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), Kwahk teaches the specific selected content window to other display devices.
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device (Kwahk, The communication unit 1020 is connected to an external device via cable or wireless so as to communicate with the external device. ¶ [0152]).
The combination of Kang and Kwahk teaches the specific presented content window, shared from the host device to the guest device based on the user input. The content window relates to the display in the first state, of Kang, and the addition of an application relates to the display in the second state, of Kang.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kwahk’s display device is comparable to Kang’s mobile terminal because both are directed to display devices which enable a user input and control. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device with the predictable result of providing an application sharing function in order to more effective collaborate with others utilizing their own display device.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the sharing of a content based on user input.
As to claim 7, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the method wherein the displaying of the first screen displays a non-shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]). As shown in figure 17 of Kwahk, the content window 510 is shared while the first application 515 is not shared. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 9, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the method wherein the displaying of the first screen:
displays a first shared screen in the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]); and
displays a second shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, Referring back to FIG. 5, if a user touches the broadcast start icon 226, the broadcast type selection menu 310 is displayed as illustrated in FIG. 6. There are a full screen type and a window type. Figure 6, ¶ [0075]). Kwahk teaches the selectable option to share the entire screen as well as just a single window. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 10, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the method further comprising:
switching a screen displayed in the first area and a screen displayed in the second area when a set input is received (Kang, Referring to the first drawing of FIG. 13c, the mobile terminal may output a first application 1301 and a second application 1302 in the enlarged display mode. The second application 1302 may correspond to an application executed by occurrence of an event. The first application 1301 may be output in a first region 1311 which is relatively near to the second frame and the second application 1302 may be output in a second region 1312. Figure 13C, ¶ [0261])(Kang, the mobile terminal may interchange an output location of the first application 1301 and an output location of the second application 1302 with each other in order to maintain output of the first application 1301. ¶ [0263]).
As to claim 11, Kang discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions (Kang, the memory 170 may be configured to store application programs executed in the mobile terminal 100, data or instructions for operations of the mobile terminal 100, and the like. Figure 1, ¶ [0081]) that, when executed by one or more processors individually or collectively, cause an electronic device (Kang, mobile terminal 100, Figures 1 and 2) to perform operations of controlling the electronic device including a first housing (Kang, first frame 101, Figure 2), a second housing (Kang, second frame 102, Figure 2) disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101, Figure 2, ¶ [0102]), and a rollable display inserted into or drawn out of the first housing, based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101 to be described later, more correctly, on one of sides of the second frame 102. The display unit 151 may be withdrawn or pulled out from or inserted or pushed into the second frame 102 while being rolled in the second frame 102 along a moving direction of the second frame 102 to adjust the area of the display unit 151 on the front face of the mobile terminal 100. ¶ [0102]), the operations comprising:
displaying a first screen in an exposed area of the rollable display (Kang, first application 1001, Figure 10a);
moving the second housing in a second direction so that the exposed area of the rollable display is extended (Kang, The mobile terminal 100 in the first state may be extended in a first direction D1 to switch to the second state. In the second state, as shown in FIG. 2(b), the size of the mobile terminal 100 and the size of the display unit 151 positioned on the front of the mobile terminal 100 are larger than in the first state, Figure 2, ¶ [0087]);
Kang does not expressly teach
displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen; and
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device.
Kwahk teaches a content display device
displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a first area corresponding to an exposed area before the rollable display is extended, of extended exposed area, based on a user input received through the first screen (Kwahk, The broadcast start icon 226 is used for inputting a command to start broadcasting contents currently displayed. If a user touches the broadcast start icon 226 to start broadcasting, a host content window 230 in FIG. 3 is displayed. ¶ [0059])(Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), Kwahk teaches the specific selected content window to other display devices.
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device (Kwahk, The communication unit 1020 is connected to an external device via cable or wireless so as to communicate with the external device. ¶ [0152]).
The combination of Kang and Kwahk teaches the specific presented content window, shared from the host device to the guest device based on the user input. The content window relates to the display in the first state, of Kang, and the addition of an application relates to the display in the second state, of Kang.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kwahk’s display device is comparable to Kang’s mobile terminal because both are directed to display devices which enable a user input and control. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device with the predictable result of providing an application sharing function in order to more effective collaborate with others utilizing their own display device.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the sharing of a content based on user input.
As to claim 12, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media wherein the displaying of the first screen displays a non-shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]). As shown in figure 17 of Kwahk, the content window 510 is shared while the first application 515 is not shared. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 14, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media wherein the displaying of the first screen:
displays a first shared screen in the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]); and
displays a second shared screen in a second area of extended exposed area other than the first area (Kwahk, Referring back to FIG. 5, if a user touches the broadcast start icon 226, the broadcast type selection menu 310 is displayed as illustrated in FIG. 6. There are a full screen type and a window type. Figure 6, ¶ [0075]). Kwahk teaches the selectable option to share the entire screen as well as just a single window. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 11.
As to claim 15, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media the operations further comprising: switching a screen displayed in the first area and a screen displayed in the second area when a set input is received (Kang, Referring to the first drawing of FIG. 13c, the mobile terminal may output a first application 1301 and a second application 1302 in the enlarged display mode. The second application 1302 may correspond to an application executed by occurrence of an event. The first application 1301 may be output in a first region 1311 which is relatively near to the second frame and the second application 1302 may be output in a second region 1312. Figure 13C, ¶ [0261])(Kang, the mobile terminal may interchange an output location of the first application 1301 and an output location of the second application 1302 with each other in order to maintain output of the first application 1301. ¶ [0263]).
As to claim 16, Kang discloses an electronic device (Kang, mobile terminal 100, Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a first housing (Kang, first frame 101, Figure 2);
a second housing (Kang, second frame 102, Figure 2) disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101, Figure 2, ¶ [0102]);
a rollable display inserted into or drawn out of the first housing based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101 to be described later, more correctly, on one of sides of the second frame 102. The display unit 151 may be withdrawn or pulled out from or inserted or pushed into the second frame 102 while being rolled in the second frame 102 along a moving direction of the second frame 102 to adjust the area of the display unit 151 on the front face of the mobile terminal 100. ¶ [0102]);
a motor driving module (Kang, motor 201, Figure 7) disposed inside the first housing or the second housing and configured to move the second housing in a first direction or a second direction (Kang, a motor 201 configured to provide rotational force as shown in FIG. 7, ¶ [0139])(Kang, The motor 201 may be fixed to the first frame 101 as shown in FIG. 7(a). The position of the motor 201 is fixed even when the second frame 102 moves in the first direction to switch the mobile terminal 100 to the second state, as shown in FIG. 7(b). Figures 7a and 7b, ¶ [0140])(Kang, Since the second frame 102 linearly moves with respect to the first frame 101 in the first direction or the second direction, rack and pinion gears configured to convert the rotational force of the motor 201 into linear motion may be used. ¶ [0141]);
communication circuitry (Kang, wireless communication unit 110, Figure 1);
at least one processor (Kang, controller 180, Figure 1); and
memory storing instructions (Kang, the memory 170 may be configured to store application programs executed in the mobile terminal 100, data or instructions for operations of the mobile terminal 100, and the like. Figure 1, ¶ [0081]) that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
display a first screen in an exposure area of the rollable display (Kang, first application 1001, Figure 10a),
move the second housing in the second direction to expand the exposure area of the rollable display (Kang, The mobile terminal 100 in the first state may be extended in a first direction D1 to switch to the second state. In the second state, as shown in FIG. 2(b), the size of the mobile terminal 100 and the size of the display unit 151 positioned on the front of the mobile terminal 100 are larger than in the first state, Figure 2, ¶ [0087]),
Kang does not expressly teach
based on an user input received through the first screen, display a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a second area of the expanded exposure area excluding a first area corresponding to a pre-expansion exposure area of the rollable display, and
transmit information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device through the communication circuitry.
Kwahk teaches a content display device
based on an user input received through the first screen, display a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a second area of the expanded exposure area excluding a first area corresponding to a pre-expansion exposure area of the rollable display (Kwahk, The broadcast start icon 226 is used for inputting a command to start broadcasting contents currently displayed. If a user touches the broadcast start icon 226 to start broadcasting, a host content window 230 in FIG. 3 is displayed. ¶ [0059])(Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), Kwahk teaches the specific selected content window to other display devices.
transmit information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device through the communication circuitry (Kwahk, The communication unit 1020 is connected to an external device via cable or wireless so as to communicate with the external device. ¶ [0152]).
The combination of Kang and Kwahk teaches the specific presented content window, shared from the host device to the guest device based on the user input. The content window relates to the display in the first state, of Kang, and the addition of an application relates to the display in the second state, of Kang.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kwahk’s display device is comparable to Kang’s mobile terminal because both are directed to display devices which enable a user input and control. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device with the predictable result of providing an application sharing function in order to more effective collaborate with others utilizing their own display device.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the sharing of a content based on user input.
As to claim 17, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the electronic device wherein instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, displays a non-shared screen in the first area (Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]). As shown in figure 17 of Kwahk, the content window 510 is shared while the first application 515 is not shared. In addition, the motivation used is the same as in the rejection of claim 16.
As to claim 19, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the electronic device wherein instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, based on a set input being received, switch a screen displayed in the first area and a screen displayed in the second area (Kang, Referring to the first drawing of FIG. 13c, the mobile terminal may output a first application 1301 and a second application 1302 in the enlarged display mode. The second application 1302 may correspond to an application executed by occurrence of an event. The first application 1301 may be output in a first region 1311 which is relatively near to the second frame and the second application 1302 may be output in a second region 1312. Figure 13C, ¶ [0261])(Kang, the mobile terminal may interchange an output location of the first application 1301 and an output location of the second application 1302 with each other in order to maintain output of the first application 1301. ¶ [0263]).
As to claim 20, Kang discloses a method of controlling an electronic device (Kang, mobile terminal 100, Figures 1 and 2) including a first housing (Kang, first frame 101, Figure 2), a second housing (Kang, second frame 102, Figure 2) disposed to be movable with respect to the first housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101, Figure 2, ¶ [0102]), and a rollable display inserted into or drawn out of the first housing, based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing (Kang, Such a display unit 151 may be rolled in a second frame 102, which is movable relative to a first frame 101 to be described later, more correctly, on one of sides of the second frame 102. The display unit 151 may be withdrawn or pulled out from or inserted or pushed into the second frame 102 while being rolled in the second frame 102 along a moving direction of the second frame 102 to adjust the area of the display unit 151 on the front face of the mobile terminal 100. ¶ [0102]), the method comprising:
displaying a first screen in an exposed area of the rollable display (Kang, first application 1001, Figure 10a);
moving the second housing in the second direction to expand the exposed area of the rollable display (Kang, The mobile terminal 100 in the first state may be extended in a first direction D1 to switch to the second state. In the second state, as shown in FIG. 2(b), the size of the mobile terminal 100 and the size of the display unit 151 positioned on the front of the mobile terminal 100 are larger than in the first state, Figure 2, ¶ [0087]);
Kang does not expressly teach
based on an user input received through the first screen, displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a second area of the expanded exposure area excluding a first area corresponding to a pre-expansion exposure area of the rollable display; and
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device.
Kwahk teaches a content display device
based on an user input received through the first screen, displaying a shared screen shared with an external electronic device in a second area of the expanded exposure area excluding a first area corresponding to a pre-expansion exposure area of the rollable display (Kwahk, The broadcast start icon 226 is used for inputting a command to start broadcasting contents currently displayed. If a user touches the broadcast start icon 226 to start broadcasting, a host content window 230 in FIG. 3 is displayed. ¶ [0059])(Kwahk, As illustrated in FIG. 17, the host device 100 may recognize that a host content window 510 is displayed along with a first application window 515. More specifically, the host device 100 may broadcast contents of the host content window 510 while executing the first application 515. Figure 17, ¶ [0107]), Kwahk teaches the specific selected content window to other display devices.
transmitting information related to the shared screen to the external electronic device (Kwahk, The communication unit 1020 is connected to an external device via cable or wireless so as to communicate with the external device. ¶ [0152]).
The combination of Kang and Kwahk teaches the specific presented content window, shared from the host device to the guest device based on the user input. The content window relates to the display in the first state, of Kang, and the addition of an application relates to the display in the second state, of Kang.
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Kwahk’s display device is comparable to Kang’s mobile terminal because both are directed to display devices which enable a user input and control. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kang’s mobile terminal to include Kwahk’s display device with the predictable result of providing an application sharing function in order to more effective collaborate with others utilizing their own display device.
Thus, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, teaches the sharing of a content based on user input.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein the information related to the shared screen includes size information about the shared screen for extending the rollable display of the external electronic device based on a size of the shared screen.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
Examiner notes, claim 3 is current rejected based on the 35USC112(b) rejection of claim 1 for which claim 3 depends upon.
As to claim 8, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, does not expressly teach the method wherein the information related to the shared screen includes size information about the shared screen for extending a rollable display of the external electronic device based on a size of the shared screen.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 13, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, does not expressly teach the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media wherein the information related to the shared screen includes size information about the shared screen for extending a rollable display of the external electronic device based on a size of the shared screen.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
As to claim 18, Kang, as modified by Kwahk, does not expressly teach the electronic device wherein the information related to the shared screen includes size information of the shared screen for allowing the rollable display of the external electronic device to be expanded based on the size of the shared screen.
In addition, no other prior art was found which teaches, alone or in combination, the cited limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0239250 by Kim et al. teaches a screen mirror service for an electronic device to another.
/BRENT D CASTIAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623