DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435.
Regarding Claim 1, Leybourn discloses a smart ring (Abstract; a near field communication ring ), comprising
a ring body comprises a finger ring stand (Figures 1, 2 and 4(c); [0034-0042]; a ring comprising of an outer shell);
a coil (2) is laid on a circumferential wall surface of the finger ring stand (1) (Figures 1, 2 and 4(c); [0034-0042]; an antenna is fabricated directly on the inner surface of the outer shell); and
the coil (2) is arranged around the circumferential wall surface of the finger ring stand (1) (Figures 1, 2 and 4(c); [0034-0042]; an antenna is fabricated directly on the inner surface of the outer shell).
However, Leybourn doesn’t explicitly teach wherein a circuit board assembly (3) and a storage battery (4) are packaged in the ring body ();
the circuit board assembly (3) is electrically connected to the storage battery (4) ();
a control chip (32) and a near field communication (NFC) chip (33) are packaged on the circuit board assembly (3),
the coil is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly (3).
Wang discloses a smart ring(Abstract; a finger ring), comprising
a ring body, wherein a circuit board assembly (3) and a storage battery (4) are packaged in the ring body (Figure 2 and 5; pages 3-6; a “ring body” that has a flexible circuit board 200 and a curved surface battery 300 within it);
the circuit board assembly (3) is electrically connected to the storage battery (4) (Figure 2 and 5; pages 3-6; flexible circuit board 200 is connected to the curved surface battery 300 via a connector);
a control chip (32) and a near field communication (NFC) chip (33) are packaged on the circuit board assembly (3) (Figure 2 and 5; pages 3-6; a processor and a chip group for supporting NFC payment so that the ring also supports NFC wireless payment function are on the flexible circuit board 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Leybourn to further include the teachings of Wang in order to provide a circuit board assembly (3) and a storage battery (4) are packaged in the ring body; the circuit board assembly (3) is electrically connected to the storage battery (4); a control chip (32) and a near field communication (NFC) chip (33) are packaged on the circuit board assembly (3), the coil is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly (3). The motivation to combine these analogous arts is to provide intelligent electronic function of the ring, where the ring supports NFC wireless payment funciton (Wang: Abstract; page 4).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Leybourn and Wang teaches wherein the coil (2) is arranged on one side of an inner wall of the finger ring stand (1) and is coaxial with the finger ring stand (1) (Leybourn: Figures 1, 2 and 4(c); [0034-0042]; the coil antenna is fabricated directly on the inner surface of the outer shell, and is considered by the examiner as “coaxial” with the outer shell).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Leybourn and Wang teaches wherein the coil (2) is an NFC electromagnetic charging receiving coil and/or an NFC signal communication antenna (Leybourn: Figures 1, 2 and 4(c); [0006]; [0034-0042]; the examiner considers the antenna as a NFC signal communication antenna as it is used to communicate with other NFC-enabled devices).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Leybourn and Wang teaches wherein the circuit board assembly (3) is a flexible printed circuit board assembly, and the flexible printed circuit board assembly abuts against an inner wall surface of the finger ring stand (1) (Leybourn: Figure 2; [0006]; [0034-0042]; Wang: Figure 2 and 5; pages 3-6; the flexible circuit board 200 is considered to “abut” against the inner wall surface of the outer shell ).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Leybourn and Wang teaches wherein the finger ring stand (1) is a ceramic ring (Leybourn: [0031]; the outer shell is formed form a Zirconia ceramic).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435, and in further view of Wang et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0333000, henceforth known as Wang ‘000
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Leybourn and Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the circuit board assembly (3) is electrically connected with a power port (31).
However, Wang ‘000 teaches charging metal electrode 1321 (power port) connected to a flexible printed circuit board 130, which are used for charging the ring(Figure 2; [0043]; [0051-0052]; Claim 1; )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Leybourn and Wang to further include the teachings of Wang ‘000 in order to provide a wherein the circuit board assembly (3) is electrically connected with a power port (31). The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Wang teaches a charging component for inherently recharging a battery within a ring (Figure 2; [0043]; [0051-0052]; Claim 1;)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435, and in further view of Mars et al., US Patent 11850069.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Leybourn and Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the ring body comprises a potting adhesive layer (5); the potting adhesive layer (5) is packaged on one side of the inner wall of the finger ring stand (1); and the circuit board assembly (3), the storage battery (4), the control chip (32), the NFC chip (33), and a Bluetooth module (34) are all packaged inside the potting adhesive layer (5).
Mars et al., US Patent 11850069, discloses a smart ring in which the flexible circuit board also includes a wireless transceiver, such as Bluetooth, and has a potting compound disposed within the interior and encapsulating the components, wherein the potting compound forms an inner portion of the smart ring (Abstract; Figure 1A-1C; col. 5, ll. 63-col. 6, ll. 12; col. 9, ll. 38-45; Claim 1;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing ate of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Leybourn and Wang to further include the teachings of Mars in order to provide wherein the ring body comprises a potting adhesive layer (5); the potting adhesive layer (5) is packaged on one side of the inner wall of the finger ring stand (1); and the circuit board assembly (3), the storage battery (4), the control chip (32), the NFC chip (33), and a Bluetooth module (34) are all packaged inside the potting adhesive layer (5). The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Mars teaches the use of a potting compound as the inner portion of a smart ring in order to encapsulate the components within the ring (Mars: Abstract;).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435, and in further view of Mars et al., US Patent 11850069, in further view of A Guide to Choosing Your Wedding Rings, by Sophie Williams (published on November 18th 2022), henceforth known as Williams.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Leybourn, Wang, and Mars doesn’t explicitly teach wherein a side wall surface of the potting adhesive layer (5) away from the finger ring stand (1) is set as an annular curved surface (51) extending axially inward.
However, Williams teaches that a profile of a ring refers to the shape of a band, where a ring can have a classic court profile which provides a gentle curve on both the inside and outside for a natural fit on the hand or a court flat which is flat on the outside and a gently curved on the inside for a comfortable fit on the hand (pages 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Leybourn, Wang, and Mars to further include the teachings of Willaims in order to provide wherein a side wall surface of the potting adhesive layer (5) away from the finger ring stand (1) is set as an annular curved surface (51) extending axially inward. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Williams teaches rings have a court profile that provides a slight curve on the inside of the ring to provide a comfortable fit (Williams: pages 3 and 4).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435, and in further view of Mars et al., US Patent 11850069, in further view of A Guide to Choosing Your Wedding Rings, by Sophie Williams (published on November 18th 2022) , henceforth known as Williams, in further view of Wedding Rings – Profile, Depth, and Width Explained published on June 2nd 2014, henceforth known as Wedding Planner.
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Leybourn, Wang, Mars, and Willaims doesn’t explicitly teaches wherein the annular curved surface (51) converges to an axial middle section of the potting adhesive layer (5) from the highest point.
Wedding Planner discloses a cross section of different profile of rings. Where as seen below, the court profile has a “annual curved surface” that converges to an “axial middle section” (pages 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Leybourn, Wang, Mars, and Willaims to further include the teachings of Wedding Planner in order to provide wherein the annular curved surface (51) converges to an axial middle section of the potting adhesive layer (5) from the highest point. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Wedding Planning discloses example cross sections of the various different ring profiles (pages 1 and 2).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leybourn, US Patent Publication 2019/0387848, in further view of Wang et al., CN 114680435, and in further view of Huynh, US Patent 10509994.
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Leybourn and Wang doesn’t explicitly teaches wherein the finger ring stand (1) is a metal ring; an insulation partition strip (11) is embedded on the metal ring; and the insulation partition strip (11) cuts off a closed form of the metal ring.
Huynh, US Patent 10509994, discloses an NFC ring in which the band 20 is made from a metal or an alloy of one or more metals. The band 20 comprises of a slit 22 or gap to prevent to the NFC ring from having a continuous electrical loop around and on a same plane as the NFC coil 14. In some embodiments, the through slit 22 is then filled with a non-conductive material such as a non-conductive glue or polymer (Figure 2; col. 4, ll. 53-col. 5, ll. 12; col. 6, ll. 26-34;).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Leybourn and Wang to further include the teachings of Huynh in order to provide wherein the finger ring stand (1) is a metal ring; an insulation partition strip (11) is embedded on the metal ring; and the insulation partition strip (11) cuts off a closed form of the metal ring. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Huynh teaches that by having a slit will prevent interference of near field communication from a band formed electrically conductive materials (Huynh: col. 4, ll. 53-col. 5, ll. 12;).
Conclusion
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699