DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This office action is in response to communications filed 1/30/2026 Claims 7, 9, are amended. Claims 11 are original. Claims 12 and 13 are new. Claims 1-6, 8 and 10 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4 of remarks, filed 1/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application 2023/0066779, Metselaar have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9859741, Beagley et al. (hereinafter Beagley) in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA).
Double Patenting
Claims 7, 9, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1+ 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,266,258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions are similar in scope, claiming the same inventive concept. The claims are broader and inclusive of all the limitations of the patented claims.
Claim 11 is expressly recited in patent claim 1.
Claims 12 and 13, the claims are obvious over the combination of patent claim 1 and AAPA/Official Notice and AAPA/Langer, respectively.
Instant Application 18/916,374
Patent 12,266,258
7. A video doorbell, comprising:
a video camera;
a communication module operable to transmit video from the video camera;
a two-wire interface for electrically connecting the video doorbell to a transformer; and
a processor configured to:
generate a chime signal by reducing a voltage on one of a positive sinusoid and a negative sinusoid of the power supplied across the two-wire interface [claim 5 of patent], using power supplied from the two-wire interface, when a doorbell button is depressed;
wherein the processor is configured to generate the chime signal without interrupting power delivery to the video doorbell over the two-wire interface.
11. The video doorbell of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the chime signal on each wire of the two-wire interface.
9. The video doorbell of claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to generate the chime signal by sinking additional current on the negative sinusoid of the power supplied across the two-wire interface.
1. A video doorbell system operable to generate a chime sound, comprising:
a transformer, operable to convert a premise’s power supply to a suitable voltage for the video doorbell system; a video doorbell having:
a video camera operable to record video, a wireless communication module operable to transmit video from the video camera across a remote network,
the video doorbell being electrically connected to the transformer by a two-wire interface,
a doorbell button, a processor operable, when the doorbell button is depressed, to generate a chime signal using power supplied from the two-wire interface when the doorbell button is depressed, and
to transmit the chime signal across each wire of the two-wire interface (see claim 11);
a chime controller, electrically connected to the transformer and the video doorbell by the two-wire interface, the chime controller operable to receive the chime signal across at least one wire of the two-wire interface and activate a chime generator to generate a chime sound; a connection between the doorbell button and an internal relay connected with the chime controller, the connection bypassing the processor to generate the chime signal using power supplied from the two-wire interface by actuating the internal relay when the processor is unable to generate the chime signal; and
and wherein the video doorbell system continues to provide sufficient power to the video doorbell from the transformer via the two-wire interface so as to be able to operate the processor, video camera and wireless communication module while the doorbell button is currently depressed.
5. The video doorbell system of claim 1, wherein the chime signal is created by reducing the voltage on one of a positive sinusoid and a negative sinusoid in the power supplied between the video doorbell and the chime controller across the two-wire interface.
6. The video doorbell system of claim 1, wherein the chime signal is created by sinking extra current on negative excursions of a voltage sinusoid in the power supplied between the video doorbell and the chime controller across the two-wire interface when the doorbell button is pressed and the chime controller is operable to detect the extra current and activate the chime generator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 7, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 9859741, Beagley et al. (hereinafter Beagley) in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA).
2. Regarding Claim 7, Beagley discloses A video doorbell (Fig. 5 510 Doorbell unit), comprising:
a video camera (Col. 4line 67-Col. 4 line 2, “the image sensor may be configured to capture images (e.g., video and/or photos) of such persons, animals, and/or other objects at the entrance”);
a communication module (Fig. 3: 310 communication module) operable to transmit video from the video camera (Fig. 3; Col. 8 lines18-22, “The transmitter module 220 may transmit…image signals (e.g., photo images, video images, etc., via a camera on a doorbell unit).”);
a two-wire interface for electrically connecting the video doorbell to a transformer 9Col. 4 lines 26-31, “The power supply may include a transformer to transform a current such as transforming 120 VAC to 24 VDC, etc. The doorbell unit may be wired to the doorbell transformer using preexisting two-wire doorbell wiring (e.g., wiring that pre-dates the device and/or that was used to power a different device).”); and
a processor (Fig. 4: 405 processor) configured to:
generate a chime signal by reducing a voltage (Col. 4 lines 4-12, “The doorbell unit may include a button that when actuated (e.g., pressed, turned, lifted, twisted, slid, triggered, switched from one position to another, etc.) activates a chime and draws power away from the image sensor and/or the other sensor. In some cases, actuating the button may be done remotely such as by an application running on a smartphone, etc. When the chime is active the image sensor may lose power and/or have its level significantly reduced”) on the two-wire interface, using power supplied from the two-wire interface, when a doorbell button is depressed (Col. 4 lines 49-61 & col. 7 line 64 to col. 8 line 15);
wherein the processor is configured to generate the chime signal without interrupting power delivery to the video doorbell over the two-wire interface (Col. 4 lines 25-37 & Col. 8 line 47 to col. 9 line 3).
However, Beagley does not explicitly disclose a voltage on one of a positive sinusoid and a negative sinusoid of the power supplied across the two-wire interface
AAPA teaches the voltage includes the positive sinusoid and the negative sinusoid in the power (e.g. [0006]: transformer converter 120VAC to 16- 24VAC to chime).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided VAC power (including positive and negative sinusoid) to chime since it is well-known in the art to power chime with VAC power as taught by AAPA.
3. Regarding Claim 9, Beagley in view of AAPA discloses The video doorbell of claim 7,
Beagley discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate the chime signal (Fig. 5: 515 Chime is a chime solenoid. Examiner takes Official notice that the chime solenoid for generating chime sound within a chime is well-known in the art since eagle and AAPA both teaches a doorbell system with a chime to generating chime sound) by sinking additional current (col. 4 lines 10-12, “When the chime is active the image sensor may lose power and/or have its level significantly reduced”) on the negative sinusoid of the power supplied across the two-wire interface (i.e. reducing voltage, e.g., col. 9 lines 36-41).
AAPA teaches the power is VAC; thus, includes sinusoidal voltage
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have include a chime solenoid within the chime to generate a chime sound since it is merely simple substitutions of one known element with another (i.e. replacing what generates chime sound within the chime of Beagley and AAPA with chime solenoid).
4. Regarding Claim 11, Beagley in view of AAPA discloses The video doorbell of claim 7,
Beagley discloses wherein the processor is configured to transmit the chime signal on each wire of the two-wire interface (Col. 4 lines 17-19, “ systems and methods may be configured to provide power to one, two, or more devices associated with a doorbell unit in an automation system” Col. 4 lines 28-31, “The doorbell unit may be wired to the doorbell transformer using preexisting two-wire doorbell wiring (e.g., wiring that pre-dates the device and/or that was used to power a different device).” Col. 9 lines23-26, “the new doorbell unit with the one or more sensors may use the existing two-wire doorbell wiring to power the new doorbell unit and/or to communicate messages over the wire.” Col. 14 lines 48-53, “doorbell unit 510 and/or power adapter 520 may be wired using existing two-wire doorbell wiring. For example, doorbell unit 510 may replace a conventional doorbell button and use the existing doorbell wiring. Likewise, power adapter 520 may be installed as a control interface to chime 515 using existing doorbell wiring.”).
5. Regarding Claim 12, Beagley in view of AAPA discloses The video doorbell of claim 7, further comprising:
AAPA teaches a power input including a bulk capacitor configured to receive power from a transformer ([0005], “The rechargeable battery 20 also adds bulk” Examiner gives official notice. The admitted prior art clearly teaches a rechargeable battery. The use of bulk capacitors in conjunction with batteries is well-known in the art.); and
a connection to a battery chime adapter having a rechargeable battery ([0004], “prior art doorbell systems using two-wire interfaces overcome this power disruption by having an internal rechargeable battery 20 located within the doorbell 16 to provide constant power to the video doorbell circuitry for the duration that the doorbell button 18 is pressed.)”;
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have batteries provide long-term, lower power storage whereas capacitors provide short term, high-power output. The advantage for using one in conjunction with the other is for stable power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beagley in view of AAPA as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 7477134 Langer et al. (hereinafter Langer).
7. Regarding Claim 13, Beagley in view of AAPA discloses The video doorbell of claim 12, further comprising:
Beagley discloses a video doorbell system with a power input from a transformer (Fig. 4; Col. 4 lines 26-28; converting 120 VAC to 12-24 VDC), a connection to a rechargeable battery or energy storage device (Col. 1 line 62- Col. 2 line 2 rechargeable battery or capacitor in the power adapter).
Beagley in view of AAPA does not explicitly disclose a full-bridge rectifier at the power input; wherein for a portion of an alternating current (AC) cycle, power is transferred from the power input to the connection to charge the rechargeable battery.
Further, Langer teaches a full-bridge rectifier at the power input (Fig. 6: 24 rectifier circuit and 36 full bridge rectifier); wherein for a portion of an alternating current (AC) cycle, power is transferred from the power input to the connection to charge the rechargeable battery (Col. 3 lines 51-53, “Rectifier circuit 24 comprising full-wave bridge rectifier 36 converts the stepped down household AC voltage at its input into pulsating DC voltage.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power input of Beagley (as combined with AAPA) to incorporate Langer’s full-bridge rectifier. This modification provides efficient AC-to-DC conversion for stable power delivery in low-voltage doorbell systems, reducing ripple and enabling reliable charging of rechargeable batteries during active portions of the AC cycle.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422