CTNF 18/916,399 CTNF 91474 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a) (1 ) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (US Patent No. 10980137 B2 and Ji hereinafter) Regarding Claim 1, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) a display device comprising: a display panel including: a display portion (210); and a bending portion (237) adjacent to the display portion; a circuit board (FPCB) spaced apart from the display portion in a first direction (opposite to DR3) and connected to the bending portion; and a shape maintaining portion (310) disposed between the display portion and the circuit board and including: a first surface (S1) adjacent to the display portion, and the first surface including: a central portion (CS) convexly curved in a second direction (DR3) opposite to the first direction; and an edge portion (ES) which is flat; and a second surface (S2) adjacent to the circuit board. PNG media_image1.png 464 784 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 1, wherein the second surface includes: an overlapping portion (OL) which overlaps the circuit board in a plan view; and a non-overlapping portion (NOL) which does not overlap the circuit board in the plan view, and the overlapping portion and the non-overlapping portion have a step (STP). PNG media_image2.png 446 780 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 3, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3) the display device of claim 2, wherein the non-overlapping portion protrudes further in the first direction than the overlapping portion (fig.3). Regarding Claim 4, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3) the display device of claim 2, wherein the overlapping portion is flat (fig.3). Regarding Claim 5, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 1, wherein an edge of the shape maintaining portion includes: a curved portion (CP) extending in a circular shape in a plan view; and a straight portion (SP) extended to the curved portion and extending in a straight line in the plan view. PNG media_image3.png 421 619 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 6, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 5, wherein the bending portion covers the straight portion. PNG media_image4.png 442 752 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 7, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 1, wherein the display portion is disposed along a profile of the first surface of the shape maintaining portion, and the circuit board is disposed along a profile of the second surface of the shape maintaining portion. Regarding Claim 8, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a window (110) disposed on the display panel, wherein the window has a dome shape (fig.2) which is convexly curved in the second direction. Regarding Claim 9, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure) the display device of claim 8, wherein the window accommodates the display panel, the circuit board, and the shape maintaining portion. Regarding Claim 11, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) a display device comprising: a display panel including: a display portion (210); and a bending portion (237) adjacent to the display portion; a circuit board (FPCB) spaced apart from the display portion in a first direction (opposite DR3) and connected to the bending portion; and a shape maintaining portion (310) disposed between the display portion and the circuit board, the shape maintaining portion including: a first surface (S1) adjacent to the display portion; a second surface (S2) adjacent to the circuit board; and an edge including: a curved portion (CP) extending in a circular shape in a plan view; and a straight portion (EP) extended to the curved portion and extending in a straight line in the plan view. Regarding Claim 12, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 11, wherein the bending portion covers the straight portion. Regarding Claim 13, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 11, wherein a central portion (CP) of the first surface is convexly curved in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and an edge portion of the first surface is flat. Regarding Claim 14, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 11, wherein the second surface includes: an overlapping portion (OL) which overlaps the circuit board in the plan view; and a non-overlapping portion (NOL) which does not overlap the circuit board in the plan view, and the overlapping portion and the non-overlapping portion have a step. Regarding Claim 15, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 14, wherein the non-overlapping portion protrudes further in the first direction than the overlapping portion. Regarding Claim 16, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 14, wherein the overlapping portion is flat. Regarding Claim 17, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 11, wherein the display portion is disposed along a profile of the first surface of the shape maintaining portion, and the circuit board is disposed along a profile of the second surface of the shape maintaining portion. Regarding Claim 18, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 11, further comprising: a window disposed on the display panel, wherein the window has a dome shape which is convexly curved in a second direction opposite to the first direction (fig.2). Regarding Claim 19, Ji discloses (figs. 1-3 and annotated figure above) the display device of claim 18, wherein the window accommodates the display panel, the circuit board, and the shape maintaining portion (fig.3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al in view of Zhang et al (US Patent No. 12484417 B2 and Zhang hereinafter) Regarding Claim 10, Ji discloses the display device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the edge portion has an inclination. However, Zhang teaches (figs. 1-5) wherein the edge portion (324) has an inclination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a inclined edge portion of Zhang to device of Ji in order to avoid the stress concentration of the flexible display panel main body (Zhang, and Col 8, lines 1-5) Regarding Claim 20, Ji discloses the display device of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein the edge portion has an inclination. However, Zhang teaches (figs. 1-5) wherein the edge portion (324) has an inclination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a inclined edge portion of Zhang to device of Ji in order to avoid the stress concentration of the flexible display panel main body (Zhang, and Col 8, lines 1-5) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-1602. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8 AM - 4:30 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen L Parker can be reached at 303-297-4722. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/916,399 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841