DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IV (Claims 52-53) in the reply filed on 10-1-2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 29-32, 45-51, and 54-59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10-1-2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, “a spring, the spring positioned and arranged to be collapsed as the lid is pressed towards a closed configuration relative to the pill receiving area, the spring arranged to elongate following collapse to cause the blade, while spinning, to move through and cut the pill,” of Claim 44 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44 and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 44, “the spring arranged to elongate following collapse to cause the blade, while spinning, to move through and cut the pill,” is indefinite. it is unclear what is causing the elongate function following the collapse function. Further it is unclear how the spring causes the blade to move through and cut the pill. As best understood, the user causes the blade to move. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 52, “wherein the pill cutter is adapted and arranged such that, after pill placement in the pill receiving area, and after movement of the pill relative to the blade following placement in the pill receiving area, the spinning blade cuts through the pill such that the linear length of the cut is less than the cut height through the pill,” is indefinite. It is unclear what additional structure is being claimed. The Examiner notes that the claim is an apparatus claim which claims the structure of the device and not the use of the device. The functional language of a structure claim is tied to structure. Here, it is unclear what structure is being claimed which causes “the spinning blade cuts through the pill such that the linear length of the cut is less than the cut height through the pill,” as this appears to be a choice by the user and not a structure feature of the saw. The claims were examined a best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
In re Claim 53, “wherein the pill cutter is adapted and arranged such that, after pill placement in the pill receiving area, and after movement of the pill relative to the blade following placement in the pill receiving area, the spinning blade cuts through the pill such that the spinning blade cuts through a side of the pill before cutting through both a top and a bottom surface of the pill,” is indefinite. It is unclear what additional structure is being claimed. The Examiner notes that the claim is an apparatus claim which claims the structure of the device and not the use of the device. The functional language of a structure claim is tied to structure. Here, it is unclear what structure is being claimed which causes “the spinning blade cuts through the pill such that the spinning blade cuts through a side of the pill before cutting through both a top and a bottom surface of the pill,” as this appears to be a choice by the user to cut in a particular order and not a structure feature of the saw. The claims were examined a best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0162867 to McCracken in view of US 2003/0005800 to Czarnek.
In re Claim 28, McCracken teaches handheld cutter adapted to cut a workpiece, comprising:
a workpiece receiving area sized and configured to receive a workpiece (see Fig. 1, #34); and
a blade (see Fig. 1, #22 and Para. 0016) adapted to spin relative to the pill receiving area (see Fig. 1, blade #22 spins), the blade configured and arranged relative to the workpiece receiving area to cut through a workpiece that is positioned on the workpiece receiving area (see Fig. 4, #22 and Para. 0032).
McCracken does not teach the device includes a workpiece receiving area for receiving the particular workpiece of a pill. However, Czarnek teaches that it is known in the art of circular saw blades to cut a pill (see Czarnek, Fig. 8-9, #181).
In the same field of invention, circular saw blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to utilize the hand held cutting device of McCracken to cut a table or pill, as taught by Czarnek. Doing so is the substation of one known circular saw blade cutting arrangement for another known circular saw blade cutting arrangement to achieve the result of cutting a pill or tablet.
In re Claim 44, modified McCracken, in re Claim 28, teaches further comprising a lid (see Fig. 2, #, 98, 106, 110) and a spring (see Fig. 2, #130), the spring positioned and arranged to be collapsed as the lid is pressed towards a closed configuration relative to the pill receiving area (see Fig. 2, and Para. 0022, when the saw is brought into contact with the workpiece the ends of the torsion spring collapse toward each other) , the spring arranged to elongate following collapse to cause the blade, while spinning, to move through and cut the pill (see Fig. 4 and Paras. 0022/0032)
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0162867 to McCracken in view of US 2003/0005800 to Czarnek, and further in view of US 2009/0017115 to Kaplan.
In re Claim 52, modified McCracken, in re Claim 28 teaches the structure capable of : wherein the pill cutter is adapted and arranged such that, after pill placement in the pill receiving area, and after movement of the pill relative to the blade following placement in the pill receiving area, the spinning blade cuts through the pill (see McCracken Figs. 1-4 in view of Czarnek Figs. 8-9).
Modified McCracken does not teach performing a cut such that the linear length of the cut is less than the cut height through the pill.
However, Kaplan teaches that it is known to cut through a tablet such that the linear length of the cut is less than the cut height through the pill (see Kaplan, Figs. 2-5, and abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the earliest effective filing date to use the structure of Kaplan to perform a cut through a tablet such that the linear length of the cut is less than the cut height through the pill. Doing so helps facility breaking of the table into smaller units by a user (see Kaplan, Para. 0003).
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0162867 to McCracken in view of US 2003/0005800 to Czarnek, and further in view of US 4,215,104 to Ullman.
In re Claim 53, modified McCracken, in re Claim 28, teaches wherein the pill cutter is adapted and arranged such that, after pill placement in the pill receiving area, and after movement of the pill relative to the blade following placement in the pill receiving area, the spinning blade cuts through the pill.
Modified McCracken is silent as to the spinning blade cuts through a side of the pill before cutting through both a top and a bottom surface of the pill.
However, Ullman teaches that it is known in the art of pill making to provide cut marks on the top, bottom and sides. In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to cut the sides of the pill, and the tops and bottoms, as taught by Ullman. Doing so provides the well-recognized advantages of having a readily dividable tablet is that it permits the administration of a plurality of sub-dosage units thereby avoiding costs for specially preparing an individual tablet for each dosage unit (see Ullman, Col. 2, ll. 6-12).
It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to cut the sides before cutting the bottom and tops as doing so is rearranging the order of the cut and not transforming the workpiece.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724