DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to Australian Patent Application No. 2018902514, filed on 7/11/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150160663 (hereinafter McCarthy) in view of Young U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210164860 (hereinafter Young) and further in view of Burrows U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100168927 (hereinafter Burrows).
Regarding claim 1, McCarthy teaches a water flow management system [0094-0104, Fig. 7 —a system 700 to facilitate automation control for water leaks; 0105, Fig. 9 — water supply controller 905 may be adapted to couple to a stem 925 of an original valve 920 in the plumbing system of the home; 0069-0071, Fig. 2 — the home automation system] comprising:
a valve [0094-0104, Fig. 7 —a system 700 to facilitate automation control for water leaks; 0105, Fig. 9 — water supply controller 905 may be adapted to couple to a stem 925 of an original valve 920 in the plumbing system of the home; 0069-0071, Fig. 2 — the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… , appliance controller 226 may control a washing machine, a dryer, a dishwasher, an oven, a microwave, a refrigerator, a toaster, a coffee maker, a hot tub; 0120-0129, Fig. 11 — an example method 1100 for enabling automation control for water leak detection and handling], the valve being adapted to communicate with at least one water flow detector [0066-0069, Fig. 2 — a water sensor detecting a leak or flow… Leak detection sensor 224] and a set of water usage products [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring], wherein the water flow detector is for detecting water flow to the set of water usage products [0046-0049, Fig. 2 — Television receiver 150 may be configured to communicate with multiple in-home home automation devices.],
wherein the system includes a processor [0082, Fig. 3 — Control processor 310-1 (electronic) may include home automation engine 311. Home automation engine 311 may permit television receiver and control processor 310-1 to provide home automation functionality; 0112, Fig. 10 — one or more processors of the system controller 770; 0130-0131, Fig. 12 — one or more processors 1210] that is arranged to determine:
an operational status of the set of water usage products [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring], a water flow status of the water flow detector [0066-0069, Fig. 2 — a water sensor detecting a leak or flow… Leak detection sensor 224], and
whether, on the basis of the operational status and the water flow status, the water flow to the set of water usage products requires alteration, wherein the processor is adapted to operate the valve to effect the required alteration [0066-0070, Figs. 2 and 11 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak] wherein the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0070 — If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off by leak detection sensor 224 after a predefined period of time; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak — shutting off a valve decreases the pressure of the water flow].
But McCarthy fails to clearly specify the valve comprises a processor the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points thereby to rectify the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points to within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly.
However, Young teaches the valve comprises a processor [0046, Fig. 3 — a schematic diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the local system 120. The local system 120 may include a water monitoring device 310 which has a local integration platform 315. The local integration platform includes at least a processor 320; 0053-0055, Fig. 5 — water monitoring device 310 includes a housing 510 for enclosing the local integration platform 315… an automatic shut-off valve 560 and a manual shut-off valve 570. ].
McCarthy and Young are analogous art. They relate to plumbing automation systems, particularly systems with leak detection.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by McCarthy, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to locate all the local system components in the same location thus improving communication between the various components (e.g. avoiding interference, wiring problems), facilitating servicing and removing the need for multiple housings. In addition, co-locating various system components is merely a design choice that would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art; see MPEP 2144.04.
But the combination of McCarthy and Young fails to clearly specify the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points thereby to rectify the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points to within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly.
However, Burrows teaches determining an operational status of the set of water usage points, a water flow status of the water flow detector, and whether, on the basis of the operational status and the water flow status, the water flow to the set of water usage points requires alteration and the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points thereby to rectify the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points to within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly [0128-0132, Fig. 1 — FIG. 1 shows a main arterial water supply conduit 1 which supplies water at a pressure P1 to a pressure reducing valve (PRV) 44 via a pipe 46, which in turn supplies water at a reduced output pressure P2 to a district metering area (DMA) 3 via output pipe 48, the DMA including a number of conduits 4 supplying a number of consumers 5. One of the consumers 5 is designated a critical point CP, being a point where the pressure P3 will typically be lower than elsewhere in the DMA 3 as a result of the distance of the Critical Point CP from the PRV 44 and/or the altitude of the Critical Point with respect to the PRV…. signals from sensors 6 and 7 are fed to a control unit 8 for a pilot valve 102… measured flow rate M and the output pressure P2 are transmitted from the control unit 8 over a wireless communications network to a remote central control station 13 where there is a data processing facility… At the Critical Point CP is a second pressure measuring sensor 10 for measuring the pressure P3 at the Critical Point… the central control station 13 which processes the P3 data together with the P2 pressure data and the flow rate data received from the control unit 8, in order to transmit suitable control parameters to the control unit so that tat the output pressure of the PRV 44 will be controlled to provide the required pressure at the Critical Point (within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly); 0152 — central server 13].
McCarthy, Young and Burrows are analogous art. They relate to water control automation systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Young, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Burrows.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reducing the average pressure within the system, reducing problems with leakages and bursts and reducing fatigue on the pipe network, while providing a more constant supply pressure and a reduction in pressure related consumption; and to maintain a required minimum water pressure, as suggested by Burrows [0006-0009, 0132].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches that the processor is adapted to operate a valve to effect the required alteration, the valve controlling water flow to one of the set of water usage products [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak].
Further, Young teaches that the processor is adapted to operate a second valve to effect the required alteration, the second valve controlling water flow to one of the set of water usage products [046, Fig. 3 — a schematic diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the local system 120. The local system 120 may include a water monitoring device 310 which has a local integration platform 315. The local integration platform includes at least a processor 320; 0053-0055, Fig. 5 — water monitoring device 310 includes a housing 510 for enclosing the local integration platform 315… an automatic shut-off valve 560 and a manual shut-off valve 570; 0048 —internal valves 360 include one or more valves (first valve, second valve, etc.) which are configured to control flow through the water flow system 170 at the main water inlet 180. The internal valves 360 may include, for example, an automatic shut-off valve which is controlled by the water monitoring device 310 to cease the flow of water].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase the flow capacity that may be controlled by providing additional valves. In addition, utilizing duplicate valves is merely a variation that would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art; see MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the processor is further adapted to operate the valve to stop the water flow in response to a water leak occurring, wherein the processor determines whether the water leak is occurring, based upon a determination that the water flow status indicates a water flow through the water flow detector and the operational status indicates that water is not currently being used by the set of water usage products [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches a communication module adapted to communicate with the processor, the water usage products, and a user device; such that the processor is able to send a performance signal based on a performance of the set of water usage products to the user device [0055 — Wireless device 216 may represent a tablet computer, cellular phone, laptop computer; 0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
Further, Young teaches a valve comprises a communication module [0046-0047, Fig. 3 — a schematic diagram of an exemplary embodiment of the local system 120. The local system 120 may include a water monitoring device 310 which has a local integration platform 315. The local integration platform includes at least a processor 320… I/O devices 340 also include data connection elements which facilitate data communication with the other components of the water monitoring system 100.; 0053-0055, Fig. 5 — water monitoring device 310 includes a housing 510 for enclosing the local integration platform 315… an automatic shut-off valve 560 and a manual shut-off valve 570. ].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to locate all the local system components in the same location thus improving communication between the various components (e.g. avoiding interference, wiring problems), facilitating servicing and removing the need for multiple housings. In addition, co-locating various system components is merely a design choice that would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art; see MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the performance signal comprises an alarm signal based on the operational status and the water flow status [0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Young teaches that the water flow detector and the valve are integrated into a single component [0053-0055, Fig. 5 — water monitoring device 310 (single component) includes a housing 510 for enclosing the local integration platform 315… an automatic shut-off valve 560 and a manual shut-off valve 570. ].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to locate all the system elements in the same component thus improving communication between the various elements (e.g. avoiding interference, wiring problems), facilitating servicing (e.g. replacement of a single component instead of multiple components) and removing the need for multiple housings. In addition, integrating various system elements is merely a choice that would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art; see MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Young teaches that the water flow detector comprises a water flow smart meter [0034, Fig. 1 — local system 120 is configured to collect water flow data from the water flow system 170, such as flow rate, temperature, pressure, etc. The local system 120 is configured to provide the water flow data to the back-end system 110; 0085-0086, Fig. 10 — FIGS. 10-13 are exemplary user interfaces 1000, 1100, 1200, and 1300 which may be implemented through the back-end system 110 and displayed to a user P through the client device 130… the user interface 1000 includes a dashboard section which provides some information about the status of the water monitoring device 310 and the associated water flow. The information may include, for example, the current water flow, past water flow].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Young.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide feedback to the user which is not present in a conventional water meter and provide computing capabilities not available locally to improve the system, as suggested by Young [0034, 0086].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the set of water usage products comprises at least one water usage product that is a bathroom product [0031 — toilets, sinks, appliances, and other water-based features; 0053 — a water leak being detected in a second floor bathroom ; 0076 — showers, baths; 0102 — bathtubs, toilets].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the bathroom product is selected from a group consisting of a faucet, a toilet, a urinal, a shower, a bath, a bidet [0031 — toilets, sinks, appliances, and other water-based features; 0053 — a water leak being detected in a second floor bathroom ; 0076 — showers, baths; 0102 — bathtubs, toilets].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the set of water usage products are arranged in a defined area to provide water services to the defined area [0007 — at a home (defined area); 0053-0056 — a second floor bathroom (defined area)… bathroom, laundry room, etc. of a home].
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows in view of ‘Cube 0.8L Electronic Series II Electronic Activation Urinal Suite Installation Instructions’ Caroma, published 10 February 2015 (hereinafter Caroma).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches an alteration of the water flow to the set of water usage products wherein the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0076, 0129 — leak detection sensor 224 may have a component that couples over an existing valve such that the flow of water within one or more pipes can be stopped. For instance, if leak detection sensor 224 determines a leak may be occurring, a notification may be provided to a user via wireless device 216 and/or display device 160 by television receiver 150 or overlay device 251. If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off].
But the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows fails to clearly specify the water flow to the set of water usage products being a predetermined water flow rate.
However, Caroma teaches the water flow to the set of water usage products being a predetermined water flow rate [upper-left — The operation flow pressure of the valve is 300 to 500 kPa (30 to 50 metres head) to achieve a minimum flow to the valve of 18 litres / minute necessary to flush the urinal.].
McCarthy, Young, Burrows and Caroma are analogous art. They relate to water control systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Caroma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that a sufficient flow is available to the water usage product for it to operate properly, as suggested by the Caroma citation.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of McCarthy, Young, Burrows and Caroma teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Caroma teaches that the predetermined water flow rate includes a minimum flow rate to a urinal [upper-left — The operation flow pressure of the valve is 300 to 500 kPa (30 to 50 metres head) to achieve a minimum flow to the valve of 18 litres / minute necessary to flush the urinal.].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Caroma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that a sufficient flow is available to a urinal for it to operate properly, as suggested by the Caroma citation. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known urinal of Caroma for the known water usage products of McCarthy (including a toilet etc. 0031, 0076, 0102) for the predictable result of a urinal water flow management system.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy and Young in view of Ellsworth U.S. Patent No. 5853130 (hereinafter Ellsworth).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches an alteration of the water flow to the set of water usage products wherein the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0070, 0129 — leak detection sensor 224 may have a component that couples over an existing valve such that the flow of water within one or more pipes can be stopped. For instance, if leak detection sensor 224 determines a leak may be occurring, a notification may be provided to a user via wireless device 216 and/or display device 160 by television receiver 150 or overlay device 251. If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off].
But the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows fails to clearly specify that the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products to a predetermined water flow rate.
However, Ellsworth teaches that the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products to a predetermined water flow rate [col. 3 lines 1-22 — the present invention makes it possible to provide maximum fluid flow through a set of nozzles directed at an area in close proximity to the showerhead; col. 5 lines 36-49, Figs. 6-8 — the system would be initialized by positioning a body at the proximate position (A) with respect to the showerhead and input the maximum acceptable fluid flow corresponding to the proximate position (A).].
McCarthy, Young, Burrows and Ellsworth are analogous art. They relate to water control systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ellsworth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable a user to customize a shower flow rate based on their individual preferences, as suggested by Ellsworth [col. 2 lines 1-8, col. 5 lines 36-49]. Note that McCarthy considers controlling showers, baths and faucets [0076].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of McCarthy, Young, Burrows and Ellsworth teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ellsworth teaches the predetermined water flow rate includes a maximum flow rate to a shower [col. 3 lines 1-22 — the present invention makes it possible to provide maximum fluid flow through a set of nozzles directed at an area in close proximity to the showerhead; col. 5 lines 36-49, Figs. 6-8 — the system would be initialized by positioning a body at the proximate position (A) with respect to the showerhead and input the maximum acceptable fluid flow corresponding to the proximate position (A).].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ellsworth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable a user to customize a shower flow rate based on their individual preferences, as suggested by Ellsworth [col. 2 lines 1-8, col. 5 lines 36-49]. Note that McCarthy considers controlling showers, baths and faucets [0076].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows in view of Rush U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050249606 (hereinafter Rush).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the performance signal [0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
But the combination of McCarthy and Young fails to clearly specify that the performance signal comprises a confirmation that a water usage product is operating correctly.
However, Rush teaches that the performance signal comprises a confirmation that a water usage product is operating correctly [0052 — the fluid may comprise an electroactive component, such as water; 0057 — Control of the fluid delivery device may comprise providing an indication of proper (operating correctly) or improper fluid delivery, which may be based on a predetermined set of limits or a predetermined range that may be stored in a microprocessor (further described herein), such as via a display of information].
McCarthy, Young, Burrows and Rush are analogous art. They relate to water control/monitoring systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above water flow management system, as taught by the combination of McCarthy, Young and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Rush.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to inform a user that a water usage device does not need attention, as suggested by Rush [0057]. In addition, it would be obvious to simply substitute the known correct operation signal of Rush for the known alarm signal of McCarthy for a water management system capable of informing a user of correct operation.
Claim(s) 15-16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy in view of Burrows.
Regarding claim 15, McCarthy teaches a method for managing water flow to a set of water usage products [0120-0129, Fig. 11 — an example method 1100 for enabling automation control for water leak detection and handling; 0069-0071, Fig. 2 — the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… , appliance controller 226 may control a washing machine, a dryer, a dishwasher, an oven, a microwave, a refrigerator, a toaster, a coffee maker, a hot tub], the method comprising:
determining a water flow status to the set of water usage products using a water flow detector [0066-0069, Fig. 2 — a water sensor detecting a leak or flow… Leak detection sensor 224];
determining an operational status of the set of water usage products using information from electronic controllers associated with respective water usage products of the set of water usage products [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring; 0082, Fig. 3 — Control processor 310-1 (electronic) may include home automation engine 311. Home automation engine 311 may permit television receiver and control processor 310-1 to provide home automation functionality; 0112, Fig. 10 — one or more processors of the system controller 770; 0130-0131, Fig. 12 — one or more processors 1210];
determining, on the basis of the operational status and the water flow status, whether the water flow to the set of water usage products requires alteration [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring], wherein the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0070, 0129 — If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off by leak detection sensor 224 after a predefined period of time; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak — shutting off a valve decreases the pressure of the water flow];
and operating a valve to effect the alteration [0066-0070, 0129 — leak detection sensor 224 may have a component that couples over an existing valve such that the flow of water within one or more pipes can be stopped. For instance, if leak detection sensor 224 determines a leak may be occurring, a notification may be provided to a user via wireless device 216 and/or display device 160 by television receiver 150 or overlay device 251. If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off].
But McCarthy fails to clearly specify the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points thereby to rectify the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points to within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly.
However, Burrows teaches determining an operational status of the set of water usage points, a water flow status of the water flow detector, and whether, on the basis of the operational status and the water flow status, the water flow to the set of water usage points requires alteration and the alteration comprises an increase or decrease in the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points thereby to rectify the pressure of the water flow to the set of water usage points to within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly [0128-0132, Fig. 1 — FIG. 1 shows a main arterial water supply conduit 1 which supplies water at a pressure P1 to a pressure reducing valve (PRV) 44 via a pipe 46, which in turn supplies water at a reduced output pressure P2 to a district metering area (DMA) 3 via output pipe 48, the DMA including a number of conduits 4 supplying a number of consumers 5. One of the consumers 5 is designated a critical point CP, being a point where the pressure P3 will typically be lower than elsewhere in the DMA 3 as a result of the distance of the Critical Point CP from the PRV 44 and/or the altitude of the Critical Point with respect to the PRV…. signals from sensors 6 and 7 are fed to a control unit 8 for a pilot valve 102… measured flow rate M and the output pressure P2 are transmitted from the control unit 8 over a wireless communications network to a remote central control station 13 where there is a data processing facility… At the Critical Point CP is a second pressure measuring sensor 10 for measuring the pressure P3 at the Critical Point… the central control station 13 which processes the P3 data together with the P2 pressure data and the flow rate data received from the control unit 8, in order to transmit suitable control parameters to the control unit so that tat the output pressure of the PRV 44 will be controlled to provide the required pressure at the Critical Point (within predetermined acceptable bounds for the set of water usage points operating correctly); 0152 — central server 13].
McCarthy and Burrows are analogous art. They relate to water control automation systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by McCarthy, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Burrows.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reducing the average pressure within the system, reducing problems with leakages and bursts and reducing fatigue on the pipe network, while providing a more constant supply pressure and a reduction in pressure related consumption; and to maintain a required minimum water pressure, as suggested by Burrows [0006-0009, 0132].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of McCarthy and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches determining whether a water leak is occurring, based upon a determination that the water flow status indicates a water flow through the water flow detector and the operational status indicates that water is not currently being used by the set of water usage products; and operating the valve to stop the water flow in response to the water leak occurring [0066-0070, Fig. 2 — The home automation system may utilize various rules to determine whether a leak is occurring. For example, a measurement threshold may be utilized in the event that water is flowing to an ice machine. The amount of water typically drawn by such a device may be known, if the flow rate and/or flow time significantly exceeds normal operating parameters, it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In some embodiments, the home automation system may communicate with appliances to determine whether water is flowing to the device. For example, a home automation system may communicate with a washing machine in operation to determine that water is flowing to the appliance… appliance may transmit data to television receiver 150 or overlay device 251 that indicates the status of the appliance, such as an indication of whether the appliance is in operation or not, or using water or not. If no appliance is using water (and, possibly, it is known that no user is home) it may be determined that a leak is occurring. In other embodiments, data from various motion sensors may be utilized. For example, if the system identifies that users have left the home, but a large flow of water is occurring, then the system may determine that a leak is occurring; 0129, Fig. 11 — As indicated by block 1124, the selected water supply controller may be caused to shut off water supply to the portion of the water supply system experiencing the water leak].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of McCarthy and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches sending a performance signal based on a performance of the set of water usage products to the user device [0055 — Wireless device 216 may represent a tablet computer, cellular phone, laptop computer; 0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
Regarding claim 21, the combination of McCarthy and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the performance signal comprises an alarm signal based on the operational status and the water flow status [0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy and Burrows in view of Caroma.
Regarding claim 17, McCarthy teaches an alteration of the water flow to the set of water usage products wherein the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0076, 0129 — leak detection sensor 224 may have a component that couples over an existing valve such that the flow of water within one or more pipes can be stopped. For instance, if leak detection sensor 224 determines a leak may be occurring, a notification may be provided to a user via wireless device 216 and/or display device 160 by television receiver 150 or overlay device 251. If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off].
But the combination of McCarthy and Burrows fails to clearly specify the water flow to the set of water usage products being a predetermined water flow rate.
However, Caroma teaches the water flow to the set of water usage products being a predetermined water flow rate [upper-left — The operation flow pressure of the valve is 300 to 500 kPa (30 to 50 metres head) to achieve a minimum flow to the valve of 18 litres / minute necessary to flush the urinal.].
McCarthy, Burrows and Caroma are analogous art. They relate to water control systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Caroma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that a sufficient flow is available to the water usage product for it to operate properly, as suggested by the Caroma citation.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of McCarthy, Burrows and Caroma teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Caroma teaches that the predetermined water flow rate includes a minimum flow rate to a urinal [upper-left — The operation flow pressure of the valve is 300 to 500 kPa (30 to 50 metres head) to achieve a minimum flow to the valve of 18 litres / minute necessary to flush the urinal.].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Caroma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so that a sufficient flow is available to a urinal for it to operate properly, as suggested by the Caroma citation. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known urinal of Caroma for the known water usage products of McCarthy (including a toilet etc. 0031, 0076, 0102) for the predictable result of a urinal water flow management system.
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy and Burrows in view of Ellsworth.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of McCarthy and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches an alteration of the water flow to the set of water usage products wherein the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products [0066-0070, 0129 — leak detection sensor 224 may have a component that couples over an existing valve such that the flow of water within one or more pipes can be stopped. For instance, if leak detection sensor 224 determines a leak may be occurring, a notification may be provided to a user via wireless device 216 and/or display device 160 by television receiver 150 or overlay device 251. If a user does not clear the notification, the flow of water may be shut off].
But the combination of McCarthy and Burrows fails to clearly specify that the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products to a predetermined water flow rate.
However, Ellsworth teaches that the alteration includes a control of the water flow to the set of water usage products to a predetermined water flow rate [col. 3 lines 1-22 — the present invention makes it possible to provide maximum fluid flow through a set of nozzles directed at an area in close proximity to the showerhead; col. 5 lines 36-49, Figs. 6-8 — the system would be initialized by positioning a body at the proximate position (A) with respect to the showerhead and input the maximum acceptable fluid flow corresponding to the proximate position (A).].
McCarthy, Burrows and Ellsworth are analogous art. They relate to water control systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ellsworth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable a user to customize a shower flow rate based on their individual preferences, as suggested by Ellsworth [col. 2 lines 1-8, col. 5 lines 36-49]. Note that McCarthy considers controlling showers, baths and faucets [0076].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of McCarthy, Burrows and Ellsworth teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ellsworth teaches the predetermined water flow rate includes a maximum flow rate to a shower [col. 3 lines 1-22 — the present invention makes it possible to provide maximum fluid flow through a set of nozzles directed at an area in close proximity to the showerhead; col. 5 lines 36-49, Figs. 6-8 — the system would be initialized by positioning a body at the proximate position (A) with respect to the showerhead and input the maximum acceptable fluid flow corresponding to the proximate position (A).].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Ellsworth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable a user to customize a shower flow rate based on their individual preferences, as suggested by Ellsworth [col. 2 lines 1-8, col. 5 lines 36-49]. Note that McCarthy considers controlling showers, baths and faucets [0076].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of McCarthy and Burrows in view of Rush.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of McCarthy and Burrows teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, McCarthy teaches the performance signal [0058, Fig. 5 — a screenshot 500 of a wireless device in communication with television receiver 150 serving as the host of a home automation system. In some embodiments, at approximately a same time that the home automation information of FIG. 4 is presented via display device 160 (assuming it is turned on), similar information 504 may be sent to wireless device 216 — a notification indicating ‘Water Leak Detected in Bathroom #2’ is shown].
But the combination of McCarthy and Burrows fails to clearly specify that the performance signal comprises a confirmation that a water usage product is operating correctly.
However, Rush teaches that the performance signal comprises a confirmation that a water usage product is operating correctly [0052 — the fluid may comprise an electroactive component, such as water; 0057 — Control of the fluid delivery device may comprise providing an indication of proper (operating correctly) or improper fluid delivery, which may be based on a predetermined set of limits or a predetermined range that may be stored in a microprocessor (further described herein), such as via a display of information].
McCarthy, Burrows and Rush are analogous art. They relate to water control/monitoring systems.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method for managing water flow, as taught by the combination of McCarthy and Burrows, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Rush.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to inform a user that a water usage device does not need attention, as suggested by Rush [0057]. In addition, it would be obvious to simply substitute the known correct operation signal of Rush for the known alarm signal of McCarthy for a water management system capable of informing a user of correct operation.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Picton U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110178644 discloses a water management system with a controller programmed to prevent water loss by monitoring the pressure and flow rate to detect and prevent water consumption outside controlled parameters by shutting off the valve if the system detects an uncontrolled flow.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119