DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 16-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gupta (US 2025/0106809 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, 27
Gupta discloses a gateway device (Fig.1(118)) comprising processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) configured to:
detect (See [0035-0036]; infrastructure UWB that comprises gateway UWB compute precise distance of the vehicle) that an external mobile node (Fig.1(106)) is within a predefined distance (See [0036]; [0041]; may compare the locations to a predefined threshold distance from the intersection 200) from the gateway device (Fig.1(118));
determine a spatial movement of the mobile node (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; increase or decrease of signal strength and lack of signal strength including address of vehicle determined movement of vehicle); and
execute a logical handover (See Fig.5(504); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306) of the mobile node (Fig.1(106)) from a first localization system (See [0014-0016]; [0021-0024]; [0029]; positioning application used GNSS controller when UWB infrastructure is not detected) to a second localization system (See [0044-0046]; joins UWB Infrastructure Network in close distance) in dependence on the determined spatial movement (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; increase or decrease of signal strength and lack of signal strength or distance calculation including address of vehicle determined movement of vehicle).
Regarding Claim 17, 28
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 16, 27 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to:
determine that the determined spatial movement (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; increase or decrease of signal strength and lack of signal strength including address of vehicle determined movement of vehicle) indicates that the mobile node is physically approaching the gateway device (See [0035-0036]; The gateway calculate distance from the vehicle anchors to the gateway and compare distance with predefined Threshold distance)); and
execute the logical handover (See Fig.5(508); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306)
in response to determining that the spatial movement (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; increase or decrease of signal strength and lack of signal strength including address of vehicle determined movement of vehicle) indicates that the mobile node is physically approaching the gateway device (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; increase or decrease of signal strength and lack of signal strength including address of vehicle determined movement of vehicle).
Regarding Claim 18,
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to:
detect a direction of ultra-wideband (UWB) signals transmitted by the mobile node (See [0035]; the infrastructure UWB anchors 114 may compute precise distance and angle measurements of the locations of the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116); and
determine the spatial movement of the mobile node using the direction of the UWB signals transmitted by the mobile node (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; Spatial movement is detected depending on distance and angle of the mobile node).
Regarding Claim 19,
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 18 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the gateway device forms part of the second localization system (See [0035]; the vehicle based UWB anchors 116 advertising their presence to the
UWB gateway 118 for use in the network of UWB infrastructure) .
Regarding Claim 20,
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 19 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the first localization system is a satellite-based localization system (See Fig.1(112); [0014];[0016]; [0021]; mobile communicate with GNSS to get mobile object positioning)) and the second localization system (See Fig.3(300); [0035]; the infrastructure UWB anchors 114 may compute precise distance and angle measurements of the locations of the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116) is a localization system based on UWB communication (See Fig.3(300); [0035]; the infrastructure UWB anchors 114 may compute precise distance and angle measurements of the locations of the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116).
Regarding Claim 21, 29
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 20, 28 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to
detect whether the mobile node is within said predefined distance (See [0036]; [0041]; the UWB gateway 118 may receive the information about the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 from the infrastructure UWB anchors 114, and may compare the locations to a predefined threshold distance from the intersection 200) by causing one or more UWB nodes (Fig.3(114D)) of the second localization system (Fig.3(300)) to perform an object detection operation (See [0035-0036]; [0044-0046]; the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 may be determined to be available for use by the UWB gateway 118),
and
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to
determine the spatial movement of the mobile node (See [0036-0037]; [0044-0046]; Spatial movement is detected depending on distance and angle of the mobile node) by causing the UWB nodes to perform ranging operations with the mobile node (See Fig.3(302); Fig.4(404); [0035-0036]; [0044-0046]; ranging is performed between mobile node and UWB anchors and gateway).
Regarding Claim 22, 30
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 17, 28 and Gupta further teaches
wherein performing the logical handover (See Fig.5(504); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306) comprises
transmitting first data to the second localization system (See [0044-0046]; after detecting location and identification of mobile anchors, data is transmitted to database 304),
wherein said first data at least includes a current position of the mobile node (See [0044]; location of mobile node is detected) and a direction of movement (See [0035]; [0044]; including direction and angle of arrival)).
Regarding Claim 23, 31
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 17, 28 and Gupta further teaches
wherein executing the logical handover (See Fig.5(504); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306) comprises
transmitting second data to the mobile node (See [0040]; based off MAP information broadcast from the intersection 200 infrastructure that indicates the positioning of the intersection 200)
wherein said second data at least includes a map of a predefined area covered by the second localization system (See [0040]; based off MAP information broadcast from the intersection 200 infrastructure that indicates the positioning of the intersection 200).
Regarding Claim 24, 32
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 17, 28 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to
detect the mobile node (See [0035-0036]; [0044-0045]; Using signals received from the beacon transmissions 302 from the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116, the infrastructure UWB anchors 114 may compute precise distance and angle measurements of the locations of the vehicle-based UWB anchors 116)
by periodically broadcasting discovery beacons and receiving a response to at least one of said beacons
or
by receiving one or more beacons transmitted by the mobile node (See [0035-0036]; vehicle based UWB anchors 116 advertising their presence to the UWB gateway 118 for use in the network of UWB infrastructure)) .
(The term “or” is used between limitation providing options in the claim examination).
Regarding Claim 25, 33
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 24, 28 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to
negotiate communication parameters with the mobile node (See [0035-0036]; mobile identifiers, distance, signals strength are parameters used to communicate with each other),
said parameters being usable by the processing circuitry for communication with
the mobile node (See [0035-0036]; mobile identifiers, distance, signals strength are parameters used to communicate with each other) .
Regarding Claim 26,
Gupta teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 and Gupta further teaches
wherein the processing circuitry (See Fig.7(704); [0056]; processor) is further configured to
instruct the mobile node to cease interaction with the first localization system (See Fig.5(504); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306 and provide accurate positioning of the mobile instead of larger positioning by the satellite ) after executing the logical handover (See Fig.5(504); [0038]; [0044-0046]; UWB gateway joins those vehicle-based UWB anchors 116 to the database of addresses 304 for the mesh 306).
Note:
OERTHER (EP 3454073 A1) is another reference that teaches about UWB precision location for mobile node in building but not used as prior in this application.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646