DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12155112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘112 contains all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0395661 (“Bai” or “B”).
1: B teaches an antenna system (that of fig 1) comprising: a first antenna (1) connected to a printed circuit board (1 is shown connected to 8); a second antenna (2) connected to the printed circuit board (2 is also connected to 8); and a decoupling structure (3) connected to the printed circuit board at a location between the first antenna and the second antenna (as shown), wherein the printed circuit board is coplanar with each of the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling structure (as shown, and as described in 0037).
2: B teaches that the decoupling structure comprises a center post and two arms coplanar with the printed circuit board (3 has a T-shape, as shown).
8: B teaches that at least one of the first antenna or the second antenna comprises an inverted-F antenna (0037).
14: B teaches an electronic device (that of fig 1) comprising a printed circuit board (8), a network interface for wireless communication, a first antenna (1 of fig 1) connected to a printed circuit board (1 is connected to 8, as shown); a second antenna (2) connected to the printed circuit board (as shown); and a decoupling structure (3) connected to the printed circuit board at a location between the first antenna and the second antenna (as shown), wherein the printed circuit board is coplanar with each of the first antenna, the second antenna, and the decoupling structure (as shown and as discussed in 0037).
Nevertheless, B fails to teach a housing; the printed circuit board housed by the housing; the network interface for wireless communication housed by the housing; a speaker housed by the housing; and one or more touch sensors housed by the housing.
However, each of these items was old and well-known and it was old and well-known to house each in a housing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide a housing; the printed circuit board housed by the housing; the network interface for wireless communication housed by the housing; a speaker housed by the housing; and one or more touch sensors housed by the housing.
The motivation would have been to protect B’s device by encasing in the housing, to include a speaker for audio feedback (for example, to produce a tone when operational), and to provide a touch sensor for controlling (touch sensors are one of many different kinds of control interfaces that may by simply substituted to allow for control, with predictable results).
15: B teaches that the decoupling structure comprises a center post and two arms coplanar with the printed circuit board (as shown, 3 is T-shaped).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9-13, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845