DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Both of claims 2 and 6 recite "...a total weight of the 3D printing photo-curing composition...". This language renders the claim indefinite because it suggests that there could be greater than one total weight of the 3D printing photo-curing composition, raising the question of whether the entire amount of each substance that is present is included in calculating the ratio. Amending the claim to recite "the total weight of the 3D printing photo-curing composition " would obviate the rejection. This will not raise concerns over antecedent basis because any composition of matter inherently has a total weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiach (WO2023/073711; publication date: 05/04/2023).
With regard to claim 1, Mashiach discloses a curable composition comprising collagen having a plurality of photocurable groups (i.e. a photocrosslinkable hydrogel forming material) and a photoinitiator (abstract). The composition may further comprise nanoclay (page 21) and contains a photo absorbing dye (i.e. a photoresist; see e.g. page 62-63). Mashiach teaches in some of any of the embodiments described herein the conjugate-containing curable formulation further comprises a gel-forming agent. The hydrogel forming agents may be GelMA (page 41) or HA methacrylate (i.e. photocrosslinkable hydrogels; page 38). The compositions are used for 3D printing (page 1). The photoabsorber or photoblocker of Mashiach’s invention includes the same substances as the instant invention, e.g. Sudan I (page 63). Thus, Mashiach teaches compositions comprising nanoclay, photocrosslinking hydrogel, a photoinitiator, and a photoresist. In the closest example Mashiach discloses a composition comprising rhCollagen functionalized with methacrylic acid, the photoinitiator, LAP, and minocycline as a photoabsorber (i.e. photoresist). The closest example composition does not contain a nanoclay. The claims are considered prima facie obvious because although Mashiach does not disclose a single example composition containing all four substances, in practicing the full scope of the invention, one having ordinary skill would simply add a nanoclay, as needed, to the compositions comprising the photocrosslinking hydrogel, a photoinitiator, and a photoresist, according to the teaching of Mashiach. With regard to the preamble of claim 1, Mashiach teaches that the object formed is implantable and may be an artificial tissue, including bone tissue (page 60). As such, the examiner considers the composition taught by Mashiach to be suitable for 3D printing photocuring skull repair.
With regard to claim 2, Mashiach teaches a range of from 0.01 to 5% for the dye substance (i.e. the photoresist; page 64); 0.1 to 10 % of the photoinitiator (page 47); at least 2 mg/mL of the photocrosslinkable collagen (pages 36-36). These ranges overlap with the ranges required by the instant claims, see MPEP 2144.05(I). Mashiach does not particularly limit the amount of nanoclay in the composition, and describes the nanoclay as becoming a hardened material. The examiner considers it a matter of routine testing for one of ordinary skill, e.g. an individual with a Ph.D. in biomedical materials engineering, to test the quantity of nanoclay to provide the requisite hardness for any given application (see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
With regard to claims 3 and 11, the curable material may be GelMA (page 41) or HA methacrylate (page 38).
With regard to claim 4, the composition may contain hydroxyapatite sized sufficiently as not to block the printer nozzles. This disclosure in addition to teaching nanoclay in general renders obvious including hydroxyapatite nanoclay in the composition as it would have been obvious to optimize the size of the particles and nanoclay is taught as suitable.
With regard to claim 7, Mashiach discloses benzoin alkyl ethers (page 46).
With regard to claim 8, as noted above, Mashiach discloses Sudan I (page 63).
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Mashiach discloses adding vascular endothelial growth factor (i.e. VEGF, a chemokine per the instant invention; page 43).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiach (WO2023/073711; publication date: 05/04/2023) as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR 101935381; publication date: 01/04/2019; citing the English abstract).
The relevant disclosure of Mashiach is set forth above. As noted in the rejection supra, Mashiach teaches forming bone tissue from the photocrosslinkable composition; however, Mashiach does not disclose adding a green tea polyphenol to the composition.
Park teaches that adding the tea polyphenol epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG) to bone grafts can reduce the occurrence of infection that may occur during bone grafting (abstract).
With regard to claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to add EGCG to the composition taught by Mashiach. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the chance of infection and had reasonable expectation of success because this would merely require including the EGCG in the 3D printed composition, which is processed under mild conditions (e.g. room temperature for the printing process, see e.g. Mashiach, page 2).
With regard to claim 6, it would have been obvious to optimize the quantity of EGCG to obtain reduced risk of infection, as taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18811750 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the instant claims.
Inter alia the claims of the ‘750 application embrace a method of 3D printing a skull flap using a composition suitable to do so that comprises a photocrosslinking hydrogel, a nanoclay, an photoinitiator, and a photoresist in amounts overlapping with those required by the instant claims; wherein the hydrogel can be GelMA, HAMA, or AlgMA; and the nanoclay can be hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, or lithium magnesium silicate; the composition further comprises a chemokine that may be CNTF, VEGF, or BMP-2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 5 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18811750 (reference application) as applied to claims 1-4 and 9-11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR 101935381; publication date: 01/04/2019; citing the English abstract).
The relevant limitations of the ‘750 application are set forth above. As noted in the rejection supra, the claims are directed to a method of forming bone tissue from the photocrosslinkable composition; however, the claims do not recite any limitation regarding green tea polyphenol in the composition.
Park teaches that adding the green tea polyphenol epigallocatechin gallate (EGCG) to bone grafts can reduce the occurrence of infection that may occur during bone grafting (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to add EGCG to the composition embraced by the ‘750 claims. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the chance of infection and had reasonable expectation of success because this would merely require including the EGCG in the 3D printed composition. With regard to claim 6, it would have been obvious to optimize the quantity of EGCG to obtain reduced risk of infection, as taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claims 7 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18811750 (reference application) as applied to claims 1-4 and 9-11 above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR 101935381; publication date: 01/04/2019; citing the English abstract).
The relevant limitations of the ‘750 application are set forth above. As noted in the rejection supra, the claims are directed to a method of forming bone tissue from the photocrosslinkable composition comprising a photoinitiator and a photoresist; however, the claims do not recite any limitation regarding the specific substances serving these purposes.
Mashiach, in the analogous art of photocrosslinkable hydrogel artificial tissue replacement teaches that alkyl ethers (page 46) and Sudan I (page 63) were a recognized photoinitiator and a known photoabsorbing dye (i.e. photoresist) as of the instant effective filing date. It would have been prima facie obvious to use these substances for the purposes they were known for in the art because one having ordinary skill would have recognized them a suitable (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617