DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 10/15/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200045568 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20180175490 A1).
Consider claim 1, Kwon discloses an apparatus for testing a connected vehicle's communication distance (read as analysis system 100 having data collector 110 implemented as test box 150, which generates a radio signal for testing V2X communication system 10 attached to a vehicle, while client 130 uses a location calculator to calculate the distance between communicating vehicles, figures 1, 10 and 15, par [0085], [0088], [0152]-[0153] and [0212]), comprising:
a first antenna (3) (read as test box 150 having antennas, including the antenna through which V2X communication module 151 transmits a radio signal containing a vehicle communication packet message, figure 10, par [0154]-[0155]);
a signal transceiver (4), wherein the signal transceiver (4) is connected to the first antenna (3) and is configured to send signals to a tested vehicle and/or receive signals sent by the tested vehicle (read as communication subsystem of test box 150 (the signal transceiver), including V2X communication module 151 and wireless communication module 153, while separately identifying the text box antennas; V2X communication module 151 transmits a vehicle communication packet signal through the antenna and the signal is received by V2X communication system 10 attached to vehicle (the tested vehicle), figure 10, par [0088], [0154]-[0155] and [0159]);
an upper computer (5), wherein the upper computer (5) is connected to an output terminal of the signal transceiver (4) (read as wireless communication module 153 within the test box communication subsystem, which collected test data to server 120; the server 120’s output data generator transfers the data to client 130 (the upper computer), which receives the data through data acquisition unit 132; thus, the client 130 is connected through the data path to wireless communication module 153, which corresponds to the output terminal of the signal transceiver, figures 10, 11 and 15, par [0154], [0161], [0167] and [0207]-[0208]), data analysis software is installed on the upper computer (5) (read as client 130 receiving program codes for analysis and performing filter, preprocessing, test data tracking, packet error calculation and distance calculation, figure 15, par [0184], [0207], [0211]-[0212] and [0412]), and
the data analysis software is used for recording a test distance and a number of data packets (read as client 130 storing vehicle location information and radio signal data in database 131, calculating and updating the distance between vehicles (the test distance), and displaying that distance with the number of packets transmitted and received (# of TX/RX), which all together corresponds to recording the test distance and number of data packets, Table 2, figures 15 and 20-21, par [0208], [0244], [0251]-[0252] and [0308]) and calculating a packet loss rate (read as client 130 mapping each transmitted TX data packet to corresponding RX data and calculating packet error rate (PER) from the mapping, figure 35 identifies PER through the relationship 1-PDR, where PDR is the packet delivery rate, so the calculation determines the rate of transmitted packets not delivered and reasonably corresponds to calculating a packet loss rate, figures 18 and 35, par [0229]-[0230]).
However, Kwon discloses the claimed invention above and antenna (par [0154]-[0155]) but does not specifically disclose a support member (1); a first antenna (3) arranged on the support member (1).
Nonetheless, Meng discloses vehicle roof mounted antenna system, comprising base plate 210 (the support member) having mounting hole 211, which fixes an antenna under test to the base plate (the first antenna arranged on the support member), figure 2A, par [0033]-[0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Meng into the teachings of Kwon, to configure the antenna of Kwon’s test box communication system using Meng’s base plate 210 and mounting hole 211, in order to fix the V2X antenna at a defined test position and provide conductive ground plane used by antennas mounted on vehicle roof to operate properly during testing (see par [0025] and [0034] of Meng).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200045568 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20180175490 A1), in further view of Chen (CN 112526224 A), and in further view of Regala (US 20060097953 A1).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Kwon, as modified by Meng, discloses the claimed invention above and antenna (par [0154]-[0155] of Kwon) on a plate ([0033]-[0034] of Meng) (see claim 1 above) but does not specifically disclose wherein a plate (2) is arranged at the top of the support member (1), and the first antenna (3) is arranged at the top of the plate (2), and the plate (2) is used for simulating a vehicle shell.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses vehicle-mounted V2X communication antenna system, comprising a wood table selected according to vehicle roof height (i.e. support member), an aluminum plate placed on the wood table and a vehicle mounted antenna placed in the center of the plate; the table and the plate are defined as the measured piece in a single body simulation whole vehicle environment and compares the resulting antenna performance with actual whole vehicle, figure 7, par [0106]-[0107] and [0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng, to configure Kwon’s V2X antenna system using Chen’s vehicle-mounted V2X communication antenna system, in order to account for vehicle body effects on antenna performance during vehicle communication test (see par [0106]-[0107] and [0115] of Chen). However, Kwong, as modified by Meng and Chen, discloses the claimed invention above and the plate as aluminum plate but does not specifically disclose the plate as iron plate.
Nonetheless, Regala discloses vehicle surface antenna system, comprising metallic base plate or ground plane 104 supporting an antenna structure and identifies iron as a suitable conductive material for the plate, figures 1 and 5, par [0032] and [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Regala into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng and Chen, to configure the conductive antenna test plate using Regala’s iron ground plane material, in order to use iron plate instead of aluminum plate since iron plate provides higher structure strength and lower cost.
Claims 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200045568 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20180175490 A1), in further view of Han (CN 111741446 A).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Kwon, as modified by Meng, discloses a method for testing a connected vehicle's communication distance, adopting the apparatus for testing a connected vehicle's communication distance according to claim 1 (read as analysis system 100 performing analysis method for testing V2X communication system 10 attached to vehicle, using data controller 110 implemented as text box 150, figures 1-2 and 10, par [0085], [0088] and [0152]-[0153]), and comprising the following steps:
S100: selecting a test scene (read as selecting a test ID, radio signal, communication mode, channel, antenna and parameters and selecting region of interest as an area on a map showing the moving path of communication vehicles for testing, figure 9, par [0143]-[0145] and [0268]-[0269]);
S200: according to the test scene, powering on the testing apparatus and verifying that the testing apparatus works normally (read as Logger UI region 830 verifying each data collector plug-in’s connection and operation state and confirming transmission, the PKT_STAT and VPSTAT exchange for confirming normal operation, figures 8-9, par [0144], [0146] and [0148]-[0149]);
S300: tracking a tested vehicle in the test site (read as read-time tracking of each vehicle participating in the test by displaying its present location and moving path on the test map, par [0217] ;
S400: performing interconnection debugging between the tested vehicle and the testing apparatus (read as setting and confirming the external plug-in connection, transmitting PKT_SETUP and VPCONF configuration parameters, exchanging PKT_STAT and VPSTAT operation state packets, and initiating transfer of PKT_TX, PKT_RX and GPS packet data with PKT_START, figures 8-9, par [0146]-[0150]); and
S500: testing a communication distance of the tested vehicle in receiving and/or sending modes in the test scene (read as selecting TX MODE or RX MODE, using test box 150 antennas for transmitting and receiving radio signal and operating V2X communication module 151 as V2X communication system 10; mapping corresponding transmitted and received packets, calculating PDR or PER, and calculating and updating the distance between the first and second vehicles, figures 9 and 20-21, par [0152]-[0159] and [0244]-[0252]).
However, Kwon as modified Meng, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose S100: selecting a test scene, and selecting a test site according to the test scene; S200: according to the test scene, placing the testing apparatus in the test site, powering on the testing apparatus, and verifying that the testing apparatus works normally; S300: placing a tested vehicle in the test site; S500: testing the maximum communication distance in the test scene.
Nonetheless, Han discloses building test systems on different test road sections corresponding to different test scenes, powering the roadside nodes, binding each node to its road section and test scene and selecting the communication environment test scene; places the OBU device under test in the field on a vehicle, permits it to operate as a sending or receiving node and determines its communication range from the known positions of roadside nodes receiving its packets at different distances; in the tested vehicle’s sending mode, the outermost successful receiving node position would correspond to the maximum tested communication distance in the selected scene, figures 1-2, par [0044], [0142] and [0154].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Han into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng, to configure Kwon’s test box as a receiving node in Han’s selected road section and use Kwon’s client to analyze the resulting packet and position data, in order to determine the tested vehicle’s outer communication reach under the selected road condition (see par [0044], [0142] and [0154] of Han).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Kwon, as modified by Meng and Han, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the test scene comprises a straight road scene, a straight road scene with a block, an intersection scene, and an intersection scene with a block.
Nonetheless, Han further discloses different road scene test combinations, comprising a highway straight road without roadside buildings and having light-of-sight (LOS) propagation (the straight road scene), a rural straight road having a low building that causes Non-light-of-sight (NLOS) propagation (the straight road scene with a block), and an urban road intersection scene (the intersection scene); and further discloses that NLOS loss should be considered at intersection, models a road surrounded by glass buildings and directs that road environment and environmental factors be combined into field test cases, suggesting an intersection scene having a building that blocks the communication path (the intersection with block), Tables 5-7, par [0071], [0073]-[0080], [0085]-[0090] and [0096].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Han into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng and Han, to configure Kwon’s test method using Han’s different road scene test combinations, in order to compare communication distance under open or obstructed propagation for each road geometry (see par [0085]-[0090] and [0095] of Han).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20200045568 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20180175490 A1), in further view of Han (CN 111741446 A), in further view of Chen (CN 112526224 A), and in further view of Regala (US 20060097953 A1).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 3 above, Kwon, as modified by Meng and Han, discloses the claimed invention above and antenna (par [0154]-[0155] of Kwon) on a plate ([0033]-[0034] of Meng) (see claim 1 above) but does not specifically disclose wherein a plate (2) is arranged at the top of the support member (1), and the first antenna (3) is arranged at the top of the plate (2), and the plate (2) is used for simulating a vehicle shell.
Nonetheless, Chen discloses vehicle-mounted V2X communication antenna system, comprising a wood table selected according to vehicle roof height (i.e. support member), an aluminum plate placed on the wood table and a vehicle mounted antenna placed in the center of the plate; the table and the plate are defined as the measured piece in a single body simulation whole vehicle environment and compares the resulting antenna performance with actual whole vehicle, figure 7, par [0106]-[0107] and [0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng and Han, to configure Kwon’s V2X antenna system using Chen’s vehicle-mounted V2X communication antenna system, in order to account for vehicle body effects on antenna performance during vehicle communication test (see par [0106]-[0107] and [0115] of Chen). However, Kwong, as modified by Meng, Han and Chen, discloses the claimed invention above and the plate as aluminum plate but does not specifically disclose the plate as iron plate.
Nonetheless, Regala discloses vehicle surface antenna system, comprising metallic base plate or ground plane 104 supporting an antenna structure and identifies iron as a suitable conductive material for the plate, figures 1 and 5, par [0032] and [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Regala into the teachings of Kwon, which modified by Meng, Han and Chen, to configure the conductive antenna test plate using Regala’s iron ground plane material, in order to use iron plate instead of aluminum plate since iron plate provides higher structure strength and lower cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645