Double Patenting
A) Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 11-14 and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,434 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 1-10 in present application are covered by claims 1-2, 11-14 and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,434 B2.
Please see table below:
Pending application 18/916543
U.S. Patent No. 12,137,434 B2
1. A paging method, comprising: receiving a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message, wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space, wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information; and determining the paging message in the PO.
1. A paging method, comprising: receiving a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO) of a terminal device, wherein the PO is located in a first half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message, wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a common control resource set, and wherein a period of the system message 1 is 5 ms, wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or a second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information; and determining the paging message in the PO.
6. A paging method, comprising: generating a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message, wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space, wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information; and sending the paging frame.
2. A paging method, comprising: generating a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO), wherein the PO is located in a first half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message, wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a common control resource set, and wherein a period of the system message 1 is 5 ms, wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or a second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information; and sending the paging frame.
2. The paging method of claim 1, wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI.
11. The paging method of claim 1, wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI.
3. The paging method of claim 1, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
12. The paging method of claim 1, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
4. (Original) The paging method of claim 1, wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
13. The paging method of claim 1, wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
5. The paging method of claim 1, wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
14. The paging method of claim 1, wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
7. The paging method of claim 6, wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI.
16. The paging method of claim 2, wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI.
8. The paging method of claim 6, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
17. The paging method of claim 2, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
9. The paging method of claim 6, wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
18. The paging method of claim 2, wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
10. The paging method of claim 6, wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
19. The paging method of claim 2, wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
The claims of instant application encompass the same subject matter. Therefore, the instant application claims 1-10 are anticipated by the claims 1-2, 11-14 and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,434 B2 because it is readily known by one of ordinary skill in the art as a routine skill to interchangeably use the terms as mentioned above in the communication network. To the extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to the claimed invention of claims 1-2, 11-14 and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,434 B2, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if claims has been previously been claimed in a patent or co-pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGIWAL (US 2019/0306827 A1) in view of ZHOU (US 2018/0324727 A1).
As per claim 1, AGIWAL teaches a paging method, comprising: receiving a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO) (¶0126, receiving a paging frame contain one or multiple PO(s)), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message (¶0135-136 and ¶0142, PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of determined reference frame (or paging frame) and comprises a paging message), wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information (¶0086-87 and ¶0135-136, whether PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of the paging frame is indicated by a bit indication of paging message or paging downlink control information (DCI)); and determining the paging message in the PO (¶0118 and ¶0142, determining the paging message in the PO). However, AGIWAL does not explicitly teach wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHOU teaches wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space (¶0049, the common control channel is called CCRS. When common control information, such as system information (i.e. system message 1) or a paging message, needs to be transmitted, CCRS may be used to carry Common Search Space (CSS), therefore same search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL’s invention in order to transmit common control information using beam sweeping with relatively low communication resource consumption.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, AGIWAL further teaches wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI (¶0082, one bit of a reserved field in the paging DCI).
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, AGIWAL further teaches, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (¶0019-20, a bit indication of paging message or paging DCI related to DRX cycle).
As per claim 6, AGIWAL teaches a paging method, comprising: generating a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO) (¶0126, deriving or generating a paging frame contain one or multiple PO(s)), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message (¶0135-136 and ¶0142, PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of determined reference frame (or paging frame) and comprises a paging message), wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information (¶0086-87 and ¶0135-136, whether PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of the paging frame is indicated by a bit indication of paging message or paging downlink control information (DCI)); and sending the paging frame (¶0096, transmitting or sending the paging frame).
However, AGIWAL does not explicitly teach wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHOU teaches wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space (¶0049, the common control channel is called CCRS. When common control information, such as system information (i.e. system message 1) or a paging message, needs to be transmitted, CCRS may be used to carry Common Search Space (CSS), therefore same search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL’s invention in order to transmit common control information using beam sweeping with relatively low communication resource consumption.
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 6 above, AGIWAL further teaches wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI (¶0082, one bit of a reserved field in the paging DCI).
As per claim 8 as applied to claim 6 above, AGIWAL further teaches, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (¶0019-20, a bit indication of paging message or paging DCI related to DRX cycle).
As per claim 11, AGIWAL teaches a communications apparatus (Fig.15, terminal or communication apparatus), comprising: a receiver (Fig.15, transceiver); at least one processor (Fig.15, processor); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communications apparatus to: receive, by using the receiver, a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO) (¶0126, receiving a paging frame contain one or multiple PO(s)), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message (¶0135-136 and ¶0142, PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of determined reference frame (or paging frame) and comprises a paging message), wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information (¶0086-87 and ¶0135-136, whether PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of the paging frame is indicated by a bit indication of paging message or paging downlink control information (DCI)); and determining the paging message in the PO (¶0118 and ¶0142, determining the paging message in the PO). However, AGIWAL does not explicitly teach wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHOU teaches wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space (¶0049, the common control channel is called CCRS. When common control information, such as system information (i.e. system message 1) or a paging message, needs to be transmitted, CCRS may be used to carry Common Search Space (CSS), therefore same search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL’s invention in order to transmit common control information using beam sweeping with relatively low communication resource consumption.
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 11 above, AGIWAL further teaches wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI (¶0082, one bit of a reserved field in the paging DCI).
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 11 above, AGIWAL further teaches, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (¶0019-20, a bit indication of paging message or paging DCI related to DRX cycle).
As per claim 16, AGIWAL teaches a communications apparatus (Fig.15, terminal or communication apparatus), comprising: a transmitter (Fig.15, transceiver); at least one processor (Fig.15, processor); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communications apparatus to: generate, a paging frame, wherein the paging frame comprises a paging occasion (PO) (¶0126, deriving or generating a paging frame contain one or multiple PO(s)), wherein the PO is located in a first half or a second half of the paging frame and the PO comprises a paging message (¶0135-136 and ¶0142, PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of determined reference frame (or paging frame) and comprises a paging message), wherein whether the PO is located in the first half of the paging frame or the second half of the paging frame is indicated by a bit in paging indication information (¶0086-87 and ¶0135-136, whether PO is set to 1st half frame or 2nd half frame of the paging frame is indicated by a bit indication of paging message or paging downlink control information (DCI)); and send, by using the transmitter, the paging frame (¶0096, transmitting or sending the paging frame). However, AGIWAL does not explicitly teach wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHOU teaches wherein the paging message and a system message 1 have a same search space (¶0049, the common control channel is called CCRS. When common control information, such as system information (i.e. system message 1) or a paging message, needs to be transmitted, CCRS may be used to carry Common Search Space (CSS), therefore same search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL’s invention in order to transmit common control information using beam sweeping with relatively low communication resource consumption.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 16 above, AGIWAL further teaches wherein the paging indication information comprises at least one of the following bits: at least one bit of valid bits of a short message field in downlink control information (DCI), at least one bit of remaining bits of the short message field in the DCI, or at least one bit of a reserved field in the DCI (¶0082, one bit of a reserved field in the paging DCI).
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 16 above, AGIWAL further teaches, wherein a quantity of bits of the paging indication information is related to at least one of the following: a quantity of paging occasions (POs) or a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (¶0019-20, a bit indication of paging message or paging DCI related to DRX cycle).
B) Claims 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGIWAL (US 2019/0306827 A1) in view of ZHOU (US 2018/0324727 A1) and further in view of FU (US 2020/0022105 A1).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device (¶0072 and ¶0062, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or issued by the base station (i.e. network device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI (¶0072, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or the UE can obtain by receiving high-layer signaling configuration, or the UE can obtain by MME configuration, or the UE can obtain by system information (i.e. SI) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 6 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device (¶0072 and ¶0062, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or issued by the base station (i.e. network device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 6 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI (¶0072, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or the UE can obtain by receiving high-layer signaling configuration, or the UE can obtain by MME configuration, or the UE can obtain by system information (i.e. SI) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 11 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device (¶0072 and ¶0062, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or issued by the base station (i.e. network device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 15 as applied to claim 11 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI (¶0072, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or the UE can obtain by receiving high-layer signaling configuration, or the UE can obtain by MME configuration, or the UE can obtain by system information (i.e. SI) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 16 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is preset or configured by a network device (¶0072 and ¶0062, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or issued by the base station (i.e. network device)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 16 above, AGIWAL in view of ZHOU does not explicitly teach wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI.
In the same field of endeavor, FU teaches wherein a length of the paging indication information is configured by at least one of system information (SI), a master information block (MIB), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), a system information block 1, other system information (OSI), radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control-control element (MAC CE), or DCI (¶0072, length of the paging information indication can be pre-configured by a protocol or the UE can obtain by receiving high-layer signaling configuration, or the UE can obtain by MME configuration, or the UE can obtain by system information (i.e. SI) indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify AGIWAL and ZHOU’s invention in order to efficiently receiving the paging information for purpose of saving the system resources and power consumption of the UE.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643