DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/15/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
As to claim 14, this claim is drawn to “The computer implemented method”. The Specification is silent with the definition of term "Computer implemented method". In plain meaning, computer implementing method can be considered as a software performing the method. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation encompasses that the computer implemented method can be software. The examiner’s suggestion is a computer program/code/set of instructions in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by GUO et al. (hereinafter, “GUO”; WO2023036081). (For citation purpose, examiner has used English version of WO2023036081.The publication date of WO2023036081 is Mar/16/2023, therefore; it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102(a) (2)).
In response to claims 1 and 14,
GUO teaches a station (STA) in a wireless network, the STA comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to (paragraph 225, Host 1 is equated to a wireless station (STA), paragraphs 636 and 640 together teach this limitation):
receive, from an origin STA, a first discovery frame that includes one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission (paragraph 224, host is equated to an original STA, broadcasting an ARP message by the host is interpreted as receiving from a STA, ARP request message is equated to a first discovery frame, target IP address is equated to one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission);
generate a second discovery frame that includes the one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission based on the first discovery frame and appends additional information (paragraph 225, an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, sending an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address to a router is read as generating a second discovery frame, MAC address is equated to one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission based on the first discovery frame and appends additional information),
wherein the additional information includes an indication that the one or more attributes are associated with the origin STA and that the one or more attributes are being transmitted by proxy transmission (paragraph 225, the MAC address (192.168.20.20) teaches it includes an indication that the one or more attributes are associated with the origin STA or host 1 address (192.168.20), router is equated to a proxy, reply to host 1 by a router explicitly teaches the one or more attributes are being transmitted by proxy transmission), and wherein the additional information includes address information for the origin STA (the origin STA or host 1 address (192.168.20) is equated to address information for the origin STA); and
transmit, to one or more other STAs, the second discovery frame (paragraph 225, sending an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address to a router explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claims 2 and 15,
GUO teaches wherein the second discovery frame includes one or more attributes associated with a different origin STA and address information of the different origin STA associated with the one or more attributes (paragraph 225, an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, using the MAC address is read as using one or more attributes associated with a different origin STA and address information of the different origin STA associated with the one or more attributes).
In response to claims 3 and 16,
GUO teaches wherein the second discovery frame includes one or more different origin STAs, associated address information for each of the one or more different origin STAs, and one or more indices each associated with a respective one of the one or more different origin STAs (paragraph 225, an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, using the MAC address is read as using one or more different origin STAs, associated address information for each of the one or more different origin STAs, and one or more indices each associated with a respective one of the one or more different origin STAs).
In response to claims 6 and 19,
GUO teaches wherein the processor is further configured to repeatedly transmit, to the one or more STAs, the second discovery frame (paragraph 225, using a broadcasting procedure is interpreted to teach this limitation).
In response to claims 7, 13 and 20,
GUO teaches wherein an attribute in the one or more attributes is associated with a service that the origin STA offers to the one or more other STAs or a service that the origin STA seeks from the one or more other STAs (paragraph 225, sending a MAC address to a router in order to find information about host 2 explicitly teaches an attribute in the one or more attributes is associated with a service that the origin STA offers a service that the origin STA seeks from the one or more other STAs).
In response to claim 8,
GUO teaches a station (STA) in a wireless network, the STA comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to (paragraph 180, AP is equated to a STA, paragraph 225, paragraphs 636 and 640 together teach this limitation):
receive, from a proxy STA, a first discovery frame that includes one or more attributes and additional information (paragraph 225, Host 1 is also equated to a proxy, broadcasting an ARP message by the host is interpreted as the proxy receives from a proxy a first discovery frame, ARP request message is equated to a first discovery frame, MAC address is equated to one or more attributes and additional information),
wherein the additional information includes an indication that the one or more attributes are associated with an origin STA and that the one or more attributes are being transmitted by proxy transmission (paragraph 225, Host 1 is also equated to an original STA, the MAC address (192.168.20.20) teaches it includes an indication that the one or more attributes are associated with the origin STA or host 1 address (192.168.20),using a proxy ARP as described in this paragraph is read as using one or more attributes are being transmitted by proxy transmission), and
wherein the additional information includes address information for the origin STA (paragraph 225, the MAC address (192.168.20.20) teaches it includes an address information for the origin STA origin STA or host 1 address (192.168.20),); and
obtain, from the additional information, the address information of the origin STA and the one or more attributes associated with the origin STA based on the first discovery frame (paragraph 225, host 1 address (192.168.20.66/24) is equated to one or more attributes associated with the origin STA based on the first discovery frame, sending an ARP protocol request by the host 1 to a router explicitly teaches this limitation); and
transmit, to the origin STA, a second frame using the address information (paragraph 225, sending a reply by the router explicitly teaches this limitation ).
In response to claim 9,
GUO teaches wherein the first discovery frame includes one or more attributes associated with a different origin STA and address information of the different origin STA associated with the one or more attributes (paragraph 225, router is also equated to different origin STA, using MAC address with the ARP request is read as using one or more attributes associated with a different origin STA and address information of the different origin STA associated with the one or more attributes).
In response to claim 10,
GUO teaches wherein the additional information includes one or more different origin STAs, associated address information for each of the one or more different origin STAs, and one or more indices each associated with a respective one of the one or more different origin STAs (paragraph 225, paragraph 225, router is also equated to different origin STA, using MAC address with the ARP request is read as using one or more different origin STAs, associated address information for each of the one or more different origin STAs, one or more indices each associated with a respective one of the one or more different origin STAs).
In response to claim 11,
GUO teaches wherein the first discovery frame has a unique service identifier that is used to identify the first discovery frame as having additional information (paragraph 225, ARP request is equated to first discovery frame, MAC address is equated to a unique identifier that is used to identify the first discovery frame as having additional information).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claims 4 and 17, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the second discovery frame has a unique service identifier that is used to identify the second discovery frame as having proxied attributes.”
The closet prior art in the record GUO et al.’s (WO2023036081) teaching paragraph 225 about using an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, sending an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address to a router is read as generating a second discovery frame, MAC address is equated to one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission based on the first discovery frame and appends additional information. He fails to teach the cited limitation.
As for claims 5 and18, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the second discovery frame includes an attribute that stores the additional information including the indication that the one or more attributes are associated with the origin STA and the address information for the origin STA.”
The closet prior art in the record GUO et al.’s (WO2023036081) teaching paragraph 225 about using an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, sending an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address to a router is read as generating a second discovery frame, MAC address is equated to one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission based on the first discovery frame and appends additional information. He fails to teach the cited limitation.
As for claim 12, this claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the first discovery frame includes an attribute that stores the additional information including the indication that the one or more attributes are associated with the origin STA and the address information for the origin STA.”
The closet prior art in the record GUO et al.’s (WO2023036081) teaching paragraph 225 about using an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address is equated to a second discovery frame, sending an ARP request broadcast message with a MAC address to a router is read as generating a second discovery frame, MAC address is equated to one or more attributes intended for proxied transmission based on the first discovery frame and appends additional information. He fails to teach the cited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20210226912……………….paragraphs 44-50 and 52.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466