DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action for application Serial No. 18/916,557 filed on 10/15/2024. Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: "A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session;
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics;
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics."
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Intended Use: The claim contains the following language that is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the scope of this language is intended to affirmatively require specific performance or whether this language is deliberately articulated as an expression of intended use:
“the one or more programs including instructions for: … receiving … displaying … receiving … displaying … displaying …"
Accordingly, this language does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference. See In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641; In re Yanush, 177 USPQ 705; In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530; In re Casey, 512 USPQ 235; In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458; Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2nd 1647.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session;
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics;
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics."
Claims 2-8 are further rejected as depending on this claim.
Claim 2 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the first user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality;
the first workout metrics user interface is a default workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality; and
the one or more programs further including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics configuration user interface corresponding to the first workout modality, including concurrently displaying:
a first selectable option that is selectable to selectively disable the second workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality; and
a second selectable option that is selectable to selectively disable the third workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality, without displaying a selectable option to selectively disable the first workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the first user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality;
the first workout metrics user interface is a default workout metrics user interface of the first workout modality; and
the one or more programs further including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics configuration user interface corresponding to the first workout modality, including concurrently displaying:
a first selectable option that is selectable [intended to selectively disable the second workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality]; and
a second selectable option that is selectable [intended to selectively disable the third workout metrics user interface [intended for the first workout modality]], without displaying a selectable option [intended to selectively disable the first workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality]."
Claim 3 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third user input corresponding to a user request to begin a second workout session; and
in response to receiving the third user input:
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, the first workout metrics user interface that includes the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a second workout modality different from the first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, a fourth workout metrics user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, that includes a fourth set of workout metrics different from the first set of workout metrics."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third user input corresponding to a user request to begin a second workout session; and
in response to receiving the third user input:
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, the first workout metrics user interface that includes the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a second workout modality different from the first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, a fourth workout metrics user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, that includes a fourth set of workout metrics different from the first set of workout metrics."
Claim 5 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fourth user input; and
in response to receiving the fourth user input:
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes rotation of a rotatable input mechanism in a first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface; and
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes a touch input that includes movement in a second direction different from the first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, an in-workout user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, the second workout metrics user interface, and the third workout metrics user interface."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fourth user input; and
in response to receiving the fourth user input:
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes rotation of a rotatable input mechanism in a first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface; and
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes a touch input that includes movement in a second direction different from the first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, an in-workout user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, the second workout metrics user interface, and the third workout metrics user interface."
Claim 6 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the user request to begin the workout session comprises a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout type;
displaying the first workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first set of workout metrics;
an icon associated with the first workout type; and
an elapsed workout time for the workout session;
displaying the second workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the second set of workout metrics;
the icon associated with the first workout type; and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session; and
displaying the third workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the third set of workout metrics;
the icon associated with the first workout type; and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the user request to begin the workout session comprises a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout type;
displaying the first workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first set of workout metrics;
an icon associated with the first workout type; and
an elapsed workout time [intended for the workout session];
displaying the second workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the second set of workout metrics;
the icon associated with the first workout type; and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session; and
displaying the third workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the third set of workout metrics;
the icon associated with the first workout type; and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session."
Claim 7 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sixth user input corresponding to a request to enable the second workout metrics user interface for a second workout modality; and
in response to receiving the sixth user input, enabling the second workout metrics user interface for the second workout modality, including enabling the second workout metrics user interface for:
a first workout type corresponding to the second workout modality; and
a second workout type corresponding to the second workout modality different from the first workout type."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, the one or more programs further including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sixth user input corresponding to a request to enable the second workout metrics user interface of a second workout modality; and
in response to receiving the sixth user input, enabling the second workout metrics user interface of the second workout modality, including enabling the second workout metrics user interface for:
a first workout type corresponding to the second workout modality; and
a second workout type corresponding to the second workout modality different from the first workout type."
Claim 8 recites: "The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the second workout metrics user interface includes:
a representation of a first physical activity metric; and
a representation of a second physical activity metric, wherein:
the representation of the first physical activity metric and the representation of the second physical activity metric correspond to a predetermined amount of time that includes a period of time preceding a current workout session;
the representation of the first physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a first goal value for the first physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time; and
the representation of the second physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a second goal value for the second physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The computer system of claim 1, wherein:
the second workout metrics user interface includes:
a representation of a first physical activity metric; and
a representation of a second physical activity metric, wherein:
the representation of the first physical activity metric and the representation of the second physical activity metric correspond to a predetermined amount of time that includes a period of time preceding a current workout session;
the representation of the first physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a first goal value [intended for the first physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time]; and
the representation of the second physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a second goal value [intended for the second physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time]."
Claim 9 recites: "A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session;
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics;
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session;
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics;
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input; and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-10 are directed to the abstract idea of an idea of itself and/or certain methods of organizing human activities as explained in detail below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. Independent claims 1 and 9-10 recite a computing system for communicating with a display and input devices (and corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium and method) comprising memory and processors performing operations including, receiving user input, in response to receiving user input, displaying a workout user interface, while displaying the user interface, receiving a second user input, in response to receiving the second user input, displaying a second workout user interface if the second workout user interface has been enabled or displaying a third workout user interface if the second workout user interface has not been enabled. These steps relate to an idea of itself and/or certain methods of organizing human activities which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts such as “collecting information (e.g. receiving first and second user input), analyzing it (e.g. determining if a user interface has been enabled), and “displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (e.g. displaying a first workout user interface, second workout user interface, and/or third workout user interface)," as described in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstrom S.A. 830 F. 3d 1350. As such, the description in claims 1-20 of collecting, analyzing, and displaying information is an abstract idea (Note: The fact that the recited claims does not expressly display information is not determinative to whether the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Rather, the abstract idea is identified in the step of analyzing information. If the claim as a whole, is limited to, “collecting, analyzing, and displaying information,” without “significantly more” the claim is an abstract idea as held by the Federal Circuit in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstrom S.A. 830 F. 3d 1350).
Moreover, the specification does not provide any particulars of the claim elements that would alter the claims from being interpreted as directed to an abstraction of “collecting information (e.g. receiving first and second user input), analyzing it (e.g. determining if a user interface has been enabled), and “displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (e.g. displaying a first workout user interface, second workout user interface, and/or third workout user interface)," As such, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims and their dependent claims recite the additional limitations of one or more processors, memory, display generation component, and input devices. These claim elements, however, are recited at such a high level of generality and is recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. See also e.g. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1320 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (explaining that generic computer components such as a communications network, including an email server, telephone network, telephone unit and general purpose computers performing generic computer functions do not satisfy the inventive concept requirement, but is merely routine and conventional and that implementation of the abstract idea does not improve the functioning of the computer itself). See also e.g. at least Alice Corp v. CLS Bank, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2359 (describing that the use of a computer to obtain data, adjust account balances, and issue automated instructions, is well understood, routine and conventional).
The use of generic computer components to store, process and transmit information through an unspecified interface does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of the recited elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claims 2-8 are dependent on claim 1 and elaborate on the same abstract idea of the independent claims without adding significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 2-8 recite the same abstract idea of “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 2017/0007882 A1) in view of Williams (US 2018/0329584 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Werner discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1-3, and related text), comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. at least CPU 60, see e.g. at least Fig. 2A, and related text); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (e.g. at least CPU 60, internal memory device 62, removable memory 64, id.), the one or more programs including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices (e.g. at least computer 44, portable fitness monitoring device 12, input button 80, see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text), a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session (id., e.g. entering a “start” command);
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text, displaying a training journal and training plan describing a route traversed by the user during a fitness activity);
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input (see e.g. at least ¶ 145-146, 153, 206, 255-256, Fig. 4A-5C, 10D, selecting a training plan or route for traversal); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text, providing feedback to athlete 14 of his performance if notifications are currently enabled); and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, 245, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text).
Additionally, Williams teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Werner including namely: in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via a display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from a second set of workout metrics and a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Werner by configuring that in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics as taught by Williams in order to enhance the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently (Williams: ¶ 241).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Werner teaches that:
the first user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text);
the first workout metrics user interface is a default workout metrics user interface of the first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text); and
the one or more programs further including instructions (Werner: see e.g. at least Fig. 2A, and related text) causing the processor to be configured for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics configuration user interface corresponding to the first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text), including concurrently displaying:
a first selectable option that is selectable [intended to selectively disable the second workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality] (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
a second selectable option that is selectable [intended to selectively disable the third workout metrics user interface [intended for the first workout modality]], without displaying a selectable option [intended to selectively disable the first workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality] (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Werner teaches:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a third user input corresponding to a user request to begin a second workout session (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 232-236, 241, 254, 259-269, 288-291, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
in response to receiving the third user input:
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, the first workout metrics user interface that includes the first set of workout metrics (Williams: id.); and
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a second workout modality different from the first workout modality, displaying, via the display generation component, a fourth workout metrics user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, that includes a fourth set of workout metrics different from the first set of workout metrics (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Werner teaches that the one or more input devices includes a rotatable input mechanism (Williams: e.g. at least rotational mechanism 603, see e.g. at least ¶ 262, Fig. 6A-6AS, and related text); and
the second user input includes rotation of the rotatable input mechanism (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Werner teaches while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fourth user input (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 232-236, 241, 254, 259-269, 288-291, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
in response to receiving the fourth user input:
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes rotation of a rotatable input mechanism in a first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface (Williams: id.); and
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes a touch input that includes movement in a second direction different from the first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, an in-workout user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, the second workout metrics user interface, and the third workout metrics user interface (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Werner teaches that:
the user request to begin the workout session comprises a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout type (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 214, 230; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 291, 331, 338, 341, Fig. 10A-10F, and related text);
displaying the first workout metrics user interface (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text) includes concurrently displaying:
the first set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
an icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
an elapsed workout time [intended for the workout session] (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
displaying the second workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the second set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
displaying the third workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the third set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the elapsed workout time for the workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Werner teaches:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sixth user input corresponding to a request to enable the second workout metrics user interface of a second workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 214, 230; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 291, 331, 338, 341, Fig. 10A-10F, and related text); and
in response to receiving the sixth user input, enabling the second workout metrics user interface of the second workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text), including enabling the second workout metrics user interface for:
a first workout type corresponding to the second workout modality (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
a second workout type corresponding to the second workout modality different from the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Werner teaches that:
the second workout metrics user interface includes:
a representation of a first physical activity metric (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text); and
a representation of a second physical activity metric (Werner: id., Williams: id.), wherein:
the representation of the first physical activity metric and the representation of the second physical activity metric correspond to a predetermined amount of time that includes a period of time preceding a current workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the representation of the first physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a first goal value [intended for the first physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time] (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the representation of the second physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a second goal value [intended for the second physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time] (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 9, Werner discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1-3, and related text), the one or more programs including instructions causing the processor to be configured for:
receiving, via the one or more input devices (e.g. at least computer 44, portable fitness monitoring device 12, input button 80, see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text), a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session (id., e.g. entering a “start” command);
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text, displaying a training journal and training plan describing a route traversed by the user during a fitness activity);
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input (see e.g. at least ¶ 145-146, 153, 206, 255-256, Fig. 4A-5C, 10D, selecting a training plan or route for traversal); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text, providing feedback to athlete 14 of his performance if notifications are currently enabled); and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, 245, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text).
Additionally, Williams teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Werner including namely: in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via a display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from a second set of workout metrics and a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Werner by configuring that in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics as taught by Williams in order to enhance the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently (Williams: ¶ 241).
Regarding claim 10, Werner discloses a method (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 6A-6D, and related text), comprising:
at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (e.g. at least computer system 44, see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text):
receiving, via the one or more input devices (e.g. at least computer 44, portable fitness monitoring device 12, input button 80, see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text), a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session (id., e.g. entering a “start” command);
in response to receiving the first user input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text, displaying a training journal and training plan describing a route traversed by the user during a fitness activity);
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second user input (see e.g. at least ¶ 145-146, 153, 206, 255-256, Fig. 4A-5C, 10D, selecting a training plan or route for traversal); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text, providing feedback to athlete 14 of his performance if notifications are currently enabled); and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, 245, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text).
Additionally, Williams teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Werner including namely: in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via a display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from a second set of workout metrics and a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Werner by configuring that in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics as taught by Williams in order to enhance the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently (Williams: ¶ 241).
Conclusion
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662