DETAILED ACTION
Y The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This office action is made in response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 4/23/2026. Claims 11-24 have been added. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 have been amended. Claims 1-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments regarding Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 112 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have corrected the issues raised in the previous action. These rejections are accordingly withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 101 have been considered and are accepted in view of the issues raised in the previous action. These rejections are accordingly withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, these rejections are maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach, "in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, display, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics; and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, display, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics," because the cited prior art does not teach the setting the display order of workout metrics user interfaces 642b-642f that are available for display during a workout (e.g., an outdoor run workout) as illustrated by Fig. 6J-6P of Applicant’s Specification, such that "if a workout metrics user interface is enabled, a user is able to view the workout metrics user interface during an outdoor run workout session, and if a workout metrics user interface is disabled, a user is not able to view the workout metrics user interface during an outdoor run workout session," (Remarks at pg. 21-22). Examiner, however, respectfully disagrees.
First, Applicant’s arguments are directed towards concepts that are not expressly recited by the language of the claims. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Second, even when considering Applicant’s concepts of setting a display order of workout metrics, the combination of Werner and Williams teaches these ideas. Namely, Williams teaches changing the display (and order of display) of workout metrics based upon whether a workout metric is enabled or not. For example, first, Williams illustrates a scrollable list of affordances 620 (see e.g. at least Fig. 6A, 6W-6Y, and related text, illustrating a sequence of scrolling through a scrollable list of affordances 620 including, e.g. outdoor run 621, pool swim 622, stair stepper 623, indoor run 624). Next, Williams teaches adding additional affordances to the scrollable list (see e.g. at least ¶ 266, 6AC-6AD, 6AO-AQ, 6AU-6AV, and related text, illustrating adding e.g. at least yoga workout 626 to the scrollable list of affordances, such that the order of the scrollable list 620 is modified to include the yoga workout 626, by adding (i.e. enabling) the affordance 626, and conversely, not to include the yoga workout 626 when affordance 626 is not yet enabled).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Werner (US 2017/0007882 A1) in view of Williams (US 2018/0329584 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Werner discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1-3, and related text), comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. at least CPU 60, see e.g. at least Fig. 2A, and related text); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (e.g. at least CPU 60, internal memory device 62, removable memory 64, id.), wherein the one or more processors, when executing the one or more programs, are configured to:
receive, via the one or more input devices (e.g. at least computer 44, portable fitness monitoring device 12, input button 80, see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text), a first user input corresponding to a user request to begin a workout session (id., e.g. entering a “start” command);
in response to receiving the first user input, display, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text, displaying a training journal and training plan describing a route traversed by the user during a fitness activity);
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receive, via the one or more input devices, a second user input (see e.g. at least ¶ 145-146, 153, 206, 255-256, Fig. 4A-5C, 10D, selecting a training plan or route for traversal); and
in response to receiving the second user input:
in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has been enabled, display, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface that includes a second set of workout metrics that are different from the first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text, providing feedback to athlete 14 of his performance if notifications are currently enabled); and
in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, display, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 152-153, 206-207, 245, Fig. 6D, 8, and related text).
Additionally, Williams teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Werner including namely: in accordance with a determination that a second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via a display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from a second set of workout metrics and a first set of workout metrics (see e.g. at least ¶ 266, 6AC-6AD, 6AO-AQ, 6AU-6AV, and related text, illustrating adding e.g. at least yoga workout 626 to the scrollable list of affordances, such that the order of the scrollable list 620 is modified to include the yoga workout 626, by adding (i.e. enabling) the affordance 626, and conversely, not to include the yoga workout 626 when affordance 626 is not yet enabled).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Werner by configuring that in accordance with a determination that the second workout metrics user interface has not been enabled, displaying, via the display generation component, a third workout metrics user interface that includes a third set of workout metrics that are different from the second set of workout metrics and the first set of workout metrics as taught by Williams in order to enhance the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when operating/interacting with the device), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently (Williams: ¶ 241).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Werner teaches that:
the first user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 143, 145, 147, 150, 206, Fig. 6A-6D, 8, and related text);
the first workout metrics user interface is a default workout metrics user interface that corresponds to the first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text); and
wherein the one or more processors, when executing the one or more programs (Werner: see e.g. at least Fig. 2A, and related text), are configured to:
display, via the display generation component, a first workout metrics configuration user interface corresponding to the first workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, Fig. 3-6D, and related text), including concurrently displaying:
a first selectable option that, when selected, disables the second workout metrics user interface that corresponds to the first workout modality (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
a second selectable option that, when selected, disables the third workout metrics user interface for the first workout modality, without displaying a selectable option, that when selected, disables the first workout metrics user interface that corresponds to the first workout modality] (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 241, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Werner teaches:
receive, via the one or more input devices, a third user input corresponding to a user request to begin a second workout session (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 232-236, 241, 254, 259-269, 288-291, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
in response to receiving the third user input:
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout modality, display, via the display generation component, the first workout metrics user interface that includes the first set of workout metrics (Williams: id.); and
in accordance with a determination that the third user input corresponds to a user request to begin a workout session of a second workout modality different from the first workout modality, display, via the display generation component, a fourth workout metrics user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, that includes a fourth set of workout metrics different from the first set of workout metrics (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Werner teaches that the one or more input devices includes a rotatable input mechanism (Williams: e.g. at least rotational mechanism 603, see e.g. at least ¶ 262, Fig. 6A-6AS, and related text); and
the second user input includes rotation of the rotatable input mechanism (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Werner teaches while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a fourth user input (Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 232-236, 241, 254, 259-269, 288-291, 317, Fig. 6K, 8R, and related text); and
in response to receiving the fourth user input:
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes rotation of a rotatable input mechanism in a first direction, display, via the display generation component, the second workout metrics user interface (Williams: id.); and
in accordance with a determination that the fourth user input includes a touch input that includes movement in a second direction different from the first direction, display, via the display generation component, an in-workout user interface different from the first workout metrics user interface, the second workout metrics user interface, and the third workout metrics user interface (Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Werner teaches that:
the user request to begin the workout session comprises a user request to begin a workout session of a first workout type (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 214, 230; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 291, 331, 338, 341, Fig. 10A-10F, and related text);
displaying the first workout metrics user interface (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text) includes concurrently displaying:
the first set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
an icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
an elapsed workout time of the workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
displaying the second workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the second set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the elapsed workout time of the workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
displaying the third workout metrics user interface includes concurrently displaying:
the third set of workout metrics (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the icon associated with the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the elapsed workout time of the workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Werner teaches:
receive, via the one or more input devices, a sixth user input corresponding to a request to enable the second workout metrics user interface that corresponds to a second workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 214, 230; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 291, 331, 338, 341, Fig. 10A-10F, and related text); and
in response to receiving the sixth user input, enable the second workout metrics user interface that corresponds to the second workout modality (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text), including enabling the second workout metrics user interface for:
a first workout type corresponding to the second workout modality (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
a second workout type corresponding to the second workout modality different from the first workout type (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Werner teaches that:
the second workout metrics user interface includes:
a representation of a first physical activity metric (Werner: see e.g. at least ¶ 85, 105-107, 143-146, 152-153, 205, Fig. 3-6D, and related text; Williams: see e.g. at least ¶ 235, 240, 247-248, 252, 291, Fig. 6A-6BL, and related text); and
a representation of a second physical activity metric (Werner: id., Williams: id.), wherein:
the representation of the first physical activity metric and the representation of the second physical activity metric correspond to a predetermined amount of time that includes a period of time preceding a current workout session (Werner: id., Williams: id.);
the representation of the first physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a first goal value that corresponds to the first physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time (Werner: id., Williams: id.); and
the representation of the second physical activity metric is indicative of progress towards a second goal value that corresponds to the second physical activity metric during the predetermined amount of time (Werner: id., Williams: id.).
Claims 9-17 and 10-24 recite substantially identical subject matter as claims 1-8 in computer readable medium (Williams: see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1-3, and related text) and method (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 6A-6D, and related text) form. Accordingly, these claims are similarly rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claims 1-8 as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662