DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Claims 1-20 have been examined and rejected. This is the first Office action on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCulloh et al (Pub. No. US 2021/0150127) in view of Best et al (Pub. No. US 2009/0083710).
4-1. Regarding claims 1 and 11, McCulloh teaches the claim comprising: identifying, by one or more processors, one or more editable elements on a graphical page displayed on a client device; displaying, by the one or more processors, one or more graphical indications at the one or more editable elements on the graphical page, by disclosing that a Rapid Pictorial Demonstration (RPD) Controller/Editor allows a designer to place arbitrary images, referred to as rapid components, in a browser window alongside normal HTML/JS/CSS such that interactivity and functionality is defined for these rapid components without writing code [paragraph 73]. Each rapid component can contain first found information relevant to display and functionality of that rapid component, and contains second found information relevant to the display and the functionality of that rapid component when that rapid component is displayed and interacted with , and wherein interactions with that rapid component modify a state of that rapid component or other rapid components associated with that rapid component [paragraph 84]. A RPD controller may appear highlighted [paragraph 111].
McCulloh teaches receiving, by the one or more processors, a first user input selecting a first element of the one or more editable elements, by disclosing that when in edit mode, a user selects a rapid component for editing [paragraph 99, lines 13-16; paragraph 100, lines 3-5].
McCulloh teaches receiving, by the one or more processors, a second user input modifying the first element, by disclosing that the one or more rapid components can be defined within he webpage by editing the one or more rapid components within the webpage and/or defining one or more of: stylistic appearance, interaction, and behavior of the one or more rapid components [paragraphs 82, 101].
McCulloh teaches modifying, by the one or more processors, code of the graphical page based on the second user input to change an appearance of the graphical page, by disclosing that when the rapid controller code is injected and/or embedded into the page during instantiation, the new elements will be included in the page [paragraph 103].
McCulloh does not expressly teach receiving, by the one or more processors, a third user input requesting an image capture of the changed appearance of the graphical page. Best discloses receiving user input to cause a demonstration authoring software to acquire a screenshot [paragraphs 22, 28, 33, 43, 45]. A screenshot sequence using a branching screenshot may then be created [paragraph 57]. This would allow a user to more easily create a realistic software demonstration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to capture an image of the screen in response to user input, as taught by Best. This would allow a user to more easily create a realistic software demonstration.
4-2. Regarding claims 2 and 12, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, a fourth user input requesting to edit the appearance of the graphical page displayed on the client device, the fourth user input preceding the first user input, by disclosing that the user can initiate an edit view [McCulloh, paragraph 99].
4-3. Regarding claims 3 and 13, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 2 and 12 respectively, wherein: the graphical page includes a webpage displayed in a web browser; and the code of the graphical page includes HTML, by disclosing that the RDP Controller/Editor is used for editing interface mock-ups, in-browser, using HTML/JS/CSS/images [McCulloh, paragraph 73, lines 1-7].
4-4. Regarding claims 4 and 14, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, further comprising: responsive to receiving the third user input, removing, by the one or more processors, the one or more graphical indications of the one or more editable elements, by disclosing that when the user exits the edit mode, the RPD controller becomes invisible, and the rapid component no longer looks selected [McCulloh, paragraph 112].
McCulloh-Best teach performing, by the one or more processors, a screen capture of the graphical page to generate an image file, by disclosing receiving user input to cause a demonstration authoring software to acquire a screenshot [Best, paragraphs 22, 28, 33, 43, 45]. A screenshot sequence using a branching screenshot may then be created [Best, paragraph 57].
McCulloh-Best and storing, by the one or more processors, the generated image file in a database accessible to the one or more processors, by disclosing a screenshot ordering and storage component [Best, paragraph 36].
4-5. Regarding claims 5 and 15, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 4 and 14 respectively, further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, one or more edges for the screen capture; and performing, by the one or more processors, the screen capture using the one or more edges, by disclosing that the screenshot captured may be only a portion of the displayable area of a computer display [Best, paragraph 39].
4-6. Regarding claims 6 and 16, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 5 and 15 respectively, wherein: wherein determining the one or more edges includes receiving a defined resolution for the screen capture, by disclosing that the user may modify the computer display resolution to determine the size of the resulting screenshot [Best, paragraphs 23, 112].
4-7. Regarding claims 7 and 17, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein: displaying the one or more graphical indications includes highlighting a plurality of content regions surrounding the one or more editable elements on the graphical page, by disclosing that a RPD controller may appear highlighted [McCulloh, paragraph 111].
4-8. Regarding claims 8 and 18, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein: displaying the one or more graphical indications includes highlighting the one or more editable elements on the graphical page when hovered over by a cursor on the graphical page, by disclosing that a single rapid component can have multiple, configurable image states defined for it, including a hover state [McCulloh, paragraph 73, lines 19-29].
4-9. Regarding claims 9 and 19, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein: the first element includes text displayed on the graphical page, by disclosing that any valid HTML element nested within the ‘body’ of an HTML document serving as the basis for the RPD Controller can be a rapid component, such as “span,” “section,” “article,” “aside,” “paragraph,” “menu,” etc. [McCulloh, paragraph 93].
McCulloh-Best teach receiving the second user input modifying the first element includes receiving text input at a location at which the first element is displayed on the graphical page; and modifying the code of the graphical page based on the second user input includes replacing text corresponding to the text displayed on the graphical page with the received text in the code, by disclosing that the one or more rapid components can be defined within the webpage by editing the one or more rapid components within the webpage and/or defining one or more of: stylistic appearance, interaction, and behavior of the one or more rapid components [McCulloh, paragraphs 82, 101]. When the rapid controller code is injected and/or embedded into the page during instantiation, the new elements will be included in the page [McCulloh, paragraph 103].
4-10. Regarding claims 10 and 120, McCulloh-Best teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 11 respectively, further comprising: receiving, by the one or more processors, a fourth user input defining an HTML element; and overlaying, the HTML element over the captured image, by disclosing that a rapid div may be layered on top of an image in order to make the image seem interactive, or could be placed on top of a fake screenshotted element of an otherwise built-out page in order to make that element dynamic [McCulloh, paragraph 75].
Conclusion
/ALVIN H TAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118