DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
The Applicants’ claim for priority based upon U.S. Provisional Application 63/453,650 filed on March 21, 2023 is duly noted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: The abbreviation “AOP” has not been expanded in any of the previous claims. Appropriate corrections are required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most similar art of record, Williams [U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0043050], discloses an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED (paragraph 0046 and figure 8), an acoustic sensor in the form of a microphone where it is in communication with a processor and may include a network interface such that the communication is via a network (paragraph 0013), an LED fixture having a network interface for receiving color information from the server, a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements, and a six-channel LED driver in communication with computer to selectively drive the LED arrays (paragraph 0048), a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7), and a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016). However, no art of record discloses a microphone having an AOP of at least 130 dB and a diameter of less than 20 mm and a microprocessor being adapted to compare a gunshot sound to a database to determine what type of gun or ammunition has been discharged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams [U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0043050].
With regard to claim 11, Williams meets the limitations of:
method for evacuating the inhabitants of a building in response to a sound indicative of a dangerous incident, the method comprising the steps of providing a building with a smart lighting network comprising an array of LED luminaires each comprising a power source [an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED (paragraph 0046 and figure 8) that are operated by an LED driver (paragraph 0048 and figure 9, item 902)]
an LED driver connected to the power source [an LED driver connected to a computer used for operating the LED driver (paragraph 0048)]
a microphone electrically connected to the LED driver [an acoustic sensor in the form of a microphone where it is in communication with a processor and may include a network interface such that the communication is via a network (paragraph 0013) where a computer is used for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7)]
a processor and an associated memory in communication with the microphone [the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7)]
an LED panel operatively associated with the LED driver an adapted to provide a variety of light outputs as directed by the LED driver [an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED (paragraph 0046 and figure 8) where the LED fixture has a network interface for receiving color information from the server, a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements, and a six-channel LED driver in communication with computer to selectively drive the LED arrays (paragraph 0048)]
a communication device in communication with the processor, wherein the LED luminaires of the array communicate to form a smart lighting network [an acoustic sensor in the form of a microphone where it is in communication with a processor and may include a network interface such that the communication is via a network (paragraph 0013) where a computer is used for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7)]
monitoring ambient sound via the microphones of the smart lighting network for a sound with a sound pressure above a predetermined threshold [a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7)]
when the threshold is exceeded, analyzing the sound using at least one of the processors of the smart lighting network according to instructions recorded in the associated memory to determine if the characteristics of the sound are likely those of a gunshot [the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) where the sound is analyzed and a determination of impulse detection is performed where it is determined if the captured sound amplitude crosses a threshold (paragraphs 0040 and 0041)]
in response to detection of a likely gunshot, modifying the light output at least one of the luminaires to indicate a state of danger and modifying the light output of plurality of luminaires to indicate an evacuation route [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 12, Williams meets the limitation of:
the step of modifying the light output is carried out in response to directions issued by the processor [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 13, Williams meets the limitation of:
communication between the smart lighting network and a command center adapted to communicate with smart lighting network [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
the command center comprising an analytics module for assessing the danger to occupants throughout a building in response to detection of a dangerous incident [the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) where the sound is analyzed and a determination of impulse detection is performed where it is determined if the captured sound amplitude crosses a threshold (paragraphs 0040 and 0041)]
an evacuation module for guiding occupants to pursue a safe route [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
in response to detection of a dangerous incident based on information provided by the smart lighting network, the command center directs the smart lighting network to modify its light output to assist in evacuating occupants [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 14, Williams meets the limitation of:
communication the detection of the gunshot with the command center [the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) where the sound is analyzed and a determination of impulse detection is performed where it is determined if the captured sound amplitude crosses a threshold (paragraphs 0040 and 0041)]
With regard to claim 15, Williams meets the limitation of:
modifying the light output is carried out in response to directions issued by the command center [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 17, Williams meets the limitation of:
the command center further comprises a training module for training occupants of the building in how to escape safely in response to a hazard guided by the modified light output of the LED luminaires [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 18, Williams meets the limitation of:
a countermeasures module capable of directing actions against an assailant selected from the group comprising increasing or decreasing light intensity provide by the smart lighting network, automatically locking doors, activating one or more drones to approach the assailant, and delivering a chemical or other material to impede the assailant [an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED where the lights can be dimmed in order to reduce the visibility of an area (paragraph 0046 and figure 8)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams [U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0043050] in view of Rong et al. [U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0242822]
With regard to claim 1, Williams meets the limitations of:
a smart LED lighting system, comprising an array of LED luminaires [an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED (paragraph 0046 and figure 8)]
a microphone also connected to a communication device for sending and receiving information [an acoustic sensor in the form of a microphone where it is in communication with a processor and may include a network interface such that the communication is via a network (paragraph 0013)]
the array of LED luminaires forming a smart lighting network [an LED module containing a red LED, a green LED, and a blue LED (paragraph 0046 and figure 8) where the LED fixture has a network interface for receiving color information from the server, a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements, and a six-channel LED driver in communication with computer to selectively drive the LED arrays (paragraph 0048)]
a command center adapted to communicate with the smart lighting network, the command center comprising an analytics module for assessing the danger to occupants throughout a building in response to detection of a dangerous incident [a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7)]
an evacuation module for guiding occupants to pursue a safe route wherein in response to detection of a dangerous incident based on information provided by the smart lighting network [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
the command center directs the smart lighting network to modify its light output to assist in evacuating occupants [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
However, Williams fails to disclose of each LED luminaire comprising a component chassis and the component chassis having an LED light panel and a driver for controlling light output from the LED light panel. In the field of illumination systems, Rong et al. teaches:
a component chassis and the component chassis having an LED light panel and a driver for controlling light output from the LED light panel [a substrate containing LEDs and an LED driver (paragraph 0036)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Williams and Rong et al. to create an active shooter alert system where the system is able to determine if an active shooter event exists based upon the sound received by the system’s microphones and illuminates lights in a certain manner to provide people guidance for an evacuation route away from the location of the detected event in order to prevent harm from occurring to the evacuees wherein the motivation to combine is to detect the location or proximity of an active shooter and providing an indication of the safest exit route to people in the building (Williams, paragraph 0002).
With regard to claim 2, Williams meets the limitation of:
adapted to modify the light output of one or more luminaires in response to detection of a dangerous incident to display a lighting pattern indicating a direction of travel to pursue [a host processor adapted for providing commands to at least a portion of the plurality of signaling lights to provide an indication of a path away from the proximate location (paragraph 0016)]
With regard to claim 3, Williams meets the limitation of:
adapted to also modify the color of the light output of one or more luminaires in response to detection of a dangerous incident to display an indication of danger [if a potential victim sees a red light in all directions, the person would know that there is no safe route from the proximate location of the shooter and the situation requires an immediate decision between finding shelter (shelter in place) or fighting the active shooter (paragraph 0011)]
With regard to claim 4, Williams meets the limitation of:
one or more luminaires comprises a microprocessor configured to analyze a sound signal captured by the microphone and determine if the sound is indicative of a gunshot [a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) where the acoustic sensor used for capturing the sound can be incorporated into the LED module (paragraph 0049)]
With regard to claim 9, Williams meets the limitation of:
adapted to cooperate with an exterior gunshot detection system, whereby the exterior gunshot detection system is adapted to alert the command center of the nearby danger [a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) and an audible alert being issued regarding the detection of an active shooter (paragraph 0046)]
With regard to claim 10, Williams meets the limitation of:
a dual band network, with one band adapted for control and monitoring of a lighting network and one band adapted for emergency response [a computer for receiving the commands and determining the LED drive requirements (paragraph 0048) where the computer analyzes sounds detected by an acoustic sensor to determine an active shooter event (paragraph 0043 and figure 7) and the activation of an alarm for authorities in response to the determination of an active shooter (paragraphs 0045 and 0046)]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams [U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0043050] in view of Fowler et al. [U.S. Patent 11,282,358]
With regard to claim 20, Williams fails to disclose of the array of LED luminaires comprises an LED luminaire electrically connected to at least one of the group consisting of a motion detector, a camera, an IR sensor, an accelerometer, and a flash detector. In the field of gunshot detection systems, Fowler et al. teaches:
at least one of the group consisting of a motion detector, a camera, an IR sensor, an accelerometer, and a flash detector [a camera and microphone used together to determine the occurrence of a gunshot (column 5, lines 35-63)]
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the elements of Williams and Fowler et al. to create an active shooter alert system where the system is able to determine if an active shooter event exists based upon the sound and image of a flash emitted by a firearm received by the system’s microphones and cameras, and illuminates lights in a certain manner to provide people guidance for an evacuation route away from the location of the detected event in order to prevent harm from occurring to the evacuees wherein the motivation to combine is to detect the location or proximity of an active shooter and providing an indication of the safest exit route to people in the building (Williams, paragraph 0002).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0152808 to LaCasse discloses an intelligent directional fire alarm.
U.S. Patent 7,800,511 to Hutchinson et al. discloses an emergency lighting system.
U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0089869 to Sundholm discloses a method, system, and device for signaling, guiding, and alerting.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAMESHANAND MAHASE whose telephone number is (571) 270-7223. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday- Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PAMESHANAND MAHASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689