DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klassen (US Pub. 2015/0099462).
Regarding claim 1, Klassen teaches a method of pairing a passenger electronic device (PED) and an inflight entertainment and communication (IFEC) network (see “mobile device 120 to connect with and/or otherwise communicate with any one or more wireless resources 110, 914, 912” in [0073] and “mobile device 120 can be engaged with a support 400, by means of supports 410, 411, 610, and NFC devices 423, etc., on a vehicle information system such as a plane, bus, train, etc” in [0100]), comprising: detecting a placement of the PED in a charging platform onboard a commercial passenger vehicle (“when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, their respective wireless charging elements 420a, 420b are brought into sufficient proximity, and/or are otherwise positioned, to enable wireless charging of batteries and/or other devices of a power system of the device 120” in [0070]); communicating, upon the detecting the placement, a first pairing information between the PED and the IFEC network via a first communication link, wherein the first pairing information comprises a unique identifier of the PED or an identification of a wireless access point (“when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, … cause the mobile device 120 to execute one or more wireless communication functions. Data stored in memory(ies) 430 can be configured for causing any of a wide variety of communication functions, in any of a wide variety of ways. For example, a persistent memory 430 can include data suitable for causing … a mobile device 120 to connect with and/or otherwise communicate with any one or more wireless resources 110, 914, 912, etc. For example, the data may include address information, such as a uniform resource locator or other address associated with a device communicatively linked to a local- and/or wide-area network, etc; a media access control (MAC) address, Bluetooth profile information, device ID or information, WiFi SSID, URL, security credentials, passcodes, and the like; … and establish one or more communication sessions therewith” in [0071]-[0073]); and using the first pairing information to facilitate communication between the PED and the IFEC network via a second communication link (“establish one or more communication sessions therewith” in [0073]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Klassen teaches the first communication link comprises a low bandwidth communication over the charging platform (see “NFC” and “The releaseable engagement mechanisms on the mobile device 120 and/or support 400 can be configured and/or arranged such that when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, the persistent memory can be accessed by the mobile device 120 NFC system 8132. In various examples, persistent memory(ies) 430 can include data, which when read by an NFC system 8132 of the mobile device 120, can cause the mobile device 120 to execute one or more wireless communication functions” in [0071]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Klassen teaches the second communication link comprises an inflight wireless link (“wireless communication” in [0075] and “mobile device 120 can be engaged with a support 400, by means of supports 410, 411, 610, and NFC devices 423, etc., on a vehicle information system such as a plane, bus, train, etc” in [0100]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Klassen teaches disconnecting, upon detecting a break in the placement, at least a portion of the communication via the second communication link (“when the magnetic field is no longer detected and/or the persistent memory can no longer be accessed, the processor(s) can be configured to end, disconnect, or otherwise stop executing the wireless communication function” in [0080]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Klassen teaches the first communication link is a near field communication (NFC) link [0071] and wherein the second communication link is a wireless local area communication (WLAN) link (see “WiFi” in [0075]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Klassen teaches the using the first pairing information to facilitate communication between the PED and the IFEC network via a second communication link comprises: requesting a user confirmation to establish the second communication link (“allow a user to control when her/her device is connected/disconnected to a vehicle via Bluetooth” in [0056]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Klassen teaches the using the first pairing information to facilitate communication between the PED and the IFEC network via a second communication link comprises: establishing the second communication link in absence of a user input ( “The releaseable engagement mechanisms on the mobile device 120 and/or support 400 can be configured and/or arranged such that when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, the persistent memory can be accessed by the mobile device 120 NFC system 8132. In various examples, persistent memory(ies) 430 can include data, which when read by an NFC system 8132 of the mobile device 120, can cause the mobile device 120 to execute one or more wireless communication functions” in [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Klassen teaches a system for secure pairing between a passenger electronic device (PED) and an inflight network (see “mobile device 120 to connect with and/or otherwise communicate with any one or more wireless resources 110, 914, 912” in [0073] and “mobile device 120 can be engaged with a support 400, by means of supports 410, 411, 610, and NFC devices 423, etc., on a vehicle information system such as a plane, bus, train, etc” in [0100]), comprising: a charging platform configured to establish a first network connection with a PED (“when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, their respective wireless charging elements 420a, 420b are brought into sufficient proximity, and/or are otherwise positioned, to enable wireless charging of batteries and/or other devices of a power system of the device 120” in [0070]); and a second network connection (“any one or more wireless resources 110, 914, 912, etc” in [0073]); wherein the system is configured to perform a method comprising: detecting a placement of a PED on the charging platform (“when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, their respective wireless charging elements 420a, 420b are brought into sufficient proximity, and/or are otherwise positioned, to enable wireless charging of batteries and/or other devices of a power system of the device 120” in [0070]); communicating, upon the detecting the placement, a first pairing information between the PED and the inflight network via a first communication link (“when the mobile device 120 and the support 400 engaged, … cause the mobile device 120 to execute one or more wireless communication functions. Data stored in memory(ies) 430 can be configured for causing any of a wide variety of communication functions, in any of a wide variety of ways. For example, a persistent memory 430 can include data suitable for causing … a mobile device 120 to connect with and/or otherwise communicate with any one or more wireless resources 110, 914, 912, etc. For example, the data may include address information, such as a uniform resource locator or other address associated with a device communicatively linked to a local- and/or wide-area network, etc; a media access control (MAC) address, Bluetooth profile information, device ID or information, WiFi SSID, URL, security credentials, passcodes, and the like; … and establish one or more communication sessions therewith” in [0071]-[0073]); and using the first pairing information to facilitate communication between the PED and the inflight network via a second communication link (“establish one or more communication sessions therewith” in [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klassen in view of Daoura et al. (US Pub. 2024/0362994).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Klassen teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 11 as shown above. Klassen, however, does not teach the charging platform comprises a Qi wireless charging platform. Daoura teaches the charging platform comprises a Qi wireless charging platform (“Inductive charging is achieved with a Qi” in [0206]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Klassen to have the charging platform comprises a Qi wireless charging platform. as taught by Daoura in order to achieve Inductive charging [0206].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Daoura teaches the charging platform is a universal serial bus (USB) charging platform (“a USB port 1954 for charging” in [0208]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klassen in view of Weaver et al. (US 7,245,908).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Klassen teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 11 as shown above. Klassen, however, does not teach disconnecting the pairing upon occurrence of an event of the commercial passenger vehicle. Weaber teaches disconnecting the pairing upon occurrence of an event of the commercial passenger vehicle (“if a call is in progress between the mobile station 14 and another phone, and the user of the mobile station 14 travels above the allowable altitude level (e.g., the user boards a plane that departs), then the call may need to be disconnected” in Column 10 Line 65 – Column 11 Line 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Klassen to have disconnecting the pairing upon occurrence of an event of the commercial passenger vehicle as taught by Weaber in order to according to follow allowable altitude guidelines (Column 11 line 2).
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414