DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,539. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same essential elements of the single bag pack but in broader terms, including: a harness, a travel compartment, a first lid, a personal items compartment, a computer compartment within the first lid or wall, and an expansion zipper and gusset.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites that the travel compartment is constructed and arranged to be expandable from a condition of occupying substantially no volume which renders the claim indefinite. In particular, it is unclear how the travel compartment can be considered to have substantially no volume when the gusset is closed - this would essentially require something like a vacuum to remove any storage volume within the compartment. While closing the gusset may limit the amount of storage space it would not result in substantially no volume rendering the claim indefinite (alternatively the term "substantially" is unclear in this context).
Claim 9 recites that the first compartment is constructed and arranged to be “expandable and to be substantially invisible when not expanded". This limitation renders the claim indefinite because Figure 2 shows the travel compartment and gusset thereof being closed but the compartment is still visible. The only component that is not visible is the zipper itself which is hidden under the flap. Correction/clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first lid opening" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 3 and 10 are also indefinite as depending from indefinite claims 2 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 5,209,384).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a single-bag pack for carrying business and travel items together, comprising: a harness 22 for carrying the pack on one’s back; a travel compartment 30c having a first lid 12 to which the harness is attached; a personal items compartment 80; and a computer compartment 30a/94 within one of the first lid and a wall 14 separating the travel compartment from the personal items compartment; the travel compartment, the personal items compartment, and the computer compartment each inaccessible from within each other of the travel compartment, the personal items compartment, and the computer compartment – see Figure 6.
Regarding claim 2, the travel compartment 30c is constructed and arranged to be expandable from a condition of occupying substantially no volume – noting that this limitation is merely functional and does not define any particular structure, i.e. compartment 30c is capable of being compressed and expanded.
Regarding claim 5, to the degree claimed, the first lid 12 is considered “a suitcase-opening lid” to the degree claimed – see Figure 5.
Regarding claim 6, the suitcase-opening lid 12 remains able to open when the travel compartment is compressed – see zipper 35.
Regarding claim 7, a tuck-away compartment 58 is provided in the lid into which the harness “can be” tucked.
Regarding claim 8, see accessory compartment 30b.
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses a single-bag pack 10 for carrying business and travel items together, comprising: a first compartment 30c having a first lid 12, the first compartment constructed and arranged to be expandable and to be substantially invisible when not expanded (no particular structure is defined by this limitation other than the compartment being functionally capable of being compressed and expanded, which Anderson is capable of); a slender compartment 58 built into the first lid opening outside the first lid; and a second compartment 80 having a second lid 84 accessible from outside the first compartment and the slender compartment.
Regarding claim 10, see harness 22 for carrying the pack on one’s back attached to the first lid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 5,209,384) in view of Wulf (US 5,799,851).
Anderson discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose that compartment 30c is expandable by an expansion zipper joined by an expansion gusset. However, Wulf teaches that it is known to make a compartment expandable by use of an expansion zipper 29 joined by an expansion gusset 36, and wherein a flap of material 37 is provided beneath which the expansion zipper is hidden when the expansion zipper is closed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the opening of compartment 30c of Anderson with the gusset and zipper taught by Wulf in order to enable the compartment to be quickly expanded and contracted to provide additional storage or a slimmer profile as needed.
Conclusion
/COREY N SKURDAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734