DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the application filed on 15 October 2024, having claims 1-20 and drawing figures 1-6.
Specification
3. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “among other things,” recited in line 5 of the abstract must be deleted because it is unnecessary and redundant.
The term “and/or” recited in line 8 of the abstract must be deleted because it is unnecessary and redundant.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,352 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationale:
Claim 1 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1 and 5 of the Patent.
Claim 2 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 3 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 4 is anticipated by claim 7 of the Patent.
Claim 5 is anticipated by claim 19 of the Patent.
Claim 6 is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claim 7 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 8 is anticipated by claim 4 of the Patent.
Claims 9 is anticipated by the combination of claims 5 and 10 of the Patent.
Claim 10 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 11 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1 and 7 of the Patent.
Claim 12 is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claim 13 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 14 is anticipated by claim 4 or claim 13 of the Patent.
Claim 15 is anticipated by the combination of claims 1 and 5 of the Patent.
Claim 16 is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claim 17 is anticipated by claims 1 and 7 of the Patent.
Claim 18 is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claim 19 is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 20 is anticipated by claim 4 of the Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexauer et al. (US 2018/0123814 A1) in view of Jain et al. (US 2015/0006638 A1).
For claims 1, 9, and 15, Sexauer discloses receiving, in association with a user account of the communication platform ([0050] team collaboration platform of which the user is a member; the user can schedule a meeting, and the meeting information is stored in a thread associated with the user);
determining, based at least in part on data associated with the user account, that a user associated with the user account is unavailable or is scheduled to attend a meeting between a first time and a second time that are each subsequent to the current time ([0053] the scheduled meeting is for a time between a start time (first time) and an end time (second time));
For claims 1, 9, and 15, Sexauer does not expressly disclose a user-selectable control presented by a user interface, the user input representing a request to mute one or more notifications that are to occur subsequent to a current time.
Jain, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a user selectable control presented by a user interface (Figs 7 and 8A, the screen of the user device displays a user-controllable interface), the user input representing a request to mute one or more notifications that are to occur subsequent to a current time and refraining from presenting, via a client device associated with the user and based at least in part on the user input, a notification between the first time and the second time ([0074] the user selects the “silent mode” to mute all notifications during the meeting which occurs between a first time and a second time). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement the user interface of Jain in the communication platform of Sexauer at the time of the invention to enable the user to select when to mute the notifications.
For claims 2, 10, and 16, Sexauer discloses determining contextual data stored in association with the user account, the contextual data indicating user activity of the user via the communication platform and specifying meetings, including the meeting, in which the user is scheduled to attend ([0050] team collaboration platform of which the user is a member; the user can schedule a meeting, and the meeting information is stored in a thread associated with the user); and refraining from presenting the notification based at least in part on the contextual data ([0050] based on the user-set settings, messages and other notifications would be silent/muted).
For claim 3, Jain discloses determining activity associated with a virtual space of the communication platform in which the user is a member, wherein the notification is associated with the activity ([0067-0069] multiple users including the first user are members of a communication platform comprising at least one application server).
For claims 7, 13, and 19, Jain discloses the user input specifies at least one of an unavailability of the user or meetings, scheduled to occur at a future time, during which notifications are to be muted ([0050] when the user status is “in a meeting,” the user selects the phone settings to be silent/muted to prevent notifications).
6. Claims 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexauer et al. (US 2018/0123814 A1) in view of Jain et al. (US 2015/0006638 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, and further in view of Gilson (US 2020/0036451 A1).
For claim 4, Sexauer and Jain do not expressly disclose determining second activity relating to the meeting; and presenting, via the client device, a second notification associated with the second activity between the first time and the second time.
Gilson, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches determining second activity relating to the meeting ([0073] determines a calendar event (scheduled meeting) is occurring between a first time and second time); and presenting, via the client device, a second notification associated with the second activity between the first time and the second time ([0072] presenting the notification to the user when the event occurs).
For claims 6, 12, and 18, Gilson discloses presenting, at or after the second time and via the client device, the notification ([0079] the notifications would be presented after the time window (e.g., meeting ends) ends).
For claims 8, 14, and 20, Gilson discloses refraining from presenting the notification between the first time and the second time is performed without receiving additional input from the user ([0079] the mobile device of the user determined the silent period (no notifications period) without any input from the user).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5, 11, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471