DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US2024/0149939 A1).
Regarding to Claim 1, Kim teaches a device for controlling an electric power steering system, the device comprising:
a steering controller configured to control a motor operably connected to a steering wheel (Fig. 2, Part 20, Paragraphs 61-64); and
a wake-up circuit configured to, in an ignition-off state of a vehicle, wake up the steering controller using back electromotive force generated by rotation of the motor caused by an external force (Paragraph 85, 90, teaches a wake-up process and a mode which would occur an electromotive force by the external force. Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140 would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation),
wherein the steering controller is configured to, after being woken up, control to apply a reaction torque to the motor to suppress the rotation of the motor caused by the external force by supplying a command current corresponding to the reaction torque to the motor (Paragraph 71 teaches a current would supply to Part 500, Paragraph 90 teaches a reaction force would reflect the limitations (Paragraph 71 teaches how the shorting would occur at Part 400, the examiner considered since the current is supplied to Part 500, the shorting operation could be considered as supplying a command current to Part 500 under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140, Paragraphs 109, 110 would reflect the operation).
Regarding to Claim 2, Kim teaches the device, wherein the steering controller is configured to, after being woken up, determine whether the vehicle is a non-driving state based on vehicle status information received from a sensor, and control to apply the reaction torque to the motor only when the vehicle is in the non-driving state (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85, the examiner considered when in a getting-off mode, the operation would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding to Claim 3, Kim teaches the device, wherein the vehicle status information comprises at least one of vehicle ignition information, vehicle speed information, vehicle door lock information, vehicle door open information, driver boarding information, seat belt fastening information, or theft alarm function activation information (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85).
Regarding to Claim 4, Kim teaches the device, wherein the steering controller comprises:
a regulator configured to regulate a voltage from a power supply (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84);
an inverter configured to supply control current to windings of the motor (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84);
a gate driver configured to control the inverter (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84); and
a micro-control unit (MCU) configured to be driven by a driving voltage supplied from the regulator and control the gate driver (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84).
Regarding to Claim 8, Kim teaches the device, wherein:
the motor is a reaction motor connected to the steering wheel (Fig. 2, Part 500), and
the electric power steering system includes a steer-by-wire steering system which comprises an upper device including the reaction motor connected to the steering wheel, and a lower device not mechanically connected to the upper device and including a steering driving motor connected to a wheel of the vehicle (Fig. 2, Paragraphs 53-60).
Regarding to Claim 9, Kim teaches the device, wherein the reaction torque is a torque for rotating the motor in a direction opposite to a direction of the rotation of the motor caused by the external force (Paragraphs 72, 106-115, since the reaction force would be used to restrict the rotation of the motor, it would be known the direction of the reaction force is opposite to the direction of the external force).
Regarding to Claim 10, Kim teaches the device, wherein the steering controller configured to, after being woken up, control to provide the reaction torque to the motor for a holding time and then turn off or enter a sleep mode after the holding time (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, the examiner considered when in the getting-off mode, the operation would reflect the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding to Claim 11, Kim teaches the device, wherein the holding time is set to a time period of 2 to 5 seconds (Paragraphs 106-115).
Regarding to Claim 12, Kim teaches a method for controlling an electric power steering system, the method comprising:
waking up, by a wake-up circuit, a steering controller using back electromotive force generated by rotation of a motor caused by an external force (Paragraph 85, 90, teaches a wake-up process and a mode which would occur an electromotive force by the external force. Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140 would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation), the motor operably connected to a steering wheel (Fig. 2, Part 500); and
after the steering controller is woken by the wake-up circuit, controlling, by the steering controller, to apply a reaction torque to the motor to suppress the rotation of the motor caused by the external force by supplying a command current corresponding to the reaction torque to the motor (Paragraph 71 teaches a current would supply to Part 500, Paragraph 90 teaches a reaction force would reflect the limitations (Paragraph 71 teaches how the shorting would occur at Part 400, the examiner considered since the current is supplied to Part 500, the shorting operation could be considered as supplying a command current to Part 500 under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140, Paragraphs 109, 110 would reflect the operation).
Regarding to Claim 13, Kim teaches the method, further comprising, after the steering controller is woken by the wake-up circuit, determining whether a vehicle is in a non-driving state based on vehicle status information received from a sensor (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85, the examiner considered when in a getting-off mode, the operation would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation),
wherein the controlling to apply the reaction torque to the motor is performed only when the vehicle is in the non-driving state (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85, the examiner considered when in a getting-off mode, the operation would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding to Claim 16, Kim teaches an electric power steering system comprising:
a motor operably connected to a steering wheel of a vehicle (Fig. 2, Part 500);
a steering controller configured to control rotation of the motor (Fig. 2, Paragraphs 53-60); and
a wake-up circuit configured to, in an ignition-off state of a vehicle, wake up the steering controller using back electromotive force generated by rotation of the motor caused by an external force (Paragraph 85, 90, teaches a wake-up process and a mode which would occur an electromotive force by the external force. Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140 would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation),
wherein the steering controller is configured to, after being woken up, control to apply a reaction torque to the motor to suppress the rotation of the motor caused by the external force by supplying a command current corresponding to the reaction torque to the motor (Paragraph 71 teaches a current would supply to Part 500, Paragraph 90 teaches a reaction force would reflect the limitations (Paragraph 71 teaches how the shorting would occur at Part 400, the examiner considered since the current is supplied to Part 500, the shorting operation could be considered as supplying a command current to Part 500 under the broadest reasonable interpretation), and Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, especially Step S140, Paragraphs 109, 110 would reflect the operation).
Regarding to Claim 17, Kim teaches the electric power steering system, wherein the steering controller is configured to, after being woken up, determine whether the vehicle is in a non-driving state based on vehicle status information received from a sensor, and control to apply the reaction torque to the motor only when the vehicle is in the non-driving state (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85, the examiner considered when in a getting-off mode, the operation would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation),
wherein the vehicle status information comprises at least one of vehicle ignition information, vehicle speed information, vehicle door lock information, vehicle door open information, driver boarding information, seat belt fastening information, or theft alarm function activation information (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 106-115, Paragraph 85).
Regarding to Claim 18, Kim teaches the electric power steering system, wherein:
the motor is a reaction motor connected to the steering wheel (Fig. 2), and
the electric power steering system includes a steer-by-wire steering system which comprises an upper device including the reaction motor connected to the steering wheel, and a lower device not mechanically connected to the upper device and including a steering driving motor connected to a wheel of the vehicle (Fig. 2, Paragraphs 53-60).
Regarding to Claim 19, Kim teaches the electric power steering system, wherein the steering controller comprises:
a regulator configured to regulate a voltage from a power supply (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84);
an inverter configured to supply control current to windings of the reaction motor (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84);
a gate driver configured to control the inverter (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84); and
a micro-control unit (MCU) configured to be driven by a driving voltage supplied from the regulator and control the gate driver (Figs. 3, 4, Paragraphs 81-84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US2024/0149939 A1) in view of Terdy (US2019/0002013 A1).
Regarding to Claim 5, Kim fails to explicitly disclose, but Terdy teaches a device, wherein the wake-up circuit comprises:
a rectifier circuit configured to rectify the back electromotive force and output a direct current (DC) output voltage; and
a switch circuit configured to enable the regulator according to the DC output voltage of the rectifier circuit [Terdy teaches a circuit comprises certain elements to do certain operation to help to smooth out transients (Terdy, Paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Terdy to design a circuit with certain elements to do certain operation in order to help to smooth out transients (Terdy, Paragraph 3).
Regarding to Claim 6, Kim in view of Terdy teaches the modified device, wherein the rectifier circuit is configured to rectify a sinusoidal back electromotive force generated during the rotation of the motor caused by the external force into a DC voltage to output the output DC voltage (Terdy, Fig. 3, and applying the teachings to Kim, Figs. 3, 4).
Regarding to Claim 7, Kim in view of Terdy teaches the modified device, wherein the switch circuit comprises a first switch unit configured to be turned on in response to the DC output voltage, and a second switch unit configured to be turned on in response to turning on the first switching unit and input a wake-up signal by the voltage of the power supply to an enable terminal of the regulator (Terdy, Fig. 3, and applying the teachings to Kim, Figs. 3, 4 would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Retarding to Claim 15, Kim fails to explicitly disclose, but Terdy teaches a method, wherein the waking up of the steering controller comprises:
rectifying a sinusoidal back electromotive force generated during the rotation of the motor caused by the external force into a direct current voltage to output an output voltage; and
after a switch circuit is turned on, inputting, by the switch circuit, a wake-up signal by a voltage of a power supply to an enable terminal of a regulator included in the steering controller [Terdy teaches a circuit comprises certain elements to do certain operation to help to smooth out transients (Terdy, Paragraph 3). When applying the teachings of Terdy, Paragraph 3 to Kim, Figs. 3-5, the examiner considered the references would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Terdy to design a circuit with certain elements to do certain operation in order to help to smooth out transients (Terdy, Paragraph 3).
Regarding to Claim 20, Kim fails to explicitly disclose, but Terdy teaches an electric power steering system, wherein the wake-up circuit comprises:
a rectifier circuit configured to rectify the back electromotive force and output a direct current (DC) output voltage; and
a switch circuit configured to enable the regulator according to the DC output voltage of the rectifier circuit,
wherein the switch circuit comprises a first switch unit configured to be turned on in response to the DC output voltage, and a second switch unit configured to be turned on in response to turning on the first switch unit and input a wake-up signal by the voltage of the power supply to an enable terminal of the regulator [Terdy teaches a circuit comprises certain elements to do certain operation to help to smooth out transients (Terdy, Paragraph 3).]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding to the Remark, the Applicant argued Kim (US2024/0149939 A1) fails to teach the underlined limitation “wherein the steering controller is configured to, after being woken up, control to apply a reaction torque to the motor to suppress the rotation of the motor caused by the external force by supplying a command current corresponding to the reaction torque to the motor.” The examiner respectfully disagreed.
The applicant argued Kim only teaches shorting an inverter Part 400 to occur a reaction torque to motor Part 500, and fails to teach the reaction force is caused by “by the external force by supplying a command current corresponding to the reaction torque to the motor.” The examiner considered in Kim, Paragraph 71 teaches an alternating current is supplied to Part 500 via Part 400, and Paragraph 81 teaches how the “shorting” is caused in Part 400. Based on the teachings of Kim Paragraphs 71, 81, 90, the examiner considered when shorting the phase of Part 400, the operation can be considered as supplying a command current to occur a reaction torque to Part 500, which would reflect the limitations under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the examiner considered Kim would still teach the amended limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki (US2016/0111988 A1) teaches a steering system comprises a lock control.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI-KAI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747