DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one helical thread”, as recited in claims 8, 16, and 19, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 4, 5, 7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 4, 5 and 7-16 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12, 116, 190. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
The limitations recited in claim 4 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 1 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 5 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 2 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 7 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 7 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 11 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 7 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 12 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 8 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 13 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 9 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 14 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 10 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 15 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 11 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 16 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 12 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 17 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 13 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 18 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 14 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 19 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 15 of the US Patent.
The limitations recited in claim 20 of the instant application are identical as the structure recited in claim 16 of the US Patent.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 116, 190. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the structural features required in the claims of the instant application are recited in the claims of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application are recited in claim 1 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 3 of the instant application are recited in claim 9 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 4 of the instant application are recited in claim 10 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 7 of the instant application are recited in claim 3 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 8 of the instant application are recited in claim 4 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 9 of the instant application are recited in claim 5 of the US Patent.
The structural limitations required in claim 10 of the instant application are recited in claim 6 of the US Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 8, 16 and 19, the recitation of “the device”, “the flow of rate”, and “the reservoir”, lacks antecedent basis. Nowhere in the claim from which depends, or previously in the claim any of those terms are properly introduced. The claims are indefinite because it is unclear to what structure, such as what flow of liquid, what device, or to which reservoir applicant is referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gordon (GB 2,538,235).
Claim 1
Gordon discloses a cap for providing point-of-use wetting of a towel, the cap comprising a lid (26); and an inner bowl disposed within the lid (see figure above).
Claim 2
Gordon further discloses a lid surface with a lid surface interruption that defines a towel void having a void top surface that further defines a void wall between the lid surface and the void top surface (see figure above).
Claim 3
Gordon further discloses the void top surface is interrupted by a patterned interruption (defined by slits between spikes 17) that extends clear through the void top surface (see figure above).
Claim 9
Gordon further discloses the cap is adapted to interface with a towel holding portion (defined by box which stack of wipes 24 are disposed in figure 3B).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf (US 2020/0281421).
Claim 1
Wolf discloses a cap for providing point-of-use wetting of a towel, the cap comprising a lid (106 including projection member 152 and dome 112); and an inner bowl (154) disposed within the lid (see figure 1). Wolf further discloses the projection member is attached to the bowl by threaded connection (see [0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736