DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 4/1/2026.
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are pending.
Claims 6-21 are new.
Claims 3 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-21 are rejected.
Claim Objections
The objections are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 112 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 10 of Remarks Applicant argues that Compton does not at least suggest overlay/underlay networks corresponding to upper and lower network devices working in cooperation.
Examiner disagrees because Compton recites “[0059] the intrusion detection systems 204 are within the network of an ISP such as a broadband provider; the central controller 212 resides in a datacenter; the route reflector 216 resides in a data center or is connected to a backbone network; and the ISPs 220 are individual peering routers within the broadband provider's network and/or in the network(s) of other ISP(s).” which teaches the overlay/underlying networks further, Compton discloses “[0085] servers and routers can be virtualized instead of being physical devices” and explicitly recites cooperation between these devices.
Additionally, claims 1 and 2 explicitly recite that the first and second circuitry is “configured to” perform the steps. Meaning that any deice which is capable of performing the function reads on the claim language.
On Page 11 of Remarks Applicant argues that Compton’s does not teach a lower network device detecting unauthorized communications, specifically that Compton’s network devices do not perform the detecting, just enforcing.
Examiner disagrees because Compton explicitly recites “[0066] intrusion detection system 204 determines that any network traffic for one or more particular network addresses received by the intrusion detection system 204 is a suspected attack”
Additionally, Applicant is arguing limitations not claimed. At no point do the independent claims recite “determining”.
On Page 11 of Remarks Applicant argues that the information flow in Compton is central-controller-to-device, not lower network device to upper network device. Compton's network devices do not notify other network devices of detection information, nor do they block based on detection information received from another network device.
Examiner disagrees.
Compton explicitly teaches data flowing as recited in the claims, Compton’s devices are network devices and including the upper device (control controller) communication with the lower device (IDS). ([0026] the IDS sending information to the central controller and the central controller sending information back to the IDS both of which are in communication with other network devices).
On Page 12 of Remarks Applicant argues that the dependent claims are in condition for allowance by virtue of the independent claims, however Examiner does not find the independent claims allowable therefore does not find the dependent claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-14 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Compton (U.S. 20210112091).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5,
Compton discloses: An information processing system comprising:
an upper network device constituting an overlay network, the upper network device including first processing circuitry; and (Compton [0026-0040, 0059, 0085] teaches network devices (upper device/overlay network))
a lower network device constituting an underlay network, (Compton [0026-0040, 0059, 0085] teaches underlaying hardware (lower network/underlay network))
the lower network device including second processing circuitry configured to: (Compton [0026-0040, 0048-0059] teaches the central controller/intrusion detection system)
acquire terminal information related to communication of a terminal connected to the lower network device; (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches the central controller/intrusion detection system inspects incoming network traffic)
detect an unauthorized communication based on the terminal information; and (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches the central controller/intrusion detection system determines whether the incoming network traffic is malicious (unauthorized); Each IDS inspects the incoming network traffic and sends the alerts to the central controller)
notify the upper network device of detection information regarding the unauthorized communication, (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches the central controller/intrusion detection system obtains detection information; Each IDS inspects the incoming network traffic and sends the alerts to the central controller)
wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to
receive the detection information from the lower network device, and (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches receiving the central controller receives the alerts from each IDS)
block the unauthorized communication based on the detection information. (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches the central controller performing a mitigation action which includes blocking the traffic based on information from the intrusion detection system)
Claim 4 additionally discloses, an information processing method (Compton [0026] One or more embodiments provide a method)
Claim 5 additionally discloses, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an information processing program causing a computer (Compton [0081] a tangible computer-readable recordable storage medium is defined to encompass a recordable medium, examples of which are set forth above, but is defined not to encompass transmission media per se or disembodied signals per se)
Regarding claim 2,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to detect the unauthorized communication by performing matching between the terminal information and information related to unauthorized communication information which is stored in a memory. (Compton [0010, 0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches comparison of unusual behavior to normal traffic to detect attacks (unauthorized communications))
Regarding claim 3,Cancelled.
Regarding claims 9 and 18,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to block the unauthorized communication by adding an IP address of a destination of the unauthorized communication to a list of IP addresses not permitted to perform communication. (Compton [0026, 0034-0038, 0050-0051, 0059, 0076] teaches adding IP addresses to a whitelist/blacklist where blacklisted IP addresses are blocked)
Regarding claims 10 and 19,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to perform filtering based on the list of IP addresses not permitted to perform communication. (Compton [0026, 0034-0038, 0050-0051, 0058-0059, 0074-0076] teaches the generated rules can include a filtering rule where the blacklisted addresses are filtered/blocked)
Regarding claims 11 and 20,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first processing circuitry is configured to block communication directed from the terminal to a communication destination of the unauthorized communication. (Compton [0026, 0037-0038, 0050-0051, 0058-0059, 0074-0076] teaches the blocking communication from attackers)
Regarding claims 12 and 21,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein
the lower network device further comprises a memory configured to store a list of IP addresses associated with known unauthorized communication destinations, and (Compton [0026, 0034-0038, 0050-0051, 0059, 0076] teaches a blacklist where blacklisted where unauthorized IP addresses that are associated with unauthorized destinations are stored)
the second processing circuitry is configured to detect the unauthorized communication by determining that a destination IP address in the terminal information matches an IP address in the list. (Compton [0010, 0026-0040, 0046-0059, 0076] teaches comparison of unusual behavior to normal traffic to detect attacks (unauthorized communications) including using the blacklist for comparisons)
Regarding claim 13,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal information includes a connection destination IP address and a connection source IP address of the terminal connected to the lower network device. (Compton [0026-0033] The NetFlow records contain, for example, the source IP address/port number, the destination IP address/port number, and the number of bytes transferred for a given traffic flow)
Regarding claim 14,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the terminal connected to the lower network device comprises at least one of office automation (OA) equipment and Internet of Things (IoT) equipment. (Compton [0026-0040, 0046-0059] teaches that the central controller/intrusion detection system inspects incoming information regarding network traffic; information regarding network traffic is also obtained from various devices, such as network devices, servers, and the like ((IoT) equipment); Additionally [0053] teaches automation systems).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Compton (U.S. 20210112091), in view of Chalmandrier-Perna (U.S. 20180253551).
Regarding claims 6 and 15,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the detection information includes a communication destination IP address, a communication source IP address, a detection type. (Compton [0033] The NetFlow records contain, for example, the source IP address/port number, the destination IP address/port number, and the number of bytes transferred for a given traffic flow; [0059] the intrusion detection system determines the true victim IP address and type of attack and feeds this information to the central controller )
Compton does not explicitly disclose: detection information includes… a date and time of detection
However, in the same field of endeavor Chalmandrier-Perna teaches: detection information includes… a date and time of detection (Chalmandrier-Perna [0063-0066] associate a timestamp with the file in the form of a tag, or associate a potential security threat-level that the file poses, wherein such tagged files can then be transmitted to a TDFQ)
Chalmandrier-Perna and Compton are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor threat detection.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Compton and Chalmandrier-Perna before him or her, to modify the method of Compton to include the timestamped data and UTM of Chalmandrier-Perna because it will allow for advanced and efficient filtering.
The motivation for doing so would be [“ In an aspect, the file can be tagged using a pre-filter based on an application by which it would be executed. The file can also be tagged using a pre-filter based on a threat-level that is associated with the file by the pre-filter (or filtering engine). In another aspect, the file can be pre-filtered using a network security device (e.g., a firewall, a network security gateway, an Intrusion Prevention System (IPS), an Intrusion Detection System (IDS) or a Unified Threat Management (UTM) appliance) before being received at the computer system.”] (Paragraph 0029 by Chalmandrier-Perna) and NSD can associate a timestamp with the file in the form of a tag (Paragraph 0048, 0063-0066 by Chalmandrier-Perna)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Compton and Chalmandrier-Perna to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 7 and 16,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein
the lower network device comprises Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) equipment. (Compton [0028-0029, 0035-0037, 0071] teach the lower network device can include a device to perform deep packet inspection)
While Compton teaches that the upper network device can be in a datacenter, it does not explicitly teach: the upper network device comprises at least one of a cloud proxy server and Unified Threat Management (UTM) equipment, and
However, in the same field of endeavor Chalmandrier-Perna teaches: the upper network device comprises at least one of a cloud proxy server and Unified Threat Management (UTM) equipment, and (Chalmandrier-Perna [0029, 0038] In an aspect, the file can be tagged using a pre-filter based on an application by which it would be executed. The file can also be tagged using a pre-filter based on a threat-level that is associated with the file by the pre-filter (or filtering engine). In another aspect, the file can be pre-filtered using a network security device (e.g., a firewall, a network security gateway, an Intrusion Prevention System (IPS), an Intrusion Detection System (IDS) or a Unified Threat Management (UTM) appliance) before being received at the computer system)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Chalmandrier-Perna for similar reasons as cited in claim 6.
Regarding claims 8 and 17,
Compton discloses: The information processing system according to claim 1
While teaches second processing circuitry configured to detect unauthorized communication Compton does not explicitly teach: wherein the second processing circuitry is configured to detect the unauthorized communication using a Unified Threat Management (UTM) security function.
However, in the same field of endeavor Chalmandrier-Perna teaches: the second processing circuitry is configured to detect the unauthorized communication using a Unified Threat Management (UTM) security function. (Chalmandrier-Perna [0029, 0038] In an aspect, the file can be tagged using a pre-filter based on an application by which it would be executed. The file can also be tagged using a pre-filter based on a threat-level that is associated with the file by the pre-filter (or filtering engine). In another aspect, the file can be pre-filtered using a network security device (e.g., a firewall, a network security gateway, an Intrusion Prevention System (IPS), an Intrusion Detection System (IDS) or a Unified Threat Management (UTM) appliance) before being received at the computer system)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Chalmandrier-Perna for similar reasons as cited in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Achleitner 2020-08-21 (US 20220060491) teaches an anomaly detection model is trained to detect malicious traffic sessions with a low rate of false positives. A sample feature extractor extracts tokens corresponding to human-readable substrings of incoming unstructured payloads in a traffic session. The tokens are correlated with a list of malicious traffic features and frequent malicious traffic features across the traffic session are aggregated into a feature vector of malicious traffic feature frequencies. An anomaly detection model trained on feature vectors for unstructured malicious traffic samples predicts the traffic session as malicious or unclassified. The anomaly detection model is trained and updated based on its' ongoing false positive rate and malicious traffic features in the list of malicious traffic features that result in a high false positive rate are removed.
Marshall 2013-11-01 (US 10171421) teaches an intrusion detection and prevention system and computer program which, when operated or executed by a security element (7) situated between a receiver (3) and a media access control (MAC) element (5) of a device (1) of a wireless network, performs the steps of receiving wireless traffic from the receiver of the device, and detecting that MAC element the traffic is allowed according to one or more rules and passing the traffic to the MAC element of the device, or detecting that the traffic is not allowed according to the one or more rules and preventing the traffic from passing to the MAC element of the device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THOMAS A. CARNES
Examiner
Art Unit 2436
/THOMAS A CARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 /SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436