DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Amendment filed on 13 May 2026 has been acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 3 – 5 are amended.
Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claim 7 is newly presented.
Currently, claims 1 – 5 and 7 are pending and considered as set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 13 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues, “Kitagawa does not disclose the feature "the processor controls a charging rate of the battery based on flight information" in amended claim 1. Kitagawa merely discloses that when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 52 is equal to or higher than a first reference value, the battery management device 54 controls the power management device 44 to supply power from the power generation device 42 to the motor 14 without charging the battery 52 from the power generation device 42, and when the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 52 falls below the first reference value, the battery management device 54 controls the power management device 44 to charge the battery 52 from the power generation device 42 (please see paragraph [0134] in Kitagawa). Kitagawa further discloses that the battery management device 54 can control the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 52 according to flight conditions including the flight altitude of the multicopter 100 and the flight conditions are various parameters that determine the power (power consumption) consumed by the multicopter 100 per unit time during flight, such as flight altitude, flight speed, wind direction and speed during flight, and payload size (weight). Kitagawa further discloses that the control device 30 calculates an estimated value of power consumption based on the above parameters that define the flight conditions and the battery management device 54 determines whether or not the vehicle can descend to a possible landing point and land using only the power currently stored in the battery 52, based on the estimated value of power consumption obtained from the control device 30. Kitagawa further discloses that if it is determined that the vehicle cannot descend to a possible landing point and land using only the power currently stored in the battery 52, the battery management device 54 starts a charging operation to increase the state of charge (SOC) of the battery 52 (this means that the first reference value described above is increased) (please see paragraph [0136] in Kitagawa). That is, as is best understood by the Applicant, Kitagawa merely discloses that the battery management device 54 changes the first reference value based on flight information, and controls such that, when the state of charge of the battery 52 is equal to or higher than the first reference value, power from the power generation device 42 is supplied to the motor 14 without charging the battery 52 from the power generation device 42, and when the state of charge of the battery 52 falls below the first reference value, charging of the battery 52 from the power generation device 42 is performed. In view of this, the battery management device 54 in Kitagawa does not control a charging rate of the battery based on flight information.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and traverses that considering the reference as a whole, page 10 paragraph 2 – 6 of Kitagawa teaches the controlling unit, which include a processor, controls charge rate of battery based on the flight information (refer to the updated rejection below). Therefore, Kitagawa does teach the limitation of: control a charging rate of the battery based on flight information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitagawa (WO 2024142236 A1).
As per claim 1, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
a flight vehicle that is battery driven, the flight vehicle (See at least abstract; This unmanned aircraft comprises a plurality of first rotors, at least one second rotor, a plurality of electric motors that each drive one of the plurality of first rotors, an internal combustion engine that drives the at least one second rotor, a battery that stores first electric power, a power generation device that is driven by the internal combustion engine and that generates second electric power, a first electric power control device that controls the charging and discharging of the battery, and a second electric power control device that controls the power generation performed by the power generation device. Each of the plurality of electric motors receives at least one of the first electric power and the second electric power, and the first electric power control device controls the second electric power control device.) comprising:
a processor (See at least abstract, page 3 last paragraph – page 4 first paragraph and page 26 paragraph 6 – page 27 paragraph 2; The aircraft body 4 includes a control device 4a that controls the operation of the devices and components mounted on the multicopter 10, a group of sensors 4b connected to the control device 4a, a communication device 4c connected to the control device 4a, and a battery 52. The control device 4a may include, for example, a flight control device such as a flight controller, and a higher-level computer (companion computer). The companion computer can perform advanced computational processing such as image processing, obstacle detection, and obstacle avoidance based on the sensor data acquired by the sensor group 4b. … Note that the power receiving terminal 210 and the communication terminal 216 may be configured so that the same terminal receives power and performs communication. Similarly, the power transmitting terminal 76A and the communication terminal 76B may be configured so that the same terminal transmits power and performs communication. The control device 30 of the multicopter 100 can obtain information regarding the power required to operate the work machine 200 from the MCU 214 of the work machine 200 via the communication terminals 216 and 76B. Such information may include information regarding the operation plan of the work machine 200. The control device 30 can generate and supply the power required for the operation of the work machine 200 based on information acquired from the work machine 200. Note that the work machine 200 does not need to be equipped with an MCU 214, and some or all of the functions of the MCU 214 of the work machine 200 may be configured to be executed by the control device 30 of the multicopter 100. FIG. 15 is a block diagram showing an example of the hardware configuration of the control device 30. The control device 30 includes a processor 34, a ROM (Read Only Memory) 35, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 36, a storage device 37, and a communication I/F 38. These components are connected to each other via a bus 39.); and
a battery that is charged by a power supply device, wherein the processor controls a charging rate of the battery based on flight information (See at least page 10 paragraph 2 – 6 and page 26 paragraph 6 – page 27 paragraph 2; The power generation device 42 is connected to a power management device 44. The power management device 44 is connected to the control device 30 and a battery management device 54 described below. The power management device 44 can control the amount of power generated by the power generation device 42 based on signals from the control device 30 or the battery management device 54. This amount of power generation can be variably controlled by the power management device 44 according to the power required by the motor 14 and the battery 52, even when the engine speed of the main rotor drive unit 24, which is an internal combustion engine, is constant. The aircraft body 120 further includes a battery 52, which may be, for example, a lithium-ion secondary battery having multiple cells connected in series or parallel, and a battery management device 54 that controls the charging and discharging of the battery 52. The battery 52 can receive DC power from the power generation device 42 via a power switch 56 and be charged by that power. The operation of the power switch 56 can be controlled by the battery management device 54 and the control device 30. The battery management device 54 is a device that measures or estimates parameter values that define the state of the battery 52, such as the current flowing through the battery 52, cell voltage, cell balance, charging rate (State Of Charge: SOC), state of health (State Of Health: SOH), and temperature. The battery management device 54 can control the power switch 56 depending on the state of the battery 52. For example, when the battery 52 is in a state requiring charging, the battery management device 54 electrically connects the power generation device 42 and the battery 52 via the power switch 56, and supplies power from the power generation device 42 to the battery 52 to perform a charging operation. At this time, the battery management device 54 controls the power management device 44 so that the power supplied to the ESC 16 does not drop below a desired level, and can increase the amount of power generated by the power generation device 42. On the other hand, when the battery 52 is in a state requiring no charging, the battery management device 54 cuts off the electrical connection between the power generation device 42 and the battery 52 via the power switch 56, and stops charging the battery 52. In this embodiment, the storage capacity of the battery 52 has a value that allows the aircraft to continue to generate lift and control attitude by the sub-rotor 12, fly to a location where landing is possible, and land there, even if power generation by the power generation device 42 stops for some reason and lift by the main rotor 22 is lost. In other words, when the multicopter 100 of this embodiment is flying normally, the power required to drive the sub-rotor 12 can be supplied to the ESC 16 from the power generation device 42, not from the battery 52. For this reason, even if the payload and flight time are increased, there is little need to increase the storage capacity of the battery 52 accordingly.)).
As per claim 2, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
wherein the flight information includes at least one of a flight speed, a flight altitude, and a rotation speed of a propeller (See at least page 19, last paragraph).
As per claim 4, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
wherein the flight information includes environmental information at a flight altitude (See at least page 19, last paragraph).
As per claim 5, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
wherein the environment information includes at least one of an ambient air temperature, a wind speed, weather information, and an atmospheric pressure (See at least page 19, last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa in view of Staat et al. (Hereinafter Staat) (US 12275327 B2).
As per claim 3, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
wherein the flight information includes a flight speed and changing charge rate based on the flight speed (See at least page 19, last paragraph), but does not explicitly teach the limitation of:
the processor increases the charging rate of the battery as the flight speed increases.
Staat teaches the limitation of:
the processor increases the charging rate of the battery as the flight speed increases (Column 25 line 6 – 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control unit increases the charging rate of the battery as the flight speed increases as taught by Staat in the system of Kitagawa, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa in view of Yu et al. (Hereinafter Yu) (CN 114312397 A).
As per claim 7, Kitagawa teaches the limitation of:
a power supply device (See at least page 6 paragraph 3; In the example shown in FIG. 1C, the multicopter 10 is equipped with a power supply device 76. The power supply device 76 is a device that supplies power to the work machine 200 from a driving energy source such as the battery 52 or the power generation device 8 equipped in the multicopter 10. Various functions of the work machine 200 can be performed by this power. The work machine 200 is equipped with actuators such as motors that operate with power obtained from the power supply device 76 of the multicopter 10. It is preferable that the work machine 200 is equipped with a battery that stores power.); and
a flight vehicle including a processor and a battery that is charged by the power supply device (See at least page 6 paragraph 3), wherein:
the power supply device is connected to the flight vehicle by a power supply cable and a plurality of wires (See at least page 10 paragraph 2 – 6 and page 26 paragraph 6; electrical connection between the power receiving terminal 210 and the power transmitting terminal 76A include direct contact that allows current to flow, a connection via a conductive cable or wiring, and a connection via wireless power transmission. Examples of electrical connection between the communication terminals 216 and 76B also include direct contact that allows current to flow, a connection via a communication cable or wiring, and a wireless connection.); and
the processor is configured to control a charging rate of the battery based on flight information (See at least page 10 paragraph 2 – 6 and page 26 paragraph 6 – page 27 paragraph 2).
Kitagawa does not teach the limitation of:
the power supply cable includes a refrigerant pipe that circulates a refrigerant.
Yu teaches the limitation of:
the power supply cable includes a refrigerant pipe that circulates a refrigerant (See abstract and page 3 paragraph 3; The invention relates to the technical field of charging, specifically relates to a heat management system for charging, charging device and charging method. the charging heat management system comprises a compressor, a condenser, a throttling device, an evaporator, an air supply channel and an additional refrigerating device, the charging heat management system is working, compressor, condenser, throttling device, evaporator to form main refrigeration cycle, compressor, condenser, the additional refrigeration device forms an additional refrigeration cycle; in the main refrigeration cycle, the cold air generated by the evaporator is guided by the air supply channel. when the charged device is charged, the charging heat management system can simultaneously improve the battery cooling capacity of the charging pile and the charging device. … the embodiment of the invention claims a heat management system for charging, comprising a compressor, a condenser, a throttling device, an evaporator, an air passage and an additional refrigerating device; wherein the compressor, the condenser, the throttling device, the evaporator and the additional refrigerating device are connected through pipeline; the pipeline is filled with cooling medium; the through pipeline is connected so that the charging heat management system when working: the compressor, the condenser, the throttling device, the evaporator forms a main refrigeration cycle; the compressor, the condenser, the additional refrigeration device forms an additional refrigeration cycle; in the main refrigeration cycle, the cold air generated by the evaporator is guided by the air supply channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power supply cable includes a refrigerant pipe that circulates a refrigerant as taught by Yu in the system of Kitagawa, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662