DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-8, the use of the limitation “on the basis of” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear what, if any, relationship exists between the associated elements; e.g. mathematical, causal, incidental, etc.
Regarding claims 3-4, the use of the limitation “based on” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear what, if any, relationship exists between the associated elements; e.g. mathematical, causal, incidental, etc.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the unit regions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the three-dimensional risk information map" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (US 2022/0130040 A1) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (US 2021/0233241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson et al. (‘040) teach a medical information processing device comprising processing circuitry configured to: acquire a CT image of a chest of a subject (“computed tomography” see [0051]); acquire an esophageal pressure and an airway pressure of the subject (“pressure measurement” see [0075]-[0076]); and generate a risk information map in a lung field of the subject on a basis of the CT image, the esophageal pressure, and the airway pressure (“disease probability mapping” see [0062]); but fail to explicitly teach estimate risk information in the lung field and display of the information. However, Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) from the same field of endeavor do teach a device to estimate risk information in the lung field of the subject on a basis of the risk information map (“map indicates a predicted risk lung cancer” see [0297]); and display the risk information map and the risk information on a display (“color-coded image of a lung of the patient” see [0304]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the invention of Peterson et al. with the features of Washko, JR. et al. for the benefit of predicting future risk of lung disease.
Regarding claim 2, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to superimpose the risk information map on the CT image and display the CT image including the risk information map on the display (see Washko, JR. et al. [0304]).
Regarding claim 3, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate the risk information using a risk estimation model trained to output the risk information when information based on the risk information map is input (see Washko, JR. et al. [0304]).
Regarding claim 4, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate the risk information using a risk estimation model trained to output information indicating the risk information when information based on the risk information map and information on the subject are input (see Washko, JR. et al. [0304]).
Regarding claim 5, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a transpulmonary pressure for each unit region of the lung field in the CT image on a basis of CT values in the CT image, the esophageal pressure, and the airway pressure, and generate the risk information map indicating the transpulmonary pressure for each unit region (see Peterson et al. [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 6, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device according to claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate the transpulmonary pressure for each unit region on a basis of a relative positional relationship between a measurement position of the esophageal pressure in the CT image and the unit region for which the transpulmonary pressure is to be calculated (see Peterson et al. [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 7, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device of claim 5, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a proportion of the unit regions having transpulmonary pressures equal to or greater than a threshold value on a basis of the calculated transpulmonary pressure for each unit region, and display the proportion of the unit regions having transpulmonary pressures equal to or greater than the threshold value on the display (see Peterson et al. [0054]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Peterson et al. (‘040) in view of Washko, JR. et al. (‘241) teach the medical information processing device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate the three-dimensional risk information map in a body axis direction of the subject on a basis of the CT images including a plurality of tomographic images of the chest captured in the body axis direction of the subject (see Washko, JR. et al. [0304]).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797