DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species C Fig. 1C in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no burden to the Examiner to search all of the species. This is not found persuasive because each heat exchanger configuration with the various circuits, multi-passes or single passes and different distribution tubes would require a search strategy unique to each heat exchanger configuration.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The applicant asserts that claim 3 reads on Species C, however, the Examiner deems claim 3 readable only on Species A-B and D-E because the claimed housing for the distributor is conical shaped, which is only shown in Species A-B and D-E whereas the elected species C has a cylindrical shape 200 in figure 1C. Claim 3 stands withdrawn from consideration.
The applicant asserts that claim 8 reads on Species C, however, the Examiner deems claim 8 readable only on Species A and D because the claimed single-pass configuration, which is only shown in Species A and D whereas claim C is a multi-pass exchanger. Claim 8 stands withdrawn from consideration.
The applicant asserts that claim 12 read on Species C, however, the Examiner deems claim 12 readable only on Species D because the claimed flow mixing device, which is only shown in Fig. 1D Species D. Claim 12 stands withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 3, 8, and 12 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the second compartments" in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the collector device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the second compartments of the outlet header" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 13-14, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US Publication No.: 2015/0101363 hereinafter “Matsuda”) in view of Joardar et al. (US Publication No.: 2016/0033182 hereinafter “Joardar”).
With respect to claim 1, Satou discloses a heat exchanger (Fig. 1, 1) comprising: an inlet header that comprises first compartments (12) separated by first walls (Fig. 1, inlet header 10a has walls 11 that creates compartments 12); a plurality of microchannel tubes (Fig. 3, tubes 20 have plurality of channels 20a) extending between and in fluidic connection with the first compartments and an outlet header of the heat exchanger (Fig. 1, tubes 20 extend between inlet header 10a and outlet header 10b); and a first distributor comprising an inlet port and a plurality of outlet ports (Figs. 1-2, distributor 40 has inlet into 40 and multiple outlets for pipes 50), wherein a plurality of feeder pipes is configured between the first compartments of the inlet header and the outlet ports of the first distributor (Figs. 1-2, pipes 50 between compartments 12 and distributor 40), such that each of the first compartments remains fluidically connected to one of the outlet ports of the first distributor by one of the feeder pipes to allow flow of an equal volume of fluid from the first distributor into each of the first compartments (Fig. 1); and a second distributor configured within the first compartments of the inlet header, the second distributor configured to mix and allow uniform flow of fluid into the microchannel tubes of each of the first compartments (Fig. 2, second distributor 13 is capable of the intended use limitations).
Matsuda is silent to the channels within the tubes being micro channels.
Joardar teaches microchannel tubes within heat exchanger (Para 0035 and Fig. 3, 120). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the channels in the tubes of Matsuda to be microchannels as taught by Joardar to be optimal for high pressure refrigerants to increase heat transfer (Para 0035).
With respect to claim 2, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the first distributor comprises a housing of a shape that comprises the inlet port at a first end of the housing and the plurality of outlet ports at a second end of the housing (Figs. 1-2, inlet into 40 is at a first end and outlet for 50 is at a second end), wherein the inlet port is in fluidic communication with the plurality of outlet ports via a plurality of fluidic passages extending within the housing (Figs. 1-2, 40).
With respect to claim 6, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the inlet header and the outlet header are configured in a vertical orientation (Fig. 1, 10a and 10b are vertical), with the plurality of microchannel tubes extending between the inlet header and the outlet header (Fig. 1, tubes 20 extend between 10a and 10b).
With respect to claim 7, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the feeder pipes associated with each of the first compartments is connected to a bottom end of the corresponding first compartment (Fig. 2, feeder pipes 50 are fluidly connected to a bottom end of compartments 12).
With respect to claim 13, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the heat exchange section comprises a plurality of refrigerant circuits (Fig. 1, multiple refrigerant circuits with 20), wherein each of the circuits comprises a group of microchannel tubes that is a subset of a total number of the plurality of microchannel tubes (Fig. 5, multiple tubes 20).
With respect to claim 14, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the group of microchannel tubes associated with each of the refrigerant circuits comprises a predefined number of passes and a predefined number of turns (Fig. 1, one pass and 0 turns).
With respect to claim 16, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the outlet ports of the first distributor are non-uniform in size such that different volume of fluid is provided in the first compartments of the inlet header (Fig. 6, outlet ports in 12a are smaller than outlet ports in 12b since 12b has 4 outlet ports and 10a has one).
With respect to claim 17, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the feeder pipes have non-uniform predetermined diameters and predetermined lengths such that a predetermined target pressure drop is achieved in the feeder pipes (Para 0026, length and diameter of pipes 50 can vary depending upon a desired distribution ratio)
With respect to claim 20, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein the second distributor comprises a plurality of distribution tubes extending longitudinally through the inlet header, such that each of the distribution tubes extends up to and remains fluidically connected to one of the first compartments of the inlet header (Figs. 5-6, tubes 20 extend through 13 and into compartments 12).
Claims 4-5, 9-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US Publication No.: 2015/0101363 hereinafter “Matsuda”) in view of Joardar et al. (US Publication No.: 2016/0033182 hereinafter “Joardar”) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Publication No.: 2006/0054310 hereinafter “Kim”).
With respect to claim 4, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein each of the first compartments of the inlet header are hollow members (Figs. 1-2, 12 is hollow).
Matsuda does not disclose the outlet header comprises hollow second compartments separated by second walls, and wherein a first end of the plurality of microchannel tubes is fluidically connected to at least one of the first compartments of the inlet header and a second end of the corresponding tube is fluidically connected to at least one of the second compartments of the outlet header.
Kim teaches an outlet header that has hollow compartments separated by walls that have tubes connected to each compartment (Figs. 3 and 5, outlet header 22 has walls within 23 that create a compartment for tubes 43). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the outlet header of Matsuda with walls that create compartments as taught by Kim to aid in uniform fluid flow (Para 0020).
With respect to claim 5, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda does not disclose wherein the heat exchanger comprises a fluid collector fluidically connected to the second compartments of the outlet header, wherein the collector device is configured to receive and collect the fluid from each of the second compartments.
Kim teaches a fluid collector that collects fluid from compartments of an outlet header (Fig. 3, fluid collector 47 collects fluid from compartments within outlet header 22). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the outlet header of Matsuda with compartments and a fluid collector connected to the compartments as taught by Kim to aid in uniform fluid flow (Para 0020).
With respect to claim 9, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda does not disclose wherein the plurality of microchannel tubes is in a multi-pass configuration comprising a predefined number of passes and a predefined number of turns.
Kim teaches a multi-pass heat exchanger configuration (Fig. 3) with one turn (Fig. 3, turn at 50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the heat exchanger of Matsuda to be a multi-pass heat exchanger as taught by Kim to have a high heat transfer efficiency (Para 0021).
With respect to claim 10, Matsuda, Joardar and Kim teach the heat exchanger of claim 9 as discussed above. Joardar teaches wherein a number of the microchannel tubes in a subsequent pass among the predefined number of passes is less than a number of the microchannel tubes in a corresponding preceding pass (Fig. 3, numbers of tubes 120 is less than number of tubes 220).
With respect to claim 11, Matsuda, Joardar and Kim teach the heat exchanger of claim 9 as discussed above. Matsuda also teaches wherein a number of the microchannel tubes in a subsequent pass among the predefined number of passes is greater a number of the microchannel tubes in a corresponding preceding pass (Fig. 6, one tube in top pass A, two tubes in next pass down in ! and three tubes in 3rd pass down B etc.).
With respect to claim 15, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda also discloses wherein a first end of the group of microchannel tubes associated with each of the circuits is fluidically connected to one of the first compartments of the inlet header (Fig. 5, group of circuits 20 are connected to compartments 12).
Matsuda does not disclose a second end of the group of microchannel tubes associated with each of the circuits is fluidically connected to one of the second compartments of the outlet header.
Kim teaches an outlet header that has hollow compartments separated by walls that have tubes connected to each compartment (Figs. 3 and 5, outlet header 22 has walls within 23 that create a compartment for tubes 43). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the outlet header of Matsuda with walls that create compartments as taught by Kim to aid in uniform fluid flow (Para 0020).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US Publication No.: 2015/0101363 hereinafter “Matsuda”) in view of Joardar et al. (US Publication No.: 2016/0033182 hereinafter “Joardar”) and further in view of Taras et al. (US Publication No.: 2017/0276411 hereinafter “Taras”).
With respect to claim 18, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda does not discloses wherein the second distributor comprises a distribution tube extending longitudinally through the first compartments, the distribution tube comprises a plurality of cavities extending longitudinally along a length of the distribution tube and configured radially around a central axis of the distribution tube, wherein each of the cavities comprises one or more ports opening in each of the first compartments.
Tara teaches a distributor tube that extends along a heat exchanger header that has port openings around a central axis (Fig. 16, distributor 70 has ports 74). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the header of Matsuda with a second distributor that is a tube extending though the header with ports around a central axis as taught by Tara to reduce the inner volume of the header while maintaining a uniform fluid flow (Para 0070).
With respect to claim 19, Matsuda and Joardar teach the heat exchanger of claim 1 as discussed above. Matsuda does not discloses, wherein the second distributor comprises an elongated member extending within the inlet header through the first compartments, the elongated member comprises a plurality of fluid passages substantially parallel to each other and extending longitudinally along a length of the elongated member, and a plurality of outlet ports disposed on a face of the elongated member and fluidically connected to at least one of the outlet ports, wherein at least one of the outlet ports open in each of the first compartments.
Tara teaches a distributor tube that extends along a heat exchanger header that has port openings around a central axis (Fig. 16, distributor 70 has ports 74). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the header of Matsuda with a second distributor that is a tube extending though the header with ports around a central axis as taught by Tara to reduce the inner volume of the header while maintaining a uniform fluid flow (Para 0070).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763