CTNF 18/916,823 CTNF 79764 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2025 seems to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not related to the specification, claims nor the drawings. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). 06-14 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Abbreviation SCR (for example see paragraph 003 -lines 1 and 2) should be define . Appropriate correction is required. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: For example see Fig. 1 – reference character D3, R3 and C5. For example see Fig. 2 – reference character D3 and R3 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Huang et. al. US Patent 10069406 (Huang) . [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Sec1)] [AltContent: rect] PNG media_image1.png 490 665 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 , Huang disclose a zero cross circuit comprising: a first section (for example see reference character added Sec 1) (Fig. 3); an EMI filter section (i.e., 4) (Fig. 3); the EMI filter section (i.e., 4) (Fig. 3) is turned on only when the first section is conducting current (for example current IQ1). Regarding claim 14 , a method of reducing electromagnetic interference on a zero cross circuit, the method comprising: determining if current is being conducted across a first section (i.e., Sec1) (Fig. 3) of the zero cross circuit; turning on an EMI filter section (i.e., 4) (Fig. 3) of the zero cross circuit if it is determined that current is being conducted across the first section (i.e., Sec1) (Fig. 3); turning off an EMI filter section (i.e., 4) (Fig. 3) of the zero cross circuit if it is determined that current is not being conducted across the first section (i.e., Sec1) (Fig. 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et. al. US Patent 10,069,406 (Huang) in view of Takahashi US Patent 6593751 (Takahashi) . Regarding claim 2 , Huang, as applied in linking claims, discloses a zero cross circuit and a sensor provided on the EMI filter section, as applied in linking claims, but fail to disclose a current transformer is provided on the EMI filter section, the current transformer is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section. PNG media_image2.png 500 674 media_image2.png Greyscale Takahashi disclose a current transformer (i.e., 44) (Fig. 4) is provided on the EMI filter section (i.e., 18) (Fig. 4), the current transformer (i.e., 44) (Fig. 4) is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide on the EMI filter section a current transformer, wherein the current transformer is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section in view of Huang, as taught by Takahashi, in order to senses current. Regarding claim 15 , Huang, as applied in linking claims, fail to disclose a current transformer is provided on the EMI filter section, the current transformer is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section. Takahashi disclose a current transformer (i.e., 44) (Fig. 4) is provided on the EMI filter section (i.e., 18) (Fig. 4), the current transformer (i.e., 44) (Fig. 4) is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide on the EMI filter section a current transformer, wherein the current transformer is activated when the current transformer senses current from the first section in view of Huang, as taught by Takahashi, in order to senses current . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-13 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3 , the prior art, alone or in combination, fail to disclose “a rectifier bridge provided on the EMI filter section in line with the current transformer”, in combination with all the element of linking claims. Claim 4-13 are dependent of claim 3. Regarding claim 16 , the prior art, alone or in combination, fail to disclose “a rectifier bridge provided on the EMI filter section in line with the current transformer, the rectifier bridge converting alternating current from the current transformer to direct current”, in combination with all the element of linking claims. Claim 17-20 are dependent of claim 16 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YAHVEH COMAS TORRES whose telephone number is (571)272-4011. The examiner can normally be reached Mondays - Thursday 830am. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thienvu V Tran can be reached on (571)270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/916,823 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838