Double Patenting
Claim 21-24,31,32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12153302. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 21,31 are obvious to Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12153302
Claim 22,32 are obvious to Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12153302
Claim 23 is obvious to Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12153302
Claim 24 is obvious to Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12153302
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21,24-28,30,31,34-37,39, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Wada (US 6474824)
Regarding Claim 21,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure below) a first substrate (See pasted figure below) including a first end portion (at right in Fig. 2 and at top in Fig. 4); a second substrate (on top of the first substrate) including a second end portion (at right in Fig. 2 and top of Fig. 4) adjacent to the first end portion, and a third end portion (at left in Fig. 2); a liquid crystal layer (where 21 is located) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (shown in pasted figure below); a light source device (21) located along the third end portion (shown in Fig. 5 light source 11 can be on the other side of where 22 is pointing to); a reflective member (31); and a third substrate (22) including a fourth end portion adjacent to the second end portion, wherein the second end portion and the third end portion are separate from each other, and the reflective member (24) covers the second end portion, the third end portion, and the fourth end portion (as shown in Fig. 3).
[AltContent: textbox (Third Substrate and Fourth end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Substrate Third end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second substrate and Second end portion)][AltContent: textbox (First substrate and first end portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 24,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are parallel in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding Claim 25,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the second substrate includes a surface intersecting the second end portion, and the surface, the second end portion, and the fourth end portion form a step.
Regarding Claim 26,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above), wherein the reflective member (24) is separated on the surface.
Regarding Claim 27,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the reflective member (24) covers the surface.
Regarding Claim 28,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the second substrate and the third substrate face each other without being separated by a polarizer in between
Regarding Claim 30,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) a diffusing member between the second end portion and the reflective member. (“... In this case, a method is possible which yields sufficient in-plane uniformity of illumination light, even in the light-source-adjacent region Va, by diffusing light by a light-scattering plate or the like interposed between the point light sources 21 and the light guide plate 22…”)
Regarding Claim 31,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) a first substrate including a first end portion; a second substrate including a second end portion adjacent to the first end portion, and a third end portion; a liquid crystal layer (where 21 is located) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate; a light source device (21) located along the third end portion; a diffusing member (“... In this case, a method is possible which yields sufficient in-plane uniformity of illumination light, even in the light-source-adjacent region Va, by diffusing light by a light-scattering plate or the like interposed between the point light sources 21 and the light guide plate 22…”); and a third substrate (22) including a fourth end portion adjacent to the second end portion, wherein the second end portion and the third end portion are separate from each other, and the diffusing member covers the second end portion, the third end portion, and the fourth end portion.
Regarding Claim 34,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are parallel in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding Claim 35,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the second substrate includes a surface intersecting the second end portion, and the surface, the second end portion, and the fourth end portion form a step.
Regarding Claim 36,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the diffusing member (“... In this case, a method is possible which yields sufficient in-plane uniformity of illumination light, even in the light-source-adjacent region Va, by diffusing light by a light-scattering plate or the like interposed between the point light sources 21 and the light guide plate 22…”) is separated on the surface.
Regarding Claim 37,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the diffusing member covers the surface second substrate; a light source device (21) located along the third end portion; a diffusing member (“... In this case, a method is possible which yields sufficient in-plane uniformity of illumination light, even in the light-source-adjacent region Va, by diffusing light by a light-scattering plate or the like interposed between the point light sources 21 and the light guide plate 22…”)
Regarding Claim 39,
Wada discloses (Fig. 1 to Fig. 4 and see pasted figure above) wherein the second substrate and the third substrate face each other without being separated by a polarizer in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22,23,29,32,33,38, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US 6474824) in view of (CN 104516122 A)
Regarding Claim 22,32,
Wada discloses everything as disclosed above.
Wada does not disclose the liquid crystal layer includes a polymer and a liquid crystal molecule.
(CN 104516122 A) discloses the liquid crystal layer includes a polymer and a liquid crystal molecule.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wada to include (CN 104516122 A)’s liquid crystal layer includes a polymer and a liquid crystal molecule motivated by the desire to provide a significant optical effect [0200].
Regarding Claim 23, 33,
In addition to Wada and (CN 104516122 A) , (CN 104516122 A) discloses wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a polymer formed of a polymeric material and liquid crystal molecules dispersed in the polymer [0200].
Regarding Claim 29,38,
Wada discloses everything as disclosed above.
Wada does not disclose wherein an outer shape of the second substrate has a curved shape.
(CN 104516122 A) discloses wherein an outer shape of the second substrate has a curved shape [0180].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wada to include (CN 104516122 A)’s outer shape of the second substrate has a curved shape [0180] motivated by the desire to provide variable optical functions (ABSTRACT).
Claim(s) 40, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wada (US 6474824) in view of Usukura et al (US 20110025956)
Regarding Claim 40,
Wada discloses everything as disclosed above.
Wada does not disclose wherein the diffusing member is an anisotropically diffusing member.
Usukura et al discloses wherein the diffusing member is an anisotropically diffusing member [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wada to include Usukura et al’s diffusing member is an anisotropically diffusing member [0023] motivated by the desire to provide display in which the viewing angle is not increased along the first direction, but the viewing angle is further increased along the second direction.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871