Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3.) Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reflective module”, “a housing”, “reflective holder”, “rotating holder”, in claims 1-20.
Claim limitations “a reflective module”, “a housing”, “reflective holder”, “rotating holder”, has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “a reflective module”, “a housing”, “reflective holder”, “rotating holder”, coupled with functional language “configured to rotate with respect to two rotation axes”, “configured to accommodate”, “configured to rotate relative to the rotating holder”, “configured to rotate relative to the housing”, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-20 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Support for the structure that performs the functions of a reflective module is shown as being implemented by a prism or a mirror (Paragraphs 0078-0079 of the publication to the instant application). The housing is shown as being implemented by a quadrangular box shape having an internal space (Paragraphs 0058-0060 of the publication to the instant application). The reflective holder is shown as being implemented by two first receiving grooves that includes a protrusion (Paragraphs 0085-0086 of the publication to the instant application). The rotating holder is shown as being implemented by two second receiving grooves (Paragraphs 0085-0086 of the publication to the instant application).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.) Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamisawa et al. (US Pub No.: 2022/0283404A1) and further in view of Jin (US Pub No.: 2006/0268431A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Minamisawa et al. disclose a camera module (A camera module, Abstract; Figures 1-6), comprising:
a first lens module (lens 3) comprising at least one lens disposed in a first optical axis (The incident direction of light to the reflection surface 5a (that is, the direction of the optical axis L1 of the lens 3, Paragraphs 0025, 0029-0030) direction;
a reflective module (holder 9) comprising a reflective member (prism 5), and configured to rotate with respect to two rotation axes which are perpendicular to each other (A prism 5 fixed to a prism holder 15. The prism 5 is rotatably held in the holder 9.The holder 9 is rotatably held in the housing 10, Paragraphs 0027-0028; Figures 1-6. The reflection surface 5a reflects light incident to the reflection surface 5a through the lens 3 toward the image pickup element 7, Paragraph 0029. The holder 9 is rotatable with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The second rotation mechanism 12 rotates the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The prism 5 and the prism holder 15 are rotatable with respect to the holder 9 with a direction orthogonal to the front-back direction and intersecting the vertical direction as the axis direction of rotation, Paragraphs 0031-0032; Figures 1-6);
a second lens module (lens 6) comprising at least one lens disposed in a second optical axis direction, and configured to move in the second optical axis direction (The lens 6 is a lens group consisting of a plurality of lenses and includes a focus lens and a zoom lens. The camera module 8 includes a focus-lens drive mechanism to drive the focus lens and a zoom-lens drive mechanism to drive the zoom lens, Paragraph 0034; Figures 1-6. L2 is the optical axis of the lens 6, Paragraphs 0045; Figures 1-6); and
a housing (housing 10) configured to accommodate at least one of the first lens module, the reflective module, and the second lens module (The optical unit 1 has a holder 9 as a holding member to hold the prism 5 and the camera module 8, and a housing 10 as a fixing member to hold the holder 9. The prism 5 is rotatably held in the holder 9. The holder 9 is rotatably held in the housing 10. The optical unit 1 includes a first rotation mechanism 11 to rotate the prism 5 with respect to the holder 9 and a second rotation mechanism 12 to rotate the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10, Paragraphs 0027-0028; Figures 1-6),
wherein the first lens module (lens 3) is configured to be coupled to the reflective module (The reflection surface 5a of the prism 5 receives the light that has passed through the lens 3. The reflection surface 5a reflects light incident to the reflection surface 5a through the lens 3 toward the image pickup element 7, Paragraphs 0029-0030).
However, Minamisawa et al. do not explicitly disclose that the first lens module is configured to be coupled to the reflective module and is configured to rotate together with the reflective module with respect to the two rotation axes which are perpendicular to each other. Jin teaches of a first lens module that is configured to be coupled to the reflective module and is configured to rotate together with the reflective module with respect to the two rotation axes which are perpendicular to each other,
(Jin teaches of an optical unit for forming an object image according to the present invention comprises: a reflection member for banding an optical axis of the optical unit; a front lens group arranged closer to an object side of the optical unit than the reflection member; a rear lens group arranged closer to an image forming side of the optical unit than the reflection member; and a driver for driving the optical unit. The driver drives the reflection member and the front lens group in a predefined first direction and in a predefined second direction, Abstract and Figures 1-4 of Jin.
Jin teaches that a first lens group 22 is structured to be driven together with a prism 23 as one body. The axes of planetary gears 120a and 120b are fitted to each long hole so that the axes freely rotate. P-rotational axes 115a and 115b (not shown) are formed on one side of each side surface plate 114a and 114b. The straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b pass periphery of the point A where the optical axis 31 of the rear lens group and the reflecting surface of the prism 23 cross and the angle formed by the straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b and the optical axis 31 is 90.degree, Paragraphs 0047, 0077, 0085-0087; Figures 1-4, 9-10 of Jin. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Minamisawa et al. to enable a first lens module configured to be coupled to the reflective module and is configured to rotate together with the reflective module with respect to the two rotation axes which are perpendicular to each other as taught by Jin, because this enables the driving amounts of the front lens and the prism to be controlled the same amount, thus making it possible to provide an optical unit having a low degrading amount of the optical characteristic and a shaking correction function by driving the front lens and the prism integrally, which is a simple method, Paragraph 0077 of Jin).
With regard to Claim 2, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the reflective module comprises a reflective holder on which the reflective member is disposed, and a rotating holder on which the reflective holder is supported (The rotating shaft portion 16 has a ball fixing plate 32 made of metal and fixed to the prism holder 15, a ball 33 made of metal and fixed to the ball fixing plate 32, and a plate spring 34 made of metal and biasing the ball 33. As shown in FIG. 6, the ball fixing plates 32 are fixed to both side surfaces in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15, and the balls 33 are disposed on both sides in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15. The ball 33 is fixed to the ball fixing plate 32 by welding. The plate springs 34 are disposed on both sides of the ball 33 in the left-right direction and bias the ball 33 inwardly in the left-right direction, Paragraphs 0040-0047; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.), and wherein the first lens module is coupled to the reflective holder, and is disposed on an upper side of the reflective member (Jin teaches that side surface plates 114a and 114b hold the prism 23 in between. Long holes 121a and 121b are formed in portions of the side surface plates 114a and 114b, which are opposed to the first lens group 22. The axes of planetary gears 120a and 120b are fitted to each long hole so that the axes freely rotate. P-rotational axes 115a and 115b (not shown) are formed on one side of each side surface plate 114a and 114b. A prism cover 116 stores the prism 23 and side surface plates 114a and 114b, and the P-rotation axes 115a and 115b fit the holes 117a and 117b of the prism cover 116 so that the P-rotation axes 115a and 115b freely rotate. The first lens group is coupled to and on top of the surface plates, Paragraphs 0082-0087; Figures 9-10 of Jin. As taught above, it would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Minamisawa et al. to have the structure to have the first lens module be coupled to the reflective holder, and be disposed on an upper side of the reflective member as taught by Jin, because the structure would have provided the benefits of providing an optical unit having a low degrading amount of the optical characteristic and a shaking correction function by driving the front lens and the prism integrally, which is a simple method, Paragraph 0077 of Jin).
In regard to Claim 3, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 2, wherein the first lens module comprises a first lens barrel (first lens group 22) that accommodates the at least one lens disposed in the first optical axis direction, and wherein the first lens barrel is coupled to a seating groove (rack gears) provided in the reflective holder (Rack gears 113a and 133b (not shown) are formed on a part of surface of the first lens group case 112 opposed to the prism 23. A symbol 116 is a prism cover, which stores a prism 23. In the prism cover 116, a Y-rotation axis 118 is formed in a direction parallel with an optical axis 31 from a periphery of the point A where the optical axis 31 and a prism reflection surface 23r cross each other. A driving gear 119 is formed in the front edge of the Y-rotation axis 118. Rack gears 122a and 122b (not shown) are formed on the part of the prism cover 116 opposed to the first lens group 22. The first lens group case 112 is disposed in a place where the rack gears 113a and 122a hold a planetary gear 120a in between. The first lens group case 112 is charged from one direction by a spring 123 against a part of housing 124 of the optical unit 111. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Minamisawa et al. to have the structure to have a first lens module comprise a first lens barrel (first lens group 22) that accommodates the at least one lens disposed in the first optical axis direction, and wherein the first lens barrel is coupled to a seating groove (rack gears) provided in the reflective holder as taught by Jin, because the structure would have provided the benefits of providing an optical unit having a low degrading amount of the optical characteristic and a shaking correction function by driving the front lens and the prism integrally, which is a simple method, Paragraph 0077 of Jin).
With regard to Claim 5, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 2, wherein the reflective holder is configured to rotate relative to the rotating holder with respect to a first rotation axis, and the rotating holder is configured to rotate relative to the housing with respect to a second rotation axis perpendicular to the first rotation axis (The rotating shaft portion 16 has a ball fixing plate 32 made of metal and fixed to the prism holder 15, a ball 33 made of metal and fixed to the ball fixing plate 32, and a plate spring 34 made of metal and biasing the ball 33. As shown in FIG. 6, the ball fixing plates 32 are fixed to both side surfaces in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15, and the balls 33 are disposed on both sides in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15. The ball 33 is fixed to the ball fixing plate 32 by welding. The plate springs 34 are disposed on both sides of the ball 33 in the left-right direction and bias the ball 33 inwardly in the left-right direction. The prism 5 and the prism holder 15 are rotated with respect to the holder 9 with a line passing through centers of two balls 33 disposed on the both sides of the prism holder 15 in the left-right direction (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 33) as the rotation center. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 33 is an axis (rotation center line) L11 of rotation of the prism 5 with respect to the holder 9. The axis L11 passes near the center of the reflection surface 5a when viewed from an axis direction of the axis L11. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction. The movable body 40 is constituted by all members that are rotatable with respect to the housing 10. The movable body 40 in this embodiment is constituted by the prism 5, the camera module 8, the holder 9, the first rotation mechanism 11, the prism holder 15, the rotating shaft portion 16, the drive magnet 28, the ball fixing plate 36, and the ball 37, Paragraphs 0040-0046; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
In regard to Claim 6, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 5, wherein at least one first ball member that forms the first rotation axis is disposed between the reflective holder and the rotating holder, and at least one second ball member that forms the second rotation axis is disposed between the rotating holder and the housing (As mentioned above, the rotating shaft portion 16 has a ball fixing plate 32 made of metal and fixed to the prism holder 15, a ball 33 made of metal and fixed to the ball fixing plate 32, and a plate spring 34 made of metal and biasing the ball 33. As shown in FIG. 6, the ball fixing plates 32 are fixed to both side surfaces in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15, and the balls 33 are disposed on both sides in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15. The ball 33 is fixed to the ball fixing plate 32 by welding. The plate springs 34 are disposed on both sides of the ball 33 in the left-right direction and bias the ball 33 inwardly in the left-right direction. The prism 5 and the prism holder 15 are rotated with respect to the holder 9 with a line passing through centers of two balls 33 disposed on the both sides of the prism holder 15 in the left-right direction (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 33) as the rotation center. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 33 is an axis (rotation center line) L11 of rotation of the prism 5 with respect to the holder 9. The axis L11 passes near the center of the reflection surface 5a when viewed from an axis direction of the axis L11. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction. The movable body 40 is constituted by all members that are rotatable with respect to the housing 10. The movable body 40 in this embodiment is constituted by the prism 5, the camera module 8, the holder 9, the first rotation mechanism 11, the prism holder 15, the rotating shaft portion 16, the drive magnet 28, the ball fixing plate 36, and the ball 37, Paragraphs 0040-0046; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the first lens module is disposed in front of the reflective module (The lens 3 is disposed in front of the prism 5, Figure 3 of Minamisawa et al.), and the second lens module (6) is disposed in a rear of the reflective module, based on a path of incident light (The second lens 6 is disposed in the rear of the prism 5 based on a path of incident light of the optical axis L2, Paragraphs 0029-0030; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
With regard to Claim 8, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the second lens module comprises a lens holder that accommodates the at least one lens disposed in the second optical axis direction (Holder 9 which is part of a movable body 40 supports the lens 6 in the second optical axis direction L2, Paragraphs 0042-0046; Figures 3-5 of Minamisawa et al.), and wherein the lens holder comprises an avoidance portion (retaining portion 38c) in which a portion of an upper surface of the lens holder has been removed (see inward protrusion) (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side, Paragraph 0044; Figure 5 of Minamisawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 8, wherein the avoidance portion is provided on a side of the lens holder that is adjacent to the reflective module (the spring portion 38b is on a side of the lens holder 9 that is adjacent to the prism 5 and its housing) on the upper surface of the lens holder based on the second optical axis direction (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction, Paragraph 0044 and Figure 5 of Minamisawa et al.).
In regard to Claim 10, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 8, wherein the avoidance portion is provided on a portion of the lens holder that overlaps the first lens module in the first optical axis direction when the lens holder is positioned closest to the reflective module (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046; Figure 5 of Minamisawa et al.).
With regard to Claim 11, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 1, further comprising an image sensor module that is disposed in a rear of the second lens module and comprising an image sensor, wherein the second lens module is configured to move between the reflective module and the image sensor module, (The camera module 8 includes a substrate 20 on which the image pickup element 7 is mounted. The image pickup element 7 is mounted on a rear surface of the substrate 20 behind the lens 6, Paragraphs 0026; Figure 3 of Minamisawa et al.. The lens 6 is a lens group consisting of a plurality of lenses and includes a focus lens and a zoom lens. The camera module 8 includes a focus-lens drive mechanism to drive the focus lens and a zoom-lens drive mechanism to drive the zoom lens, Paragraph 0034; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et a.. L2 is the optical axis of the lens 6, Paragraphs 0045; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose a portable electronic device comprising the camera module of claim 1 (See portable device/smartphone, Paragraph 0025 and Figure 2 of Minamisawa et al.).
In regard to Claim 13, Minamisawa et al. disclose a camera module (A camera module, Abstract; Figures 1-6), comprising:
a reflective holder having a reflective member and at least one lens disposed in a first optical axis direction with respect to the reflective member (A prism 5 fixed to a prism holder 15. The prism 5 is rotatably held in the holder 9.The holder 9 is rotatably held in the housing 10, Paragraphs 0027-0028; Figures 1-6. The reflection surface 5a reflects light incident to the reflection surface 5a through the lens 3 toward the image pickup element 7, Paragraph 0029. The holder 9 is rotatable with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The second rotation mechanism 12 rotates the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The prism 5 and the prism holder 15 are rotatable with respect to the holder 9 with a direction orthogonal to the front-back direction and intersecting the vertical direction as the axis direction of rotation, Paragraphs 0031-0032; Figures 1-6); and
a rotating holder on which the reflective holder is supported (The rotating shaft portion 16 has a ball fixing plate 32 made of metal and fixed to the prism holder 15, a ball 33 made of metal and fixed to the ball fixing plate 32, and a plate spring 34 made of metal and biasing the ball 33. As shown in FIG. 6, the ball fixing plates 32 are fixed to both side surfaces in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15, and the balls 33 are disposed on both sides in the left-right direction of the prism holder 15. The ball 33 is fixed to the ball fixing plate 32 by welding. The plate springs 34 are disposed on both sides of the ball 33 in the left-right direction and bias the ball 33 inwardly in the left-right direction, Paragraphs 0040-0047; Figures 1-6).
Minamisawa et al. do not explicitly disclose that the reflective member and the at least one lens are configured to rotate about a first rotation axis, perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and a second rotation axis, parallel to the first optical axis direction. Jin teaches that reflective member and the at least one lens are configured to rotate about a first rotation axis, perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and a second rotation axis, parallel to the first optical axis direction, (Jin teaches of an optical unit for forming an object image according to the present invention comprises: a reflection member for banding an optical axis of the optical unit; a front lens group arranged closer to an object side of the optical unit than the reflection member; a rear lens group arranged closer to an image forming side of the optical unit than the reflection member; and a driver for driving the optical unit. The driver drives the reflection member and the front lens group in a predefined first direction and in a predefined second direction, Abstract and Figures 1-4 of Jin.
Jin teaches that a first lens group 22 is structured to be driven together with a prism 23 as one body. The axes of planetary gears 120a and 120b are fitted to each long hole so that the axes freely rotate. P-rotational axes 115a and 115b (not shown) are formed on one side of each side surface plate 114a and 114b. The straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b pass periphery of the point A where the optical axis 31 of the rear lens group and the reflecting surface of the prism 23 cross and the angle formed by the straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b and the optical axis 31 is 90.degree, Paragraphs 0047, 0077, 0085-0087; Figures 1-4, 9-10 of Jin. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Minamisawa et al. to have a reflective member (prism) and the at least one lens are configured to rotate about a first rotation axis, perpendicular to the first optical axis direction, and a second rotation axis, parallel to the first optical axis direction as taught by Jin, because this enables the driving amounts of the front lens and the prism to be controlled the same amount, thus making it possible to provide an optical unit having a low degrading amount of the optical characteristic and a shaking correction function by driving the front lens and the prism integrally, which is a simple method, Paragraph 0077 of Jin).
With regard to Claim 14, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 13, wherein the at least one lens disposed in the first optical axis direction is accommodated in a first lens barrel (Lens 3, Figures 2-6; Paragraphs 0029-0030 of Minamisawa et al.), and wherein the first lens barrel is coupled to an upper side of the reflective holder (The lens 3 is on an upper side/above the reflective holder with the prism 5, Paragraphs 0029-0030; Figures 2-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 13, further comprising:
a lens holder in which at least one lens that is disposed in a second optical axis direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction is disposed with respect to the reflective member (Holder 9 which is part of a movable body 40 supports the lens 6 in the second optical axis direction L2, Paragraphs 0042-0046; Figures 3-5 of Minamisawa et al.), wherein the lens holder is configured to move in the second optical axis direction (The axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction. The movable body 40 is constituted by all members that are rotatable with respect to the housing 10. The movable body 40 in this embodiment is constituted by the prism 5, the camera module 8, the holder 9, the first rotation mechanism 11, the prism holder 15, the rotating shaft portion 16, the drive magnet 28, the ball fixing plate 36, and the ball 37, Paragraph 0046; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al..The lens 6 is a lens group consisting of a plurality of lenses and includes a focus lens and a zoom lens. The camera module 8 includes a focus-lens drive mechanism to drive the focus lens and a zoom-lens drive mechanism to drive the zoom lens, Paragraph 0034; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.. L2 is the optical axis of the lens 6, Paragraphs 0045; Figures 1-6 of Minamisawa et al.).
In regard to Claim 16, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 15, wherein the lens holder comprises an avoidance portion (retaining portion 38c) that is provided at an upper surface portion of the lens holder adjacent to the reflective module, and the upper surface portion of the lens module on which the avoidance portion is disposed is lower in height than other portions of the upper surface of the lens module (lower in height on the x axis) (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046; Figure 5 of Minamisawa et al.).
With regard to Claim 17, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the camera module of claim 16, wherein the avoidance portion overlaps a lower end of the first lens barrel in the first optical axis direction when the lens holder is positioned closest to the reflective module, and a gap is provided between the avoidance portion and the first lens barrel (see gap between 38c and the rest of the structure) (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046; Figure 5 of Minamisawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose a portable electronic device comprising the camera module of claim 13 (See portable device/smartphone, Paragraph 0025 and Figure 2 of Minamisawa et al.).
With regard to Claim 19, Minamisawa et al. disclose an electronic device See portable device/smartphone with a camera module, Abstract; Paragraph 0025; Figures 1-6), comprising:
a camera module (A camera module, Abstract; Figures 1-6) comprising:
a reflective module (holder 9) comprising a reflective member (prism 5) and a reflective holder on which the reflective member is mounted (A prism 5 fixed to a prism holder 15. The prism 5 is rotatably held in the holder 9.The holder 9 is rotatably held in the housing 10, Paragraphs 0027-0028; Figures 1-6. The reflection surface 5a reflects light incident to the reflection surface 5a through the lens 3 toward the image pickup element 7, Paragraph 0029. The holder 9 is rotatable with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The second rotation mechanism 12 rotates the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction of rotation. The prism 5 and the prism holder 15 are rotatable with respect to the holder 9 with a direction orthogonal to the front-back direction and intersecting the vertical direction as the axis direction of rotation, Paragraphs 0031-0032; Figures 1-6);
a first lens module disposed on a first optical axis, and comprising a first lens barrel (The incident direction of light to the reflection surface 5a (that is, the direction of the optical axis L1 of the lens 3, Paragraphs 0025, 0029-0030); and
a second lens module, comprising a lens holder, and disposed on a second optical axis (L2) perpendicular to the first optical axis (L1) (The lens 6 is a lens group consisting of a plurality of lenses and includes a focus lens and a zoom lens. The camera module 8 includes a focus-lens drive mechanism to drive the focus lens and a zoom-lens drive mechanism to drive the zoom lens, Paragraph 0034; Figures 1-6. L2 is the optical axis of the lens 6 and is perpendicular to axis L1, Paragraphs 0029, 0045; Figures 1-6);
wherein the lens holder comprises an avoidance portion (retaining portion 38c) provided on an upper surface of the lens holder (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046; Figure 5), and
wherein the avoidance portion overlaps a lower end of the first lens barrel (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046).
Minamisawa et al. do not explicitly disclose that the first lens module comprises a first lens barrel coupled to an upper side of the reflective holder. Jin teaches of a first lens module comprising a first lens barrel coupled to an upper side of a reflective holder (holder with prism),
(Jin teaches of an optical unit for forming an object image according to the present invention comprises: a reflection member for banding an optical axis of the optical unit; a front lens group arranged closer to an object side of the optical unit than the reflection member; a rear lens group arranged closer to an image forming side of the optical unit than the reflection member; and a driver for driving the optical unit. The driver drives the reflection member and the front lens group in a predefined first direction and in a predefined second direction, Abstract and Figures 1-4 of Jin.
Jin teaches that a first lens group 22 is structured to be driven together with a prism 23 as one body. The axes of planetary gears 120a and 120b are fitted to each long hole so that the axes freely rotate. P-rotational axes 115a and 115b (not shown) are formed on one side of each side surface plate 114a and 114b. The straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b pass periphery of the point A where the optical axis 31 of the rear lens group and the reflecting surface of the prism 23 cross and the angle formed by the straight line connecting between the positions of P-rotational axes 115a and 115b and the optical axis 31 is 90.degree, Paragraphs 0047, 0077, 0085-0087; Figures 1-4, 9-10 of Jin. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Minamisawa et al. to enable a first lens module to comprise a first lens barrel coupled to an upper side of the reflective holder as taught by Jin, because this enables the driving amounts of the front lens and the prism to be controlled the same amount, thus making it possible to provide an optical unit having a low degrading amount of the optical characteristic and a shaking correction function by driving the front lens and the prism integrally, which is a simple method, Paragraph 0077 of Jin).
Regarding Claim 20, Minamisawa et al. and Jin disclose the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the avoidance portion is provided in a form in which a portion of the upper surface of the lens holder is removed (see inward protrusion) (At an upper end of the spring portion 38b, a retaining portion 38c is formed to prevent the ball 37 from being removed out to the upper side. The retaining portion 38c protrudes inwardly in the front-back direction. The holder 9 rotates with respect to the housing 10 with a line passing through the centers of two balls 37 disposed on the both sides in the front-back direction of the holder 9 (a line connecting the centers of the two balls 37) as the center of rotation. That is, the line passing through the centers of the two balls 37 is an axis (rotation center line) L12 of rotation of the holder 9 with respect to the housing 10. The axis L12 of this embodiment is matched with the optical axis L2 of the lens 6. The axis L11 and the axis L12 intersect at an intersection of the optical axis L1 and the optical axis L2. In other words, the optical axis L1, the axis L11, and the axis L12 intersect at a single point. In addition, the axis L12 passes through the center of gravity of a movable body 40 which can be rotated with respect to the housing 10 with the front-back direction as the axis direction., Paragraphs 0044-0046).
5.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638