DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the newly discover art of Altenburger applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvochko US 11,368,289 further in view of Altenburger et al. US 2018/0288362
In regarding to claim 1: Kvochko teaches:
1. A method of digitally signing a video sequence and an audio sequence, the audio and the video sequences having been captured at the same time such that they represent the same captured scene, the video sequence comprising successive video portions and the audio sequence comprising successive audio portions, the method comprising: generating a first video digest by applying a digest algorithm to a first video portion of the video sequence,
(24) FIGS. 2A and 2B present an example of the process by which registration server 102 registers source video 114a in blockchain 123, thereby storing a record of source video 114a in blockchain 123. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, source video 114a includes a set of video frames 202. Each frame 202 includes a set of pixels 204. In response to receiving source video 114a, registration server 102 splits source video 114a into a series of video segments 206 and then uses hash function 130 to generate a hash value 208 for each video segment 206, based on the pixels 204 included in the video segment. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, registration server 102 then stores each hash value 208 as part of a transaction 216 in a block 124 of blockchain 123. In this manner, registration server 102 stores a record of each video segment 206 in blockchain 123, such that a later modification to a particular video segment of a copy of source video 114a may be detectable by generating a hash value of that video segment and comparing it to the hash value stored in blockchain 123.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
generating a first audio digest by applying a digest algorithm to a first audio portion of the audio sequence,
(29) After splitting audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, registration server 102 obtains a hash value 214 for each segment by applying a hash function 130b to the set of audio signals included in the segment. For example, registration server 102 obtains hash value 214a for first audio segment 212a by applying hash function 130b to the values of the audio signals included in first audio segment 212a, hash value 214b for second video segment 212b by applying hash function 130b to the values of the audio signals included in second audio segment 212b, and hash value 214c for third audio segment 212c by applying hash function 130b to the values of the audio signals included in third audio segment 212c. Hash function 130b may be the same hash function as hash function 130a or a different hash function from hash function 130a.
Kvochko, Col. 12 lines 7-21, emphasis added.
generating a first video signature by digitally signing the first video digest,
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
generating a first audio signature by digitally signing the first audio digest,
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
However, Kvochko fails to explicitly teach, but Altenburger teaches:
cross-inserting the first video signature in a first target audio portion of the audio sequence, and the first audio signature in a first target video portion of the video sequence,
[0094] Those skilled in the art will note from the description provided herein that, according to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a computer-implemented method for integrity verification of an audio-visual data stream. The method includes: inserting a watermark into a frame of the visual data stream and/or into an audio window of a corresponding audio data stream, wherein the watermark includes a hash code of the previous frame of the visual data stream and a hash code of the audio window of the audio data stream, where the audio window corresponds in time to the previous frame of the visual data stream.
Altenburger, 0094-0099 and Figs. 4a-5b, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Altenburger with the system of Kvochko in order cross-inserting the first video signature in a first target audio portion of the audio sequence, and the first audio signature in a first target video portion of the video sequence, as such, the system process the ability to tell that, neither the audio or video has been cut, edited or synced incorrectly is a valuable feature if the film is used in evidence later..—0002.
Furthermore, Kvochko teaches: generating a second video digest by applying a digest algorithm to the first target video portion including the first audio signature,
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
generating a second audio digest by applying a digest algorithm to the first target audio portion including the first video signature,
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
generating a second video signature by digitally signing the second video digest, and generating a second audio signature by digitally signing the second audio digest.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
Note: The motivation that applied to claim 1 above, applies equally as well to claims 2-16 and 19-20 as presented below.
In regarding to claim 2: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
2. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches comprising: inserting the second video signature in a second target audio portion of the audio sequence, and inserting the second audio signature in a second target video portion of the video sequence.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 3: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
3. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches comprising: inserting the first video signature, also in a video portion of the video sequence, and inserting the first audio signature, also in an audio portion of the audio sequence.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 10 lines, 28-45 and Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 4: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
4. The method according to claim 2, furthermore, Kvochko teaches comprising inserting the second video signature, also in a video portion of the video sequence, and inserting the second audio signature also in an audio portion of the audio sequence.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 11 line 41 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 5: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
5. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches: wherein the digest algorithm is a hash function.
(27) After splitting source video 114a into a set of video segments 206, registration server 102 obtains a hash value 208 for each segment by applying a hash function 130a to the set of pixels included in the segment. For example, registration server 102 obtains hash value 208a for first video segment 206a by applying hash function 130a to the values of the pixels included in first video segment 206a, hash value 208b for second video segment 206b by applying hash function 130a to the values of the pixels included in second video segment 206b, and hash value 208c for third video segment 206c by applying hash function 130a to the values of the pixels included in third video segment 206c. As described above, hash function 130a may be a cryptographic hash function or a perceptual hash function.
Kvochko, Col. 11 line 41 to Col. 12 line 6, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 6: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
6. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein each video portion is a group of pictures.
Kvochko, Fig. 2A at least item 202
In regarding to claim 7: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
7. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein each audio portion is an audio frame or audio packet.
Kvochko, Fig.2A item 210
In regarding to claim 8: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
8. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein each audio signature is inserted in a respective SEI message or Open Bitstream Unit of the video sequence.
Kvochko, Col. 15 line 46-59
In regarding to claim 9: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
9. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein each video signature is inserted in a respective data stream element or header of the audio sequence.
(42) As illustrated in FIGS. 4A and 4B, target video includes a set of video frames 402 and a set of metadata 406. Each frame 402 includes a set of pixels. In certain embodiments, in response to receiving a target video 137 from user 106 for authentication, authentication server 104 determines whether metadata 406 includes an identifier 218a corresponding to a block 124a in blockchain 123. If metadata 406 does not include identifier 218a, authentication server 104 may transmit a message 138 to user 106 indicating that target video 137 is not authentic. If metadata 406 includes identifier 218a, authentication server 104 may use it to locate block 124a within blockchain 123, where block 124a is the first block 124 within blockchain 123 that stores information relating to source video 114a.
(28) In addition to generating hash values from video segments 206, in certain embodiments, registration server 102 generates hash values based on the audio 210 of source video 114a. For example, registration server 102 may split audio 210 into a set of audio segments 212, where each audio segment 212 corresponds to a given video segment 206. For example, first audio segment 212a may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207a and ending timestamp 207b, thereby corresponding to first video segment 206a, which includes video frames 202a through 202g. Similarly, second audio segment 212b may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207b and ending timestamp 207c, thereby corresponding to second video segment 206b, which includes video frames 202h through 202n, and third audio segment 212c may include the audio of source video 114a between starting timestamp 207c and ending timestamp 207d, thereby corresponding to third video segment 206c, which includes video frames 202o through 202u.
Kvochko, Col. 11 line 55 to Col. 12 line 6 and Col. 15 lines 46-59, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 10: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
10. The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein the video sequence and the audio sequence have been captured by a single device comprising an image sensor and a microphone.
Kvochko, Fig. 2A items 206 and 210
Claims 11-13 list all similar elements of claims 1-2 and 10, but in system form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-2 and 10 applies equally as well to claims 11-13.
Claim 14 list all similar elements of claim 1, but in computer-readable medium form rather than method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 14.
In regarding to claim 15: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
15. (New) The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein the second video signature is generated based on the first target video portion including the first audio signature, such that validation of the second video signature confirms a link to the audio sequence.
Kvochko, Col. 7 line 14 to col. 8 line 3
In regarding to claim 16: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
16. (New) The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Kvochko teaches wherein the second audio signature is generated based on the first target audio portion including the first video signature, such that validation of the second audio signature confirms a link to the video sequence.
Kvochko, Col. 17 line 38 to col. 18 line 3
In regarding to claim 19: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
19. (New) The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Altenburger teaches: wherein the cross-inserting of the first video and the first audio signatures, respectively, into the audio and video sequences subsequently requires authentication of the video sequence by the audio sequence or authentication of the audio sequence by the video sequence.
Altenburger, 0094-0099 and Figs. 4a-5b,
In regarding to claim 20: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
20. (New) The method according to claim 1, furthermore, Altenburger teaches: wherein a presence of the first audio signature in the first target video portion links the video sequence to the audio sequence and a presence of the first video signature in the first target audio portion links the audio sequence to the video sequence.
Altenburger, 0094-0099 and Figs. 4a-5b,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvochko US 11,368,289 and Altenburger et al. US 2018/0288362.
In regarding to claim 17: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
17. (New) The method according to claim 1, however, Kvochko and Altenburger fail to explicitly teach wherein the routines wherein the first target video portion is a video portion being captured and encoded when the first audio signature is generated, or an upcoming video portion the capture and encoding of which has not yet started when the first audio signature is generated. Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantage of implementing wherein the first target video portion is a video portion being captured and encoded when the first audio signature is generated, or an upcoming video portion the capture and encoding of which has not yet started when the first audio signature is generated are well known and expected in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to utilize said feature within said system taught by Kvochko and Altenburger, because such incorporation would result by encoding audio and video separately, you can ensure that each component is optimized for its specific requirements, which can lead to efficiency use of audio and video data within the system.
In regarding to claim 18: Kvochko and Altenburger teaches:
18. (New) The method according to claim 1, however, Kvochko and Altenburger fail to explicitly teach wherein the first target audio portion is an audio portion being captured and encoded when the first video signature is generated, or an upcoming audio portion the capture and encoding of which has not yet started when the first video signature is generated. Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantage of implementing wherein the first target audio portion is an audio portion being captured and encoded when the first video signature is generated, or an upcoming audio portion the capture and encoding of which has not yet started when the first video signature is generated are well known and expected in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to utilize said feature within said system taught by Kvochko. and Altenburger, because such incorporation would result by encoding audio and video separately, you can ensure that each component is optimized for its specific requirements, which can lead to efficiency use of audio and video data within the system.
Conclusion
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481